Working in Singapore V20, All About Living in The Little Red Dot

ThanatosSwiftfire
post Nov 14 2017, 09:59 AM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(xtylish @ Nov 14 2017, 12:11 AM)
Yes. About 4 years. He is from UTAR as well. Applied one week later than me. Rejected too. Maybe their processing time is really just too long.
maybe if both of u married and submit as a couple got better chance.
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Nov 23 2017, 10:28 AM

Irregular
2,787 posts

sien man this mom even reject renewal of employment pass these days
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Nov 23 2017, 11:47 AM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Nov 23 2017, 11:30 AM)
Siapa kena reject?
Of course. Full package including stock option, allowances etc
my colleague lor. 4 years in the co kena reject. wth man.

they are appealing for her la, but i tot such renewals is a confirm thing. so disruptive if true.
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Nov 23 2017, 02:17 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(someone_stupid @ Nov 23 2017, 02:06 PM)
where is ur colleague from? blink.gif
philippines. i suppose that has something to do with it.
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Nov 23 2017, 02:57 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Nov 23 2017, 02:46 PM)
bye.gif  bye.gif  bye.gif . Business how to function if take out the workforce like this.
i dunno. i really dun understand why they assess renewals the way they did. it makes companies go through the hiring process and training etc. so much for productivity.
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Nov 23 2017, 04:19 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(aussiebum @ Nov 23 2017, 03:58 PM)
No wonder...guess her salary doesn't fit the market now. Gov try to cut down foreigner ratio by raising the salary requirement. Boss has to decide either raise her salary or let her off. Else downgrade to sp. If shes from Malaysia confirm no problem with the renewal

shes making 5 to 6k as a manager in a bank and has a degree. so thats why i am very surprised
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Nov 29 2017, 10:45 AM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(abanga @ Nov 29 2017, 10:14 AM)
i am aworking in pwc malaysia as auditor rank for 3 yrs. if i jump to the big 4 (EY pwc) in singapore, how much should i expect include bonus etc?
senior associate ah?

about 4.3k sgd. before cpf allowance
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Nov 29 2017, 12:11 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(abanga @ Nov 29 2017, 12:00 PM)
sorry for stupid question, what is epf allowance? i am not pr so i assume no cpf for me right?
most big 4 give the cpf that is supposed to be received by PR and citizens as an additional allowance for u.

ie for the Pr, the cpf of maybe sgd600 is paid to cpf.
but for u, they give it to u as an allowance. so you might home salary + 17%

at least that was during my time 4 year ago
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Dec 2 2017, 05:45 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

half of the east west line closed this coming sunday dec 10 and dec 17.

. SHORTER OPERATING HOURS ON FRIDAYS, SATURDAYS AND SUNDAYS

When: From Dec 8 to 30, train services will end at 11pm on Friday and Saturday at 19 stations - Tiong Bahru to Tuas Link on the East-West Line, and Bukit Batok and Bukit Gombak stations on the North-South Line.

When: From Dec 9 to 31, the first trains at those stations will also start later at 8am on Saturday and Sunday.

Alternative arrangements: Commuters can take parallel bus services - which run along the MRT network - outside affected MRT stations. They will be charged the same fare as if they had taken a train journey.

2. FULL-DAY CLOSURES ON TWO SUNDAYS

When: The 19 stations - from Tiong Bahru to Tuas Link on the East-West Line, and Bukit Batok and Bukit Gombak stations on the North-South Line - will be closed for the whole day on two Sundays - Dec 10 and Dec 17.

Alternative arrangements: Parallel shuttle bus services will be made available on those days. These buses will ply the route the MRT trains will take along the train tracks.

The fares for these shuttle bus services will follow the rail fare structure.

http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/tran...ou-need-to-know
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Dec 4 2017, 03:04 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Dec 4 2017, 02:52 PM)
my fren in Aviva will be enjoying 16 weeks maternity and paternity leave in future !!!
paternity is not bad. govt mandatory is 2 weeks only.
maternity 16 weeks is standard. even my bank gives 16 weeks.
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Dec 4 2017, 05:36 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(Kelv @ Dec 4 2017, 03:29 PM)
Govt mandatory is 2 weeks for citizen only. Don't think that applicable for foreigners. sad.gif
my co gives both 16 weeks for maternity and 2 weeks for paternity regardlrss of citizenship.

my wife was less lucky, 2 mths for maternity nia. sad.gif
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Dec 5 2017, 01:17 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(chiayi91 @ Dec 5 2017, 12:51 PM)
Any recommended banks for fixed deposit? the rates in SG is outrageously low compare to Malaysia.
open cimb or uob stash. got 1%, no conditions attached if i rmb correctly.
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Dec 5 2017, 01:52 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(strategist @ Dec 5 2017, 01:28 PM)
transfer back to Malaysia FD. diversity your portfolio  biggrin.gif

your career and earning power is tied with SG. if SG struggles you struggle, better mitigate the risk
now is a bad time.to transfer back with myr having temporary strwngth. suggest wait till returns back to 3.1 post CNY
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Dec 5 2017, 03:37 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(veger_leong @ Dec 5 2017, 02:32 PM)
If and only if this will back to 3.1
QUOTE(strategist @ Dec 5 2017, 02:52 PM)
MYR is rapidly regaining grounds on their forex losses 2 years ago though. and oil price is also rising.  hmm.gif

either way, I am putting my eggs in two baskets.
it will and it must, eventually.

Singapore MAS uses currency exchange as a monetary tool to manage inflation, so it must rise vs MYR. If SGD doesnt rise against MYR in the long term, its essentially their monetary policy failing.

And we know these smart scholars don't fail.

the 2% per annum appreciation has held for the past 20 years, no reason for it to stop.

ThanatosSwiftfire
post Dec 5 2017, 04:46 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Dec 5 2017, 04:24 PM)
Insider eh?

I know other countries uses interest rates to manage inflation but SG is a unique one that uses currency exchange. But which currencies is the question mark
haha most economists reckon malaysian ringgit is a big part of their basket of currencies (which apparently is trade weighted, and malaysia being one of their largest trade partner). its the exact share, and what the other currencies are thats up to debate.

ThanatosSwiftfire
post Dec 8 2017, 02:23 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Dec 8 2017, 01:59 PM)
Me full time mum now. Diapers price up down also can't tell.
which brand u use. i use merries. ask relatives to buy from KL when they come down. rm105 for 2 large packs (60L pieces each).
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Dec 9 2017, 07:04 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Dec 9 2017, 06:55 PM)
Bro, you’ve been here long enough to know that you’re speaking to Fiona Jie leh. The variance of diapers price doesn’t make the least bit of difference to her net worth that’s why she doesn’t bother to keep track.
ah true true. small matter xD
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Dec 15 2017, 05:30 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(FreshGraduate @ Dec 15 2017, 04:56 PM)
I fresh grad. Start basic salary alr 5.2k haven't plus allowance.
ok i feel depress nao.
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Dec 16 2017, 11:51 AM

Irregular
2,787 posts

i sometimes wonder how much my savings is due to the lack of a social life.
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Dec 19 2017, 01:32 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

rent seems to be falling. anyone managed to get a good discount to their rent lately?

14 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.2841sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:05 PM