16 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 >Bottom

AMD Ryzen, AM4 / AM5 Platform

SSJBen
post Sep 27 2022, 09:10 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

I can't wait to see all the people crying about temperatures in a few weeks time because most still don't understand how the new power limit works (hint: it's similar to the PS5, surprised?).
SSJBen
post Sep 28 2022, 01:40 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(ipohps3 @ Sep 27 2022, 09:21 PM)
wow cheaper 7950X than 5950X. all cheaper in fact except the 7600X and 7900X compared to 5000 series.
Humans are easily blind sided.

AMD just shifted the price hike from CPUs to their chipsets and motherboard royalties instead. Go la and buy an AM5 board + DDR5, see how much total. whistling.gif
SSJBen
post Oct 25 2022, 02:00 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(crazyfatt @ Oct 24 2022, 11:02 PM)
struggling on amd or intel
plan x670e asus extreme and 7900x or 13900k asus hero.
any advice sifu ? currently using 5900x formula + 4090
Let's put it this way.

If you go with AM5 (i.e x670E), sure the platform would be supported until... perhaps say Zen 6, maybe even 7. That sounds like a long time, probably 5 years of upgrade options. Sounds nice on paper, but x670E is riddled with problems just like x370 was when it launched AM4. It was promised that x370 would support future AM4 based CPUs and it did, but not entirely.

Even the x370 boards that did finally support Zen 3 wasn't a smooth plug and play scenario, it required a lot of work arounds to get ahead of issues that shouldn't happen (Zen 1 CPUs had no USB drop outs, suddenly dropping in a Zen 3 CPU caused USB drop outs for example).

So we don't really know how AM5 would shape out in the future. AMD isn't your friend, they'd be more than incline to sell you x770 or x870 or whatever when the latest AM5-based Zen CPU gets released 5 years from now.

On the other hand LGA1700 is EOL now. But at least you can rest assured that z690 is a mostly stable platform and a 13900k will last you 3 years, easy. By then, you can decide again if AM5 has proven itself to be a stable platform or not to jump back into AMD.
SSJBen
post Oct 25 2022, 02:35 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(crazyfatt @ Oct 25 2022, 02:27 PM)
Thx for the info. will wait longer and decide coz intel need chg mobo for next gen.
You planning to upgrade every gen? If so, then nothing is actually "future proof". AMD may require you to get x770 too when Zen 5 comes around, just so the problems from x670 be eradicated. That's the typical AMD procedure, release something new, sweep old shit under the rug and hope people forget.
SSJBen
post Oct 25 2022, 03:01 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(crazyfatt @ Oct 25 2022, 02:41 PM)
i from 9900k stick amd till now. every gen did upgrade but intel this time seems not so worthy and ddr5 ram still unstable.
A 13900k and a Z690 board will last you the next 3 years, easily. DDR5 is not unstable, who told you otherwise? doh.gif

It's up to you if you wanna ride the beta-test phase of AM5 now really. Zen 4 has issues like random BSODs, clock stretching, slow boot up times, and poor handling of CCDs on Win 11. So if you're ok with dealing on those issues, then go ahead with AM5 + Zen 4.
SSJBen
post Oct 25 2022, 03:52 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Like which RAM? Not available here doesn't mean not available everywhere.

I'm skipping both Zen 4 and Raptor Lake too, will stick with 5900x. Happy with it for now.
SSJBen
post Oct 25 2022, 09:23 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(raydenex @ Oct 25 2022, 07:13 PM)
Exactly what I'm doing - sticking with 5900x and do nothing this generation.
Rule of thumb - never buy the first release of a any "next-gen" stuff. laugh.gif

QUOTE(Vannus @ Oct 25 2022, 07:54 PM)
Same to me; exactly what I'm doing - sticking with 5900x and do nothing this generation.

Suddenly i feel the 5900x is more stable and it runs cool at only 105W tdp, despite it slower than the new gen proc. Looking forward to next year CPU new releases.
Yeah same here. Tuned up my 5900x really well too, maxed out my stability with FCLK at 1900mhz 1:1, super tight timings on the RAM. Chilling like a cucumber in basic desktop use cases under 95w TDP @ ~35c.

I see zero reason to move on from the 5900x at this point.
SSJBen
post Oct 25 2022, 09:41 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Vannus @ Oct 25 2022, 09:33 PM)
Exactly bro!! cool and chill, no sweat at all this processor and never even fail me once like hang, bsod or auto restart.  blush.gif

If got gen7 amd, significant amount money spend, added heat, and instability (this stability i can't tolerate). Play game half way hang or restart is the worst thing to happen in life, or working on your apps half way then restart before able to save the work...  doh.gif
Yeah that's why it's always best to buy the last releases of previous gen stuff, doesn't matter which platform. All major issues has been (mostly) ironed out.

Stability > performance.
SSJBen
post Oct 26 2022, 04:36 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(crazyfatt @ Oct 25 2022, 09:54 PM)
i’m using 5900x+ asus formula mobo. randomly get issue processor suddenly drop to 500mhz. need shut down pc and restart only back to normal. wondering what’s prob 🥲
This is an old windows power plan problem.

Too many variables to list how this has happened but the main culprits are:

1) Installing a Zen 3 CPU over a Zen 2 CPU without reinstalling Windows. The Zen 3 CPU can be stuck using the Ryzen power plan that was only meant for Zen 2.

2) A windows update in 2020 and 2021 changed how the stock windows power plan works with Zen 3 CPUs, this could error out and the OS is still telling the CPU to use the non-updated power plan.

3) Mobo reporting wrong voltage due to EDC bug (AGESA 1.2.0.6), Windows wrongly sets the CPU in the wrong power state.
SSJBen
post Oct 26 2022, 06:40 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(crazyfatt @ Oct 26 2022, 06:30 PM)
i did a reinstall windows last few months. will try to check the 2/3 mentioned. tq sifu. this is so annoying while gaming sudd drop to 500mhz
Personally I just use bitsum high perf power plan, have no issues with it.

Also do you have Ryzen Master installed an enabled? I read on reddit before some were saying that it causes odd power boosting or down clocking. I'm not sure though since I've never dabbled with Ryzen Master.
SSJBen
post Oct 26 2022, 09:59 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(crazyfatt @ Oct 26 2022, 07:13 PM)
i tried installed or uninstall ryzen master also same. so weird. wondering is it got software conflict.

i got asus armory
logitech hub
icue
Asus Armory lol.... that may be the answer. i sweat.gif
SSJBen
post Nov 8 2022, 03:09 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

If retailers here can really follow the new MSRP for 5800x3D, that is a mega deal for a CPU simply for gaming. Combine that with a decent x570 and some outgoing DDR4 kits, you'll have a system that'll last as long as Sandy Bridge did.
SSJBen
post Nov 24 2022, 04:19 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Lurker @ Nov 24 2022, 01:59 PM)
which are the 'decent' ones?
currently on a 7700k with with asus max hero

suddenly GAS strike
I can't speak for others, but me personally been using x570 Crosshair VIII since 2019, mostly been error free other than:

1) Slow cold boot time back during Zen 3 launch AGESA (forgot the version), has been fixed obviously.
2) Random USB disconnects (brought over from the days of Zen+), I personally haven't encountered the issue for a long time already, so AFAIC it's fixed - for me.

Board has been solid otherwise, holds up zero issues with my 5900x with 1:1:1 config of 2000mhz FCLK + ultra tight RAM timings. Of course FCLK is CPU silicon lottery dependent, but some of the AGESA updates has helped me achieve the "golden" 2000mhz so at least I can't say Asus has been doing nothing and just counting their cash.

One last note: AGESA 1.2.0.3c and beyond (latest is 1.2.0.7) still has the unresolved EDC bug. So if you do OC beyond limits, that's one thing to consider.
SSJBen
post Nov 29 2022, 03:42 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Lurker @ Nov 24 2022, 05:38 PM)
quick sheepee check...
board cost more than the chip! hahaha!
sweat.gif
I mean if you're building a new system, just go for Intel 13th gen instead. Better value there with a 13700k. If you wanna bet big on Zen 4, that's not a terrible choice either but the price of entry for that platform is still stupidly high at the moment.

EDIT - forgot to mention AM5 does have some issues like long cold boot, system hang during sleep/suspend, randomly poor Win11 performance.

This post has been edited by SSJBen: Nov 29 2022, 10:10 PM
SSJBen
post Feb 2 2023, 02:49 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(terradrive @ Feb 2 2023, 10:35 AM)
walao AMD kept milking early adopters

First, release 7000X series at jacked up prices, then releases way cheaper and still very good non X. All while selling B650 at jacked up prices.

Now, Delaying the 7800X3D which has the best value, pushing early adopters to the more expensive 7950X3D and hugely jacked up price 7900X3D (almost $200 vs the regular X ver).

All while taking sweet time to delay the release of the A620 chipsets @_@
The angry ones are those that bought their Mobo, ram, GPU during the December sales in the US. All their parts sitting there collecting dust while waiting for AMD's sweet ass time to release shit.

I understand their frustration lol.

Apparently AMD may not even have enough 7800x3D to sell come April.
SSJBen
post Feb 3 2023, 05:52 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(siles1991 @ Feb 3 2023, 01:03 PM)
All these shenanigans just making me want to pull trigger on a 5800X3D. My 6700k bottlenecking hard after I got a 3080, and was hoping to jump on AM5. Was hoping Q4 might have some decent prices for AM5, but looking less likely ugh.
Why not just go straight for Raptor Lake instead? Better value there.

5800x3D is not advisable for new builds, it's more for people who already are on Zen/+, 2 or 3 and looking for one last upgrade on their AM4 platform.

Otherwise just go AM5, pick up a good board, get the 7700 and call it a day until Zen 5 comes around and pop in the relevant CPU upgrade after that if it's enticing enough.

This post has been edited by SSJBen: Feb 3 2023, 05:58 PM
SSJBen
post Feb 7 2023, 04:38 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Feb 7 2023, 09:08 AM)
Zen4 DDR5 sweet spot is 6000MHZ and anything higher is preferable.
confused.gif confused.gif confused.gif

Anything higher IS NOT preferable for Zen 4 due to flaky IMC.
SSJBen
post Feb 7 2023, 05:17 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Lurker @ Feb 7 2023, 04:53 PM)
Integrated Memory Controller
related to the infinity fabric?

*macam cerita marvel pulak
They are related yes.

Most boards can push up to DDR5-6200 now with MCLK 2:1:1, but that's it. Anything higher is pure luck and even then it's only single rank 2x DIMMs. If dual rank and 4x DIMMs, can pretty much forget about it.
SSJBen
post Feb 8 2023, 12:05 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Feb 7 2023, 09:47 PM)
https://www.anandtech.com/show/17585/amd-ze...-the-high-end/5
Zen4 runs ideally at DDR5 6000MHZ as that maxed out Gear 1 mode, past that and IMC goes into Gear 2 but similarly to Intel 12/13Gen, once the speed barrier goes high enuff and coupled with lower latencies, the memory perf will shoot past DDR5 'sweetspot'. In terms of IMC quality, AM5 is better as it can handle higher EXPO vs Intel nonK at DDR5 5200.
Yeah ok dude. Tell me something that isn't more obvious than water is wet?
SSJBen
post Feb 8 2023, 03:44 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Feb 8 2023, 08:30 AM)
You seem to think water isn't wet?
Stability, dumbass, stability.

16 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 >Top

0.0336sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 11:19 AM