QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Jun 2 2017, 12:50 PM)
Not in malaysia. Already check.FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D
FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D
Jun 2 2017, 12:54 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
24,431 posts Joined: Feb 2011 |
Jun 2 2017, 01:23 PM
Jun 7 2017, 10:28 PM
QUOTE(galaxynote259 @ Jun 7 2017, 10:19 PM) hi guys, unit trust newbie here, how do we gain return from a fund? A fund won't maintain the NAV. NAV will keep going up and down depending on the market provided there's no distribution/dividend/unit split If there's a distribution/dividend/unit split, you will x% amount of units and NAV of the fund will also drop by x%it seems a fund will maintain the NAV, so they keep giving out new units? |
Jun 8 2017, 07:21 AM
Jun 8 2017, 09:59 AM
QUOTE(galaxynote259 @ Jun 8 2017, 09:55 AM) Actually I understand the concept, I wanted to know the actual practice. Do you actually own UT? Of course I own UT. That's why I am talking to you I believe Kenanga growth fund issue additional unit or cash distribution ? They have very good return but the NAV doesn't grow much All distribution will be reinvested back into the fund (as I said earlier give you x% distribution, price drop by x% = no change). Unless you yourselg go itchy hand withdraw it. If you take a look at Manulife India, you will see that there's no distribution involve. So what you see is what you get. This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jun 8 2017, 10:00 AM |
Jun 8 2017, 04:28 PM
QUOTE(killdavid @ Jun 8 2017, 03:21 PM) On the prospect of Ringgit .. Don't worry. Now only. Celebrate/exchange while you can. Long term wise RM sure drop. "The currency could reach 4.1 to the dollar in the second half, said Lee Kok Kwan, who is also a director at lender CIMB Group Holdings Bhd. The fair value of the ringgit should be between 3.8 and 4.0, when benchmarked against regional and commodity currencies, said Lee, who accurately predicted in January that the currency will rebound from a 19-year low." Ringgit is on a appreciating trend, so funds that are affected by forex could see less profit in the coming months. And ramjade keep saying ringgit no hope Do you think RM can go back to 3.8 vs the USD or 2.x vs the SGD? Org mesti "cari makan" what. This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jun 8 2017, 04:32 PM |
Jun 9 2017, 09:35 AM
QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jun 9 2017, 08:44 AM) Ramjade has always been an advocate of Singapore and thinks malaysia is one shit country to invest in. while having a cheap currency is bad to some but to companies it's a cheaper alternative Well you have your views, I have mine. Of course they can. If you understand SG economics you know that for them a strong SGD is good. It let them import items at cheap price, assemble it/modify it then sell off at cheap price. A strong currency helps to lower inflation and it's helpful in a country which impirt everything.http://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...to-lower-costs/ Singapore can't keep up its expensive currency for long nor does it have a land mass enough to support more of its economy plus fast aging population combined with that their foreign workers are getting more than their locals. I do not see a long term goodness coming to Singapore. malaysia on the other hand is plagued by bad governance since its birth but make no mistake we have born some of the riches Forbes members on the planet that's not including our 2.6 billion prime Minister. Two sides of the coin. all are welcome. Heck, malaysia is selling them water at cheap price and buying back from them at expensive price. Let's not forget that SG is known as Switzerland of the East. In the recent crackdown by indon govt to bring money back home, only 10% of it was bought back. 70% of it is in SG (declared but not bought back). Rich indons are smart. There's a reason for that. Tax haven (low tax for the rich) + low income tax strict banking laws. That's why the rich comes to SG and park their money there. eg. Jet Li, Eduardo Saverin (one of FB founder), When you have one of the most free, safest and stable place to do business (the other being HK), it's a magnet for investment. If you been to JB you will know. It's very unsafe place. Just across the Causeway, you feel the difference. You actually fear getting rob. SG doesn't need to rely on local population. They rely on foreign talent (especially from malaysia). 50%+ of people in SG are foreigners. And these are not your normal run of the mill bangla, indon, nepal. TB is practically non existence in SG. Unlike us, TB used to be almost wipe out. Thanks to influx of indon, bangla, nepalese, TB is back and kicking in malaysia. These are all highly skill people. That's why some people said as a foreigner, you are treated better than local Singaporeans. We take in more unskilled workers while they take in more skilled workers (including ours). True they have no land, but they are always building more land. Their development unit planned everything and don't just simply built things. Let's not forget their national budget. Unlike us, we always ask for extra in January. They on the other hand always have extra That's why unlike most country which depend on interest rate to control the economy, SG uses appreciation against a basket of trading partner currency. (SGD must appreciate against their trading parther over time) This is 2015 news but still relevant aa MAS is expected to resume this policy again later this year. QUOTE Since October 2012, MAS' broad policy stance has been of a "modest and gradual appreciation" of the Singdollar. But on Jan 28, it made an unscheduled move to ease monetary policy, the first since July 2005, after Singapore's economic growth sagged in 2014 to its weakest in five years. MAS reduced the slope of its policy band, in effect slowing the pace of the Singdollar's gains versus the currencies of its main trading partners. In April, at the first of this year's two scheduled meetings, MAS refrained from further action. The key word here is they are rich, so they are able to use this policy. Richest man in forbes for what, at the end, bring all his wealth to other country (eg. robert kouk) aoisky as I have said many times, history don't lie. Two good things about being a Malaysian: 1) no taxes on foreign income. So invest overseas (don't limit ourself to SG) and earn foreign currency and spend in malaysia as long term wise, RM will slide. 2) no death tax This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jun 9 2017, 09:59 AM |
Jun 9 2017, 11:29 AM
QUOTE(xuzen @ Jun 9 2017, 11:10 AM) To further add to those who view MYR in the negative light; 1) Can 1 change even if replacement happen. Who knows in the future, there toemdeebeeI am echoing / parroting what my Licensed Financial Planner, LFP told me earlier this year. He attended his finance firm's quarterly briefing and his company Chief Investment Officer, CIO told the attendees that MYR weakness is not due to oil price low (it is a contributory factor) but not the ultimate factor because O&G constitute only a small percentage of export for Malaysia nowadays. He attributed the MYR weakness to: I) Market perception especially the due to the unending tiga suku AmDeeBee saga. The key word here is " perception ". II) The unresolved ballooning of external debt to fx reserve. This is not a perception problem , but a real issue. Item ( II ) is a bigger contributor to the weakening of MYR than depressed oil price. Xuzen p/s To further expand on item ( II). Let us say you have RM 1,000.00 in your pocket but you already owe Ah Long RM 2,000.00. Let us say you need to borrow another RM 1,000.00 to fund your lifestyle. Will the Ah Long loan you the money at the old interest rate or at higher interest rate. Now the Ah Long will view you with a different risk rating liao wor.... Because of this risk, your credit worthiness takes a tumble and hence people will not want to take your risk. Your currency which is peg to your worthiness hence takes a tumble. The above is a very lay-man way of explaining external debt to fx reserve. 2) This one keep increasing every year. Avengelice aoisky, your sifu have spoken Lai lai, sifu xuzen, kasi you This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jun 9 2017, 11:29 AM |
Jun 9 2017, 04:39 PM
QUOTE(adele123 @ Jun 9 2017, 03:04 PM) FD interest 4%. Heck even official inflation also 5.1% in March. Better wish price of oil don't jump back to USD100. (it can't jump back anymore because of shale oil)Inflation, officially reported at 3%... Real inflation...? To have a comfortable amount at retirement, i need to beat inflation. Hence, invest. QUOTE(alexanderclz @ Jun 9 2017, 03:15 PM) Ya lo. Go shopping and see how much you need to pay for groceries. Even SG newspaper publish about how bad is our cost of living.http://www.straitstimes.com/asia/se-asia/m...slowing-economy Ini kasi tips to SGrean jangan complain. Things still better over their island. This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jun 9 2017, 04:49 PM |
Jun 9 2017, 07:51 PM
QUOTE(wonghs @ Jun 9 2017, 07:44 PM) Hi newbie here. Would like to know if anyone buy PRS fund through FSM? Pick either oneAny recommendation which one to choose? Would like to dump 3000 for tax saving purposes... https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/fundi...ass-C-MYCPPRS5C https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/fundi...h-Fund-MYK1PRSG |
Jun 9 2017, 08:51 PM
Jun 12 2017, 10:27 PM
Jun 13 2017, 05:29 PM
QUOTE(LazyKurosaki @ Jun 13 2017, 04:52 PM) Agent fees, marketing, fund house need to make money also and you being retail investor. FSM is considered institutional so they can buy big amount one time. Big amount usually give you good discount lo. QUOTE(LazyKurosaki @ Jun 13 2017, 05:17 PM) Actually why is public mutual so famous? What makes it so famous? Is it really the best fund manager out there? Cause they are the first? Also, last time, public mutual was performing. After that don't know why not performing. Some people prefer to see their agent, see building. They don't trust online. |
Jun 13 2017, 08:54 PM
QUOTE(Vinzcent @ Jun 13 2017, 08:33 PM) i've purchased the fund this afternoon but up until now the status still in "Processing" may know how long it take for it to reflect into my Account. Depends on what time did you do you your transaction. If before 3pm, you will get today's price. If it's after 3pm, you will get tomorrow price.That's normal. Takes about 4 days to finally showed up. |
Jun 14 2017, 07:50 AM
QUOTE(T231H @ Jun 14 2017, 12:14 AM) if really dropped 19.71%.......then it will be more than wiped out the whole YTD gain ...... Ramjade...pls observes....your 10% drops may be happening.... This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jun 14 2017, 07:53 AM |
Jun 16 2017, 09:19 PM
Jun 17 2017, 12:11 AM
QUOTE(T231H @ Jun 16 2017, 11:52 PM) NEW YORK: The large-cap technology sector is expected to see a bump in its growth weighting when index provider FTSE Russell completes the annual refresh of its benchmarks next Friday, a move that could lift tech shares targetted in the rejig. What this means if say Apple at 5% is bump up to 10% on the index, more people will scramble to add apple (think ETF investors + normal retail investor). This will cause apple price to increase (more buyers). Which will lead to increase in NAV for TA global tech.The increased significance of tech comes on the heels of an around 20% gain in the sector this year... FTSE Russell finalises its annual refresh of its widely-followed indexes on June 23, a move that prompts fund managers to adjust their portfolios to reflect new weightings. Large-cap tech is expected to see a more than 3% weighting increase in Russell’s growth index, a major benchmark for portfolio managers. Read more at http://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...TtkA1t8FPe5i.99 This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jun 17 2017, 12:11 AM |
Jun 18 2017, 12:04 AM
Jun 19 2017, 12:18 PM
QUOTE(cloudre01 @ Jun 19 2017, 11:50 AM) Hi I'm quite new here, I have a newbie question. There are so many funds out there, how do you guys go about screening/picking the fund to include into the portfolio? (i.e. there can be so many combinations) Yes there are so many combinations. Just a little overwhelmed with the amount info that I'm not too sure what to focus on when constructing my own. Step 1 Determine your risk level (there's a questionnaire by FSM) https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/riskP...kProfiling.svdo Step 2 After getting your risk level, determine how many % of equities and how many % Fixed income (FI)matches your risk profile (FSM will give you a guide). It's just a guide. Up to you want to follow or not Step 3 Read the fundfactsheet and see where the fund invest. Compare it with it's peer (same region fund). Divide your % of equities to what % fund to buy. You can choose between choosing a balance fund/pure equity. Step 4 Same with step 3 but for FI (you can go for bonds. I go for reits fund. Although reits is counted as equities, but it's consider pseudo bond as reit manager can increase rental to overcome increase in interest rate while bond is fixed.) Step 5 Stick to max 6-7 funds. That's more than enough. --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Alternatively, you can go with Turtle Investor 4 fund combination. (I prefer 5 funds) This blogger invest in ETF which we malaysians don't have access to. http://www.turtleinvestor.net/asset-allocation/ 30% global can be replace with 15% US/Developed countries/tech, 15% Asia pacific 30% in Singpaore STI can be replace with 30% Nikko SG Div/15% Nikko SG, 15% Kenanga Growth Fund (this allocation is for home field advantage) 30% bond etf can be replaced with bond fund 10% reits can be replaced with reits fund. There you go 4-5 funds combination. Of course, if you want more boost/oomph (return), add in india/china at a cost of higher volatility This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jun 19 2017, 12:22 PM |
Jun 19 2017, 12:52 PM
QUOTE(cloudre01 @ Jun 19 2017, 12:34 PM) You can use this to screen for fundshttps://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/fundi...fundSelect.svdo |
| Change to: | 0.0675sec
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 09:11 AM |