475 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Bottom

AMD Ryzen, AM4 / AM5 Platform

iguana_dude_619
post Jul 27 2017, 10:21 AM

Xbox GT, PSN & Steam ID: iguanadude626
1,141 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jul 26 2017, 10:52 PM)
Ryzen 3 1200 impressed me till jaw drop! tongue.gif

22 hours to go before I can speak but yeah, I like the processor to bits. I'm just afraid AMD issue police report / arrest warrant against me cos I want to hijack the processor. Hu hu hu.
better or same level with G4560/i3 7100?
coz of very low base clock that turn me off. laugh.gif
arifhasim85
post Jul 27 2017, 11:48 AM

351 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jul 26 2017, 09:55 PM)
I've compared my 7700K vs i7-5960X. Both overclocked, 5960X has more cores but overall 7700K has the edge.

Currently my video rendering rig is my gaming rig - Ryzen setup. Anything to do with production, can consider Ryzen.

My photography rig using Core i3-6100 only, works fine for Photos or doing simple images. Once you go do stuff that utilizes core like crazy, Ryzen is the choice.
QUOTE(TristanX @ Jul 26 2017, 09:56 PM)
Glad I did. Faster work, smooth gaming experience and don't have to deal with overheat when doing high OC.

Oh, Intel still continues to use shitty thermal compound inside IHS.
So when we considered the price, heat, and overal performance, no doubt ryzen is a better choice compared to its counterpart.
But i heard some rumours saying 3rd Q next year ryzen 2nd gen will be unleashe with at least 4.5ghz core clock achieavable when overclock?
Im willing to wait for that monster..
TristanX
post Jul 27 2017, 01:03 PM

Where is my stars?
24,353 posts

QUOTE(arifhasim85 @ Jul 27 2017, 11:48 AM)
So when we considered the price, heat, and overal performance, no doubt ryzen is a better choice compared to its counterpart.
But i heard some rumours saying 3rd Q next year ryzen 2nd gen will be unleashe with at least 4.5ghz core clock achieavable when overclock?
Im willing to wait for that monster..
Once I upgrade a platform, I won't touch for at least 3 years. Definitely will see Ryzen 7nm.
sai86
post Jul 27 2017, 01:48 PM

StilL LearninG
4,934 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Jul 27 2017, 01:03 PM)
Once I upgrade a platform, I won't touch for at least 3 years. Definitely will see Ryzen 7nm.
for me, its 7 years blush.gif
when its time for me to upgrade, i wonder Ryzen already at which version hmm.gif
another 4 years before i can upgrade CPU.
llk
post Jul 27 2017, 01:57 PM

4,158 posts

QUOTE(sai86 @ Jul 27 2017, 01:48 PM)
for me, its 7 years  blush.gif
when its time for me to upgrade, i wonder Ryzen already at which version  hmm.gif
another 4 years before i can upgrade CPU.
Wow 7 years is pretty long, look at now the competition between 2 camps is so aggressive, probably next year cpu performance will be huge leap.
sai86
post Jul 27 2017, 03:07 PM

StilL LearninG
4,934 posts

QUOTE(llk @ Jul 27 2017, 01:57 PM)
Wow 7 years is pretty long, look at now the competition between 2 camps is so aggressive, probably next year cpu performance will be huge leap.
long, but the gaming side cpu core utilization aint evolving that fast also.
hence my 4C8T is still doing fine atm. (4th yr bruce.gif )

This post has been edited by sai86: Jul 27 2017, 03:13 PM
llk
post Jul 27 2017, 04:09 PM

4,158 posts

QUOTE(sai86 @ Jul 27 2017, 03:07 PM)
long, but the gaming side cpu core utilization aint evolving that fast also.
hence my 4C8T is still doing fine atm. (4th yr bruce.gif )
Some ppls are saying game play is stutter by using Intel 4cores cpu, i have no idea on this
sai86
post Jul 27 2017, 04:54 PM

StilL LearninG
4,934 posts

QUOTE(llk @ Jul 27 2017, 04:09 PM)
Some ppls are saying game play is stutter by using Intel 4cores cpu, i have no idea on this
i3/i5 kut. since its purely core.
i7 still got some extra leg. for me so far is okay. CPU utilization not that high atm.
Cynox
post Jul 27 2017, 05:29 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(sai86 @ Jul 27 2017, 04:54 PM)
i3/i5 kut. since its purely core.
i7 still got some extra leg. for me so far is okay. CPU utilization not that high atm.
I think so too, even if my current 3770k still able to game nicely. Bottleneck is more on GPU.
goldfries
post Jul 27 2017, 05:48 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Jul 27 2017, 09:29 AM)
Opted for 1700 because I do video editing and transcoding. It is more future proof than 1600 due to 2 extra core anyway.
Excellent choice, my favorite processor among the Ryzen 7.

Easily overclocked too, once you hit around 3.6Ghz onwards it's pretty much like the 1800X already.

Furthermore it doesn't have the stupid 20 degree temperature off-set.

Doraku
post Jul 27 2017, 06:29 PM

Old threads digger
1,155 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jul 27 2017, 05:48 PM)

Easily overclocked too, once you hit around 3.6Ghz onwards it's pretty much like the 1800X already.

the 20 degree offset is only on X version the main reason they put the 20 degree offset because of the automatic overclocking feature,btw there is 3 hour more because you tell about ryzen 3
TristanX
post Jul 27 2017, 06:57 PM

Where is my stars?
24,353 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jul 27 2017, 05:48 PM)

Yeah, I just tested 3.9Ghz at 1.35v. Don't like the temperature. Went back to 3.6Ghz using stock voltage until I get Noctua NH-U14S that comes with AM4 bracket.

Have you tried Nvidia's latest driver using Ryzen? Seems like Nvidia Battlebox now also comes with Ryzen. Hopefully they fix optimization issues.

https://www.nvidia.com/en-us/geforce/products/battlebox/

This post has been edited by TristanX: Jul 27 2017, 07:30 PM
silrave
post Jul 27 2017, 08:17 PM

5,893 posts

haha
any sifu near by klang valley area?
need to bring my wife (PC) see doctor
any working gc let me tests on my ryzen rig XD
TristanX
post Jul 27 2017, 08:24 PM

Where is my stars?
24,353 posts

QUOTE(silrave @ Jul 27 2017, 08:17 PM)
haha
any sifu near by klang valley area?
need to bring my wife (PC) see doctor
any working gc let me tests on my ryzen rig XD
I got unused Sapphire R7 250X if you wanna use that to test. Genting Court Condominium, Setapak is where my house is.
goldfries
post Jul 27 2017, 09:23 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Jul 27 2017, 06:57 PM)
Yeah, I just tested 3.9Ghz at 1.35v. Don't like the temperature. Went back to 3.6Ghz using stock voltage until I get Noctua NH-U14S that comes with AM4 bracket.
Ryzen 3 runs 3.8Ghz at 1.2vcore!!! biggrin.gif I'm floored by it!

btw article is out https://www.goldfries.com/hardware-reviews/...0x-1200-review/
goldfries
post Jul 27 2017, 09:24 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(Doraku @ Jul 27 2017, 06:29 PM)
the 20 degree offset is only on X version the main reason they put the 20 degree offset because of the automatic overclocking feature,btw there is 3 hour more because you tell about ryzen 3
What automatic overclock feature you talking about? biggrin.gif Boost is it?

btw to say 20 degree offset on X model is incorrect too, Ryzen 5 and Ryzen 3 model has the X model but they don't have 20 degree off set

goldfries
post Jul 27 2017, 09:32 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(shyfox @ Jul 27 2017, 08:55 AM)
btw which will you go for Ryzen 5 1600x or Ryzen 7 1700 ?
seems to me here a lot ppl opt for the 1700
I'll take the 1700. If Ryzen 5 I'll take the 1500X.

TristanX
post Jul 27 2017, 11:50 PM

Where is my stars?
24,353 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jul 27 2017, 09:23 PM)
Ryzen 3 runs 3.8Ghz at 1.2vcore!!! biggrin.gif I'm floored by it!

btw article is out https://www.goldfries.com/hardware-reviews/...0x-1200-review/
Cool. It's not unexpected since Intel continues to sell at high prices.

Now we need something to give Pentium G4560 a run for the money.
goldfries
post Jul 28 2017, 12:20 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

My expeirence with Ryzen processor, all of them 3.8Ghz need some 1.375 vcore range. I needed 1.375 vcore for Ryzen 1500X to run at 4Ghz.

The 1200 at 1.200vcore was simply awesome, I really appreciate the lower power draw and lower heat.
TristanX
post Jul 28 2017, 12:39 AM

Where is my stars?
24,353 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jul 28 2017, 12:20 AM)
My expeirence with Ryzen processor, all of them 3.8Ghz need some 1.375 vcore range. I needed 1.375 vcore for Ryzen 1500X to run at 4Ghz.

The 1200 at 1.200vcore was simply awesome, I really appreciate the lower power draw and lower heat.
Yeah, need silicon lottery to get 1.35 or lower. I haven't stress long enough to confirm stable at 1.35v for my Ryzen 7 1700@ 3.9Ghz.

Your Ryzen 3 1200 is definitely gem.

Have you tested Nvidia latest driver for bottleneck? Kinda curious since they started supporting Ryzen for their Battlebox.

475 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Top

0.0187sec    0.87    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 12:04 PM