1384 Pages « < 234 235 236 237 238 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V13!

xiaomifeng
post Aug 15 2018, 01:20 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(xiaomifeng @ Aug 13 2018, 04:45 PM)
Thanks a lot for clarifying things for me. I end up going with Gigabyte b360m-hd3 as it supports up to 32gb/s for the m.2 ssd.

I have tweaked my rig to parts below. Can somebody let me know if it’s ok?

i3-8100
Gigabyte b360m-HD3
G.skill aegis ddr4 8gb 2666mHz
Intel 760p m.2 nvme 250gb
EVGA 500bv (I have bought this before u reply my post so I have to stick with this)
Tecware core
Hi guys,

I found 2 rams with not much difference among their price, can somebody tell me is it necessary to take the expensive one? Or what would u do if you are in my shoe.

They are:
G.skill aegis ddr4 8gb 2666mHz RM 315
G.skill Ripjaws V ddr4 8gb 2800mHz RM 323

From what I got from google, my mobo supports until 2666mHz only.

This post has been edited by xiaomifeng: Aug 15 2018, 01:31 PM
TristanX
post Aug 15 2018, 02:13 PM

Where is my stars?
24,337 posts

QUOTE(xiaomifeng @ Aug 15 2018, 01:20 PM)
Hi guys,

I found 2 rams with not much difference among their price, can somebody tell me is it necessary to take the expensive one? Or what would u do if you are in my shoe.

They are:
G.skill aegis ddr4 8gb 2666mHz RM 315
G.skill Ripjaws V ddr4 8gb 2800mHz RM 323

From what I got from google, my mobo supports until 2666mHz only.
Buy the 2800. It will run at 2666mhz though. Although Intel doesnt benefit much from RAM speed but it is better future proofing.

This post has been edited by TristanX: Aug 15 2018, 02:13 PM
xiaomifeng
post Aug 15 2018, 02:56 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Aug 15 2018, 02:13 PM)
Buy the 2800. It will run at 2666mhz though. Although Intel doesnt benefit much from RAM speed but it is better future proofing.
Thanks. My case came in just now and a forumer has suggested me to add some fans in. Can somebody tell me what kind of fan I need? And where do I add it to? I’d prefer quieter fan if there is any. My case is a tecware core.

I have attached three photos for reference. Last photo is the internal part of the side panel.

xiaomifeng
post Aug 15 2018, 03:41 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(Kristal.S @ Aug 15 2018, 02:58 PM)
You can add 2 case fans at the front for a better airflow. Any case fans that have PWM mode will do just fine. You can adjust the fan curve in bios.
https://www.lazada.com.my/products/cooler-m...19d7LTpobN&mp=1

Is this one better than the stock fan? I am planning to change the stock fan to this one if it’s better since it comes in a pack of 4 or i am going to look for something else because I don’t need that much fans. I didn’t know fans could cost this much or i’d Have stick with tecware nexus that comes with fan and just face the tempered glass side to the wall. Haha. I ended up paying more for this case + shipping + fans.

Do you have any recommendation? I saw some be quiet! fans selling at 100+ ringgit. Are they worth the money?

Edit: I really appreciate all the answers given to me. I have a lot of questions because this is the first time building a rig myself.

This post has been edited by xiaomifeng: Aug 15 2018, 03:43 PM
TristanX
post Aug 15 2018, 03:45 PM

Where is my stars?
24,337 posts

QUOTE(xiaomifeng @ Aug 15 2018, 03:41 PM)
https://www.lazada.com.my/products/cooler-m...19d7LTpobN&mp=1

Is this one better than the stock fan? I am planning to change the stock fan to this one if it’s better since it comes in a pack of 4 or i am going to look for something else because I don’t need that much fans. I didn’t know fans could cost this much or i’d Have stick with tecware nexus that comes with fan and just face the tempered glass side to the wall. Haha. I ended up paying more for this case + shipping + fans.

Do you have any recommendation? I saw some be quiet! fans selling at 100+ ringgit. Are they worth the money?

Edit: I really appreciate all the answers given to me. I have a lot of questions because this is the first time building a rig myself.
This will help you.

https://www.quietpc.com/120mmfans
R3turn
post Aug 15 2018, 06:30 PM

Banned
647 posts

I hope i posted dis on a right place..
Ok so my current rig is as stated in my sig..

2500k already came to the end of its era..
And i plan to upgrade..

Recently i got an offer of used mobo and processor
Asus z170 deluxe + delided i7 7700k

Alternatively to that, with around the same price as that
Im able to get a brand new aorus ultra gaming 2.0 + i3 8350k

1.between those two.. which are the better option
2. If my budget is around 2k (also need a new set of ram) what could you recommend ?

I plan to overclock.. and i plan to buy a better graphic card

This post has been edited by R3turn: Aug 15 2018, 06:31 PM
Moongrave
post Aug 15 2018, 06:41 PM

422 posts

QUOTE(R3turn @ Aug 15 2018, 06:30 PM)

And i plan to upgrade..

2. If my budget is around 2k (also need a new set of ram) what could you recommend ?

I7 >>> i3 8350k. Even with liquid nitrogen on the i3, i7 will still beat it. The 8350k is overpriced garbage.

Your alternative is to get a 2600x and a higher b450 board such as the MSI carbon or at least the tomahawk.

I would recommend the i7 for gaming but if you plan on streaming or video editing, the Ryzen will give a bit better performance.

You can look at klevv 8gb 3000mhz from techview for 320. Get higher Hz and lower CL numbers for as cheap as possible
adamtayy
post Aug 15 2018, 07:07 PM

1,385 posts

QUOTE(R3turn @ Aug 15 2018, 06:30 PM)

And i plan to upgrade..

I would recommend a list as below..

proc : Ryzen 5 2600 (6 cores & 12 threads), RM739

mobo : Asus tuf b450M-plus gaming, RM499.99

ram : Kingston fury 8gb ddr4 pc 2933mhz, RM393

grand total : RM1632

as you still can sell the old 1155 socket proc, i5 2500k for, RM329

p/s, as for Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H B3 mobo, if its still working good, can sell off for at least RM250

icon_rolleyes.gif
Moongrave
post Aug 15 2018, 07:12 PM

422 posts

QUOTE(adamtayy @ Aug 15 2018, 07:07 PM)

p/s, as for Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H B3 mobo, if its still working good, can sell off for at least RM250

icon_rolleyes.gif
Avoid TUF for your life. It is not worth it anymore since Asus drag them from high end 24/7 to capalang. 500 can top up for x470 budget board which is way better than TUF.

R3turn
post Aug 15 2018, 07:43 PM

Banned
647 posts

QUOTE(Kristal.S @ Aug 15 2018, 07:12 PM)
Definitely 7700K > 8350K. How much are you getting that 7700k + Z170 for? If got extra budget left, can get 16GB ram.
1.4k..
Quite reasonable rite?
R3turn
post Aug 15 2018, 08:02 PM

Banned
647 posts

QUOTE(Kristal.S @ Aug 15 2018, 07:46 PM)
Yeah pretty reasonable. What about warranty? How long left?
As for now.. the seller only mentioned 2 weeks personal warranty..

QUOTE(Moongrave @ Aug 15 2018, 06:41 PM)
I7 >>> i3 8350k. Even with liquid nitrogen on the i3, i7 will still beat it. The 8350k is overpriced garbage.

Your alternative is to get a 2600x and a higher b450 board such as the MSI carbon or at least the tomahawk.

I would recommend the i7 for gaming but if you plan on streaming or video editing, the Ryzen will give a bit better performance.

You can look at klevv 8gb 3000mhz from techview for 320. Get higher Hz and lower CL numbers for as cheap as possible
Appreciate ur imput specially on the ram.. im stucked too long on 2011's rig.. my knowledge on hardwares are outdated

QUOTE(adamtayy @ Aug 15 2018, 07:07 PM)

icon_rolleyes.gif
Haha i wish i could fast-sell those two..
My proc is rock solid as it could be
But my mobo... one out of 4 ram slots have bend pins.. probably quick fixable.. prolly not...

Thanks guys

Btw.. i was expecting "wait for 9th gen.. few moths to go" kind of replies..

This post has been edited by R3turn: Aug 15 2018, 08:15 PM
R3turn
post Aug 15 2018, 08:28 PM

Banned
647 posts

QUOTE(Kristal.S @ Aug 15 2018, 08:14 PM)
Might wanna double confirm with him the actual warranty left. If it's over then uhhh.. might wanna reconsider your options. Lol.
Urgh come to think abt it.. when is 7th gen intel released? 2 years ago?
Intel give 3 years warranty right?
As for the mobo.. z1xx series are quite old.. perhaps its really have no warranty left..

keniel
post Aug 15 2018, 10:33 PM

hi all dada~
i wish to buy a new pc but i have to sell out my old 1
can tell me agak-agak how much i can sell?
spec:
22' samsung syncmaster 2243
i5 3470
msi b75ma-plus
HD7750
128GB ssd
1tb HDD
8GB ram
dvd rom
silverstone 650w psu
keyboard & mouse
thk alots
Burberry7
post Aug 16 2018, 09:32 AM

Hi sifu need recommendation

[Budget]
Around 4.5K

[Purpose]
Gaming

[Hardwares that will be re-use]
Monitor

[Monitor resolution]
1080p

[Games & softwares that use frequently]
3A Games, emulators

[Personal preferences]
Intel I7-8700 if possible, GTX 1066

[Location]
KL
mrtresynth
post Aug 16 2018, 10:31 AM

160 posts

My mid 2012 i5 mbp is currently lagging when opening multiple window, so my friend suggesting i change to custom pc. im undecided between change to custom pc or upgrade 16gb ram + ssd (currently 8gb + hdd)

[B][Budget] 2-2.5k

[Purpose] mainly photo editing

[Hardwares that will be re-use] monitor, mouse

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Lightroom, Photoshop

[Personal preferences]

[Location] KL
TristanX
post Aug 16 2018, 10:47 AM

Where is my stars?
24,337 posts

QUOTE(mrtresynth @ Aug 16 2018, 10:31 AM)
My mid 2012 i5 mbp is currently lagging when opening multiple window, so my friend suggesting i change to custom pc. im undecided between change to custom pc or upgrade 16gb ram + ssd (currently 8gb + hdd)

[B][Budget] 2-2.5k

[Purpose] mainly photo editing

[Hardwares that will be re-use] monitor, mouse

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Lightroom, Photoshop

[Personal preferences]

[Location] KL
Which is the model of your i5? You can use CPU-Z to check.

Option 1:
add 8GB DDR3 RAM (your RAM slots may hinder this upgrade) - RM260ish
Crucial MX500 500GB - RM486 from lelong

Option 2:
Core i5-8400 - 725
Gigabyte B360M-HD3 - 339
Crucial or Kingston 8GB DDR4-2400 X2 - 620
Move your hard disk over
Corsair VS 450 - 159
Tecware Core mATX case - 89
Additional 12cm fan - 25

RM2443 total (C-Zone prices except the SSD)

This post has been edited by TristanX: Aug 16 2018, 10:50 AM
mrtresynth
post Aug 16 2018, 10:58 AM

160 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Aug 16 2018, 10:47 AM)
Which is the model of your i5? You can use CPU-Z to check.

Option 1:
add 8GB DDR3 RAM (your RAM slots may hinder this upgrade) - RM260ish

Option 2:
Core i5-8400 - 725
Gigabyte B360M-HD3 - 339
Crucial or Kingston 8GB DDR4-2400 X2 - 620
Move your hard disk over
Corsair VS 450 - 159
Tecware Core mATX case - 89
Additional 12cm fan - 25

RM2443 total (C-Zone prices except the SSD)
its a 3210M model. no installer for mac at cpuz website sweat.gif
https://everymac.com/systems/apple/macbook_...usb3-specs.html

currently on 4+4 RAM, so yeah I need to sold both of it first haha.

Option 2:
Is ryzen better for adobe? read a few from forum. doesnt have experience about it tho. Thank you for the suggestion! now i have something to start with lol.

TristanX
post Aug 16 2018, 11:38 AM

Where is my stars?
24,337 posts

QUOTE(mrtresynth @ Aug 16 2018, 10:58 AM)
its a 3210M model. no installer for mac at cpuz website  sweat.gif
https://everymac.com/systems/apple/macbook_...usb3-specs.html

currently on 4+4 RAM, so yeah I need to sold both of it first haha.

Option 2:
Is ryzen better for adobe? read a few from forum. doesnt have experience about it tho. Thank you for the suggestion! now i have something to start with lol.
Laptop is slower.

Adobe favors Intel

https://www.pugetsystems.com/labs/articles/...l-8th-Gen-1136/

Ryzen isnt far behind though.
toffy
post Aug 16 2018, 11:07 PM

182 posts

I understand the GPUs prices have dropped quite favourably?
Should I get it now (GTX 10xx) or wait for GTX 11xx? Will GTX 11xx be available in Malaysia by Sept?
toffy
post Aug 17 2018, 01:55 AM

182 posts

QUOTE(Kristal.S @ Aug 16 2018, 11:37 PM)
If you can wait, then its worthwhile to see what Nvidia has to offer. If its not up to your liking and you prefer 10 series still, 10 series cards should drop a tad bit by then.
Good point. I was considering whether to buy 10 series before SST starts in Sept. Not a wise decision eh?

1384 Pages « < 234 235 236 237 238 > » Top

0.0312sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 01:33 AM