9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

AMD Ryzen, AM4 / AM5 Platform

babylon52281
post May 17 2023, 12:01 AM

2,651 posts

QUOTE(solarmystic @ May 16 2023, 05:36 PM)
Should've done this right from the start instead of resorting to cloak and dagger BS with the userbase. Their rep is sullied now.
Reputation damage is one thing what about real physical damage on those systems that havent failed yet but could already have long term degradation?
babylon52281
post May 17 2023, 05:13 PM

2,651 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ May 16 2023, 10:52 AM)
Asus arent the only one guilty
https://www.guru3d.com/news-story/amd-ryzen...os-updates.html
babylon52281
post May 19 2023, 02:55 PM

2,651 posts

EXPO iinm is quite similar to XMP rite?

However DDR5 running on XMP will default to run @1.35V and for overclocks it could do 1.45V. So DDR5 could run at high voltages which is why I cant understand how would it burn the CPU unless EXPO tech was badly designed and AMD buggered it to run at 1.30V while XMP has a lot more headroom.
babylon52281
post Jul 2 2023, 05:55 PM

2,651 posts

QUOTE(mbr @ Jul 2 2023, 02:35 PM)
But only sold in stores in US
Correction only sold in Microcenter USA. Its an MC exclusive, its not even available at other computer shops.
babylon52281
post Jul 13 2023, 07:42 PM

2,651 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Jul 12 2023, 08:58 PM)
Same reason why we are excluded from official Nvidia FE sales or AMD MBA Radeons.
babylon52281
post Jul 24 2023, 08:21 AM

2,651 posts

QUOTE(Pravin_Kopite @ Jul 24 2023, 03:50 AM)
Only gaming really as my work is not that performance dependent. I game on a 4K TV (with DLSS) with a 3070, 16GB RAM and a 650W PSU.  Planning to buy for Starfield but will also likely use it for Spiderman and Diablo.

Budget wise I can afford the 5800x3d + a cooler like AK600, but 'worthiness' also matters to me la since the price is 3x the 5600.
If ur gonna be spending money on an EOL platform, might as well plonk for the best it has so close eyes and get 5800X3D. It will last you many more years.
babylon52281
post Aug 13 2023, 12:35 PM

2,651 posts

Any KL/PJ Ryzen owner using Scythe air cooler willing to let go their LGA1700 mounting kit?

It must be specifically for LGA1700 or compatible with it. To be sure ur cooler must be from this version; Fuma 2 RevB, Mugen 5 RevC, Ninja 5 RevB. Willing to pay no more than RM 10.
Do PM me yea. Thx
babylon52281
post Aug 14 2023, 01:12 AM

2,651 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Aug 13 2023, 02:31 PM)
Yeah i know but instead of buying new if can i prefer to reuse those that are unused by Ryzen owners as its more environmentally friendly to reuse stuff. Maybe after sometime if no respond then I go for new.
babylon52281
post Aug 28 2023, 02:33 PM

2,651 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Aug 27 2023, 07:13 PM)
amazing ASRock A620M Pro RS. hope it will reach malaysia.
https://www.asrock.com/mb/AMD/A620M%20Pro%20RS/index.asp
goldfries
Yes but its not like you should. IINM Aseries mobo lacks OC function and pairing with an OCable CPU is a huge waste. You could run it at stock as did the review but looking at the VRM go 80+ oC at CPU stock speeds is ady worrying. Like the others mid range Pro RS Id stick it with a R5 or nonX R7 CPU.

This post has been edited by babylon52281: Aug 29 2023, 08:02 AM
babylon52281
post Sep 2 2023, 11:52 PM

2,651 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Sep 1 2023, 09:07 PM)
Yes correct, but seriously it's only the CPU and TCO la.

AM5 board and DDR5 are available at good price point already but TCO .............

Exactly like your 2nd point - 6 cores 12 threads for RM 1K? 8 core 12 threads for RM 1.5k?

People see that and factoring the price of other stuff like MB and DDR5, in the end most people who game would go on with combo like 5600 (6/12) / 5700X (8/16), get a good used B450 / B550 MB and with DDR4 prices so low now.

Less spent on CPU / MB / DDR can channel to higher spec graphics card.
TCO means everything lor.

CPU expensive, mobo still expensive when Bseries is still 900-1000, DDR5 price coming down but capable sticks that will outrun fast DDR4 are still too expensive. People who are on budget but still want the latest will then go for Intel.
babylon52281
post Sep 4 2023, 11:31 AM

2,651 posts

QUOTE(Oyaji @ Sep 3 2023, 11:49 PM)
I'm thinking to get something like 5800X3D but will it be safe to use Scythe Mugen 5 Rev. B to cool this CPU? I mean it must be one hot CPU and air cooler may not be enough for this.
A redittor have this comment: I found that it performs within margin of error of most cheaper AIOs. When compared with the Deepcool Captain 240EX, this cooler had lower idle temperatures by about 4°C and under load was only 2°C hotter.

Some said its comparable to Dark Rock Pro4

So it should work fine i guess, or else can still undervolt it
babylon52281
post Sep 4 2023, 07:17 PM

2,651 posts

QUOTE(Oyaji @ Sep 4 2023, 01:24 PM)
I see, so it seems I need to do a push-pull configuration to increase my cooler's performance. Apart from that, getting something like 5700X might be a viable option since it has lower TDP.
Push pull with stronger fans (1500 - 1800rpm) by then you might as well sell off that Mugen and get PA120/PS120 which will slay that 5800x3d
babylon52281
post Oct 21 2023, 01:11 PM

2,651 posts

QUOTE(arslow @ Oct 20 2023, 11:58 PM)
Wah no one talking about the new threadripper 7000 HEDT??
Threadripper way too atas for most Msians even enthusiast in Lolyat. Since this is really CPUs for work related, most people wont talk about work rite?
babylon52281
post Jan 14 2024, 01:24 AM

2,651 posts

5700x3d sounds very compelling for those still on AM4 bandwagon, having 8cores like 5800x3d so its much better than 6core 5600x3d and not Microcenter only limited edition.
babylon52281
post Mar 24 2024, 05:20 PM

2,651 posts

QUOTE(1024kbps @ Mar 23 2024, 10:21 PM)
Qualcomm is come for x86 laptop, if they can improve the realtime x86 to arm64 translation performance in the future, there will be no more Intel and duopoly
https://www.theverge.com/24107331/qualcomm-...n-windows-games
Problem is ARM is not X86/64 native so its to be expected translation inefficiencies. Intel tried to do the other way by using X86 cpu to run ARM but suffers the same deficiencies. The only way X86 will be threatened is if X86 apps can run natively on ARM based OS.
babylon52281
post Mar 25 2024, 01:31 AM

2,651 posts

QUOTE(1024kbps @ Mar 24 2024, 06:13 PM)
they need a push, like promote from big game studio Cognoverse, their native x86 anticheat of course wont work, rewrite kernel driver and native launcher and binary should not be an issue for them
the same for steam deck, they push the gaming on linux rather relies on windows, the push from valve will make the linux gaming become viable in future for casual user.

traditional x86 is good because less compatibility issue like driver and software, but the hardware duopoly from amd and intel performance progression is slow as heck, Qualcomm need to kick them form the high horse.

a few % of slowdown probably unnoticeable for casual user, as if we have time to measure fps and loading time difference
we only want affordable hardware and ease of use to play.
Actually traditional X86 is rickety and built on architecture that is showing its age with the current limits of silicon tech. There are many alternative, yes ARM too, and Intel tried to move away with IA64 but due to compatibility with current software ecosystem, there is still no way to divorce from X86. Maybe will change when silicon tech replace with something else.
babylon52281
post Mar 26 2024, 01:10 AM

2,651 posts

QUOTE(1024kbps @ Mar 25 2024, 10:46 PM)
X86 has many legacy stuff they keep in silicon to ensure the old software wont break but it come with a cost, power consumption
it's growing too complex and many of the software didnt fully utilize the cpu, like those instructions set, they add a new every new architecture released,

like why many of the game and software you run max ghz and it runs like a space heater, but performance still shit because part of "brain" did not get used, what they use is just raw power. the smart part of the cpu just take a back seat.

and to make sure the software run at optimal performance you have to optimize your software, preferably using the instruction set that available in the latest CPU,
sounds like easy? noooo
https://www.amd.com/en/search/documentation...factor=Desktops
https://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/dev.../intel-sdm.html

those are the pdfs they need to read if the game developer want their game runs with butterlysmooth FPS while no need top end hardware, so why many newly released games runs like dogshit? the upper management just want the game faster out, means the game devs has less time to optimize,
collect money first, release patch later, remember cyberpunk 2077?

cpu developer guide arent just the stuff they need to understand, there are SDK for graphic renderer/game engine, Directx 12, Vulkan, then you want more platform support? IOS, Android then Playstation...

newer cpu architecture like RISC-V and ARM surely will replace the archaic x86 if they could not keep up with the performance.
The very notion of X86 itself is archaic & legacy, even Windows now come with only 64bit version but your CPU could still (technically) run DOS programs.

Its interesting to see what ARM and other RISC arch could bring but I am hoping the future for a nonsilicon CPU to also ditch X86 for an optimised computer ecosystem.
babylon52281
post May 16 2024, 09:01 AM

2,651 posts

QUOTE(overfloe @ May 14 2024, 04:52 PM)
My first build after 20 years. My last build was in the Athlon AYHJA & swiftech era biggrin.gif
Ryzen 7600 non-X (rm8xx)
Thermalright Phantom Spirit 120 SE (rm12x)
Thermalright TL-S12 fans
AsRock B650 Pro RS (rm9xx)
Acer Predator Pallas II 6000 2x16 (rm4xx)
Kingston KC3000 1TB (rm2xx)
Corsair 4000D (rm300)
FSP Hydro-G 750W Full Modular (rm4xx)

all items were purchased online (shopee) with discounts during sales.

only part missing is the GPU.. might go with either 7900 GRE/4070 Super/4070 Ti Super.

initially planned to go for 7800X3D, but Ryzen 9000 is just around the corner so decided to shave about RM700 and will use it on a better gpu instead. 7600 is fast enough for gaming.

PC boots up fast and fine out of the box, mostly default settings except for EXPO on RAM (will optimize later).
My only regret is I didn't buy 2TB KC3000 when the price was like RM400++ bangwall.gif

Gutted that ATX3.1 psu appeared a few days after I got the FSP, but no biggie since FSP bundled in 12vhpwr native cable.
So why AM5?
this rig is intended for 90% gaming. prices after discount are not much diff compared to AM4 build. good efficiency too.
i have a quadro & i7 workstation for works, so i wanted something new and different.
Whats your budget for GPU? 1TB SSD is fine if its only for gaming use, and if you can focus to finish a few games at a time and then uninstalling to load in new games. But yea 2TB will tide you much longer if your the lazy kind to uninstall.
babylon52281
post May 16 2024, 02:21 PM

2,651 posts

QUOTE(overfloe @ May 16 2024, 10:35 AM)
i do believe deals for 2TB will come (and go) haha.

on gpu, i'm ok to spend around rm4k. i don't build pc so often so looking for a good gpu with long warranty. also eyeing miniLED 1440p moniter in the future brows.gif
Erm nope. Sorry to burst your bubble but it aint coming down anytime soon

https://www.tomshardware.com/pc-components/...dustry-analysts

https://www.techspot.com/article/2835-ssd-pricing-q2-2024/

For your GPU budget; its between 4070 TI S (almost said tits) and 7900 XT (the previously unloved but now much loved 2nd child)

Depending on what games you play and how you like your sauces, their about the same

Until you turn on RT
babylon52281
post May 17 2024, 09:27 PM

2,651 posts

QUOTE(overfloe @ May 17 2024, 09:43 AM)
deals will come and go. some shops will give good discount vouchers. i'm a bargain hunter lol.

the 7900 XT is tasty, but radeon pricing in malaysia is cacat one.. cheapest (with discount) i saw is around 4.1k for nitro+ vapor (not Pulse!). can get 4070 ti super lower than that.
Radeon pricing is coz AMD Msia smoking really strong stuff, in USA and other First Worlds Radeons are priced one tier below Geforce so they give more value with faster raster but slower RT. Here Radeons are equal priced so there is really no reason to get one unless you hate Nvidia or the Geforce model you wanted is out of stock.

9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0633sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 03:34 AM