8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

AMD Ryzen, AM4 / AM5 Platform

targon
post Nov 6 2020, 11:47 AM

291 posts

Ample stocks at the shops. But have to bundle with mobo at least.
Get yours before the 1st batch runs out.

This post has been edited by targon: Nov 6 2020, 11:50 AM
targon
post Nov 6 2020, 01:01 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(lolzcalvin @ Nov 6 2020, 12:35 PM)
5900X hasn't hit the shelf yet?  hmm.gif
QUOTE(sakuraboo @ Nov 6 2020, 12:41 PM)
Hit and then it's gone

Like goldfries said maybe 2nd batch
QUOTE(instantsean @ Nov 6 2020, 12:51 PM)
got link ?
the product have warranty ?
Shops at LYP got ample stocks lar...
targon
post Nov 6 2020, 02:10 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(lolzcalvin @ Nov 6 2020, 01:05 PM)
ya i was looking at online only... are the physical shops in LYP selling the same msrp at 2499? want to check it out myself but don't have time to get out of work atm..
Same as MSRP. Bundle with something u need lar.
targon
post Nov 7 2020, 10:26 AM

291 posts

Those zen 3 are available at the shops since yesterday or earlier. Already got mine.
Just have to talk to them nicely, definitely u gotta buy it with something, even a mid level b550 won't b too much (that's why planning ur hardware purchase is crucial). They re not gonna sell it piece meal alone.
targon
post Nov 7 2020, 10:33 AM

291 posts

No need to dispute the 5800x , or even the 5950x. If you re happy with the purchase, that's important.
Anyway you can't go wrong with any one of them.
targon
post Nov 7 2020, 04:25 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(thankyou @ Nov 7 2020, 04:19 PM)
Just got back from LYP...

This is what I've know...

5900x only

Viewnet - stock in hand, they request bundle at least w/mobo+RAM
AllIT  - coming soon, but want full set or at least 5 items...
CZone - stock in hand but they only accept full bundle...

I didn't want to beg them to sell to me... So just say tq nicely and walk away...

Anyway, one guy told me confirm next week more stock coming....
Not that bad lar... Still stocks floating around.
Just have to nicely talk to them , bundle with something u need and that's it.
targon
post Nov 9 2020, 06:28 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(instantsean @ Nov 9 2020, 05:47 PM)
when do you think the shops in malaysia will allow me to purchase the processor by itself sad.gif
Not so soon.
targon
post Nov 20 2020, 08:35 PM

291 posts

My experience with Amd ryzen since last year is a mix bag.
Got a 3900x first, went dead barely one month of use ( it's not even oc yet). Luckily I have a spare unused 3700x to test. No issues with the 3700x and the mobo. Then got the 3950x when launched last year. Works well.
Then have high hopes on zen 3. Bought a 5950x . But it's a disappointment. It can't work stable on the aorus Xtreme with random windows Bsod due to Whea errors. No issues with the old 3950x. Went back to the shop, got the chip into another customer dark hero mobo with the same result, Bsod. So shop refunded back via credit note.
Could be a faulty chip, no one can really answer.
Cos I pose the question to giga support, they can't really give me an answer. Putting the blame on windows and driver s instead.
Been checking on other international sites as well, found out that 5000 series is a hit and miss affair. If it works with your configuration, u re ok. If it doesn't, it will be a nightmare. The current agessa and 5000 series support is crap. Wish Amd has done extensive testing on it.

According to shop technician, they're having most compatibility issues with giga boards.

Morale of the story, cutting edge tech but the hype exceeds the reality. AMD boleh.

6800 experience anyone ? Frame rates aside, overall experience is important. Drivers stability ?
Wish Amd would deliver more with it's products.
Overall customer satisfaction and experience counts and not the high frames, high benchmark scores and the marketing hype.
targon
post Nov 21 2020, 12:59 AM

291 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Nov 20 2020, 09:31 PM)
Sad to see this story. Looks to me Gigabyte copy and paste AGESA on their BIOS. I noticed all the boards have latest revision with F31h. I think Gigabyte screwed up something. Other than trying to do overclock. Stock and XMP for my RAM no issue for me.
That's why it's a hit and miss affair. if it's working for you, good. those betas are not for everyone, it solve one issue but neglect another issues. worse it did not solve my issue and other ppl worldwide with whea errors with the same mobo. Guess most ppl could already RMA / return the cpu to their retailers (oversea)

QUOTE(diehard1979 @ Nov 20 2020, 10:21 PM)
The strange thing is, so far so many reviewer, I don't think got anyone complain about the stability issue on ryzen.

This few week I check a lot of youtube, suddenly found 2 person talk about this. 1 is from someone at china that always build PC for ppl. He say although AMD can give you more processing power/more core but for system stability, Intel still better. This is base on his experiance and customer complain/feedback to him.

Then another one is from Taiwan MSI Motherboard Enginner, he say AMD startup sequence is different from Intel and they get the most problem with ram issue on ryzen 1000 series. If that ram cannot work, then it cannot work and no way to fix it. The problem happen before it reach Bios stage that why they can't fix it. They only can do thing after it pass to bios.

But so far people at here I see all ok, seldom got people complain AMD not stable.
Don't really trust the reviewers lah. They only comment on the performance.

QUOTE(nrw @ Nov 20 2020, 10:30 PM)
just dont do any ram oc for now.
you can't even blame gigabyte. at some point every board will run into issues. I have boards from every major manufacturer other than asrock here n its all the same.
so rather blame AMD for supplying such a shitty agesa to board makers.

there are boards running into stability issues with >1600fclk/3200mt/s memory. others do fine until 3800. above that no matter which board... you'll run either into whea or some other sort of random instabilities. some bad enough to corrupt your windows in minutes.

the only thing you could blame board makers for is applying silly voltages mostly on vsoc, that's about it.
Didn't even OC it. It's already Bsod at stock settings.
Don't think Amd really did any real substantial testing on the agesa. Just dump a generic agesa on the board makers for them to thinker with and to make it compatible with it's own boards.

QUOTE(llk @ Nov 20 2020, 10:32 PM)
Actually alot of ppls complain, especially in FB PC groups, there are still significant number of users prefer Intel than AMD due to stability issue. One of my friend personally have the issue with his 3700X during MCO several months ago, his PC suddenly can't boot after 2 months used, he never OC everything set as default, send the CPU & motherboard combo back to seller, after diagnosed found that the CPU was death, took about a month for AMD to replace a new one.
That's what happened to my 3900x last year. it died within a month i plug into the socket. And it's not even OC yet. Took me 2 months to get back a new cpu from Amd.

QUOTE(diehard1979 @ Nov 20 2020, 11:13 PM)
Last time someone say "his friend" work in computer shop that build pc and he told him the return rate of AMD and its mobo quite high.
That time I though some people start saying something bad to attack AMD because AMD suddenly get back so fast while intel improve so slow.
Actually I want to get AMD one but too bad no stock and also high price so I decide going intel plus I am not going to overclock and chase performance. I just hope I can get a stable system and last longer and I can do normal thing and common game plus now intel really cheaper than AMD when comparing performance/price/stability.

This can be observed from any shop's return/warranty claim unit/section. I can see that happening too from my favorite shop.
No Amd stock is your blessing.

To all still hunting for 5000 , there's a lot of 5600x around. Higher models hard to find or out of stock.
targon
post Nov 21 2020, 01:12 AM

291 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Nov 21 2020, 12:09 AM)
That's unfortunate to hear.

The issue is not uncommon though. If you check the x570 Gigabyte owners thread on OCN (for all their x570 mobos), you'll see that there are countless people complaining about BIOS stability issues all the way back since Zen+. You are right, it is indeed hit and miss but it didn't start with Zen 3, it started long time ago since Zen+.

Yeah for a lot of shit talk people like to throw at Intel in the last 3 years (they do deserve it), Intel with their ancient architecture is very mature. Most of the issues has been stamped out. AMD OTOH, well Zen is barely 3 years old and we're already in the 3rd generation.

AGESA is very complex though, much more than anything from Intel's side. I don't expect things to be completely error free even after AM4 reaches EOL.
Been to OCN forums, I know how those aorus Xtreme and countless aorus owners felt with the 5000 series not working stable in their rigs.
Most of them come from the 3000 series.
targon
post Nov 22 2020, 04:21 PM

291 posts

Another one hit with the same WHEA BSOD issue over at OCN. . This time it's on 5800x with a crosshair 8 hero. Newly built rig at stock settings.
So problem more wide spread than it seems to be, globally.

I m started to doubt the cpu silicon lottery already.

This post has been edited by targon: Nov 22 2020, 04:51 PM
targon
post Nov 22 2020, 11:31 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(nill @ Nov 22 2020, 05:16 PM)
What issue? Can share summary?
High likelyhood of random windows Bsod due to WHEA errors generated
when using 5000 series
Like my case, it's giving me Bsod even at stock (default) settings. No OC involved.
And another case above , 5800x + crosshair 8 at stock/default settings too.
It's a hit and miss affair. Either you experience it with your hardware which is unfortunate or you don't.

This post has been edited by targon: Nov 22 2020, 11:41 PM
targon
post Nov 23 2020, 02:46 PM

291 posts

It's not a surprise that 5000 series runs hot at load. You can see that on other forums as well ppl mentioning it.
They're hoping future bios update s will resolve it

This post has been edited by targon: Nov 23 2020, 02:54 PM
targon
post Nov 23 2020, 02:49 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(Current Events guy @ Nov 23 2020, 01:54 PM)
Are the 5000 series considered okay to use at this point or are there still some elements of plugging in and praying everything works out?

I've got a giga x570 board.
It's hit and miss at the moment. Discovered it the hard way.

targon
post Nov 25 2020, 10:39 AM

291 posts

QUOTE(sonyfanzz @ Nov 25 2020, 02:32 AM)
Whea bsod according to my reading in china forum is related to unstable fclk. Havent have that in my event viewer
That's why it's called Hit Or Miss Affair. Either it hits u or u don't depending on the silicon lottery and ur luck.
Some people can run it stable while other's don't using the same cpu model on the same mobo.for e.g 5950x on a aorus xtreme. It's all over on other forums.
Pretty stupid launch this Zen 3. Also, there's no new stock to replace my troublesome 5950x due to shortage. So I return the whole set to the shop.
targon
post Nov 25 2020, 03:12 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(Someonesim @ Nov 25 2020, 02:19 PM)
Havent research yet on zen 3, but you hint that ryzen not too compatible with xmp ?
I know Ryzen 1000 series have really bad memory compatibility, but thought much better at 3rd gen onward ?

I'm using A-XMP now with TridentZ Neo 3600 ( was told neo have better Ryzen compatibility ) but not stable at gaming ( random ) and video conversion @ 100% CPU load ( likely crash after 10-20 minutes )
Already told u it it's not the ram. It is individual Zen 3 silicon lottery + current crappy agesa.
If u re stable at 3200, then run at 3200 until they fix all the mess up.
You should b reading up on the stuff you re buying into ur rig.
targon
post Nov 25 2020, 03:32 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(nrw @ Nov 25 2020, 02:51 PM)
No you got that wrong. XMP itself is not the issue.

They changed the physical layout on the CCD moving the GMI down (from center on zen2) so the cores now are closer to each other (no more CCX groups).
Then they went ahead and allowed for a higher Infinity Fabric clock, with optimizations I am not aware of what they are.

Ultimately they didn't put the necessary verification and testing work into their AGESA to make sure there are no issues with these and more changes they have done to Zen3.
The result is a fundamentally flawed experience for the vast majority of chips and boards when just running your memory at higher speeds (as the Infinity Fabric (flck) and Memory Controller (uclk) will automatically will follow 1:1:1 until 3600 which for some combinations is already enough to create issues).

If you go above 3600 1:1:1 manually that's just going to get worse. I can run 4000/4133 bench stable but the voltages applied will still cause crashes in daily usage and I have ZERO motivation to invest hours/days to adjust these knowing all that is gonna change with the next AGESA, yet again.

So at the end of the day it's just AMD messing up another launch without actually having to as I don't see why they didn't have the time to deliver a smooth launch with Intel being in hibernation mode.
Precisely the point. I said earlier, GARBAGE Amd experience for Zen 3.
Don't waste time in tinkering with it just to make it stable or work. It's not our work.
We consumer's don't pay to enjoy all this shit. Returned all the items to the retail shop.
After all, Zen 3 prices comes at a premium compared to Zen 2. Msian even pay more for it locally.
Until issues resolved, won't b touching Zen 3.
Even then, the next agesa will not guarantee to address all the issues.

What I gather from other forums is that individual cpu (silicon lottery) and my personal experience with 5950x in combination with the current agesa will either make or break your Rig. So called hit or miss affair.
targon
post Nov 26 2020, 11:33 AM

291 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Nov 26 2020, 10:55 AM)
I spent significantly less time assembling PC on other cases like Cooler Master, Corsair and Fractal Design ATX cases.
those dynamic cases require lotsa fans to have acceptable airflow in them. it's just how they are designed, for displaying beautiful hardware inside.
targon
post Nov 26 2020, 11:38 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(llk @ Nov 26 2020, 09:54 PM)
So strange, yours is newer B550 board RAM compatibility by right shouldn't be any issue, furthermore it is Trident Z Neo which dedicated for Ryzen. I also bought the MSI B550 Gaming Edge wifi board used for my old 3900x, using the 2 sets 2x8GB 5-year old Corsair Dominator Platinum which optimized for Intel, i set XMP in the bios and it works like a charm.
Welcome to AMD land. Apa pun boleh. Where the same 5950X model paired with same mobo can have different results. Some can run without issues while others encountering Bsod even at stock speed (non XMP).
targon
post Nov 28 2020, 03:37 PM

291 posts

A check on Amd forums, Reddit, OCN, Msi forums & etc showed problems with ryzen 5000 started to mount up as more and more ppl switch to it. What's more they have high hopes at first then got dashed when it started to bsod.
Some adopt measures such as disabling pbo, cpb, smt and even disabling cores just to get it stable. Of course doing so totally crippled the cpu performance. Pointless.
Some have RMA or returned the cpu for refunds.
Some of these ppl are seasoned system builders n enthusiast.

And of course Amd has been very quiet on all this, and same goes on those reviewers who have been hyping it up few weeks ago. All dead quiet.

And ppl, if it does happen to you, plz don't keep quiet or waste time in tinkering with it to make it stable.
Return your new system to the shop for a refund and exercise your rights as a consumer.

Hhhmm, wondering what the big navi issues will b next?
Drivers? GAME crashes? Sync problems?

Note: It is a nightmare for most of those affected by it.

This post has been edited by targon: Nov 28 2020, 03:42 PM

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.1953sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 12:37 PM