49 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

puchongite
post May 18 2017, 10:34 AM

33,665 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ May 18 2017, 10:22 AM)
inflation of the month of May is 4.4%

projected return of CMF 3.33

dude don't keep your money sitting there
Your sifu xuzen also keeps the bulk of his money there.
puchongite
post May 18 2017, 10:49 AM

33,665 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ May 18 2017, 10:44 AM)
In preparation to buy into any weakness if I recall back
Are you also going to do it soon ? Looks like Asian market does not drop that much compared to US.
puchongite
post May 18 2017, 08:44 PM

33,665 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 18 2017, 08:32 PM)
Trust me. Go with manulife. Amasia is still 1.xx since Sept last year. Manulife 5.xx since December.
People will tell you go for amasia due to lower volatility but I tell you amasia is lousy. 6 months+ still stuck at 1%. Don't believe me, just buy both in equal amount, hold for one year and you will see what I meant. That way you will know which is better. Recommend you to wait until next US interest hike.
1% return for closed to 8 months, better go with affin hwang select bond. Can sleep soundly.
puchongite
post May 18 2017, 09:08 PM

33,665 posts

QUOTE(Steven7 @ May 18 2017, 08:54 PM)
Er I didn't go and consolidate the list as most were green before, but now its much much "less greener" while S&P500 is quite red
S&P 500 that sort of maps into Manulife US.

Manulife drops 1.5%. Might continue tonite.
puchongite
post May 19 2017, 10:06 AM

33,665 posts

QUOTE(ilunodue @ May 19 2017, 09:44 AM)
Your move from manulife US to Manulife India doesn't benefit you.
Mother fund of Manulife india drops 2.60% in just 1 day (on 5/18)   doh.gif shocking.gif
however, manulife us only drops -1.5%.
Must be the secret admirer of Avangelice just created a new nick to post this. Why lar so difficult to say this using the old nick ? devil.gif

This post has been edited by puchongite: May 19 2017, 10:08 AM
puchongite
post May 19 2017, 10:13 AM

33,665 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ May 19 2017, 10:09 AM)
eh? am I missing something? who likes me? I'm just a little person
Just a new nick who joined yesterday and the virgin post is dedicated to you. devil.gif
puchongite
post May 19 2017, 10:16 AM

33,665 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ May 19 2017, 10:15 AM)
btw I checked my app. where you got your 2.6%?

[attachmentid=8827274]
didn't see that. I'm touched that someone created a new account just to talk to me
Nav for 18th ! Not published yet.
puchongite
post May 19 2017, 10:58 AM

33,665 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ May 19 2017, 10:16 AM)
Nav for 18th ! Not published yet.
This 2.6% drop is interesting it comes with a lag of one day. Overall the India market did not go down so much. Is it really due to Trump ?
puchongite
post May 19 2017, 04:02 PM

33,665 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ May 19 2017, 01:51 PM)
I expect those Latin America funds and emerging market fund will do badly. Brazil had a free fall on both equity market and currency value
So nobody is eyeing on the opportunity to invest into this ?

This post has been edited by puchongite: May 19 2017, 04:05 PM
puchongite
post May 19 2017, 05:12 PM

33,665 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ May 19 2017, 05:05 PM)
got. my girlfriend's portfolio has emerging markets and I can say the returns are superb
I was referring to if there is a brazil fund which we can capitalize on this recent heavy drop.
puchongite
post May 19 2017, 05:21 PM

33,665 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ May 19 2017, 05:16 PM)
correct me if I'm wrong. only way to be invested in Russia and Brazil is through eastspring emerging markets fund?
There is also a TA BRIC and emerging market.

Yes, it seems there is no direct brazil fund in FSM.
puchongite
post May 19 2017, 09:38 PM

33,665 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ May 19 2017, 09:25 PM)
for self condemnation  cry.gif ONLY
my portfolio dropped by 0.5% yesterday.
sad.gif  good or bad  ranting.gif   rclxub.gif
Yesterday was just preview. Today is the real stuff. But FSM hasn't quite updated I last I checked.

This post has been edited by puchongite: May 19 2017, 09:38 PM
puchongite
post May 19 2017, 09:44 PM

33,665 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ May 19 2017, 09:41 PM)
my portfolio NAVs date is 18 May...
that is not the real date yet?
sweat.gif  sweat.gif
Okay it is updated. Misunderstood the word 'yesterday'.
puchongite
post May 20 2017, 11:19 AM

33,665 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ May 20 2017, 10:58 AM)
Just did a quick review of my port:

Up to mid-month already another small four figure gain. Helped by Esther Bond & TA-GTF.

Xuzen
Xuzen your comment is needed about about Interpac dana safi and Interpac Dynamic. These two funds are the Malaysian top performing funds, upto 34% YTD.

Are these funds becoming money game and bursting soon ?

This post has been edited by puchongite: May 20 2017, 11:20 AM
puchongite
post May 20 2017, 11:26 AM

33,665 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ May 20 2017, 11:10 AM)
Was into UT many years but later stayed away from it with a 10 km pole (except my PRS UT). Why? High charges (eg annual management fee even when the UT is loosing money), many UTs are not making money, just draining clients money via the fees here and there (eg EPF reported that most UT purchases via EPF withdrawals were on negative returns), UT managers own inside play, etc.

Seeing some UT with high returns (>10% pa) over the past 5-10 years. So like to study this again and see whether I should try it again.

Saw somewhere that when XYZ buys a UT via FSM,
AA
the UT will be bought under FSM's name
BB
FSM will then state x units in their book belong to XYZ.

Is this true?

True. That's the trade off for lower than 2% service charge.

This way of trading also exist in stock broking.
puchongite
post May 20 2017, 11:33 AM

33,665 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 20 2017, 11:27 AM)
Once election over, euphoria also over.
But I came to know that those "established" funds in Malaysia such Eastspring small cap and KGF were once like that too, particularly when the fund size is growing. Ponzi 1 was like that before the fund is soft closed.
puchongite
post May 20 2017, 10:15 PM

33,665 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 20 2017, 09:15 PM)
Before this at rhb buy u-li. Now lari to interpac also buy u-li.
What's wrong with buying u-li ?
puchongite
post May 21 2017, 03:41 AM

33,665 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ May 21 2017, 01:42 AM)
yep just dig this article back.

http://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...25/no-selldown/

so this guy is currently managing the two Malaysian funds?
It is said in the star article that a selldown was initiated by a local bank-backed asset management house which is a common shareholder of Uli Corp, SLP, Oriental Food and SCGM. The selldown saw the stocks lose some RM242mil in market capitalis

But RHB denied that. “Our asset management is not involved in any selldown of those shares that were reported."

Hoe Cheah How, formerly the Chief Investment Officer (CIO) of RHB Asset Management, has joined Shock Media Studio, the leading Digital Agency in Asia as the Chief Financial Officer (CFO).

Mr Lim Tze Cheng prior to joining Inter-Pacific Asset Management Sdn Bhd in December 2016, was the Head of Equity at RHB Asset Management Sdn Bhd prior to joining InterPac.

So who is the real person behind the selldown ?

There was probably not a single party as it was a market panic reaction towards personnel changes at RHB :-

http://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/pers...k-panic-selling

This post has been edited by puchongite: May 21 2017, 08:26 AM
puchongite
post May 21 2017, 08:41 AM

33,665 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 21 2017, 08:22 AM)
I am pointing my fingers at RHB. Of course they will say it's not them. If they say it's caused by them, further selldown will happen as Investors who have no Internet but read papers will be worried.

We all know what happen. Fund manager move to another fund house. Regular people who have inside info sold off becauae scared new manager is incompetent. Once someone tarik few million, retail investors in the stock market follow.

Imagine if news got out that lee sook yee leave kenanga. I believed the same thing will happen. Stocks held by kenanga will tumble.

I am not sure if he's a good fund manager as current times is bull market. Even lousy stock also making money.

Already posted before about fund manager. When mark mobius left Templeton (he's considered emerging market fund manager king as he's one of the fund manager who beats the index regularly), million of dollars flow out of the Templeton fund he managed.
The part on the personnel movement.

Hoe the then CIO of RHB left but he did not join another fund house. He joined Shock Media Studio.

That departure was Aug 2016.

Lim who handled the smart series was probably still in RHB during the market selldown. He joined interpac December 2016.

So Lim was not the trigger of the selldown.

This post has been edited by puchongite: May 21 2017, 12:02 PM
puchongite
post May 22 2017, 12:30 PM

33,665 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ May 22 2017, 11:55 AM)
for those that are still sitting on the fence waiting for the time to throw some % into M'sia
Is Malaysia Still A Good Buy? [19 May 2017]
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...-May-2017--8370

for those that are still waiting for signs to top up more into EM......
Strong market rebound for emerging Asia?
http://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...-emerging-asia/
USD to ringgit is now 4.30, shows that foreign money is flowing in to Malaysia. Flow to where, I don't know.

Malaysian small cap is still going up. I guess it will continue to do so, until the market finds an excuse to do a major correction.

49 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.0500sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 02:32 PM