41 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

xuzen
post Mar 17 2017, 01:03 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Steven7 @ Mar 17 2017, 12:00 PM)
Stalker alert. BTW I gotta say I have visited FSM SG twice and I seriously, literally envy the guy who works there. The female staff there are really gorgeous af!
Do not be envious, for all you know, your friend could be suffering as per this unker

This post has been edited by xuzen: Mar 17 2017, 01:04 PM
xuzen
post Mar 17 2017, 02:56 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Mar 17 2017, 02:47 PM)
my Manulife India returns have hit 21%. part of me is saying leave it there whilst another says cash it. oh dear Lord
Why so happy? U bunch of lozers! JJPTR Others Money gamer and MLM look at your return = LOL at you lar!

20% ROI in one month you baru shout about it lar..... bikin malu aje!

Xuzen
xuzen
post Mar 17 2017, 03:03 PM

4,436 posts

Too bad we are not hitting 20% per month. Nonetheless, it is another good month for all rclxms.gif

Half a month only, my ROI already exceeded another four figure liao. thumbup.gif

Go India go! Go TA GTF go!

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Mar 17 2017, 03:06 PM
xuzen
post Mar 17 2017, 09:12 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Mar 17 2017, 04:25 PM)
You know I don't like to brag, but I just made 4 figure in a day, with 1 fundĀ  blush.gif

FSM's fund pick of the month is really powerrr
err.... sistah! You sure you looking at FSM website or JJPTR other website boh?

This post has been edited by xuzen: Mar 17 2017, 09:12 PM
xuzen
post Mar 17 2017, 09:13 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(shankar_dass93 @ Mar 17 2017, 09:10 PM)
Ah Behavioural Finance Traits!
All this behavioural this and that is bullshit lar... No matter how much you talk to all of them they will only learn from real life experience.

They need to pay tuition fee wan lar!

xuzen
post Mar 18 2017, 11:09 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Mar 17 2017, 10:20 PM)
Nah... it's a once in a blue moon thing, that's why worth mentioning. This fund probably can lose 4 digit in a week as well... the big question is, shd I keep or shd I sell
Your maths is quite spot on for an IT guy who doesn't keep track of IRR. What I omitted here is, I had this fund for almost 4 years now, so a lot of it is accumulated profits
I wished... but no... it's a borderline 4 digit; which is worth a brag anyway
T321H FSM Fund pick of the month = suxs! Algozen™ wub.gif wub.gif wub.gif pick of the season is still Ponzi 2.0 thumbsup.gif & Ponzi 1.0 thumbsup.gif for the Asia Pac ex Japan region.

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Mar 17 2017, 10:37 PM)
What are the chances for the fund to move to 21% vs 9%? I think chances for it to drop is higher than for it to hit 21% hmm.gif 
My thinking once it reached a certain target, withdraw all and put into the select bond fund. Then wait. Eg 15% returns. After all it's already 15% return in less than a year. Even if didn't pump back inside after one year, the return is already 15% pa. Still decent...
Let's use India UTF for illustration. One year ROI is 33.83. Three years annualized is 24.5%, Std-Dev = 17.44%. At this moment, it is still behaving normally. However, if you use the regression to the mean argument, there is a high chance the fund wants to go back to its home ground of 24.5. That is why I have been skimming profit from it and not selling it terus-terus all of it. If the other way around, I would have add into it by DCA.

QUOTE(drew86 @ Mar 17 2017, 11:19 PM)
And what if u dont feel lucky enough to re-enter? Again it's a dilemma in UTF investment. There just isn't a clear cut "resistance" or "support" point to TP/SL at.

I'm as clueless as some people here are. On one hand I would like to just reap the profits in the long run regardless of the volatility. On the other, why let profits dwindle? No right or wrong.. I hope some veterans can shed some light.
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Mar 17 2017, 11:32 PM)
Xuzen uses allocation. If it exceed that certain value he transfer it out so that the allocation come back to what he want.

Eg. The fund is supposed to be 10% of his total portfolio, it increase to 20%, so he take 10% and divert it to another fund which is (-)
Ramjade, yar! yar! Kasi lu satu like.... you have been paying attention. With asset allocation model, there is already an in-built buy and sell mechanism that is independent of emotion.

QUOTE(puchongite @ Mar 18 2017, 10:16 AM)
Algozen™ sezs NO!

Xuzen
xuzen
post Mar 18 2017, 09:16 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(wayne84 @ Mar 18 2017, 09:04 PM)
erm, i do DCA as well monthly 2k into fsm, but i will separate it into 1k each time, buy when only asia/ msia market or the market where my fund is touching drop.. if the whole month no drop or promo, then normally last few day i will all in. no right or wrong, but i hope i can have slightly better return in long run.
Still DCA but with some shiok sendiri flavour.... whatever float your boat, whatever float your boat my friend! rclxms.gif
xuzen
post Mar 18 2017, 09:30 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(wayne84 @ Mar 18 2017, 09:20 PM)
ya ya...jus like some ppl believe feng sui . syiok sendiri pon.
Speaking of feng-shui, like me lar! Each time before I buy my Selina wub.gif wub.gif wub.gif , I will mandi air mawar and hold two coconuts high up with both my hands. Like what he is doing below:

This post has been edited by xuzen: Mar 18 2017, 10:22 PM
xuzen
post Mar 21 2017, 10:55 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Mar 21 2017, 10:08 AM)
I think I have reached zen in my UT investment. I hardly think about it, check my holdings and even come over to this thread.

Does it mean I have reached enlightenment and become a master? (tongue in cheek post)
Don't you have to use your mind to decide how to spend the profit / gains you got? Like holiday kat mana? Batam? Haadyai? Golok?

This post has been edited by xuzen: Mar 21 2017, 10:55 AM
xuzen
post Mar 22 2017, 12:45 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(prince_mk @ Mar 20 2017, 07:52 PM)
Yes boss. Topped up some Manulife US and plan to buy Ponzi 2. But Boss Xuzen prefer RHB Asian Income fund coz lower risk. Hmmmm.. what do u think ?
QUOTE(dasecret @ Mar 21 2017, 12:22 PM)
RHB AIF has more fixed income and REITs than equities the last time I looked at the fact sheet. Considering you have REITs and Asian bond in the portfolio, perhaps it's a better idea to have an asian equity fund instead. But of course, it's entirely up to your risk appetite and preferences. I can only comment in general terms
QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Mar 21 2017, 08:37 PM)
TA global technology.

Risk score 12.5

Wtf lol
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Mar 21 2017, 09:41 PM)
Still acceptable. Not as high as india or china.
It's either manulife us or ta global tech. I choose global tech.
When I construct a portfolio, I need the stability of RHB AIF and the high risk, high return of TA GTF for the ommph!

The other high risk, high return UTF in my port is Manulife India. I also participate in AMReits and recently RHB EMB for a slight diversification and fixed income play.

In portfolio construction, you need these various UTF to build a good risk-adjusted performance port.

Xuzen

xuzen
post Mar 22 2017, 10:00 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Zero Correlation @ Mar 22 2017, 09:58 AM)
Other than risk adjusted returns, do you also consider correlation of funds or geographical markets?

No Msia equities?
Good man, of course I do, of course I do!

I am not in a hurry to expose to Malaysia equity at the moment because the risk adjusted performance of Malaysia equity is below par vis-Ć -vis Asia Pac or other geo-region.

Besides I am indirectly exposed to Malaysia equity through KWSP and that is why I am in no hurry to get into the action.

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Mar 22 2017, 10:03 AM
xuzen
post Mar 22 2017, 11:29 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Mar 22 2017, 11:35 AM)
We discussed this last week. Main issue I have with this fund is the crazy volatility. It did increased by 2.4% in a day last week; but maybe today will fall by the same quantum seeing how asia markets are tumbling down

Crystal ball does not approve this fund

Speaking of which xuzen, does ponzi 1.0 still not in crystal ball's good books?
If one is asking to compare between Ponzi One and Ponzi Two, my answer is thus:

Choose Ponzi One if one likes the swing up and down drastically? It that excites you, then this is the Asia Pac ex Japan UTF of choice for you.

Conversely, if one is seeks more stable UTF, Ponzi Two is the one for you.

Both are good proxies to exposure to the Asia Pac ex Japan theatre.

QUOTE(puchongite @ Mar 22 2017, 11:59 AM)
Multi million dollar question.Ā  devil.gif

Let's ask our in-thread crystal balls ?
My data are not going to be meaningful if looked at on a day to day basis and it should not be; as UTF is meant to be for those "selamba" type investor. It would be ideal for those that seek to escape from being glued to the computer monitor day in and day out looking to do buy-sell all the time.

I went through those type of experience before. That is why I decided to hire professional fund manager, pay them some fee and be more aloof towards investment.

I choose to smell the roses. It is a lifestyle choice.

Most of the time all these day to day variance is just noise and six months down the line when you made your gain, you will look back and laugh at your silly self for being so "kan-cheong" all the time,

Noobs, don't worry. I too went through that phase... you'll get use to the ups and down eventually.

Xuzen

p/s: Look at my joining date, that is, Oct 2008. How many cycles of doom and gloom have I gone through? Did those gloom and doom happened? Is my money still with those UTMC? Is FSM, eUT etc still around? Have they cabut lari and tipu orang?

Compare these with those multitude gold investment scheme, forex etc that comes and go and went fly by night type. Some of the directors are being charged and are awaiting trial, some disappear without a trace...

This post has been edited by xuzen: Mar 22 2017, 11:52 PM
xuzen
post Mar 23 2017, 09:48 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Mar 23 2017, 09:42 PM)
Actually when I looked again, it's 0.5%. Not 1%. From 6.3x% to 5.8x%
Caused by Ponzi 1, 2, TA global tech, and india.

Actually to beat amanah saham, it's very easy. Just buy Affin Hwang Select Bond fund. Guaranteed to beat it yearly. But I want to give equity a chance to get the coverted 10%  devil.gif
My port has been giving me 1.XX% to 2.XX% per month for the past six months. Therefore Xuzen port > ASX FP > Ramjade LOL port. bruce.gif cool2.gif
xuzen
post Mar 23 2017, 09:57 PM

4,436 posts

Why friends Puchongite and Ramjade says port drop? Did I miss the memo or somthing? Mine is still climbing last I checked.

What happened? What happened? rclxub.gif

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Mar 23 2017, 09:57 PM
xuzen
post Mar 23 2017, 10:12 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Mar 23 2017, 10:08 PM)
they are discussing about the trend for the past few days....
did you monitor your portfolio on daily basis?
If yes,..how is the performance trend from the few days?
Oh I see, no I don't monitor my port of a daily basis. That would be so un-UTF-like. Like I said earlier, I chose UTF so that I do not need to be glued to the computer day-in-day-out.

I only look at my port once a month, at most once every fortnight. This is for me to be undisturbed by the background noises. I choose ZEN!

Xuzen

P/s I won't shoot them. I understand that it is a lifestyle choice for them too.

This post has been edited by xuzen: Mar 23 2017, 10:14 PM
xuzen
post Mar 24 2017, 12:46 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Nemozai @ Mar 24 2017, 12:20 PM)
What if an investor in Japan invested in 1990 with the mindset that the market will always recover in long term? More than 3 decades now and japan Nikkei 225 haven't recover. Something to keep in mind?  hmm.gif

Maybe it will "recover" in another 10 years. But do you have such long life to wait until it recover (25y+10y)?

Ah.... the infamous Nikkei 225.

It was and still is the poster child of the the anti-DCA movement. The anathema DCA investment!

I was shown this graph or similar to it in 2007 or perhaps 2008 when my investment module lecturer showed me this graph. He cautioned that not all equity will go up and up and up... but most equity goes up and up and up. Japan is the exception rather than the norm.

There are many factors that contributed to this phenomenal in Japan equity and is too long to explain in detail. However, in brief:

I) Japan is the land of the rising son, but also the land of the old-people. Old people, how much can they consume or use? Eat =old people how much can eat? Indigestion lor? Housing = why buy another house and commit when going to die liao! Car? They use Public transport most of the time. Forget Initial D or Touge or Takumi... those are comic characters. Real Japanese mostly walk with walking cane.

II) The strange / peculiar behavior of Japanese people who likes to save / horde cash rather than invest. Even if the have to pay the bank a fee to place their cash, also they don't mind. Strange but true.

OK, to be honest, if one sees such a graph and continue to DCA and DCA and DCA without making informed decisions, then you deserve to be a LOSER! A reasonable time-frame is three years. If three years it is not making much progress, dump and run. One year is too short, five years is too long, three years just about right time.

Xuzen
xuzen
post Mar 24 2017, 02:43 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Mar 24 2017, 02:23 PM)
FSM usually advise people to allocates no more than 10% to single country /sector funds.....
if kept that in mind PLUS what is said in below post...then one will be alright too....
During Algozen™ version one, I used one year historical data as my primary input. And.... it was disaster, no thanks to the China real-estate clampdown / cooling mechanism period (circa 2nd Quarter Year 2015). One year historical is still very risky and volatile.

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Mar 24 2017, 02:35 PM)
I did the calculations.

250x1%= 2.5. lol why did I even bother.
Don't say 2.50 is lol. Nanti Ramjade will give you tamparan buaya. He will say, MYR 2.50 can buy him gardenia brand roti sambal ikan-bilis plus a bottle of reverse osmosis water that will sustain him to and fro the journey to S'pore. Si peh kiam siap kwee.

This post has been edited by xuzen: Mar 24 2017, 02:47 PM
xuzen
post Mar 24 2017, 02:48 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Mar 24 2017, 01:07 PM)
Did you look at JP small caps? Their returns are not bad biggrin.gif Bloomberg wrote a post about it which spike my interest in the JP sector.
https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/201...-is-back-on-top
https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/201...xing-two-styles

The only fund FSM MY have which is worth looking is eastspring.
Kawan, in FSM MY, got Japan small cap exposed UTF? Can advise boh?

xuzen
post Mar 26 2017, 07:48 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(ic no 851025071234 @ Mar 26 2017, 06:45 PM)
My Investment in rhb Asian income now negative return is it still worth?
I have just done a quick check and I found that there should not be negative return after a one month period. I suspect the red you are experiencing is due to the one off sales charge factor.

Silly "kan-cheong" noobs!

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Mar 26 2017, 07:49 PM
xuzen
post Mar 26 2017, 07:52 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(woonsc @ Mar 26 2017, 07:48 PM)
bruce.gif Invest if u dun need the money in the short term as in 5 to 10 years..  bruce.gif
No market collapse can deter us!
But but but.... I want to make fast money. I want it to be a skim cepat kaya! I want to invest MYR 1,000.00 and next month get back MYR 2,000.00! If not, I will condemn, criticize and throw a tantrum and says Unit Trust Fund is Tipu Orang Punya!

Xuzen

41 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0426sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 12:53 PM