9 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 >Bottom

FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

i1899
post Feb 19 2018, 05:43 PM

225 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Feb 19 2018, 10:13 AM)
hmm, I am not stock player, you are rite? Does this trick really work in stock market? And if you compare for the same year for UT and stock eg 16 and 17 for both... I believe the lost is around the same perhaps?
I am stock investor (buy and hold for years, mainly the big companies like TNB, maybank, maxis) not stock player.
I look at fundamental in selecting stock, not using any tactics of trading.
So, i have no idea... But, i guess too dangerous to chase for the top performers in any kind of investment.

When an investment is going higher and higher, it is the time to consider to sell, not buy...

i1899
post Feb 19 2018, 05:53 PM

225 posts

QUOTE(apiali44 @ Feb 19 2018, 11:56 AM)
You're right. Most funds are aiming for mid to long term return. Dollar cost averaging actually makes sense.

See, i have this idea.

I want to invest in Fund A, the minimum initial investment, say RM 500. NAV 0.47 (eg)
Minimum top-up - RM 100.
Months : 1

on Months: 2
Funds A NAV: 0.45
I top up - 100.

on Months: 3
Funds A NAV: 0.48
I let it ride.

The point is, When monthly NAV goes down to a relevant point, i buy in to dollar cost averaging. When it exceeds the average point, i let it ride.

Would this idea worked?
In fact, it is not DCA, it is simplied VCA.

Buying when NAV is lower than average buying NAV (dividend adjusted) is working.
But, when you hold the fund >6 months, a GOOD fund won't come back to NAV lower than your average buying price. If not, it is NOT a GOOD fund, it keeps dropping even after 6 months of DCA...

i1899
post Feb 19 2018, 09:45 PM

225 posts

QUOTE(skynode @ Feb 19 2018, 06:03 PM)
Do you use this at analysing the fundamentals and fair prices for stocks?
actually, stocks selection is easier than ut selection. because all data are accesible.

using apps like stockhunter, then all stocks with high roe, low per, high margin (aka good fundamental) are shown in no time. just choose the best among them.

between, I only buy companies that seems can survive in next 30 years.
i bought 20k tnb using the leftover of my scholarship when I graduated. now, dividend received already more than rhe 20k. stock is for long term investment.
i1899
post Feb 19 2018, 11:39 PM

225 posts

QUOTE(skynode @ Feb 19 2018, 11:03 PM)
So you hunt for Blue Chips.
Would cigar butt strategy work for Malaysian Stocks?
Worked fine for me at IRR 10% since 2007 (before 2008 fin crisis), with very minimal effort.

i1899
post Feb 20 2018, 07:55 PM

225 posts

QUOTE(repusez @ Feb 20 2018, 02:25 PM)
did anyone receive email from FSM CIS introducing themselves and the service they offer. I received an email from one of their CIS called Sukma Syidi , this is a surprise as I've not received such email in my few years in FSM.
why not call / write to FSM and ask: "herm, is there any CIS called sukma syidi or not?" blush.gif

Every member in FSM should have only ONE CIS, who have access to your current UT holding (units, avg price etc).
I feel very insecure/ uneasy if FSM allow too many CIS, as u used "they" in ur post, to have this kind of information loh...

Between, what is the service he provided?
i1899
post Feb 20 2018, 08:27 PM

225 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Feb 19 2018, 08:03 PM)
Manulife REIT and AHSB continues to slid lower. Not unexpected. Others seem to be recovering nicely now.
Done a quick check, i compared Manulife REIT with 1 AxJ REIT ETF and SREIT ETF using bloomberg chart.

hmm.gif Manulife REIT seems performs similar with other AxJ REIT ETF.
All of them reach the 6 months lowest point, on 09 Feb and is rebounding.

it is nothing wrong with Manulife REIT, but REIT in overall won't perform superb in interest rising periods.
i1899
post Feb 21 2018, 12:20 AM

225 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 20 2018, 10:21 PM)
Actually it depends. If a reit can increase rental to offset increase in rental payment, it will be good. Something which bond can't do.
but, rental always tied with a contract, tak boleh increase suka suka.. at least not as fast as the rising interest rate.
i1899
post Feb 21 2018, 08:22 PM

225 posts

QUOTE(infested_ysy @ Feb 21 2018, 04:39 PM)
What do you guys think about Manulife India Equity Fund? It looks pretty alright too.
see eut india.

i1899
post Feb 21 2018, 08:26 PM

225 posts

QUOTE(besiegetank @ Feb 21 2018, 08:24 PM)
Looks like this year looks bleak for India...time to sell off soon then buy back next year.
i already sold all at price 1.0204. biggrin.gif now, 0.93xx

i1899
post Feb 21 2018, 09:46 PM

225 posts

QUOTE(besiegetank @ Feb 21 2018, 08:49 PM)
Good hindsight! I was deceived by FSM analysis last time  cry.gif

FSM India
dont make the decision base on FSM research article.
they r not good on them, read more bloomberg news to have more market sense.

anyway, india per is the Highest among asian market make it very expensive.

i1899
post Feb 22 2018, 01:33 PM

225 posts

QUOTE(wkalvin @ Feb 22 2018, 10:07 AM)
I also refer FSM to buy, irr -9.4% now
bloomberg didn't recommend this fund ?
Not news about the fund, but news about india equity and bond.

Recently, india faces quite many problems, as mentioned in eut india research:
- very high yield bond, but nobody want to buy. So gov and companies find no money to expand their business.
- bank fraud of us 1.8b due to bank system. And we dont knw is there any other fraud to uncover.
- high valuation.

I personally not prefer india at this moment.at least not h1 of 2018.

This post has been edited by i1899: Feb 22 2018, 01:37 PM
i1899
post Feb 22 2018, 04:55 PM

225 posts

QUOTE(jfleong @ Feb 22 2018, 02:38 PM)
Guys what is the best China/Greater China/HK fund right now?
CIMB Greater China, RHB China Big Cap, Manulife Dragon etc
depend on what u want.

CIMB Greater China is more geographically and sector diversified.
Disnati volatility is much smaller, but is islamic fund, only 1.32% in Finance sector. cannot buy almost all bank/ insurance / finance stock in G.C..
RHB is only Big Cap, no mid-small cap.
Manulife Dragon is only HK, no Taiwan/ China Mainland stocks.

i1899
post Feb 23 2018, 12:14 AM

225 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Feb 22 2018, 02:18 PM)

I am planning to reduce my position in fixed income and be more aggressive to enter into equity fund. Yes, this time ,  I will follow Buffet's sage advise and be hungry when others are fearful.

My target is KGF [ RM 25K ] & Dinasti [ RM 25k ] next month.

Yeah baby, I'm feelin lucky.

========================

Thinking out loud on Malaysia Bond exposure... my preferred is Asnita Bond and she was my darling when it come to Fixed Income. However, when the USD / MYR play skewed in favour of USD dominance, Asnita and other MYR denominated fixed income became unattractive vis-à-vis foreign currency exposure. That is why Esther Bond as well as other foreign REITs was de-rigeur for the past one year.

Now that the reverse is happening, Asnita once again is the safe haven she was before. I'll exit my Reits position in favour of pure equity as well. I am on a risk-on mode.

Xuzen
i remember that, u mentioned you were going to replace your fixed income (RHB EMB) with REIT and believed that REIT is an enhanced fixed income.
if u can sustain by replacing fixed income with REIT in recent dips, then u should be no problem to increase EQ/FI ratio. Both of them should have similar risk level.

Good luck.

For me, i think that fixed income are needed to stabilize the portfolio during dips/ correction/ volatile time. Therefore, i choose to remain my position with fixed income but majority of them will be in ASNB Fixed price fund. Because, i could not find any [B]consistent[\B]** bond fund which is always outperformed 6% p.a.

** [B]consistent[\B] = 1M ROI >= 0.5% && 3M ROI >= 1.5% && 6M ROI >= 3% && 1/2/3/Y ROI >= 6% ==> ALWAYS IRR >= 6% p.a.

i1899
post Feb 23 2018, 05:59 PM

225 posts

QUOTE(funnyface @ Feb 23 2018, 02:56 PM)
United Global seems to be a good place to go  hmm.gif
Even Managed Portfolio buying that
Manage Portfolio buying United Global Quality MYR Hedged?

if yes, then it is the 3rd time their action is same with me, but much slower than mine.

Few months after i bought Nikko Sg, then they switched in.
Few months after i bought Amcumulative , then they switched in.
1 month after i bought United global quality, then they switched in.

rclxms.gif

i1899
post Feb 25 2018, 03:25 PM

225 posts

QUOTE(estherkon @ Feb 24 2018, 02:15 PM)
Is it a good idea to sell AHSBF and buy AmIncome Plus and Eastspring Investments Bond Fund?
Go ahead with ur plan.

In this interest rate hike period, bond price, esp foreign bond that priced in USD, will keep dropping.
So, what we can do for bond funds are:
1) transfer to ASNB fixed price fund if we can, if want stable and around 6% performance.
2) Keep some in bond funds with FSM risk ranking = 1 or 2 for switching, it must be same fund house with your equity funds. Generally, this kind of bond funds in this kind of period is around 4%.

AmIncome Plus and Eastspring Investments Bond Fund are good choice as their FSM risk ranking are only 2 and many good equity funds in these 2 fund houses.

i1899
post Feb 25 2018, 03:37 PM

225 posts

QUOTE(jfleong @ Feb 24 2018, 10:47 PM)
Guys how long will the Ninja trick take
from EQ A > FI A > FsI B
Is it advisable to do this now for CIMB Greater China? Scared the fund will raise by more than 1.75% during this time period
Depend on the funds, but generally the shortest possible time are as below:

EQ A > FI A : 3 business day
FI A > FI B : 2 + 3 business day = 5 business day

So, ur EQ B will be priced on 8th business day, counted from switching day of EQ A.

if it is possible, use eUT for inter-switching transition, because only lose 2 days there EQ A -> EQ B.

i1899
post Feb 25 2018, 07:36 PM

225 posts

QUOTE(jfleong @ Feb 25 2018, 03:59 PM)
Wanted to buy Manulife dragon, which is not available on eUT
But might consider Dinasti instead since got 0% SC
So, u want to switch from CIMB Greater China (with FSM/eUT?) to Manulife Dragon (FSM only)?

If ur CIMB Greater China holding are with eUT, u may consider to sell it(other funds also can) at eUT, then email to FSM the receipt of sell transaction for 0% sales charge transfer in offer. u will be given 1 month period to utilize the 0% sales charge transfer in offer.

By this way, the shortest possible time is T+5 business day. Alternatively, you can choose which day to buy back the Manulife Dragon Growth.

Just a suggestion, decision is on ur hands....

i1899
post Feb 25 2018, 08:28 PM

225 posts

QUOTE(jfleong @ Feb 25 2018, 07:47 PM)
Like that also can ? Is there a link to this offer ? Thanks a lot !
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/buysell/transferIn.tpl

https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/buyse...sferEnquiry.tpl

I used a few times liao.
nice. thumbsup.gif
i1899
post Feb 26 2018, 01:42 PM

225 posts

QUOTE(jfleong @ Feb 26 2018, 11:57 AM)
Say I sell off 10k at eUT and they give me a 0% token, is the token valid for unlimited amount as long as same transaction ?
Like if I buy 2 funds 7.5k each (= additional 5k) is that allowed ?
if u sell off 10K at eUT, u will be given 0% sc to buy 10K only. the purchase can be done with "a few" transaction onto "a few" funds, as long as the total investment is not exceed 10K.
i1899
post Feb 26 2018, 01:59 PM

225 posts

QUOTE(vmt @ Feb 26 2018, 01:42 AM)
I have a general question regarding unit trust funds.

In the event of a market crash, can the fund manager sell off everything and hold cash? Or because they have to follow a mandate, for example '...invest minimum 95% in a certain market/sector', so they die die have to hold even though they know it is better to sell off before it gets worse? Will they? Any incentive for them to act in the investor's interest? It is not their money at stake anyway.

Subsequently, what will happen if they do so? In Malaysia for example, market is small, and many stocks' substantial shareholders are institutions, most of them are these unit trust funds. When they do massive selling, will they cause panic in market and lead to further sell down? Did this ever happened?
Some funds can hold 100% cash or 100% equity, but majority funds cannot. Need to read the prospectus.

If fund name have words "FLEXI" or "DYNAMIC" normally can have dynamic cash allocation depends on market condition. Example is Interpac dynamic equity funds and CIMB Asia Pacific Dynamic Income, Manulife FLexi Growth....

ETF/ Unit Trust / AI ETF massive selling of course will trigger further sell down of stocks, UNTIL trigger buying point of other institutions.
it happened in recent -10% correction in US.

9 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 >Top

0.0448sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 07:38 PM