7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

ky33li
post Feb 3 2021, 11:16 AM

313 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Feb 3 2021, 11:00 AM)
i think you missed the quarterly platform fees in FSM SG
like 0.0875% for first S$300,000
0.05% for amount beyond S$300,000
Any discussed previously it is only like 0.3% per annum. If you bought Nikko Ark Fund since last quarter of 2020 you would have easily earn >30% already.

What this quarterly platform fee against the good investment returns? The zero percent sales charge is really saving a lot per entry.

If you really want zero platform fees can register eunittrust Singapore.
ky33li
post Feb 3 2021, 11:17 AM

313 posts

QUOTE(thecurious @ Feb 3 2021, 10:55 AM)
Probably not enough data. It's a newly launched fund?
That's why i ask you to check out Blackrock Next Generation Technology Fund. They are buying into this fund, just like Affin Hwang Disruptive Innovation Fund into Nikko Ark Disruptive Innovation Fund.
ky33li
post Feb 3 2021, 11:49 AM

313 posts

QUOTE(LoTek @ Feb 3 2021, 11:24 AM)
Correct me if I'm wrong...I'm thinking that, if a same fund is listed in both fsm my and sg:

The platform fees will be based on the current value, not the initial investment. So, it is impossible to calculate accurately the difference in cost between the initial sales charge vs platform fees as we do not know how the fund will perform in future.

Assuming the fund was stagnant, fsm sg would be cheaper than fsm my up to 17+ quarters. Highly unlikely that a fund does not grow, and we still keep it so maybe with growth, ballpark, 12 quarters, or 3 years.

Most people (I hope) keep their units way longer than 3 years, so, the initial sales charge method still seems more worth it?

*This of course does not take into account the fact that some (many) people might wish to keep their assets in Sg rather than My, hence the appeal of Fsm Sg.

**Disclaimer: I have both fsm my and sg accounts.
There is a reason FSM is charging the platform fees. If you would like to monitor the relevant unit trust say based on specific industries or region, FSM Singapore makes it easy for you to manage your watchlist. When i click China watchlist, immediately everything is being listed out. This will also helps u in managing your top up or to which sector you want to increase your exposure to.

I am not sure how eunittrust layout looks like but from what i gather with eunittrust Malaysia I don't think the platform is that user-friendly for monitoring and investment.

Or maybe you have build a substantial investment, you can transfer them to eunitrust Singapore.

What I am trying to highlight is FSM Malaysia is already losing out in terms of zero percent sales charge not to mention the choices of funds available. I only buy feeder funds in FSM Malaysia that is still subjected to 1.5% sales charge.
ky33li
post Feb 3 2021, 12:56 PM

313 posts

QUOTE(thecurious @ Feb 3 2021, 12:47 PM)
There is also the consideration of conversion costs to and from SGD when you deposit and withdraw. And forex gain or loss.
Just noting that there will be additional factors to consider
Yes definitely i have considered that. Conversion cost is around 0.5% but I m of the view SGD will appreciate MYR long term.

So far the returns i earn from Malaysia unit trusts are not as good as the ones in Singapore.

I am aware of the charges but I agree with you. Not sure I can hold a fund for so long. I think things changes very fast now. We have to constantly change to adapt to market conditions.
ky33li
post Feb 3 2021, 01:02 PM

313 posts

QUOTE(LoTek @ Feb 3 2021, 12:58 PM)
Recall someone here asked before whether how much extra expenses feeder funds incur...dont rmb the answer. Was it you? The extra is 1%?
i think someone said no extra charges but i doubt so.. hahahah
ky33li
post Feb 3 2021, 01:06 PM

313 posts

QUOTE(Gatsby IT @ Feb 3 2021, 01:02 PM)
What's ur thought on ARK vs blackrock ya bro 😁
Blackrock Next Generation is less volatile but if you were to pick one tech fund out of this two, Nikko Ark's performance is better.

However, do bear in mind, market is already at very high value. I own both funds actually with more exposure towards Blackrock Next Generation.

Depends on your strategy but so far i notice Nikko Ark's drop is also more than Blackrock Next Generation. thus far Nikko Ark has retraced few times -10% drop, i would normally top up when it reaches this. So far my Singapore portfolio around 15% since October. I started off with small amount and slowly pumping more.
ky33li
post Feb 3 2021, 01:23 PM

313 posts

QUOTE(Gatsby IT @ Feb 3 2021, 01:17 PM)
Aiya haha actually its alot higher not IF just my wording haha
This is just comparing the same type of funds. Imagine u compare tech funds in FSM Singapore vs FSM Malaysia.....

Problem is our capital market is not so open towards external fund managers, this is because they want to protect the rice bowl of local fund managers or unit trust consultant if you ask me.....Hence we have no choice but to diversify to Singapore.....

I used to think earning >10% per annum is not possible with unit trust in Malaysia but after going into FSM Singapore.... my thoughts changed.
ky33li
post Feb 3 2021, 02:28 PM

313 posts

Just showing you guys the screenshot of technology funds in FSM Singapore.. Compare it with Principal Technology, TA Technology, UOB Technology...

ky33li
post Feb 3 2021, 05:06 PM

313 posts

QUOTE(killdavid @ Feb 3 2021, 03:35 PM)
I take your capture for FranklinTech Fund in Sin for 2 year return says 42 %
That very same fund is under Principal GTF and return for 2 years, 41.4 %

Same goes for  Alianz AI fund 1 yr return in SG 95%
Here it is RHB AI Fund 1 year return 92 %

Are we missing out that much ? I'd rather save me the hassle.
What I am trying to show here is there are much more options for tech funds in Singapore, although I would say it would not present not much of a difference if you invest in the feeder funds itself.

For example, if most investors were made known of the Nikko Ark Funds, I am sure they would have picked this fund over Franklin Tech Fund.

If you observe the trend above, since there are correction in Nasdaq past 1 week, all tech funds affected.

Of course it is the trend now for tech. However I have also included specific sectors in Singapore for observation such as renewable energy, future transport, semi-conductors, of which these niche sectors u can't find in portfolio of FSM Malaysia.

Just sharing my opinion comparing both FSM Malaysia and FSM Singapore.

ky33li
post Feb 3 2021, 05:31 PM

313 posts

Yes, notice that Affin Hwang brought in Nikko Ark Fund and Blackrock Next Generation Fund.

There are a few other feeder funds as well such as :

RHB China Bond Fund - Blackrock China Bond Fund
AmChina A shares - Allianz China A Shares
RHB Artificial Intelligence Fund - Allianz Artificial Intelligence Fund
Principal Greater China Equity Fund - Schroder ISF Greater China

I learn a lot from FSM Malaysia discussion that brought my attention to FSM Singapore.
ky33li
post Feb 4 2021, 08:58 AM

313 posts

QUOTE(2387581 @ Feb 3 2021, 10:49 PM)
Just want to check with you guys, Affin Hwang Global Disruptive Innovation Fund feeds into Nikko Am ARK Disruptive Innovation Fund, and Nikko Am side says "The fund is managed by Nikko AM Americas with advice from ARK. The portfolio managers in Nikko AM Americas are Lawrence Prager and Takeshi Noda. Catherine Wood, ARK’s CIO, CEO and Portfolio manager, has over 40 years of industry experience and is supported by Brett Winton, Director of Research. There are 12 other investment professionals within the ARK team that supports them."

It is maybe more like a far relative of ARK but does not mean they are actually tracking what ARKK ETF is doing right?
Nikko Am has the exclusive rights to distribute funds to invest in Cathie Wood's ark funds. In fact, Nikko Ark has some stake in Ark Management. You don't see other fund managers have this exclusive rights like Nikko Am. Hope this clarifies. Just look at the fund size at Nikko Am Ark Fund think around USD8.6bil to date.

https://www.pionline.com/article/20170804/O...ment-management
ky33li
post Feb 4 2021, 09:16 AM

313 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Feb 4 2021, 09:05 AM)
hmm.gif does this fund size includes the investment returns of the investors?
This fund was launched in July 2019 and less than 2 years it has grown to this size.
https://secure.fundsupermart.com/fsm/funds/factsheet/NIK002
ky33li
post Feb 4 2021, 01:59 PM

313 posts

QUOTE(jj_jz @ Feb 4 2021, 01:42 PM)
Hey guys,

anyone could recommend some funds with global semiconductor company like AMD, Intel and etc. ?
Eastspring Investment Dinasti Equity Fund, it holds substantial holding in Taiwan Semiconductor Manufacturing (Tai Ji Dian), it is now producing chips for EV vehicles and 5G sectors as well.

Taiwanese love this stock and it is giving consistent dividend as well. One of the blue chip stocks in Taiwan.

I have just recently added this fund into my portfolio as well.

This post has been edited by ky33li: Feb 4 2021, 02:04 PM
ky33li
post Feb 4 2021, 02:22 PM

313 posts

QUOTE(jj_jz @ Feb 4 2021, 02:11 PM)
yea i saw that on taiwan news lol, everyone just like all-in into TSM. The target price set by local is around 900-1k taiwan dollar. I cant imagine if TSM failed to cope with this high expectation and the effect to all the taiwanese.
Btw thanks ya for the suggestion!
It is a very well managed company. I noticed the drop on this fund last week around -10% but it bounce back very quickly. TSM is producing high value chips and it is a forward looking company. Plus it is a cash rich company with low debt, literally net cash position.

ky33li
post Feb 6 2021, 09:18 AM

313 posts

https://www.fsmone.com.my/funds/research/ar...-tech?src=funds
ky33li
post Feb 6 2021, 01:17 PM

313 posts

QUOTE(yycclin @ Feb 6 2021, 01:15 PM)
I have invested 100k in FSM with 20 funds. Focus on Tech funds, AI, China and Gold.  Currently with overall profit of 8% .
Is this healthy ?
Btw, I am new investor, need more advise from Sifu here wink.gif wink.gif
My portfolio allocation is also based on technology and china specific. Let me guess is your portfolio dragged down by gold?
ky33li
post Feb 6 2021, 02:04 PM

313 posts

QUOTE(killdavid @ Feb 6 2021, 01:33 PM)
1. Don't compare your returns to anyone else. We all have different risk appetite and tolerance for loss.
2. If you are chasing returns, do not invest in 20 funds. Your risk and returns will be averaged out and your port just behaves like a conservative balanced fund.
3. Ask yourself is your expectations realistic? Are you expecting returns of stock investing while investing in mutual fund? To me, if you can manage a 8% consistent return through out with mutual fund, you would have beaten lots of amateur stock investor out there.
Yes agree do set a benchmark return you want to achieve. Perhaps work on your retirement number and work backwards on the required investment return you require to achieve every year.
ky33li
post Feb 7 2021, 09:52 PM

313 posts

QUOTE(poooky @ Feb 7 2021, 09:41 PM)
Any experienced investors care to rate my portfolio, advise on the next steps, and comment on my plan below? planning to be in it for the long game.

Current Porfolio:

Fund%
Affin Hwang Select Asia Pacific (Ex Japan) Balanced Fund  - MYR 20%
TA Global Technology Fund20%
Affin Hwang AIIMAN Asia (Ex Japan) Growth Fund - MYR30%
Principal Greater China Fund – MYR30%

Plan:

I'm thinking of increasing proportion of

1. `Affin Hwang Select Asia Pacific (Ex Japan) Balanced Fund  - MYR ` to 40% of holdings, and
2. Fixed Income / Bonds / Etc 20%

Any recommendations on Fixed Income funds / Bonds or other lower risk investments to diversify and balance my portfolio?
Amanahraya Syariah Trust Fund -around 4% a year
RHB China Bond Fund - around 8-9% a year but solely focus on China bonds

There are better performance technology funds, try to relook at your TA Technology Fund

This post has been edited by ky33li: Feb 7 2021, 09:53 PM
ky33li
post Feb 8 2021, 07:56 AM

313 posts

QUOTE(poooky @ Feb 8 2021, 07:09 AM)
Hello, thanks for the suggestions, but I can't find the Fund Selector is unable to find the `RHB China Bond Fund`. Or am I looking in the wrong place.

Also, please do share your concerns with the TA Technology Fund. At a glance, it appears to offer greater diversity in Tech related equities on a global scale compared to `Principal Greater China Fund – MYR` or `Affin Hwang -Ex Japan` funds which are more focused on China.
Thanks for the suggestions. I thinking to pull out of

1. TA Global Technology Fund
2. Affin Hwang AIIMAN Asia (Ex Japan) Growth Fund - MYR

and go more into:

1. Affin Hwang Select Asia Pacific (Ex Japan) Balanced Fund  - MYR
2. Principal Greater China Fund – MYR
+ 1 more FI/Bond fund.

Another note, the Fund Selector is not able to find a number of the suggested funds. Only one that I can find that is similar is RHB i-Global Sustainable Disruptors - MYR Hedged, and this looks to be a new fund started from this year.
It depends on your risk appetite. Are you willing to take on more risk? For me personally i want to b more aggressive i picked more aggressive tech funds : RHB Artificial Intelligence Fund and Affin Hwang World Series Disruptive Innovation Fund.
https://www.fsmone.com.my/funds/tools/facts...c=global-search

FI fund are mostly malaysia based hence best performance (with less volatility so far) is Amanahraya Syariah Trust Fund.

RHB China Bond Fund can refer to this, managed by Blackrock. https://www.fsmone.com.my/funds/tools/facts...c=global-search

It is entirely depending on preference but for myself i wont pick a balanced fund. Either 100% equity or 100% FI. You balanced the exposure yoursef making your own portfolio "balanced". Maybe 60% in equities and 40% in bonds. But mind you most ppl pull funds into equities hence bond returns arent so good. If you were to benchmark against average highest FD let say highest at 2.4%, average one month ur bond fund return should be >0.2%. But most bond funds (except those with overseas exposure) past one month achieved less than that if not negative returns.

This post has been edited by ky33li: Feb 8 2021, 08:02 AM
ky33li
post Feb 8 2021, 07:58 AM

313 posts

QUOTE(ironman16 @ Feb 7 2021, 10:42 PM)
i think not only safi, most of the tech fund rally after the covid dip in march 2020.... brows.gif
There is change of fund manager if not mistaken.

7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0615sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 02:54 PM