70 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

Ramjade
post Mar 6 2017, 08:49 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(drew86 @ Mar 6 2017, 08:43 PM)
Interested to know too. Where can we find that min 5k purchase waive SC statement? Their web interface is a pain in the arse to use..
https://www.eunittrust.com.my/fundInfo/promotions.asp

Don't know how often they update the page. Tell me about it. The SG interface also rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
Ramjade
post Mar 6 2017, 08:53 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(woonsc @ Mar 6 2017, 08:50 PM)
hmm.gif FSM bond funds all 0% SC?
All FSM bond funds have 0% SC but you pay platform fees la every quarter. ranting.gif vmad.gif bangwall.gif
Ramjade
post Mar 6 2017, 09:29 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Mar 6 2017, 09:03 PM)
ya-lor...for every RM100 000 in Bond must pay them 0.4% (RM400) for year,
but then some people also said,...why invest in UT EQ funds when for every RM100 000 in EQ must pay them 2% SC (RM2000) + 1.5~2% Mgmt fees (RM1500~RM2000) per year  doh.gif
Management fees the manager is doing work. That one ok la pay.
Service charge, one time payment for using FSM website. Ok pay like brokerage fees.
But platform fees? Why need to pay every year? You don't see brokerage charging platform fees.
Ramjade
post Mar 6 2017, 09:44 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(biastee @ Mar 6 2017, 09:42 PM)
If buying either RHB Bond or RHB Islamic Bond, it is cheaper to do so on CIMB as there is neither s/c nor platform fee for these two.
Thanks for the info. thumbsup.gif I am looking for platform for Affin Select Bond Fund with 0% SC and 0% platform fees.
Ramjade
post Mar 6 2017, 09:58 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Mar 6 2017, 09:57 PM)
MYR 100K park in bonds pay MYR 400.00 per annum platform fee is equivalent to MYR 33.33 per month equivalent to SGD 10.00 per month.

For someone who has no qualms to take a trip to the Red Dot Island down south to open an account and to spend more than that per annum on transport, food and maybe lodgings, to kow-peh-kow-bu, is perplexing.

And I bet that same person max only put in MYR 10K in the bond = MYR 40.00 per annum = MYR 3.33 per month = SGD 1.00 per month only.

Sometimes hor penny wise pounds foolish.

Xuzen
SG 0% SC, 0% platform fees whistling.gif bruce.gif flex.gif

One trip down = min SGD60 save vs TTing using banks even after count transport whistling.gif

It's all about principles. I refused to pay for platform fees/annual fees. You want to pay you pay. Why should one pay if someone kasi you for free? You so much money? Better I pay the platform fees to charity then FSM. Free no good paid also no good? rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Mar 6 2017, 10:03 PM
Ramjade
post Mar 6 2017, 10:02 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(tonytyk @ Mar 6 2017, 09:59 PM)
I got 0% sc from them earlier, and no platform fee
Nice. drool.gif thumbsup.gif thumbup.gif Must keep an eye on eUT already bruce.gif flex.gif
Now we know we have alternatives to platform free affin hwang select bond fund. The only question is when is the next promo... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Mar 6 2017, 10:06 PM
Ramjade
post Mar 6 2017, 10:11 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(biastee @ Mar 6 2017, 10:07 PM)
Me too! If I recall correctly, there was a 0% s/c promo at EUT last year. Anyway, won't this month should be an opportune time to buy this fund as it historically distributes in mid-March?

Distribution is not important in UT. In addition, for a stable bond fund, one can buy anytime.

QUOTE(puchongite @ Mar 6 2017, 10:08 PM)
That's during promo lar. You probably have to wait till Merdeka day. LOL.

Right now the Lipper award promotion in both eUT and FSM are pretty boring.
Thanks for the heads up. Will buy during that time.
Ramjade
post Mar 6 2017, 10:17 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Mar 6 2017, 10:11 PM)
One trip down = SGD 60.00 x 2 (to and fro) = SGD 120 x 3.35 = MYR 402.00. Not counting makan and minum. But for you special wan, you will buy Gardenia Sambal Bun x 2 plus one bot mineral water = MYR 5.00 for the whole trip wan!

BTW you put in MYR 100K in bond meh? You kena MYR 400.00 per annum meh?

Xuzen
It's save SGD60 not spend SGD60. Yes. That's what I do to minimize cost + eat in SG. SG food only SGD2/meal. Cheap. Bus ticket also SGD0.7x only.

Nope. Will never park that much. But I do not like paying more than necessary. Again org kasi you free, you nak bayar? rclxub.gif

It's a personal principle to NOT PAY for platform fees if possible as overtime, platform fees > service charge = less returns. With platform fees = less money masuk pocket. vmad.gif ranting.gif

RM400 also money. moneyflies.gif moneyflies.gif Cukup utk 5x buffet biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Mar 6 2017, 10:19 PM
Ramjade
post Mar 6 2017, 10:30 PM

24,333 posts

xuzen we will see won't we biggrin.gif bruce.gif

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Mar 6 2017, 10:27 PM)
that reminds me. I need to start looking at will writing and set a beneficiary for my epf which I always forget to do. now I'm also planning to leave as little debts as I can if I were to die suddenly in a car crash and leave enough money for my dad to live by
Keep in mind some people said malaysia going to introduce death tax aka inheritance tax after GE. Not sure true or not. Don't know how to overcome this. doh.gif One shot like US tax 40% of the total value... rclxub.gif
Ramjade
post Mar 7 2017, 08:27 AM

24,333 posts

Have you guys no thought that iFast have to answer to it's shareholders to increase it's income?

Only way to increase income is increase charges. It might not happen now, But will happen eventually especially if they have no competition to keep them in check.

They are a publicly listed company you know. whistling.gif whistling.gif
Ramjade
post Mar 7 2017, 09:18 AM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(vincabby @ Mar 7 2017, 08:31 AM)
cross the bridge when you see it? many things might and might not happen. did you foresee a north korean dead in KLIA? all this tit for tat between malaysia and north korea? but you have time to spare and to go south and back. so you can do what you do. no wrong in that. just be careful when you travel though. safety first!
Forget about me tavelling. That's my choice.

The topic is what are you guys going to do if they remove the sales charge and start charging platform fees. Keep in mind that's how FSM SG started. First 2% SC, then insurance, start cutting SC, then implementing platform fees for everything.

You do know that many companies in the world moves away from one time charge to anmual charge? (microsoft, Adobe)

Up to you guys. You guys prefer to give free money to FSM every year, be my guest. I will not pay them platform fees if I can help it. Platform fees might be negligible but it's still cost and cost adds up over time. Like a drop of water can fill a pail over night. Maybe FSM MY should do away with service charge and start implementing platform fees for all funds? That's a nice idea. Recurrent annual income. Don't need to do anything, sit back get money from your customers. Guaranteed cash flow annually. hmm.gif hmm.gif

QUOTE(em0kia @ Mar 7 2017, 09:08 AM)
hi guys, may i know is there a page in FSM website that states all the costs for investing via FSM? I am reading a book currently and the author recommends low cost index funds over mutual funds for the reason that mutual funds often possess a lot of hidden charges. hmm.gif
FSM charge you 2% for equities. 0% for bond but they have platform fees of 0.04% per quarter which this few pages have been about.

Some say platform fees of 0.2% is negligible but up to you. For me, 0.2% is still profit over time.

We malaysians don't have access to low cost index fund. Only choose low cost index fund if available funds cannot beat the index. Otherwise, choose funds which can beat the index.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Mar 7 2017, 09:23 AM
Ramjade
post Mar 7 2017, 12:06 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(Nemozai @ Mar 7 2017, 11:57 AM)
Where to check the index?
What index fund you are looking for? All ETFs are traded on exchange. Depending on what ETF are you looking at and in what currency, you can check them out via Google finance/Yahoo finance.

You can try Bloomberg if you want to see the index.
Eg. MSCI AC Asia Pacific Index

For ETFs, just google the ETF.
Eg iShares MSCI Pacific ex Japan ETF (this is the one is traded in the US which will cost 30% tax on withholding dividend)
Eg iShares MSCI Pacific ex-Japan UCITS ETF (this one is traded in the UK which with only 15% withholding tax)

xuzen, puchongite the savings is actually higher. I am being too humble devil.gif The savings is about x% (single digit) for each trip. And no I don't go down there just to avoid platform fees. There's totally wasting time and money devil.gif If you have the choice between not paying platform fee and service charge vs paying for platform fees and not the service charge, why choose the latter.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Mar 7 2017, 12:17 PM
Ramjade
post Mar 7 2017, 12:39 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(Nemozai @ Mar 7 2017, 12:27 PM)
What is the definition of beating the index?

Based on the MSCI AC Asia Pacific Index, if in 2008, my portfolio is -30%, do i still consider beating the market?

And how about Malaysia Index, where can we check that so that we can compare it to Asia Pacific Index?

Thanks  notworthy.gif
Eg of beating the index

Eg of not beating the index

For Malaysia (Taken from Bursa Saham)
Ramjade
post Mar 7 2017, 02:25 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Mar 7 2017, 02:12 PM)
yup, they are entertaining kopitiam posts.  biggrin.gif

Keep on defending... no travel cost involved lar, since going to Sing anyway.  That's what folks used to say: "Did not fall down, just bending down to pick some sand. smile.gif

It is a 0.05% per quarter fee and it is calculated daily. Can earn back in 2-3 days as a bond fund could easily have a daily increment of 0.02%.

Also the platform fee was implemented as they took away the service charge of about 1%... it was a cost reduction, and it is appropriate for those investors with very, very short term objectives.

============

Kiasu mentality

Kiasu literally means 'scared to lose'. But it actually means scared to lose to another party.

A kiasu person will have difficulties in forming partnerships or joint-ventures unless he has the lion share, as he is more concerned about the benefits the other party would gained rather than the benefits he could gained in the business partnership or in any other business transactions.

He is more worried of being taken advantage of by the other party even though the business transaction is beneficial to both parties.

The kiasu person would rather bypass the net benefits he would get and not let the other party gain anything if he perceives that the other party is gaining it at his expense.
Er how about long term then? Say 5-10 years? hmm.gif
Ramjade
post Mar 7 2017, 02:48 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Mar 7 2017, 02:41 PM)
LOL. Now you are trying to pretend you learned nothing after lepak so long in this forum...

You were the one who give advices to newbies that you learned a lot from forums and don't have to read books...

So what is it? You still newbie or a OKU moron with learning disability?

I think you better stick to those fix-price funds with zero anything fees.

===========

BTW to the other students and yet-to-join-the-rat-race in this forum, why PRS ???
No no. What I meant is for those long term people with bond allocation since you said platform fees is for short term people. So what about those long term people holding some bond funds. What choice do they have? Takkan want to switch all to equities meh? whistling.gif

QUOTE(woonsc @ Mar 7 2017, 02:44 PM)
innocent.gif  for the Rm500/RM1000 gov allocation..  innocent.gif
Correction. Plus for RM3k tax relief. You want to pay less income tax, then buy PRS.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Mar 7 2017, 02:49 PM
Ramjade
post Mar 7 2017, 03:14 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(vincabby @ Mar 7 2017, 03:12 PM)
smell of sarcasm is strong in this thread now.
Chill la. I express my views. Those who listen and think the 0.2% is significant (like me) need to do planning.
Those who are happy to pay the 0.2%, just continue paying lo.

QUOTE(woonsc @ Mar 7 2017, 03:14 PM)
cry.gif actually, my parents got to know this gov allocation that gives an incentive for youth..
that's why I got into it the first place..

cry.gif my 20 birthday was in June 2015..
innocent.gif invested in Febuary..

Got to know that I must pass my birthday itself to be eligible and not the year when you turn 20..  ranting.gif  ranting.gif
so i have 2k in prs  ranting.gif  ranting.gif

bruce.gif When I earn some money from the real world, then I will use PRS to reduce my Tax  brows.gif
You only have unitl 2021. After that should the gov decide not to extend the benefits, no point pumping into PRS already. sad.gif

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Mar 7 2017, 03:15 PM
Ramjade
post Mar 7 2017, 03:28 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(Nemozai @ Mar 7 2017, 03:26 PM)
How to be eligible to get the RM 1000 incentive? Can use FSM purchase the PRS fund? PRS fund can buy even I'm still a student (not working)? Then how they know I purchased already?
Automatic credit. But credit where don't know. Should be into PRS. Yes. You use FSM to buy, you pay 0% service charge vs banks at 3%. Student/unemployed person can buy PRS. The PRS fund will be in your name.

QUOTE(woonsc @ Mar 7 2017, 03:27 PM)
u mean the tax relieve? till 2021 only?  mad.gif
Yup. biggrin.gif Unless the govt decided to extend biggrin.gif But my guts feeling saying they won't extend as for every tax relief they give, they are losing tax income. sad.gif
Further proof: RM3k for buying laptop/PC consolidate become RM2500 which include books. Use to be books RM1k, computer RM3k (once every 3 years) + cost cutting here and there. whistling.gif

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Mar 7 2017, 03:32 PM
Ramjade
post Mar 7 2017, 03:38 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(Nemozai @ Mar 7 2017, 03:34 PM)
Omg thank you biggrin.gif

So now I straight away buy RM1000any PRS fund then ask FSM to help can already? No need PPA account or PRS account whatsoever right?  laugh.gif
Actually you need to apply all that from FSM laugh.gif

QUOTE(woonsc @ Mar 7 2017, 03:35 PM)
innocent.gif well, PRS is a normal fund.. which can grow..
My PRS, almost 2 years with a growth of 20%  rolleyes.gif

I think if u are also going to invest in a fund, why not get the tax relieve and 0% SC at the same time..

But the choice of funds still still limited, well....  rclxub.gif
There's good fund like Cimb Asia Pacific PRS which feeds directly into Ponzi 2
Ramjade
post Mar 7 2017, 03:56 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(Nemozai @ Mar 7 2017, 03:51 PM)
Yes.
Ramjade
post Mar 7 2017, 09:12 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(repusez @ Mar 7 2017, 09:10 PM)
How do u guys allocate your PRS portfolio ,some growth , some conservative , some reit or only concentrate on one PRS fund? How often do you switch the PRS?
Buy 1 only.No point getting so many PRS funds.

70 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0400sec    0.98    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:20 PM