41 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

xuzen
post Mar 2 2017, 11:35 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Mar 2 2017, 11:16 AM)
Topped up

Ponzi 2.0, myr 500
Rhb Asian Income Fund myr 300
AmAsia REITs myr 200
Dragon fund. myr 300

for the month of March.
Friend Avangelice, the term Dragon fund, being a nickname assigned to CIMB Greater China fund may not be appropriate anymore because Manulife has launched a fund named Manulife Dragon Growth Fund. It may cause confusion.

Xuzen
xuzen
post Mar 2 2017, 11:43 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(kazekage_09 @ Mar 2 2017, 10:00 AM)
Dear sifu xuzen,

Can I ask how to get these 4 variables? And how to use it to choose funds?

only number (1) I know which I can get from fact sheets.

And how about volatility and R/R ratio (is it same with sharpe ratio)? Would normally we use these 2 instead for choosing funds?

And 1 more question. What is IRR and how to calculate it?
Really noob question...
The above is obtained from Morningstar website.

As for PER ratio.... you need to read fund house research report or attend talks by fund house and you will get it from their assigned speakers.

As for IRR calculations.... google it, or use excel to calculate it (saya tak pandai guna excel, ask some other sifu here), I use ol'skool Casio FC-200 or HP 12c to do the calculation.

Above are all too susah for you?

Want a maggi mee™, cepat dimasak, sedap dimakan version?

Then, stay on this FSM thread. Drop in regularly and listen to us bunch of silly ah peks (sometimes got aunties also) tok-kok!

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Mar 2 2017, 12:05 PM
xuzen
post Mar 2 2017, 11:55 AM

4,436 posts

CIMB Principle Greater China just call it CIMB China fund aje lar.... don't confuse the noobs lar!
xuzen
post Mar 2 2017, 11:59 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Mar 2 2017, 11:58 AM)
Nick names should be assigned for funds where the original name is too mouthful, difficult to type.

There is no need to create additional names when the original names are easily recognizable and distinguished.
Yar yar agree!
xuzen
post Mar 3 2017, 06:41 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(kkk8787 @ Mar 3 2017, 05:39 PM)
recently only. Thats y thinking of cash out fast fast. But dunno which 1
Action lar now! In quarter one of year 2016, sembunyi kat perigi yang mana?

Now, market is hot, all come out and blow water.... thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

Xuzen
xuzen
post Mar 4 2017, 11:35 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(kkk8787 @ Mar 4 2017, 10:22 AM)
aduh who reported my post??? offending kah this post
Most likely you did not do multi-quote. Mod has been rather butt-hurt, anal on this issue. I think probably has to do with taking up extra bandwidth or something....

xuzen
post Mar 4 2017, 11:47 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(kkk8787 @ Mar 3 2017, 11:22 PM)
2016 kalah teruk, almost quit FSM totally. now recover a bit d, thinking of cashing out while still making money. shall I?
Is it?

After the 2016 China circuit-breaker fiasco, I continue to do DCA.

From 2H of Yr 2016, my port has been inching upwards... every month (for the past 3 quarters) has been giving me a four figure return (in ringgit terms).

Thank you TA GTF, India, RHB AIF and Selina & Esther fund.

Xuzen

xuzen
post Mar 4 2017, 08:09 PM

4,436 posts

An observation:

For a one and a half year, Ponzi 1.0 went out of favour compared to Ponzi 2.0. Take note that Ponzi 1.0 buys into small and medium cap growth stock in the Asia Pac ex Japan geographical sphere. Whereas Ponzi 2.0 buys into defensive dividend giving stocks in the same region.

Now I see a reversal of fortune, that is, Ponzi 1.0 is coming back into forefront and Ponzi 2.0 is taking a backseat or breather.

What is the deduction from this?

If this trend persist, one can logically deduce that the growth cycle may have started, and risk appetite has improved and this means growth stock will be the coming thematic play. However, I caveat to take a plunge right now. We may have to wait a little while longer to see whether this trend is sustainable or plainly a short term trend.

You heard here first at LYN-FSM thread.

Xuzen

Bubble A is when the period Ponzi 2.0 outperform Ponzi 1.0. It is also when defensive play was the theme of the day.

Bubbe B is a start of growth?

This post has been edited by xuzen: Mar 4 2017, 08:41 PM
xuzen
post Mar 4 2017, 08:34 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Mar 4 2017, 08:16 PM)
Thanks for the info "Xiuzen" laugh.gif tongue.gif
Saw that. But didn't know why.
Because I am awesome and you are not!
xuzen
post Mar 4 2017, 08:48 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Mar 4 2017, 08:36 PM)
Maybe there is nothing so deep rooted. It is just the rally before the general election.
Your observation is inaccurate.

Ponzi 1.0 has 45% exposure to Malaysia and its 1 year ROI is 29.69% whereas KGF which is 100% Malaysia exposed 1 year ROI is 11.82%.

It cannot be due to the Malaysia component and hence Malaysia general election factor is definitely not a contributor.

Xuzen
xuzen
post Mar 4 2017, 09:51 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Mar 4 2017, 09:01 PM)
There is another factor which we did talk about it earlier, ie ponzi 1.0 has started utilizing its cash.
This sounds more plausible....

QUOTE(woonsc @ Mar 4 2017, 09:39 PM)
Ding Ding Ding, Buy call from Xuzen!  wub.gif   drool.gif
whistling.gif  But MY GE this year, so with Malaysia a big chunk in the fund..
sweat.gif   whistling.gif
No friend woonsc, it is not a BUY call yet. Stay tune, focus on it, observe it first. Feel its every breathe, its every inhalation and exhalation, but it is not a BUY call..... yet.

In another word, Ponzi 1.0 is now under Algozen™ radar and crosshair, but is not yet time to pull the trigger.

Xuzen

P/s recall that RHB EMB was also under observation from Nov 2016 and only recently I fulled the trigger to participate in this UTF. Patience, my young padawan....

This post has been edited by xuzen: Mar 4 2017, 10:05 PM
xuzen
post Mar 5 2017, 01:44 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(skynode @ Mar 5 2017, 12:23 PM)
Hear hear. I have both. biggrin.gif

Currently, which market is more attractive? China or India? Any views on this? Plan to allocate some percentage into one of these markets.
Why must only choose one or the other? Why can only choose to eat either Briyani Rice or Dim Sum only? Why cannot have both at the same time?

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Mar 5 2017, 01:47 PM
xuzen
post Mar 5 2017, 01:49 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(woonsc @ Mar 5 2017, 01:32 PM)
sensex bro! The next world economic powerhouse in the making.
I think you miss out Indonesia. She will be a powerhouse worthy to be reckon with.....
xuzen
post Mar 5 2017, 07:31 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(chyz66 @ Mar 5 2017, 05:09 PM)
Still the same for this year?  biggrin.gif
Yes friend.
xuzen
post Mar 6 2017, 12:07 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(woonsc @ Mar 4 2017, 10:07 PM)
Btw why not invest in CIMB-PRINCIPAL ASIA PACIFIC DYNAMIC INCOME FUND - MYR  ?

Hari ini dalam sejarah:

I "played" Ponzi 2.0 circa Feb 2015 to May 2016 (approx. 5 quarters period). I dump in by DCA around MYR 100K, and sold everything in May 2016 to switch to RHB AIF. I made a profit of six percent during the whole duration via the participation in Ponzi 2.0 UTF. Is it fantastic? Definitely no, if compared to higher risk UTF such as TA GTF or China only fund.

The three year annualized return for Ponzi 2.0 is 13.27% with a volatility of 10.54%. This means that the UTF in observation will still be considered normal behavior if she performs between 13.27 - 10.54 = 2.73% (worse case scenario) or 13.27 + 10.54 = 23.81% (best case scenario).

With a six percent return, the fund has deemed to perform "normally".

Xuzen

xuzen
post Mar 6 2017, 12:15 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Mar 6 2017, 08:44 AM)
girlfriend wanted to buy an apartment in kuching near my own home. brand new blocks by ibraco. on launch day each and everyone one of them have been snapped up and now being offered by property agents at a increase price of 30%. scalpers. piece of trash. they really don't need the money but greed fuels them.
I detect a hint of far-leftist tendency in this Komrad!

Uncle Sam says Capitalism FTW! Do not fight Capitalism, you will lose!

For lack of a better word,

Greed is Good!

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Mar 6 2017, 12:18 PM
xuzen
post Mar 6 2017, 02:37 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(inquiries @ Mar 6 2017, 01:29 PM)
Just to add on,

Volatility is measured by standard deviation though, which, in David Ng (Affin Hwang)'s words, simply mean there are two-third chance that this year's performance might be +10.54% or -10.54% compared to previous average. In 32% of the time (the remaining one-third chance), the performance of Ponzi 2.0 can very be deviating far from "worst" and "best" case scenarios listed above.

In their terms, the fund is considered normal as long as their past (cumulative) performance does not deviate much from index.

Just to point out that what was discussed LYN is very much different from whatever terms the agents/managers say (esp: when they say their funds are performing "normally")
Interesting comment. Would you mind to elaborate on the bolded statement? Thanks.

Xuzen
xuzen
post Mar 6 2017, 09:57 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Mar 6 2017, 08:53 PM)
All FSM bond funds have 0% SC but you pay platform fees la every quarter.  ranting.gif vmad.gif  bangwall.gif
MYR 100K park in bonds pay MYR 400.00 per annum platform fee is equivalent to MYR 33.33 per month equivalent to SGD 10.00 per month.

For someone who has no qualms to take a trip to the Red Dot Island down south to open an account and to spend more than that per annum on transport, food and maybe lodgings, to kow-peh-kow-bu, is perplexing.

And I bet that same person max only put in MYR 10K in the bond = MYR 40.00 per annum = MYR 3.33 per month = SGD 1.00 per month only.

Sometimes hor penny wise pounds foolish.

Xuzen
xuzen
post Mar 6 2017, 10:05 PM

4,436 posts

One more thing one may not be aware is, as your fortune grow, you need to start thinking about distribution as well. You actually need to think if you demise suddenly, you will want your next-of-kin to be able to obtain your estate as fast as possible.

If you put your money here and there, is like, sorok here, sorok there, how will they know where to find your money? It is as good as becoming government's money. Why? Cause there is an Unclaimed Money Act (UMA) where is the account remains dormant and the beneficiaries remain untraceable, the money goes to our Jabatan Akauntan Negara.

If you consolidate your wealth in an easy to find manner, you save them a ton of trouble and hassle. Once I attended a Rockwill presentation and the speaker said those Malaysians think very action want to buy property in London lar, in Australia lar....

Wait till you die and your next of kin need to claim your property that time... then you baru tau the hassle. Think very funny hor, buy here, buy there....

Xuzen

xuzen
post Mar 6 2017, 10:11 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Mar 6 2017, 09:58 PM)
SG 0% SC, 0% platform fees  whistling.gif bruce.gif  flex.gif

One trip down = min SGD60 save vs TTing using banks even after count transport whistling.gif

It's all about principles. I refused to pay for platform fees/annual fees. You want to pay you pay. Why should one pay if someone kasi you for free? You so much money? Better I pay the platform fees to charity then FSM. Free no good paid also no good? rclxub.gif
One trip down = SGD 60.00 x 2 (to and fro) = SGD 120 x 3.35 = MYR 402.00. Not counting makan and minum. But for you special wan, you will buy Gardenia Sambal Bun x 2 plus one bot mineral water = MYR 5.00 for the whole trip wan!

BTW you put in MYR 100K in bond meh? You kena MYR 400.00 per annum meh?

Xuzen

41 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0435sec    0.73    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:19 PM