22 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

AMD Ryzen, AM4 / AM5 Platform

Bonchi
post Dec 21 2020, 03:12 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(zhenfeng91 @ Dec 21 2020, 10:41 AM)
too late , I already bought 5600x+b550 tomahawx bundle deal  shocking.gif

I already bought 5600x+b550 tomahawx bundle deal on shoppee , though i think quality b450 is still capable to carry 5600x  ,no need to spend extra unless thing doesnt work out smile.gif
as for me im just being too impatience , prob sell my 2600+b450 together  nod.gif
PS:5600x+ b550 msi tomahawx for RM2199 , RM50 higher than LYN price , still doable to me smile.gif
then why not sell the B550 and keep the B450 laugh.gif
Bonchi
post Dec 21 2020, 03:19 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(zhenfeng91 @ Dec 21 2020, 03:17 PM)
sure if u willing to buy from me for full price  dry.gif
You will rugi more with selling the B450.. especially since it's such an old chipset hmm.gif
Bonchi
post Dec 23 2020, 12:26 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Dec 23 2020, 12:20 PM)
Stability fix just came out for B550 i Aorus Pro AX.
https://www.gigabyte.com/Motherboard/B550I-...support-dl-bios
gonna wait for reddit feedbacks first laugh.gif
Bonchi
post Dec 24 2020, 10:41 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(Jedi @ Dec 24 2020, 07:42 PM)
Dark hero 1999 what a steal. Instant buy
Only x570 unify and dark hero in this list I consider.

The others are pure garbage, non future proof after 4 to 5 years.
AM4 is nearing its end along with DDR4. your x570 is not even close to be future proof. Considering ML is becoming more and more mainstream, technology will now evolve very fast... and flagships will go obsolete super quickly.
Bonchi
post Dec 25 2020, 03:57 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(lolzcalvin @ Dec 25 2020, 01:22 PM)
big up for this. for me, it's 'upgrade as you go'. i somehow calculated my own cost of me getting "future proof material" vs the "upgrade as you go" path...usually these future proof materials don't really get future proofed because they actually get obsolete instead... as companies will release them in the future many more times, on top of several iterations of additional refinements that bring more values to said future proof materials...turns out 'upgrade as you go' is a pretty viable option.
i spend around 20-30k back in the past.. with inflation it’s about 50k today’s money on a 1366 i7, SLI gtx285, etc... annnd 2 years after that purchase. cannot use already.
Bonchi
post Dec 25 2020, 09:14 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(yimingwuzere @ Dec 25 2020, 04:50 PM)
You bought that rig two years too early.

Buying 2600K and a 7970 in 2011 would have set you for 6+ years easily with just incremental GPU upgrades to max everything on 1080p e.g. GTX970/1070 - consoles and Bulldozer underperformance has stagnated the tech/performance race for a long time until recently.
nah. had a 2600k and very quickly got the 3770k and then i moved to using apple haha.

future proofing is a big fat lie.

This post has been edited by Bonchi: Dec 25 2020, 09:14 PM
Bonchi
post Dec 26 2020, 12:23 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(mois @ Dec 26 2020, 10:04 AM)
I have been thinking. 5600x Rm1459 + dark hero Rm1999 = Rm3458
10900k Rm2099 + decent z490 (Rm1400) also Rm3500. Some more 10900k no shortage.
as a ryzen user for almost a year, I’ll also suggest going back to intel
Bonchi
post Dec 26 2020, 01:34 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(irangan @ Dec 26 2020, 01:14 PM)
My 3700x was purchased previously to serve a stop gap for 5900x. But cant find it anywhere at least at reasonable price. 3000 OK but 3800, want meh. Sigh
Genuine question. My 3700x under Noctua DH-15, idle at 40-45'c. Whats your cometlake temp now? Want to know more as my last intel was 6700 series.
Take note on that if I somehow managed to find.
i think there needs to be a clarification on tdp as many users seems to not understand and having misconceptions. power consumption does not equate to tdp.

intel may be drawing 250w on all core full load but the max tdp is only 125w where it will start to throttle at that temp. Likewise AMD are 105w.. the difference is the effeciency where the power consumption on amd is much lower thanks to 7nm, but the heat output is only 20w lower. So the answer to whether intel is Hot AF and can melt rooms... it’s a big NO. infact a 125W rated 120mm aio is quite sufficient to prevent a 10900k from throttling.

As for idle.. then it’s a diff game. Intel wins hands down here with a more mature speed step algorithm with probably 2-3C above ambient.
Bonchi
post Dec 26 2020, 01:41 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Dec 26 2020, 01:24 PM)
I think I should consider very lucky.

I manage to grab last unit of Ryzen 9 5900X at price lowered little than MSRP at RM 2,450.00 on 13 Nov 2020.

Of course need to bundle with full set, this time was ok to me as I need buy new PC.

Previously I said my PC crash issue, I change RAM setting still not 100% solve.

Now I can ensure it is software issue, I use MPV player at my old laptop and never had issue crash when playing 4K HDR content to SDR, but it keep crashing and PC restart when playing 4K HDR in HDR. After more test by off my windows HDR, no more crashing issue.

Later I try others player in HDR play in HDR and no issue. So that playback crash system is MPV player issue.

I had uninstall the association with MPV and remove entirely the application.

Now using JRiver Media center. I love this apps as easier to get best quality setting of MadVR. Awesome quality and playback was freaking smooth.

Another alternative is VLC Player.

MPC-HC MPC-BP is a great choice for people prefer manually tunes MadVR.

Important no more of restart issue.

https://jriver.com/
It’s not software issue. It is the ryzen issue. Software are written base on x86 instruction set that the cpu should support entirely. Same goes to r3000 series where it had a missing rng causing certain linux distro not able to run on ryzens. Till today there’s tonnes of this sort lf small issues that makes a ryzen platform unstable...

This is kinda like a Car wont start when you pump shell’s ron95 but no issues with petronas ron95. lolol.
Bonchi
post Dec 26 2020, 02:53 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Dec 26 2020, 02:35 PM)
Because I test others player no issue, include Windows 10 media player, VLC Player, J River Media Center, and MPC-HC player, all instant switch to HDR, instant switch within Windows and full screen, instant play and no crash and no windows restart.

But this only happen in MPV player where HDR movie stuck during full screen switching, sometimes it will make my pc restart. The MPV Player not facing such issue when playback in SDR include HDR movie convert to SDR output. I can't test at my laptop as my laptop GPU not support HDR output to HDR monitor

So I conclude this is software bugs also as none of others player I test had this issue. Total 5 player test, only 1 player crash my PC.
It’s not that simple especially if you understand how it works on the code level. If it works on intel which is also an x86 or an older gen ryzen, means something is missing on your current gen. If so happens another application is using that particular decoder or component, it will crash as well. So the fix should be from the chip bios/driver and not the application because we will never know how many other applications are affected.... just like how amd released a chipset driver fix for the linux issue however due to it being a fixed at the software layer, performance become affected.

And you cant expect over 9000 software vendors to change, debug test and test again for backwards compatibility along with other x86 based processors just because AMD fcked up.

However amd being amd, if it’s a niche issue, they just pretend they never heard it... and wouldnt bother to fix. While their fanboys kept defending them.

This post has been edited by Bonchi: Dec 26 2020, 03:05 PM
Bonchi
post Dec 26 2020, 03:21 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Dec 26 2020, 03:04 PM)
I got Intel processor but I cannot test it because that system not support HDR output. The MPV player ha no issue in SDR in both my system in Intel or AMD.

But also can't conclude this is Ryzen issue as well.

Correct I also can't conclude 100% is software issue unless somebody using Intel processor with HDR monitor and set Windows 10 HDR turn on to test it.

This is my second AMD system, it is same not 100% stable. I think I will back to Intel in future also. Haha!
I think the problem with amd is nobody pushing them to fix on their issues with lawsuits etc. Also probably because not many enterprise and corporates use amd yet so they are not being pressured like intel to patch up on all the stability issues.

As you can see, gen to gen, ryzen just keep coming up with newer architechture and ditching their previous gen, instead of ironing out all the flaws of the previous gen or optimizing a design before moving on to a new design. That’s because no enterprise or corporates are demanding them to do so with lawsuits.

At this point, it’s pretty much end of line with zen2 already and whatever issues there may be, it wont be for zen2 eventhough it’s just 1 year old. And look at 2000 series, the ram issue has been totally forgotten already.. despite it being only 2 years old. And the main issue is the hardcore fanboys defending them.

This post has been edited by Bonchi: Dec 26 2020, 03:22 PM
Bonchi
post Dec 26 2020, 03:35 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Dec 26 2020, 03:26 PM)
Yalo, for lcurrent situation, I also not dare to ask enterprise company using it. Lucky I didn't also, else they will be no day for fixing here and there issue

Stability is very important for company, cannot simply restart or crash in working time.
my previous company bought an epyc to replace the xeons platform that they have been loyal for over 15 years but the epyc kept crashing... crash untill the software team(me) and the executive board decided to migrate to cloud and the server guy who has been maintaining the servers over 7 years who is the one who recommended the epyc server kena made redundant. laugh.gif

The server is use to run alot of SQL and the disk and memory read write is super heavy. Somehow the Epyc suck terribly in this area.. and have alot of data corruption.

This post has been edited by Bonchi: Dec 26 2020, 03:38 PM
Bonchi
post Dec 26 2020, 04:09 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Dec 26 2020, 03:40 PM)
Haha! Until now we whole teams no one dare suggest for switch, we still keep using Xeon. Trouble happen, who suffer, we suffer, user also suffer.

Thanks for your information, this is another great point better stick with Intel for server based as well.
but then due to the sheer amout of cores, amd tend to be better as a render server or VM
Bonchi
post Dec 26 2020, 04:40 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Dec 26 2020, 04:26 PM)
But for stability wise, we pick Xeon.

We have at least 200 VM, cannot have any crash issue.

I think this is a bit out of topic, we should stop discussion here. Haha!
not really, would be interesting to know how epyc perform in real world usage too. If im not mistaken amazon cloud EC2 instances is running on epyc. Seems to be running ok.. maybe also because they have failover mechanism on the VM.
Bonchi
post Dec 26 2020, 04:50 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(irangan @ Dec 26 2020, 04:41 PM)
Read your post and other good feedback here. Will consider to jump back to Intel. Thanks!
in my honest opinion, better just wait for the news of rocket lake or amd to come up with some major bios release.. like the zen2’s 1.0.0.4 that came out 5 months after that fixed most of the vital issues.

So yeah. just hold back on your purchase if you dont desperately need an upgrade. However if you need one immediately right now... no doubt 10900K which is cheaper, faster, more stable and most importantly available.
Bonchi
post Dec 26 2020, 04:55 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Dec 26 2020, 04:51 PM)
5 months! OMG! I should consider Intel that time. Haha!
early adopter of zen2 all face this problem. they have some sort of ram training issue that causes boot up to be super long, some pcie detection problems that till today still have issues that occasionally shows hardwarw not detected errors on B400 chipset (thats why i changed to B550) and of course the infamous aggressive boost behavior and constant high vcore.
Bonchi
post Dec 26 2020, 05:09 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(mois @ Dec 26 2020, 04:58 PM)
10700k here is Rm1699

ROG STRIX Z490-F GAMING - 1240
ROG STRIX Z490-E GAMING - 1635

The cooler I booked is nzxt z73. I only have corsair RM750 psu.

Still dilemma.
1) 5600x & dark hero = Rm3459
2) 10700k + z490E/F =Rm2939/ Rm3334
3) 10900k + z490 E/F = Rm3339 / Rm3734 (750W is concern?)
Truly depends on GPU but 750W should be enough at the moment if you not gonna run a 3090. If you just gonna run a 3080 at 320-370w draw, you still got 200-250w of headroom including the 10900k

Cooler more than enough. Performance vs Value wise really no brainer here.

This post has been edited by Bonchi: Dec 26 2020, 05:11 PM
Bonchi
post Dec 27 2020, 10:16 AM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(Vannus @ Dec 27 2020, 09:00 AM)
My 5900x so far so good, never a single crash before bro. Let's see whats the difference between mine and yours. Mine mobo is giga aorus master on latest f31q bios, ram tridentz gskill 3600mhz CL18 on xmp profile @ 1.35v (manual bump up dram voltage). The rest of settings i keep default stock. Not interested on OC for the minimal gain that can't be felt in real life usage.
why need to bump up voltage? unstable when on stock voltage?

anyways my ryzen also got no issues with up time no bsod. Problem only comes when i shut down or do a reboot. which i always shut down my pc.
Occasionally when boot up it will sometimes enter windows with a low resolution or the hard disks not being detected. Changed 2 mobos and 4 gpus so definitely it’s a ryzen issue.

and mine is on a supposedly mature zen2. Changed to B550 and problem is still there. Just not as often as B450

Maybe most people do is game.. so it’s just very basic usage... and then they say no crash.

When go into more indepth usage perhaps alot of issue will come up. Such as linux or running some compilers or memory intensive stuff. Back then my ryzen had a problem with those so I continue to use my mac for work.

This post has been edited by Bonchi: Dec 27 2020, 10:23 AM
Bonchi
post Dec 27 2020, 11:03 AM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

id rather amd add some stability testing into their roadmap rather than chasing numbers to match or surpass intel in performance of certain areas but sacrificing overall stability.

Their R&D is moving to new architecture too fast making older gens like zen2 losing support without even bother to fix the problems. and just barely a year old.

their way of telling you the work around of fixing issues is literaly telling you to buy their latest hardware.

zen and zen plus users will know best.. They’re literally left in the dirt with a problematic barely 3 year old pcs.

This post has been edited by Bonchi: Dec 27 2020, 11:06 AM
Bonchi
post Dec 27 2020, 12:01 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(myroy @ Dec 27 2020, 11:20 AM)
Hi, I did read the discussion on this thread

Is 5600x still worth to buy? (still, got issue)?
or wait for
5600?
what are you using now? better just wait for all the scalper and stability issue to settle down first.

22 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0310sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 02:57 AM