[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V13!

demetry
post Apr 3 2017, 10:41 PM

302 posts

[B][Budget]
4-5k, 5-6k but i m not sure of budget coz only few games i play as below. I will not play first person shooter?
[Purpose]
Main: Gaming. 2nd is office related work. So i need MS Office & Windows.
[Hardwares that will be re-use]
nil.
[Monitor resolution]
Wide screen 22inch maybe, I do not know. Those large size monitor used by CC?
[Games & softwares that use frequently]
XCOM2, HON, DOTA2
[Personal preferences]
In my mind now, maybe go for Asus gaming desktop?? it has to be full SSD. can recommend me other than ASUS?

Can also recommemnd best for bucks computer?
[Location] KL

Please help.

This post has been edited by demetry: Apr 3 2017, 11:07 PM
demetry
post Apr 15 2017, 02:27 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Apr 3 2017, 11:25 PM)
How about these?

AMD Ryzen 7 1700 - 1599
MSI B350M Mortar - 480
Corsair 8GB DDR4-2133 x2 - 520
MSI GTX 1060 6GB DDR5 T OC - 1300
Samsung 850 Pro 256GB - 636
Super Flower Leadex Gold 550W - 429
Corsair Spec (pick your model) case - 299

RM5263 total (C-Zone prices)

Optional:
Transcend 370 512GB - 975
Seagate 2TB - 313

Hunt for cheap office and windows from lelong and garage sales. I still advise not getting full SSD because it is not budget friendly.
hi tristanx, first off thanks for your recommendation.

i have researched on ryzen 7 vs i7k and decided to go for i7k due to better single threaded performance. Ryzen 7 is good for those apps designed to run multithreaded like video editing etc. So we have settled the CPU part.

Meanwhile, you can give me a close comparison or why u suggest MSI B350M Mortar, Corsair 8GB DDR4 and MSI GTX 1060 6GB DDR5? It always my focus to "get all the spec info" and find the "best bang for bucks" from it. I do not mind to buy from czone if you are from czone, if you understand what i mean.

for monitor, lets skip for now as i still have no idea which to go.
demetry
post Apr 16 2017, 04:31 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(Ebony & Ivory @ Apr 15 2017, 06:36 PM)
If gaming and office work only, just get a cheap i5 or  even pentium couple with a good GPU will do. i7 and ryzen 7 is overkill for ur usage.
yes agree with your suggestion. tristanx suggested someting on my budget which hes also right. my heart tells me to go ryzen7 or i7, my brain tells me to go r5 or i5.

haha.

decided to wait for ryzen 5

This post has been edited by demetry: Apr 16 2017, 05:43 PM
demetry
post Apr 17 2017, 02:54 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(beebee @ Apr 17 2017, 02:24 PM)
Guys going for mitx build, should i go ryzen 5 or just i5? cant find any mitx board for Ryzen yet, stuff i'll reuse, Monitor, Keyboard and Mouse, 256GB SSD & GTX670. Please let me know if the below items is compatible with each other?

(Price from Viewnet)
CORE I5 7500 - 919
Asrock H270M-ITX/AC - 549
Kingston D4 16GB PC2133 - 499
Noctua NH-L9i - ???
Silverstone STRIDER GOLD SFX 450W - 449
Silverstone ML08 - ???

Should be around RM3k for the build, is this build ok? Or any other alternative?
Wait for ryzen 5.
demetry
post Apr 18 2017, 10:21 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Apr 18 2017, 01:11 AM)
Wait? Ryzen 5 is out a week ago. smile.gif
lol ok. which store can buy ryzen 5 now and price? biggrin.gif
demetry
post Apr 19 2017, 04:25 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Apr 18 2017, 12:17 PM)
All major retailers have Ryzen 5 in stock already.

AMD Ryzen 5 1600 - RM 1039 SRP
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 - RM 819 SRP

AMD Ryzen 5 1600X and 1500X will arrive later.
Yep, look for previous generation chipset like H110/B150/H170.

But i5 4460 is running on LGA1150 socket so you cannot fit it on a LGA1151 mobo.
hi all,,

saw youtube video showing ryzen can only support ddr4 and max freq 2400Mhz?
demetry
post Apr 20 2017, 10:41 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(Ebony & Ivory @ Apr 20 2017, 01:20 AM)
Ryzen officially support DDR4 2133, 2400 and 2666, higher than that need oc, and it is depend on your motherboard and ram quality.

with the option available, do you know which one is the best for performance per dollar and if possible real life testing?
demetry
post Apr 20 2017, 06:44 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(Ebony & Ivory @ Apr 20 2017, 05:27 PM)
At least in theory, a faster RAM/memory speed may increase Ryzen performance, since infinity fabric which interconnect the CCX is tied to memory controller. 

However in real life, the performance gain is negligible. For example, a faster memory will only increase a few fps only in game. And u will not notice it in daily usage, unless u run benchmark. So, practically there is no performance losing by using slower memory with Ryzen. For more info, u can refer techpowerup review, they perform memory analysis with ryzen.

https://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/AMD/Ryz...emory_Analysis/
So, just get whatever u can afford. smile.gif
Haha, I m confident but want to get read more review coz their testbed is max out ryzen 1800 with watever component. If you have any other review pls do share. biggrin.gif
demetry
post Apr 21 2017, 09:23 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(Ebony & Ivory @ Apr 20 2017, 08:44 PM)
There are review in German, but I forgot links.

U can search google/YouTube/reddit/overclock.net/baidu, there are many info about it.

This post has been edited by demetry: Apr 21 2017, 09:24 PM
demetry
post Apr 25 2017, 09:10 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(eDwanD @ Apr 25 2017, 03:38 AM)
If possible, top up some to 6gb is better <------ there's option of gtx1060 6gb with top up bout rm200-300 from 1060 3gb @@
lol, if u topup rm200-300 to higher version everytime u will topup to gtx1080 no?
demetry
post Apr 25 2017, 02:10 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(eDwanD @ Apr 25 2017, 01:33 PM)
Am i pijak ur tail? If yes, i am sorry.
Here's the section of rig suggestion, someone ask for help of rig build, and another one may try suggest rig to the person.
Is it wrong for suggestion?

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

To the question of Micromatx to TistanX "
Thanks for suggestion, Can i go GTX 1060 3gb on option 1 setup? I can increase my budget to 3.2k (Sorry if aaking nub question, still learning)",
I done the reply
"3gb vram will hold u back for 1080p gaming if playing those consume more than 3gb VRAM aaa titles. If possible, top up some to 6gb is better."

But i received reply from Petang makan maggi
" GTX970 not exactly having much more RAM than 3GB 1060, it is 3.5GB vs 3GB.",
but I didnt suggest Micromatx with any GTX1060 3gb or GTX970 4gb which actually is 3.5GBvram.

i m replied with
" If possible, top up some to 6gb is better <------ there's option of gtx1060 6gb with top up bout rm200-300 from 1060 3gb @@"
and tried to remind him that what i suggest is gtx 1060 6gb, not a gtx970 or gtx1060 3gb.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Now back to your "good" manners,
I tried to get u clear with what's Queastion & Reply did in here.

I'm know i'm rude that i grab the question which should TristanX reply, because he is the one who suggest Micromatx full rig.

If need blamed, its not your turn, its should by TristanX. But at the end, is it any problem related with you?
Agreed that 3gb or 6gb is depends of needs, determine is just not the budget, maybe other situation as well.
But this is not any kopitiam's "topup a bit" style, is it a RM200~300 called a bit, different ppl different view.

What i had replied, is try point out 3gb vram may not enough of some title today's gaming and future, "if possiible", top up some to 6gb vram is better.
If impossible due to budget not enough, or useless for him, or whatever, than just go with 3gb vram as he planned. Am i clear with my statement?

P/S:
Just only try remind Micromatx who asked, and make a reply, Dunno why ppl will weird reply as " ntg different too much of 3.5 vs 3gb" either " top up rm 200-300 to 6gb ver will top up gtx1080" as its seems like i doing wrong....
Eh no la. Chill, no offense to you. You are doing good advice already. Just noticing gfx card are avail for higher version for few hundred topup till no end. No offense brother, im just saying the obvious. XD
demetry
post Apr 26 2017, 11:22 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Apr 26 2017, 08:54 AM)
This could cost a lot.

i7 or Ryzen 7 - around 1.5k+
A decent mobo - around 600+/-
16GB DDR4 RAM - around 600+/-
GTX1080Ti 11GB G5X - around 4000+/-
240GB SATA SSD - around 500+/-
1TB SATA HDD - around 225+/-
A decent 500W - 600W PSU - around 500+/-
Casing of your own choice - around 500+/-
Monitor - estimate to be around 5000
Misc (keyboard, mouse, speaker, cooler, casing fan, LED strip etc.) - around 500+/-

Total up will be around 14k  laugh.gif
I think psu need to be upgraded due to 1080ti
demetry
post Apr 28 2017, 05:24 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(seichirosano @ Apr 27 2017, 04:26 PM)
guys is this build alright?

cpu: ryzen 5 1500x
mobo: asrock x370 gaming k4 or asrock killer sli?
psu: leadex ii gold 650w or evga g3?
ram: corsair vengeance lpx 2666mhz 8gb x1 (may add another stick in future)
gpu: nitro+ rx 580 8gb
ssd: 850 evo 120gb
hhd: toshiba 1tb
case: fractal design define c with window

my question is about the fractal define c case, as it comes with front and back 120mm. i want to add another 120mm in front of the case, but should i add 120mm or 140mm? so the front of the case will be 120mm (top and btm) or (120mm top and 140mm btm)
i have very close build with yours except different psu, lower ram, gfx card.

i m curious though, how much and wat makes u choose asrock mobo? now, i m still choosing casing. are u going atx tower, or matx or mitx?
demetry
post Apr 28 2017, 05:25 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(eDwanD @ Apr 28 2017, 04:48 PM)
For current 1080p gaming max setting, at least 4gb vram and above of gtx1060/rx470/480/570/580 is sufficient.
In rumor, game developer wont get higher ram consume more than 4gb vram for 1080p gaming because its more gamer who only get 4gb vram currently, but if willing to pay more, 8gb vram is better future proof in theory.

CPU for gaming, as long as no bottleneck your gpu, is ok at all.
But ryzen 1600 a bit overkill for just gaming 1080p, except u want streaming game or using for workloads.
Better get yourself at least 250gb ssd, because 120gb is not really enough for OS+ games which u want install, especially space hungry game.
i think gfx card 4gb or higher for those going for 29inch and above monitor.
demetry
post Apr 28 2017, 06:36 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(eDwanD @ Apr 28 2017, 06:06 PM)
Nop, if u still gaming 1080p @@.... except u want gaming 1440p and above, then u need more than 4gb vram.
haha, that was what i said. "4gb or higher for those going for 29inch and above monitor".
demetry
post Apr 29 2017, 12:40 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(eDwanD @ Apr 28 2017, 06:38 PM)
Monitor size not equal to resolution, there r 25 inch 1440p and 30 inch 1080p display as well, somemore, maybe there r gamer who dun mind play 1080p gaming on 1440p or 4k monitor. =w=
of coz you can play 1080 on 4k monitor or even lower resolution but normally people would adjust resolution accordingly to the size of the monitor with their gfc carc to support higher res. You can disagree but this is normal ppl would do unless you want to do something else then it is different story.
demetry
post Apr 29 2017, 01:42 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(eDwanD @ Apr 29 2017, 01:01 AM)
What my point is,
the statement of " i think gfx card 4gb or higher for those going for 29inch and above monitor " = false

It should be, 4gb vram for those going for gaming more than 1080p, because there r 25,27 inch which resolution 1440p and get ur possibility to use more than 4gb vram in gaming.

And there r ppl gaming using 1080p 30 inch tv etc, it wont benefit u with 4gb vram for current games.

Resolution is not according to a display panel size, just a panel support.
Statement is not false. As already mentioned, normally people will adjust resolution according size of the panel with gfx card that can support the resolution else screen will get abnormally zoom out (high-res) or zoom in (low-res). Not much ppl would adjust 720p on 4k screen or 1440p on 24 inch screen.

So like-wise, ppl should buy above 4 gb card on larger monitor to support the resolution and fps for gaming. so yes, my statement still stands. So yes, resolution will affect your viewing on the size of panel display and no one wants to have weird viewing screen because it is counterproductive.
demetry
post Apr 29 2017, 01:46 AM

302 posts

besides, what kinda of gamer would adjust 1440p on 24 inch if you can see as well as 1080p and it will decrease your fps. You need to find an optimum resolution as per size of your panel display.
demetry
post Apr 29 2017, 12:17 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(eDwanD @ Apr 29 2017, 02:09 AM)
I'm using U2515h under 1440p, get roughly 117 ppi, if u asking can i see any pixel different? yes, i still can see square pixel with 1440p.
There r lot ppl getting higher than 300ppi in phone even they didnt notice different.

I putting more possibility, is just want to inform u,its just different people = different needs.

1) The statement is for current gaming, benefit for more than 4gb vram is when you willing gaming under resolution more than 1440p and the graphical setting as high as which needs more than 4gb vram to process smoothly.
Its nothing related with size of monitor, because size of monitor doesnt means or not equal to maximum of resolution which the monitor support.

2) If i have a 24 inch monitor with maximum support of 1920x1080, i still cannot use more than 4gb vram if gaming 1080p, because the monitor cannot goes up more than 1080p.
If i have a 40 inch tv as monitor which support maximum resolution 1920x1080, more than 4gb vram still cant benefit me when gaming 1080p.
Is it clear? is it your gpu consume more than 4gb vram to run a game, its not according what size the monitor u have, but what resolution and graphical setting u run the game.

3) Your statement in your reply is " i think gfx card 4gb or higher for those going for 29inch and above monitor."
And leading the questioner asking you " My 32" TV will be my monitor while waiting to decide what monitor to buy. So how big screen effect vram?"From above, what's the resolution of the questioner 32 inch TV run will lead to different answer.
It is because you are minority of ppl who will adjust 1440p on 25inch. You can start a poll in kopitiam to check if my opinion for suitable for mass majority or your opinion. Clearly it is mine.

1) As per my statement, if you opt for larger monitor 27/29 inch and above, go for higher res with supported gfc card to ensure resolution and good fps is supported. Else you are looking at low fps in game and looking at messed up Windows screen. You seems to forget to put fps in to the picture uh? You throw more pixel into your game, your fps will decrease unless ur gfx card and monitor can support it.
Its nothing related with size of monitor, because size of monitor doesnt means or not equal to maximum of resolution which the monitor support.

No, monitor have their supported resolution. Check video below, it is a commonsense la.

2) 1080p is 1920×1080 res la. Whether it will use up 4gb will depends on the game settings. I didnt suggest people to buy 4gb card for 25inch with 1440p like you what. Because normal people would see the weird zoom-out windows. Earlier i was suggesting those opting for larger screen, adjust to the resolution accordance to panel size with good fps supported gfc card. Going back to cycle again,
It is because you are minority of ppl who will adjust 1440p on 25inch.
Left is 1440p, right is 1080 on 27 inch.

3) opt for higher vram for a good fps and resolution you choose as per the size of the display panel.
demetry
post May 2 2017, 02:51 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(starz92 @ May 2 2017, 01:38 PM)
alright then how about i7 with GTX1070 with IPS G-Synch monitor? (G-synch won't necessary important for me as I wont be going for competitive gaming) mostly for leisure.

Is the amd build a cheaper option with the same performance and reliability??
gtx1070 OC, 32 inch curved acer predator ips, your money just finish buying monitor and gfx card.

LOL

0.0351sec    0.85    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 09:48 AM