QUOTE(PowerSlide @ Aug 1 2019, 01:45 AM)
by OC for daily usage on PBO then not so much to almost none.for one off OC to get benchmark results... with fixed clocks and voltages, you can still have fun there.
AMD Ryzen, AM4 / AM5 Platform
Aug 1 2019, 09:05 AM
1,649 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
Aug 2 2019, 03:50 PM
QUOTE(greyshadow @ Aug 2 2019, 10:38 AM) guys, can recommend me a good mobo to pair with my 3700X with a pair of 2x8 3200 RAM? how soon do you need your PC? if you can wait, just wait it out for MSI B40 with the MAX label that will support the gen3 out of the box.originally already lock on Asrock B450M steel legend, but it seems it's sold out everywhere at my local stores, so looking for an alternative good mobo. Prefer to buy it locally, online will be 2nd choice and please don't ask me to go Lowyat plaza, unless you sponsor me a flight ticket to go there the more I read, the more I confuse so please help budget around RM350 Not sure about other brands but MSI for example resorted to a bare bone bios to support the 3d gen due to insufficient bios chip storage size. If you can wait longer, rumours of B550 seems to be around the corner. Rams just go to each motherboard's website and see their supported list (QVL) and it will work fine. no need to worry.. especially 3rd gen and you dont intend to overclock it higher than the factory rated speed. So just go for what you think is the best looking on the list. |
Aug 2 2019, 04:43 PM
Aug 5 2019, 09:06 AM
Aug 6 2019, 11:40 AM
QUOTE(Ronin_Amin @ Aug 5 2019, 09:16 PM) Do you guys think they will release new CPU coolers/CPU blocks for the new ryzen because of the chiplet design? from what i see.. only those that have direct headpipe design are having some problems. Those what have a whole cooling plate is performing well as it is.. so i doubt there will be any significance unless for marketting gimmick.huhuhuhu agesa ABB is coming out but still no news from MSI This post has been edited by Bonchi: Aug 6 2019, 11:40 AM |
Aug 6 2019, 01:20 PM
QUOTE(greyshadow @ Aug 6 2019, 12:06 PM) What sorts of problem we are talking about here? because the die inside the new ryzen is not really centered so the heat may not distributed evenly between the heatpipes depending on how it is aligned. my coming 3700x comes with a Wraith Prism, which I check is using heatpipe bottom design will I have potential heat issue if I plan to do some light OC? and I might plan to use my own TIM instead of the stock TIM, but confused over how much I should use some say since it's heatpipe design, should apply more some say doesn't matter, just the usual pea size will do ![]() if it's horizontally aligned base on this picture, means one heatpipe will be hotter than the other. whereas if it's vertically aligned then it should not have much problem. As for tim, based on personal preference and experience... i find spreading a thin layer over the surface yields better and more consistent results as compared to putting a rice grain size and squash it... just wrap finger in cling wrap and spread. When it comes to direct contact heatpipes, i will spread a thin layer on the cpu first, then fill in the gaps between the heatpipes on the cooler to make the contact surface flat before attaching. However higher end coolers will come with a flat polished contact surface out of the box and you dont need to do the 2nd step at all. |
Aug 6 2019, 01:53 PM
QUOTE(greyshadow @ Aug 6 2019, 01:42 PM) thanks! well... stock coolers are like that, especially on laptops and GPUs.. guess I'll have to make sure my heatpipes is aligned properly after spread some tim between the pipes it seems the gaps is pretty wide altho if it's stock amd i dont think you can decide whether to mount it horizontally or vertically. but since IHS of the ryzens are soldered on, i guess it helps a little in distributing the thermals to the other heatpipes. |
Aug 6 2019, 02:56 PM
QUOTE(greyshadow @ Aug 6 2019, 02:11 PM) yeah, just remembered that no worries lah. zen2 have decent temps out of the box altho when it comes to overclocking, dont put so much hope in it. Just enjoy the proc as it is then you wont get much headaches haha.and there's no way of knowing the direction of the die also guess just have to cross me fingers and hope for the best |
Sep 9 2019, 01:09 AM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Sep 9 2019, 12:33 AM) agesa ABB?im still waiting for MSI to release it sigh.. altho they mentioned that part of the delay is due to ABB will disable PCIE4 on everthing that is not X570 currently using the 99% method with my B450i. My voltages will go down but it just loves to boost all the way up to boost speed on every tiny actions.. even just hitting next song on foobar. wonder if anyone else facing this as well. |
Sep 11 2019, 06:03 PM
Sep 16 2019, 09:20 AM
There seems to be many good signs on the ABBA, including matters regarding idle. hnghhh hopefully it will be available for my mobo.
Sep 23 2019, 11:37 AM
Sep 23 2019, 02:05 PM
QUOTE(vernon91 @ Sep 23 2019, 01:00 PM) i don think there is any changes on that since that is ryzen's default behavior, as long as you don have any unnecessary process running in the background that triggers it, it will not boost guess there's still no improvement that im looking forward to then...... i was lucky to have one that boost fine since 1.0.0.3A. but dang the idle is high.. even small tasks like file transfer or a music player will cause it to stay in boost clocks almost 70% of the time. The new abba bios fix on the max boost clock issue |
Sep 23 2019, 04:32 PM
QUOTE(vernon91 @ Sep 23 2019, 04:13 PM) well... for me cuz i cramped it into a 3.9L mini ITX enclosure, any temp advantage is good especially for idle because jumping up and down between 39C and 55C is a headache as i still cannot get the sweet spot for fan speed and noise. |
Sep 25 2019, 03:35 PM
QUOTE(goldfries @ Sep 23 2019, 09:57 PM) Actually every processor you use will show temperature fluctuations, don't bother with it. my problem is the spikes aka boost clocks plus high voltages tends to be at 70% of the time. It caught my attention because my fan kept spinning at max speed even from just web browsing with music player playing at the background without monitoring tools... seems like the processor is going at 60C+ with such minor tasks because that's where i set my fan to go 90%. (These slim 80mm delta high RPM fans are no joke in terms of loudness too That's how it works, and the spikes are short and non issue at all. Stop spending your time on things that you need not worry about. Having knowledge is good but without understanding then you worry about that piece of knowledge for nothing. The idle and cores going to sleep only seem to happen when i turn off everything and stare at the desktop wallpaper. I've got no choice put to set the processor max speed to 99% in power management. meaning it will never boost and that drops the temp by 10-15C but i lose out on the performance spec from the boost. This is really tough..... plus i dont think this is the right behavior for the core clock mapping. |
Sep 25 2019, 04:09 PM
QUOTE(nrw @ Sep 25 2019, 03:49 PM) if you can't manage to solve it with fancurves and do not want to 1) accept the noise or 2) change your cooler you could always clock it at a lower voltage. That would be a solution between default boost and no boost. yup 3600 luckily i didnt go for 3700x knowing the temps on the 3600. cooler is NHL9A which is the only cooler that fits in my super tiny ITX case. I guess i'll just have to live with it without boost... which cpu u got? 3600? Well it's not like as if I can feel that it's significantly slower for daily use without the boost.... Just that it's a little bit irritating that you're not utilizing its full potential. Sommore the max load is 75C only. The only problem is with web browsing temps tend to remain at 60 ish because it's boosting. Meanwhile intel would stay at 1+ Ghz only. Hopefully amd will one day fix their clock stepping based on CPU utilization a little better |
Sep 25 2019, 04:35 PM
QUOTE(nrw @ Sep 25 2019, 04:17 PM) how about using ryzen master then? Yeah im using ryzen master to see the status because the fans will tell me the temps by the sound haha. My noctua is already spinning at a 80-100% curve because it is pretty silent.... especially beside the two 80mm slim delta super high RPM fans which is unfortunately tagged to the CPU temp as well... Try 1.20V with 4000MHz. Maybe that will drop temperatures in a region that benefits your situation. Still better than being stuck at 3.6, Alternatively you could just set your noctua to spin at a fixed rpm which is acceptable to you? i want the delta fans to spin up when there's a higher cpu load during gaming session to also help with exhausting the GPU heat as well. Sounds like a nice plan.... but the boosting during idle keep triggering those delta fans welp.. i will just wait for the abba if it ever comes out for my MSI B450 ITX which is said to solve this. Else i will try your method and if it still fails. i Will just install a fan knob to adjust the fan speed manually like back in the days This post has been edited by Bonchi: Sep 25 2019, 05:29 PM |
Sep 26 2019, 05:50 PM
QUOTE(chrischiang @ Sep 26 2019, 02:43 PM) Need some help here.. That's a sign that the OC is not stable. 3700x x470 gaming pro carbon @ 7B78v2B1 Trident Z Neo 16Gb kit 3600Mhz C18 windows 10 1809 When i enabled XMP profile or manually set to 3600Mhz in bios, i always get reboot on windows welcome screen, out of 10 times i could enter windows 1-2 times but will still get reboot after maybe 1 minute. My pc boot normally if i set it to 3200Mhz or 3466Mhz. Currently i let it run at 3466Mhz. Does anyone have any idea why this is happening? XMP is just a profile. it is not guaranteed to work... perhaps bump some voltage to force it to be stable. |
Sep 27 2019, 09:36 AM
QUOTE(nrw @ Sep 27 2019, 08:47 AM) if system crashes at welcome screen due to ram that's not easily fixed by adding a little voltage, this will delay things at best. Pretty sure it can. Just need to run memtest to make sure it's stable. Afterall just like XMP, this is called overclocking. So once memtest has no issues, he can be quite assured it wont crash in windows anymore. Altho it is not guaranteed so let's say even at 1.5V and it still fails memtest then it's time to loosen some timings or give up altogether. But his ram is xmp 3600 so the cherry picked chips has been tested to work at such speeds just not stable with ryzen (old stock perhaps) so i believe there is a very high chance it will work by bumping up the voltage by 0.01 to 0.03v. edit: just saw that it's a relatively new kit. But gotta take the "ryzen ready" sticker with a slightly less optimistic approach because afterall, XMP is still an overclock and it's never bound to be 100% stable. Not to mention 3600mhz rams are technically overclocking the ryzen's IF as well so perhaps he need to manually adjust those ratios instead of leaving it at auto haha. This post has been edited by Bonchi: Sep 27 2019, 09:49 AM |
Sep 27 2019, 11:01 AM
QUOTE(nrw @ Sep 27 2019, 09:57 AM) users simply relying on xmp don't usually do much stability testing n fiddling, they expect things to work out of the box Ahhh that explains why. Welp, Altho going beyond 3600Mhz usually require some minor tweaking already.. can pretty much expect the same from other manufacturers too, afterall the officially supported speed is 3200Mhz... and by doing XMP 3600mhz some setting goes bonkers especially on the IF. n not every die (and for c18 3600 its pretty much hynix c) does scale as well with voltage. this one for example if something it 'stable' on 3466 but crashes on system boot at 3600 chances are more tweaking is required due to wrongly set values, poor work on msi's side, .... do note that he is on a beta bios based on abb. edit: IF is why I mentioned vddg yeah.. hynix C ...especially once you whack 1.4+, up to 1.5 |
| Change to: | 0.0257sec
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 10:56 PM |