QUOTE(eDwanD @ Apr 28 2017, 06:06 PM)
Nop, if u still gaming 1080p @@.... except u want gaming 1440p and above, then u need more than 4gb vram.
haha, that was what i said. "4gb or higher for those going for 29inch and above monitor".[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V13!
Apr 28 2017, 06:36 PM
302 posts Joined: Dec 2014 |
Apr 28 2017, 06:38 PM
493 posts Joined: Aug 2006 From: Melaka |
QUOTE(demetry @ Apr 28 2017, 06:36 PM) Monitor size not equal to resolution, there r 25 inch 1440p and 30 inch 1080p display as well, somemore, maybe there r gamer who dun mind play 1080p gaming on 1440p or 4k monitor. =w=This post has been edited by eDwanD: Apr 28 2017, 06:39 PM |
Apr 28 2017, 06:45 PM
QUOTE(demetry @ Apr 28 2017, 05:24 PM) i have very close build with yours except different psu, lower ram, gfx card. i m curious though, how much and wat makes u choose asrock mobo? now, i m still choosing casing. are u going atx tower, or matx or mitx? ![]() My newest AM4 vrm list which adjusted according newest information from review. There r ppl get better vrm for lower temp from vrm when higher oc, there r ppl go through for features as well, there r maybe for pcd design to match rig theme, still there r because just fanboys. Casing, depends on needs, someone willing for small to neat and tidy, someone may for full tower as me, some need tempered glass as well, ans there r ppl who dun mind as long got a casing its ok =w= |
Apr 28 2017, 08:34 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
1,750 posts Joined: Sep 2011 |
QUOTE(eDwanD @ Apr 28 2017, 04:48 PM) For current 1080p gaming max setting, at least 4gb vram and above of gtx1060/rx470/480/570/580 is sufficient. How much can really future proof if go 8gb? Still doing my research. So dropping to Ryzen5 1400 would be ideal? Might have something running also while gamming. Yes 250GB SSD is my planing.In rumor, game developer wont get higher ram consume more than 4gb vram for 1080p gaming because its more gamer who only get 4gb vram currently, but if willing to pay more, 8gb vram is better future proof in theory. CPU for gaming, as long as no bottleneck your gpu, is ok at all. But ryzen 1600 a bit overkill for just gaming 1080p, except u want streaming game or using for workloads. Better get yourself at least 250gb ssd, because 120gb is not really enough for OS+ games which u want install, especially space hungry game. QUOTE(demetry @ Apr 28 2017, 05:25 PM) My 32" TV will be my monitor while waiting to decide what monitor to buy. So how big screen effect vram?QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Apr 28 2017, 05:45 PM) The total cost difference is quite big, from 2.5k to 3.7k to 4.3k Still planning just show here for sifu2 opinion. I think my budget will be 3k. Will stretch a bit but not more than 3.5k.Really hard to recommend anything if your budget range is too wide (or too flexible), it is better to fix an amount (or max budget) and build the rig based on it. I will narrow down to just 1 build soon. |
Apr 29 2017, 12:36 AM
QUOTE(tongaz86 @ Apr 28 2017, 08:34 PM) How much can really future proof if go 8gb? Still doing my research. So dropping to Ryzen5 1400 would be ideal? Might have something running also while gamming. Yes 250GB SSD is my planing. Your TV is 4k or 1080p? If 1080p, 4gb vram is sufficient, if 4k, its needs more. But 4k max setting 60fps and above require a GTX1080ti range to run with promising.My 32" TV will be my monitor while waiting to decide what monitor to buy. So how big screen effect vram? Still planning just show here for sifu2 opinion. I think my budget will be 3k. Will stretch a bit but not more than 3.5k. I will narrow down to just 1 build soon. The future proof just always future proof, no one can guarantee with you. There's is two common statatement made: 1) According to the common market and these years of game, game developer trying to limitation 1080p gaming consume below 4gb vram, its about 3.6gb vram consume among several AAA title games, you wont need more than 4gb vram in coming few years gaming 1080p. 2) According from past till today, the vram consumed is more than before, same as core or thread is not as past statement of more than two core two thread is useless for gaming, 8gb vram give us more 8gb vram, My opinion 1) RX470 4gb vram RM960 - Almost max setting for gaming 1080p 2) RX480/580 8gb/GTX1060 6gb RM1300 ~ 1550 - Almost max setting for gaming 1080p, sometimes can enjoy 1440p gaming with lower graphic setting. 3) Fury X 4gb- RM 1650 - Gaming 1080p promising, and 60fps max setting of some game under 1440p gaming, hungry power 4) GTX 1070 RM1800 ~RM2200- Promosing performance of 1080p and 1440p gaming Depends on your needs and get one of above, there's other option as well, you can save lots if you not urgent to wait and dun mind an used unit, there r few times RM850~1000 gtx1060 6gb, RM1000~1100 rx480 8gb, RM1500~1700 gtx 1070 in garage sales before. ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- MSI/Sapphire RX570 4gb RM 960 Sandisk SSD Plus 240GB RM 325 Cooler Master Silencio 452 RM 235 Total RM1520 for three parts : CPU Ryzen 1600 6 core RM 1039 (Video rendering or any cpu intesive workload, stream gaming, ) Ryzen 1400 4 core RM 819 (Gaming, probably more light workloads aside gaming) Mobo Gigabyte AB350M-DS2 RM375.00 (cheapest but no hsf on vrm, not recommend to hard oc, if u want need attach hsf by yourself, but risky. VRM mosfet unconfirm.) Gigabyte AB350M Gaming 3 RM460.00 (Best VRM set among B350 within RM500 range, better overall of Power phase + VRM set) Ram Roughly Rm300 for 8gb DDR4 (Check mobo u choose for QVL list to confirm ram work well) PSU Corsair VS550 RM245 Superflower Leadex Silver 650W RM 399 Please survey more of PSU, because PSU is quiet important to a pc, u can consider it's as heart if a human, especially u gonna OC or heavy load usage for long time. A good quality psu, u may no need upgrade in future as well. If need cheaper budget, go for intel pentium/i3 as your stated before, but will lose advantage of more core. |
Apr 29 2017, 12:40 AM
QUOTE(eDwanD @ Apr 28 2017, 06:38 PM) Monitor size not equal to resolution, there r 25 inch 1440p and 30 inch 1080p display as well, somemore, maybe there r gamer who dun mind play 1080p gaming on 1440p or 4k monitor. =w= of coz you can play 1080 on 4k monitor or even lower resolution but normally people would adjust resolution accordingly to the size of the monitor with their gfc carc to support higher res. You can disagree but this is normal ppl would do unless you want to do something else then it is different story. |
Apr 29 2017, 01:01 AM
QUOTE(demetry @ Apr 29 2017, 12:40 AM) of coz you can play 1080 on 4k monitor or even lower resolution but normally people would adjust resolution accordingly to the size of the monitor with their gfc carc to support higher res. You can disagree but this is normal ppl would do unless you want to do something else then it is different story. That's for additional possibility, same as there r ppl willing using gtx 1060 6gb for 1440p gaming under lower graphic configure, and there r ppl cannot commit lower setting and will going with gtx1070.What my point is, the statement of " i think gfx card 4gb or higher for those going for 29inch and above monitor " = false It should be, 4gb vram for those going for gaming more than 1080p, because there r 25,27 inch which resolution 1440p and get ur possibility to use more than 4gb vram in gaming. And there r ppl gaming using 1080p 30 inch tv etc, it wont benefit u with 4gb vram for current games. Resolution is not according to a display panel size, just a panel support. This post has been edited by eDwanD: Apr 29 2017, 01:04 AM |
Apr 29 2017, 01:42 AM
QUOTE(eDwanD @ Apr 29 2017, 01:01 AM) What my point is, Statement is not false. As already mentioned, normally people will adjust resolution according size of the panel with gfx card that can support the resolution else screen will get abnormally zoom out (high-res) or zoom in (low-res). Not much ppl would adjust 720p on 4k screen or 1440p on 24 inch screen. the statement of " i think gfx card 4gb or higher for those going for 29inch and above monitor " = false It should be, 4gb vram for those going for gaming more than 1080p, because there r 25,27 inch which resolution 1440p and get ur possibility to use more than 4gb vram in gaming. And there r ppl gaming using 1080p 30 inch tv etc, it wont benefit u with 4gb vram for current games. Resolution is not according to a display panel size, just a panel support. So like-wise, ppl should buy above 4 gb card on larger monitor to support the resolution and fps for gaming. so yes, my statement still stands. So yes, resolution will affect your viewing on the size of panel display and no one wants to have weird viewing screen because it is counterproductive. |
Apr 29 2017, 01:46 AM
besides, what kinda of gamer would adjust 1440p on 24 inch if you can see as well as 1080p and it will decrease your fps. You need to find an optimum resolution as per size of your panel display.
Apr 29 2017, 02:09 AM
QUOTE(demetry @ Apr 29 2017, 01:46 AM) besides, what kinda of gamer would adjust 1440p on 24 inch if you can see as well as 1080p and it will decrease your fps. You need to find an optimum resolution as per size of your panel display. I'm using U2515h under 1440p, get roughly 117 ppi, if u asking can i see any pixel different? yes, i still can see square pixel with 1440p. There r lot ppl getting higher than 300ppi in phone even they didnt notice different. I putting more possibility, is just want to inform u,its just different people = different needs. The statement is for current gaming, benefit for more than 4gb vram is when you willing gaming under resolution more than 1440p and the graphical setting as high as which needs more than 4gb vram to process smoothly. Its nothing related with size of monitor, because size of monitor doesnt means or not equal to maximum of resolution which the monitor support. If i have a 24 inch monitor with maximum support of 1920x1080, i still cannot use more than 4gb vram if gaming 1080p, because the monitor cannot goes up more than 1080p. If i have a 40 inch tv as monitor which support maximum resolution 1920x1080, more than 4gb vram still cant benefit me when gaming 1080p. Is it clear? is it your gpu consume more than 4gb vram to run a game, its not according what size the monitor u have, but what resolution and graphical setting u run the game. Your statement in your reply is " i think gfx card 4gb or higher for those going for 29inch and above monitor." And leading the questioner asking you " My 32" TV will be my monitor while waiting to decide what monitor to buy. So how big screen effect vram?" From above, what's the resolution of the questioner 32 inch TV run will lead to different answer. This post has been edited by eDwanD: Apr 29 2017, 02:13 AM |
Apr 29 2017, 04:30 AM
48 posts Joined: Feb 2014 |
Dear sifus, need your recommendation here
[Budget] RM2.8-3k (can topup a bit) [Purpose] Main purpose is photo editing, secondary purpose is gaming. [Hardwares that will be re-use] Mouse, kb, speaker [Monitor resolution] FHD, IPS (not much idea about this [Games & softwares that use frequently] LR, PS, other Adobe softwares when necessary, Dota, other decent graphic games if spec compatible. [Personal preferences] SSD (250gb enough?), Monitor (FHD and IPS) [Location] Penang |
Apr 29 2017, 09:26 AM
53 posts Joined: Apr 2015 |
[B][Budget] RM5K
[Purpose] gaming [Hardwares that will be re-use] keyboard and mouse only [Monitor resolution] - [Games & softwares that use frequently] DOTA 2,GTAV [Personal preferences] DELL U-SERIES MONITOR [Location] KL ( Kepong ) hi all sifu,planning to build a gaming rig,is it good time to build a gaming rig? |
Apr 29 2017, 11:13 AM
24,334 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: Setapak, Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(Nickeolosophy @ Apr 29 2017, 04:30 AM) Dear sifus, need your recommendation here Wouldn't recommend SSD when your budget is low.[Budget] RM2.8-3k (can topup a bit) [Purpose] Main purpose is photo editing, secondary purpose is gaming. [Hardwares that will be re-use] Mouse, kb, speaker [Monitor resolution] FHD, IPS (not much idea about this [Games & softwares that use frequently] LR, PS, other Adobe softwares when necessary, Dota, other decent graphic games if spec compatible. [Personal preferences] SSD (250gb enough?), Monitor (FHD and IPS) [Location] Penang How about these? AMD Ryzen 5 1600 - 1029 MSI A320M Grenade - 335 Corsair 8GB DDR4-2133 X1 - 260 MSI RX 570 4GB DDR5 Gaming X - 970 WD Blue (7200rpm only) or Seagate 1TB - 212 Corsair VS 550W - 248 Tecware F3 case - 124 RM3178 total (C-Zone prices) Too much for topup? QUOTE(Quan920907 @ Apr 29 2017, 09:26 AM) [B][Budget] RM5K How about these?[Purpose] gaming [Hardwares that will be re-use] keyboard and mouse only [Monitor resolution] - [Games & softwares that use frequently] DOTA 2,GTAV [Personal preferences] DELL U-SERIES MONITOR [Location] KL ( Kepong ) hi all sifu,planning to build a gaming rig,is it good time to build a gaming rig? AMD Ryzen 5 1600 - 1029 MSI B350M Mortar - 480 Corsair 8GB DDR4-2133 X1 - 260 MSI RX 570 4GB DDR5 Gaming X - 970 Samsung 850 Evo 120GB - 286 WD Blue (7200rpm only) or Seagate 1TB - 212 Super Flower Leadex Silver 550W - 359 Corsair Spec case - 299 Dell U2417H 23.8" monitor - 1029 RM4939 total (C-Zone prices) Option 2 (switch to these for weaker Intel parts but more powerful Nvidia parts): Core i5-7500 - 909 Gigabyte B250M-D3H - 449 Zotac GTX 1060 6GB DDR5 Mini - 1229 This post has been edited by TristanX: Apr 29 2017, 11:18 AM |
Apr 29 2017, 12:17 PM
QUOTE(eDwanD @ Apr 29 2017, 02:09 AM) I'm using U2515h under 1440p, get roughly 117 ppi, if u asking can i see any pixel different? yes, i still can see square pixel with 1440p. It is because you are minority of ppl who will adjust 1440p on 25inch. You can start a poll in kopitiam to check if my opinion for suitable for mass majority or your opinion. Clearly it is mine.There r lot ppl getting higher than 300ppi in phone even they didnt notice different. I putting more possibility, is just want to inform u,its just different people = different needs. 1) The statement is for current gaming, benefit for more than 4gb vram is when you willing gaming under resolution more than 1440p and the graphical setting as high as which needs more than 4gb vram to process smoothly. Its nothing related with size of monitor, because size of monitor doesnt means or not equal to maximum of resolution which the monitor support. 2) If i have a 24 inch monitor with maximum support of 1920x1080, i still cannot use more than 4gb vram if gaming 1080p, because the monitor cannot goes up more than 1080p. If i have a 40 inch tv as monitor which support maximum resolution 1920x1080, more than 4gb vram still cant benefit me when gaming 1080p. Is it clear? is it your gpu consume more than 4gb vram to run a game, its not according what size the monitor u have, but what resolution and graphical setting u run the game. 3) Your statement in your reply is " i think gfx card 4gb or higher for those going for 29inch and above monitor." And leading the questioner asking you " My 32" TV will be my monitor while waiting to decide what monitor to buy. So how big screen effect vram?"From above, what's the resolution of the questioner 32 inch TV run will lead to different answer. 1) As per my statement, if you opt for larger monitor 27/29 inch and above, go for higher res with supported gfc card to ensure resolution and good fps is supported. Else you are looking at low fps in game and looking at messed up Windows screen. You seems to forget to put fps in to the picture uh? You throw more pixel into your game, your fps will decrease unless ur gfx card and monitor can support it. QUOTE Its nothing related with size of monitor, because size of monitor doesnt means or not equal to maximum of resolution which the monitor support. No, monitor have their supported resolution. Check video below, it is a commonsense la. 2) 1080p is 1920×1080 res la. Whether it will use up 4gb will depends on the game settings. I didnt suggest people to buy 4gb card for 25inch with 1440p like you what. Because normal people would see the weird zoom-out windows. Earlier i was suggesting those opting for larger screen, adjust to the resolution accordance to panel size with good fps supported gfc card. Going back to cycle again, It is because you are minority of ppl who will adjust 1440p on 25inch. Left is 1440p, right is 1080 on 27 inch. ![]() 3) opt for higher vram for a good fps and resolution you choose as per the size of the display panel. |
Apr 29 2017, 12:17 PM
7,016 posts Joined: Jul 2012 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(TristanX @ Apr 29 2017, 11:13 AM) Wouldn't recommend SSD when your budget is low. Still need to add in a monitor to the build list, not easy with his budget How about these? AMD Ryzen 5 1600 - 1029 MSI A320M Grenade - 335 Corsair 8GB DDR4-2133 X1 - 260 MSI RX 570 4GB DDR5 Gaming X - 970 WD Blue (7200rpm only) or Seagate 1TB - 212 Corsair VS 550W - 248 Tecware F3 case - 124 RM3178 total (C-Zone prices) Too much for topup? |
Apr 29 2017, 12:24 PM
1,614 posts Joined: Apr 2010 |
getting my gigabyte aorus extreme 8gb later!!
i think i wont be disappointed with it? should i also add cooling? sifus? i checked it says around 60-70 degrees. |
Apr 29 2017, 12:51 PM
1,750 posts Joined: Sep 2011 |
Plan 2.0
MSI RX580 ARMOR 4GB - RM1030 RYZEN 5 1400 - RM819 MSI B350M GAMING PRO - RM435 KINGSTON VALUE 2133MHZ 8GB - RM299 KINGSTON UV400 SSD 240GB - RM399 WESTERN DIGITAL BLUE 1T HDD - RM234 SILVERSTONE ST500 PSU - RM229 NZXT S430 - RM399 TOTAL - RM3844 (Activelansing JB) Your opinion on how to cut cost for this build. Can it run max setting on 32" TV 1080p screen? Should I downgrade the casing & just get it later. I might ditch SSD & HDD. Take my Sandisk SSD Plus 240gb from my laptop. This post has been edited by tongaz86: Apr 29 2017, 01:01 PM |
Apr 29 2017, 12:55 PM
24,334 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: Setapak, Kuala Lumpur |
Apr 29 2017, 01:57 PM
QUOTE(demetry @ Apr 29 2017, 12:17 PM) It is because you are minority of ppl who will adjust 1440p on 25inch. You can start a poll in kopitiam to check if my opinion for suitable for mass majority or your opinion. Clearly it is mine. Dell U2515h = 25 inch = Max resolution 1440p = 1080p gaming? yes = 1440p gaming ? Yes1) As per my statement, if you opt for larger monitor 27/29 inch and above, go for higher res with supported gfc card to ensure resolution and good fps is supported. Else you are looking at low fps in game and looking at messed up Windows screen. You seems to forget to put fps in to the picture uh? You throw more pixel into your game, your fps will decrease unless ur gfx card and monitor can support it. No, monitor have their supported resolution. Check video below, it is a commonsense la. 2) 1080p is 1920×1080 res la. Whether it will use up 4gb will depends on the game settings. I didnt suggest people to buy 4gb card for 25inch with 1440p like you what. Because normal people would see the weird zoom-out windows. Earlier i was suggesting those opting for larger screen, adjust to the resolution accordance to panel size with good fps supported gfc card. Going back to cycle again, It is because you are minority of ppl who will adjust 1440p on 25inch. Left is 1440p, right is 1080 on 27 inch. ![]() 3) opt for higher vram for a good fps and resolution you choose as per the size of the display panel. Dell SE2717H = 27 inch = Max resolution 1080p = 1080p gaming? yes = 1440p gaming ? No Dell U2717D = 27 inch = Max resolution 1440p = 1080p gaming? yes = 1440p gaming ? Yes 32 inch 40" TV= 40 inch = Max resolution 1080p = 1080p gaming? yes = 1440p gaming? No " i think gfx card 4gb or higher for those going for 29inch and above monitor." <------ This is your statement. 1) If i want to play game with U2515H or U2717D under 1440p which consume 7gb vram, should i go to 4gb vram and higher? Yes 2) If i want to play game with 32 inch TV under 1080p which consume 3.5gb vram, should i go to 4gb vram or higher? Not necessarily But if according to your statement which is gfx card 4gb for those going for 29inch and above monitor, then how's about when if i want use 25/27 inch for 1440p gaming? am i sufficient with 4gb only? If i play 1080p with 32 inch tv which only can support resolution 1080p, under ur statement, then am i exactly need a 8gb vram graphic card while the only 3.5gb vram is required to play the game under 1080p? From your statement, may lead ppl think " i should get a more than 4gb vram card because i own 32 inch display unit" or will lead ppl think " i m no need more than 4gb gpu because i just have only 27 inch" Choose the graphic card which needed not according size of display, is according graphic configure and resolution you will play . Because not all smaller than 29 inchdisplay unit is maximum resolution 1920x1080, and not all the bigger than 29 inch display unitis more than 1440p Above is the main point i try to point out. ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Beside of story, can i choose 1080 for resolution in game because i have only a rx580 8gb vram which give me full 60 fps than i will drop to 40 fps under 1440p max setting? Yes, why not? its my decision. I also can choose 1440p for a benefit wider view in game as well. Am i can play game with 1080p under a 1440p screen? can i just use a 4gb vram rx 470 to gaming 1080p with my u2515h? Different ppl, different needs. Majority? Minority? ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ You throw more pixel into your game, your fps will decrease unless ur gfx card and monitor can support it. Reply : you throw more pixel into your game, game quality increase, in result, sure fps will decrease no matter which gfx card u used or monitor you use ![]() If same highest setting in game, higher resolution will result the heavier process, and result fps decrease. From chart above, we can see RX470 fps decrease ,RX480 decrease, GTX1060 decrease, R9 Fury X decrease, GTX 1080 decrease, GTX 1080ti decrease. All the gfx card in result highere resolution game fps decrease ... Your statement "your fps will decrease unless ur gfx card and monitor can support it. " So, what's the gfx card which can support by not decrease fps as in your statement? And can u recommended a monitor which can support that prevent fps decrease? If u still dont know what i'm pointing the weird parts of your statement, its ok then. Take my apologize, you are the right, i'm the wrong This post has been edited by eDwanD: Apr 29 2017, 02:04 PM |
Apr 29 2017, 02:02 PM
QUOTE(xHj09 @ Apr 29 2017, 12:24 PM) getting my gigabyte aorus extreme 8gb later!! Its common for the temp @@ if u cant stand with the temp, may try water cooling? XDi think i wont be disappointed with it? should i also add cooling? sifus? i checked it says around 60-70 degrees. This post has been edited by eDwanD: Apr 29 2017, 02:02 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0188sec
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 06:40 PM |