QUOTE(5p3ak @ Feb 15 2021, 04:46 PM)
I mean top local banks in Malaysia. I mean even if funds launched by local banks it is not 100% trustworthy, what more Amanahraya itself?This post has been edited by ky33li: Feb 15 2021, 05:23 PM
FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D
Feb 15 2021, 05:21 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
313 posts Joined: Mar 2010 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Feb 17 2021, 02:00 PM
QUOTE(lee82gx @ Feb 17 2021, 12:37 PM) See the correct response below - Actually Eastspring Dinasti Equity has about 10% in Taiwan Semiconductor Manufacturing Company. Personally I am very bullish about this counter given it is a blue chip counter in Taiwan and gives decent dividends. If the fund drop i will probably top up more. Now semiconductors have to produce more chips for both 5G and EVs, that's why you see the tech counters in Malaysia do well.So in my case, when I sold the dinasti fund, 1/3rd went into Principal Greater China which was a yay Next, also thought about allocating back to Malaysia since got Harapan and Guan Eng, we sure fly. This illustrates another point - Malaysia equity has too much political overtones and even undertones, and KLCI as a whole is a bad bad bad tracker. It is almost the same as investing in EPF if you put your money in Malaysia broadbased funds. Needless to say, eventually my Eastspring investment Equity income fund has also been reallocated to other funds. Eventually you start to lose track after 3-4 switches and might as well track the whole portfolio in general. So, yeah, re-allocation and rebalancing works if you can see the future, which many of us (including myself) cannot. But reallocating during a fund's highs - now that's something I have not done until today. I have only tried reducing the DCA / fresh funds, something I am learning from Stashaway. It hardly ever sells anything during a high, it just switches fresh funds to lower performing assets to maintain a balanced portfolio. TLDR -I now tend to track my portfolio as a whole, trying to bring it up in XIRR from all cash flows. I think that will give the best overall picture of my own management. For Malaysia unit trust, i prefer United Malaysia Fund, it is rated as 6 (balanced fund) but it outperforms my expectations. I used to be like you like keep re-balancing here and then but changed my strategy, try to hold for at least 6 months and top up when drop. It is important to stay to your own conviction. What goes up must come down vice versa. For FY2020, it only dropped 30% once in March and since then it is all the way up. There is 10% correction here and there. |
Feb 17 2021, 03:42 PM
QUOTE(lee82gx @ Feb 17 2021, 02:55 PM) At one time in 2018 I remember dinasti was more heavy in finance, I could be mistaken. yeah i get what u mean when market drop we all fear and sell... but we always forget market will always bounce back...and when drop you can buy at cheaper price.It looks like I switch around often but before 2019 I was actually pretty "convicted"..in a sense that I kept the Dinasti fund for 2 years with dca before finally switching. I kept most of my funds for 2 years with dca. Even had affing hwang Japan fund for 2 years. So, unfortunately when things don't go well it convictedly brings me down too. If u check latest fund factsheet on eastspring dinasti ekuiti fund it concentrated mostly on china tech and industrial, financials i think around <2%. Fund manager must have restrategised its portfolio. This post has been edited by ky33li: Feb 17 2021, 03:44 PM |
Feb 20 2021, 10:47 AM
Feb 26 2021, 07:19 PM
Feb 26 2021, 09:16 PM
Did anyone hang on to the drop during last year March, care to share how long you have hold on and have you gain any profit out of it?
Feb 26 2021, 09:49 PM
QUOTE(LoTek @ Feb 26 2021, 09:46 PM) I didn't sell anything in UT, I did panic sell some weaker bursa counters (and hung on to a few blue chips). I remember on the first week being extremely hesitant whether to top up or not, whether the market hit a bottom yet, and contemplating whether it was truly the end of my world (as my work was at a complete stop after march and never really recovered even until now): did a little in the end, after that started slowly topping up every two weeks or so, and when china reopened, bought in every few days. With hindsight should have, could have, added much more aggressively, but oh well. Yeah I am feeling exactly same feelings like how you did. Well ppl always say UT is for long term but we are too impatient to wait it out. I still havent top up though will see next week. |
Mar 1 2021, 05:16 PM
Jul 23 2023, 08:10 PM
Aug 24 2023, 07:05 AM
QUOTE(george_dave91 @ Aug 23 2023, 04:10 PM) Hi Sifus this fund is already 20% in the red for me. stay away from PRS better put into EPF instead. EPF also has 3k tax relief.I’m planning to invest in PRS fund for the tax relief, but looking at most of the funds, the performance seems to be quite poor. Does anyone know of some decent PRS funds? So far the principal Islamic equity growth seems to be alright-ish |
Nov 9 2023, 09:50 PM
QUOTE(jutamind @ Nov 9 2023, 08:30 PM) None of MY based brokers will be anywhere cheap compared to IBKR but what you get is piece of mind of easier access to your money if anything were to happen to you especially if you plan to have large amount of money in IBKR. agree and how safe is IBKR? We had a US broker MF Global went bankrupt as well. As non US citizens not sure how you have recourse to get back your money. i agree with piece of mind rather pay more to MY based brokers especially those related to banks.If I recall correctly, few years back the gov was planning to tax the money transferred back to MY but was eventually shelved due to the many objections. Who knows the rule might be revived again in the near future |
| Change to: | 0.0584sec
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 10:45 AM |