AMD Ryzen, AM4 / AM5 Platform

Bonchi
post Mar 13 2021, 11:04 AM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Mar 13 2021, 10:17 AM)
My 5900X with 29C ambient. Nothing running on the background.

[attachmentid=10809622]
Yours did drop down to 0.9v so i guess it is working as it should despite the temps is still 40C... maybe cuz of the core count. my 3600 with fewer cores lowest was 35C so i guess it is in that range.
Bonchi
post Mar 13 2021, 01:20 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(1024kbps @ Mar 13 2021, 01:04 PM)
Youtube now only use VP9/AV1, older GPU without VP9 hardware assisted GPU decoding are GGed, cpu does all the work and toasty warm~~~

the only fix is force youtube streaming in AVC/H264 https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/h264ify/
no more noisy fan noise accompany you after that lol
i have departed from ryzen and using intel now haha but i could check this out on the rigs i build for friends. Altho they are the kind who dont give a damn eventho their cpu is idling at 60C... as long as their pc works then it's fine.
Bonchi
post Mar 13 2021, 02:24 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Mar 13 2021, 01:59 PM)
power plan at high performance mode?
Balance, Stock cooler, average cap-ayam/avf atx case with 2 120mm front intake+ 1 120mm side intake and 1 120mm top exhaust and 1 90mm rear exhaust.
Bonchi
post Mar 14 2021, 12:23 AM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(1024kbps @ Mar 13 2021, 11:46 PM)
Is that your workstation or gaming pc? Try to reduce the amount of background process, don't let too much game client running on background.
Window 10 optimization or maybe the cpu scheduler need another fix, it's a shitty os anyway
cant really blame the OS when the problem is only experienced on ryzen lol. Besides, ryzen also have pretty high idle voltage and temps on linux as well.

This post has been edited by Bonchi: Mar 14 2021, 12:48 AM
Bonchi
post Mar 14 2021, 09:05 AM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(1024kbps @ Mar 14 2021, 02:55 AM)
I tried to use hwinfo, it is just sucking the CPU power only polling the data every 2 second?...
Anyway unless Ryzen Master is bugged , my CPU only use 10w + 8w SoC, and running at 37c at idle. your reply become increasingly biased because you had bad experience with AMD.

AMD is way much smaller company compare to Intel, software wise much improvement is needed, and they are still hiring Linux software engineers, GPU department they are pretty well done already.
Also i work as lab instrument tester, i deal with Windows 10 everyday, occasionally linux machine too,
for me Windows 10 stability is a nightmare and slow as snail,
1. instrument that running linux is much more robust than Windows, i dont have to shutdown the linux powered instrument, sudden power loss on it has zero impact, while Windows counterpart will greet you with bluescreen, the only way to access it is reinstall Windows.
2. Windows defender realtime scanning, you can only turn if off temporary, the antimalware scanner will run everytime you execute some program.
i mean, the program does not even cache the scanned executable nor memorize the program im running everyday, i can make a coffee and back to my cell in time while i waiting the testing program ready to be used,
The windows antimalware scanner is just another power virus to me.
3. boot up time is another win for Linux, while a watered down Windows 10, a paid OS is booting 3 time slower on same hardware.

Mission critical OS dont use Windows servers, nobody want to use Windows on a life support instrument anyway.
FYI, I did all the fine tunings on my OS and cpu which made my ryzen idle at 7C above ambient but it is no where near to what intel can achieve out of the box. Just admit it. ryzen’s boosting algorithm is terribly inefficient and has nothing to do with which OS is being used.

If you work as a lab instrument tester, I work as an analyst who deals with win server and linux on a daily basis on operations critical systems and data warehouse. Whose job is also to test on server reliability. that’s why I sorta able to tell in-depth and point out some of AMD’s flaws and why it is fast because I know about machine architecture. If you think AMD is smooth on linux, you’re terribly naive lolol.

there’s nothing to be biased about here. when it has a problem, it has a problem no point defending. if you keep defending then AMD will not be bothered to solve any of their issues.. Just like it takes more than 1 year for AMD to acknowledge the USB dropping off problems which is also related to NVME and sata drive data packets gone missing/corrupt in high read/write server scenario.

So now we should voice out on the high idle temps and over aggressive and inefficient clock stepping so that AMD would solve this problem that had been around since zen+

and no, you’d be surprise how many more are using windows for mission critical stuff than other OS. that’s why billgates is so rich. it’s more to do on the failover procedures than OS being used. And of course... not windows 10 lol.

This post has been edited by Bonchi: Mar 14 2021, 09:11 AM
Bonchi
post Mar 16 2021, 12:46 AM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(MetalIronWood @ Mar 15 2021, 10:52 PM)
thx man, nice info there, it expand my radius of option here. i nvr heard of this brand name, thinking want to go for the LED for "presentation"
and plus is this silicon brand ok? thinking want to go for 970 evo.
Honestly, youd better off with a 10400F + B560 or even the 11400F than a 3600 unless youre gonna do heavy video rendering. And the 3600 will bottleneck most current gen gpus significantly. And the memory support is pretty meh.

Ryzens that are worth your consideration is the 4700G for builds without GPU or go for the 5600x. Skip the 3600, trust me.. I had it and it's pretty disappointing... especially when it cost RM300 more than the 10400F.
Bonchi
post Mar 17 2021, 10:50 AM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Mar 17 2021, 08:55 AM)
Earlier, there's much discussion on Ryzen's idle voltage. I just saw this video. Ryzen was supposed to idle or lower load at highest voltage?
From 13:05 minutes

Yes ryzen tends to semi idle at much higher voltage than it loads. The argument behind it was to be able to allow it to boost on demand very quickly from a sleep state and not suffer instability or crashing. While at high loads, the cpu can lock into fix frequency so it can drop into a lower voltage and sustain at the voltage efficiency because it is no longer boosting up and down.

In full idle/standby however, it will drop down to 0.9v and enter a sleep state. but a simple interrupt such as a mouse movement will make it spike up to 1.4v in a short burst.

Thanks to that, ryzen have higher idles. And it is by design.. so i guess there will be no such thing as a fix.

This post has been edited by Bonchi: Mar 17 2021, 10:52 AM
Bonchi
post Mar 17 2021, 11:17 AM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Mar 17 2021, 11:04 AM)
omg its not RYZEN idle. its how all cpu are

loadline loadline loadline

high vcore idle > temp is false
its current.

1amp 0.8v vs 1amp 1.4v

not gonna be 29c vs 45c ya.
True true. But ryzen problem is that it is genuinely waking up from ccx and boosting at the slightest interrupts so the higher idle temps. that's why i had to up the llc on my ryzen to keep it stable due to the fluctuations. and also their implementation is not as good as intel when it comes to stepping.. Their cool and quiet feature sucks lolol.

This post has been edited by Bonchi: Mar 17 2021, 11:24 AM
Bonchi
post Mar 17 2021, 11:28 AM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(Cold|Drawn @ Mar 17 2021, 11:24 AM)
Bonchi, what's your new intel's idle ya? Curious, if say just open chrome and spotify in background or maybe something else.
Up to 5C above ambient with browsing and playing hd videos lol... 1C above ambient when doing nothing. maybe cuz it's 10400F. ive posted before.. it went down to as low as 29C in a 28C aircond room setting.
Bonchi
post Mar 18 2021, 11:19 AM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(iZuDeeN @ Mar 18 2021, 10:02 AM)
ANyone got any idea why my 5600x randomly BLUE screen when on MS Teams?

Never happened on Google Meet ; when gaming (4-5 hrs direct)

But when on MS Teams.. sometimes in less than half hour.. crashed..blue screen

The only O/C is RAM from 3200 to 3600.. but if really RAM .. why other program doesnt crash?
Because ram is funny like that. Some programs can get away with ram errors while some are super sensitive. Did you get the bluescreen error code usually you can somewhat tell what it is. Best you try to do 4-8 passes of memtest86. But that will make your pc unusable for 6-10 hours.
Bonchi
post Mar 18 2021, 12:48 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(nrw @ Mar 18 2021, 12:13 PM)
you'd be surprised to see how well their cool&quiet, cstates, etc. working once you slot a renoir or probably cezanne into your board.
but since those are plagued by low cache this is also no solution (apart from the availability)
I remember it is working quite well on the 1000 and 2000 series. Only zen2 onwards it became problematic. Maybe it's because of the chiplet design?
Bonchi
post Mar 18 2021, 02:24 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(nrw @ Mar 18 2021, 01:46 PM)
yeah I think so, the io die seems to be the main factor. the monolithic renoir really not too bad. can build a massively energy efficient system with that.
I've seen ppl having idle system! draw of sub 10W with a pico psu and renoir.
Well they are specifically designed for low energy systems afterall. To be honest, i got into ryzen also specifically for building a 4L high efficiency itx that will be using a small flex psu. But the zen2 idle powerdraw is much higher than anticipated so I fell into a rabbit hole of parts upgrades and facing quite a number of problems along the way. Maybe my experience would be different if i used a zen+ instead of zen2 which was the original plan. But it is what it is. Never would have expected that I ended up with intel again despite being quite supportive for ryzen initially.
Bonchi
post Mar 27 2021, 02:11 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Mar 27 2021, 01:40 PM)
Price still high... Maybe better wait it to go down first.
Price won’t drop already. That’s kind of the new revised MSRP.
Bonchi
post Mar 27 2021, 04:46 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(viqq @ Mar 27 2021, 04:45 PM)
Hi guys, has anyone purchased a tray processor before? First time buying tray processors for cost saving. I Can't test it out yet as I'm waiting for the gpu.. Hopefully it's all fine..

The other option would be top up rm200 and get the 3600x as the retailer is out of 3600 chips..
it's the totally same but just doesnt have any warranty not even from AMD. That's about it lol.
Bonchi
post Mar 27 2021, 05:51 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Mar 27 2021, 05:08 PM)
Rocket lake coming. Ryzen demand drop, price also will drop.
with so many anti intel and rise of ryzen fanboys... you think demand will drop? so many are willing to wait and pay for 5600X eventho it cost more than a 10700 (and generally slower because of fewer cores).

kena cucuk by scalpers until longgar also still willing to pay for AMD brows.gif Brand and hype matters nowadays.

This post has been edited by Bonchi: Mar 27 2021, 05:55 PM
Bonchi
post Mar 28 2021, 12:19 AM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(raydenex @ Mar 27 2021, 07:57 PM)
Some folks here had their points on what was wrong with AMD beginning with Zen 2 and now Zen 3. Bonchi and gang is not wrong for what they raised. But you keep harping on it over and over and over again, bitter A F, it gets tiring for the rest of us. You throw shade at the AMD fanboys, defending AMD blindly. But your constant hating has put you on the other extreme end of that spectrum now.
The thing is, it's no longer the crown in price to performance anymore and the hate for intel is more apparent to the point that many people are lead to pay more for less performance or waited for months due to stock shortage and even succumb to scalpers, even though there is a much better option.

And did you ever see any of my recent post complaining about the AMD bugs anymore? no right? In fact has been more constructive at providing tips on how I solved my AMD issues rather than praising AMD as the perfect system like all these fanboys. (Which is why i left AMD cuz im sick of these fanboys "AMD is perfect, i got no issues" not giving any troubleshooting advise.... in fact i got most of the working solution from nrw and ctskl who doesnt worship AMD) like with john's, about working with power settings and solving his sudden whea which is worth discussing.

Right now im just stating facts that price will not drop so i am advising the forumer to go ahead with the 5800x because he could get it right now instead of waiting dunno till when for a 5900x to get cheaper. And this xboxx fella butt hurt.

This post has been edited by Bonchi: Mar 28 2021, 12:36 AM
Bonchi
post Mar 28 2021, 12:44 AM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(raydenex @ Mar 28 2021, 12:36 AM)
Was I being too optimistic to expect you guys to graciously accept someone pointing out that the constant banging on AMD has gone a little too far here? Your points are all valid, and most, if not all people here digested it many many pages ago. There is really no need to keep throwing shade.
How is telling a forumer to go ahead with a 5800x instead of waiting a heavenly opportunity for a discounted 5900x banging on AMD?

Really.. so any troubleshooting inquiries or lower tier rig suggestions to match budget are treated as AMD hate huh? I guess AMD fanboys are all 5900x master race.
Bonchi
post Mar 28 2021, 01:06 AM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(raydenex @ Mar 28 2021, 12:51 AM)
I'm not speaking in response to that. I have no issue with that at all. That's between you and whoever it was you're squabbling with.

Heck I use a 5800x myself. What 5900x master race? I'm making a general statement in this thread, banging on AMD over and over is not different than the fanboys who blindly defend AMD.

That's equally as bad, just on different ends of the spectrum. The point has been driven to everyone. Don't have to take opportunity once or twice every Thread page to insert a negative comment towards AMD, how you moved on to Intel and life is great now, how AMD this, how AMD that. Many people see it. We don't speak up and now when someone does, don't get triggered please. Just cut it out already. Your points were ALL VALID. Can you not see I am agreeing with you, Targon, whoever else on your camp. I am. You guys just have to ease up on the negativity towards AMD already. We get it. We do. Chill out lah.
Altho i should be tagging @xboxx because he's the one butthurt, not you.

Im already long chill thus no more personal complains for weeks already since ive already moved on. I get that my previous comments were harsh when i was still using AMD which is inevitable because i was voicing out as a user back then... But that was in the past.

Now for the past weeks, just simply telling a user to get 5800x because it is available, or telling john to check power settings because of idle voltage problem, and discussions about the good idle behavior of the monolithic renoir 4000G series are all considered AMD hate?
Bonchi
post Mar 28 2021, 01:42 AM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(raydenex @ Mar 28 2021, 01:20 AM)
When I finally posted just now its my general comment on all the past hate many pages back, that went on for quite a bit. You said it yourself, it was rather harsh. I'm happy you've found peace with your i5 10400 now on a stable that meets your standards platform. I am genuinely glad you don't face issues anymore. However I would like to just kindly remind us all, there would be no 6c12t i5 if it weren't for AMD. Nor a 8c16t i7. i9 would be HEDT segment only. As much as we MUST raise issues when AMD falters, we must also give credit where credit is due. Peace.
That's why quite recently we were talking about the renoirs which are actually very decent spec wise and probably a much better option than 3000 series as low power itx builds when nrw mentions that it doesnt have the boosting bug and much easier to cool. However it's OEM only but you know la... can ahemm those cpu from shops.
Bonchi
post Mar 28 2021, 09:36 AM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Mar 28 2021, 08:37 AM)
CPU need a mobo, it's not simply can just switch to Intel unless building a new rig. If someone buying CPU and mobo I also advice to get Intel since they now give same performance as AMD and price are not marked up.

I failed to see how I am the one that butt hurt when it's you that post hateful message about AMD buyers.
Did i tell him to buy intel? I was hinting him to go for 5800x instead of 5900x because 5900x will never drop down to his budget. Even malaysia's original msrp is out of his budget, so where is this hateful message?.

Butt hurt then butt hurt la. So butt hurt until instantly assume Im telling the forumer to go for intel and say im spreading AMD hate lmao.

QUOTE(raydenex @ Mar 28 2021, 01:58 AM)
Would love to get my hands on a Renoir as well. Hopefully we see some new retail APUs out in near future.
Renior 4650G. 6c12 with igpu and the last price i saw it was cheaper than the 3600 and it's a little faster too. Doesnt have the idle boosting issue and really curious on the ram latency since it's a monolithic die cpu.

This post has been edited by Bonchi: Mar 28 2021, 09:46 AM

22 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0424sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 01:50 AM