11 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 >Bottom

AMD Ryzen, AM4 / AM5 Platform

edmund_yung
post Dec 10 2020, 12:31 AM

1,198 posts

QUOTE(yimingwuzere @ Dec 9 2020, 10:57 PM)
Nothing from the B550 lineup comes close my old Z77-I Deluxe though.
I'm also spoilt by that the amount of USB port on that board. Why did I even sell it doh.gif
edmund_yung
post Dec 14 2020, 11:27 PM

1,198 posts

QUOTE(sentlon @ Dec 14 2020, 05:43 PM)

5600x retail heatsink.
almost fries.
look like amd have horrible temp issues
lol that's so hot as if the motherboard is running Performance Enhancement Level 4...
edmund_yung
post Dec 19 2020, 08:43 AM

1,198 posts

Don't really know what you guys are talking about until I watch this video here

edmund_yung
post Dec 21 2020, 09:01 AM

1,198 posts

QUOTE(zhenfeng91 @ Dec 19 2020, 02:16 PM)
already got b450 board , dun wanna spend extra $$
Update us how it turns out. I’m toying with the idea of 5600X + B450 too, but can’t get the CPU to try.
edmund_yung
post Dec 25 2020, 08:13 PM

1,198 posts

They're ****ing greedy for listing that kind of pricing.
edmund_yung
post Dec 26 2020, 11:11 AM

1,198 posts

Toyed with the idea getting a i7-10700k instead of waiting for 5600X but all of the Z490 ITX motherboard has clearance issue with my top down air cooler due to the massive block at the IO panel. Nay, not going to change my air cooler, so I'll continue waiting...

Or maybe Asrock Z390 ITX + 9900k
edmund_yung
post Dec 26 2020, 02:23 PM

1,198 posts

Arguably if someone is using choosing a CPU for multi-core rendering, Ryzen will be considerably cooler. The 5800X neck to neck with i9-10900k at stock but uses ~70W less energy.

As for my use case, for just gaming, I think the 5600X is neck to neck with a overclocked i5-10600k to 5GHz and there's probably only a ~20W disadvantage with Intel.

QUOTE(sai86 @ Dec 26 2020, 02:20 PM)
WTF is that price. just get from TAOBAO better than.  doh.gif
Is it easy and reliable to get from there? I saw someone selling Taobao 5600X, make me also wanted to attempt obtaining one from there.

This post has been edited by edmund_yung: Dec 26 2020, 02:25 PM
edmund_yung
post Dec 27 2020, 10:52 AM

1,198 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Dec 27 2020, 10:28 AM)
AMD is good that it doesn't cap user from overclocking and tinkering on a lot of things. But that also open up to more bsod, crash, etc due to improper overclock/settings. Bet most of the cases is because of this.
Yeah, can't believe Intel even limit their B460 chipset to DDR4-2666.
edmund_yung
post Jan 8 2021, 12:12 AM

1,198 posts

QUOTE(Lagoo00 @ Jan 7 2021, 06:55 PM)
Hi guys , i recently upgrade to 5600x from 2600 , just wonder if i ever need to upgrade my ram too, currently runnin g.skill trident z 3200mhz cl16 at xmp
mainly focus gaming on 1440p with 3080 , so i guess the margin of fps increase is less than 10%?(10-15fps) if upgrade to 3600 cl14  confused.gif
I think the IPC for 5600X is already really good, won't be a bottleneck for any GPU unless you are aiming for >250fps with 3090...
Anyway I also recommend just overclocking and tightening timing, rather than spending rm1k+ on 3600 CL14.
I managed to run my Ballistix at 3200 14-17-14-32-50 from XMP 3200 16-18-18-36-72.
edmund_yung
post Jan 14 2021, 12:24 PM

1,198 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Jan 14 2021, 08:33 AM)
Normal for restricted airflow case.
My friend also have a Nexus M, can use more fan on exhaust to improve the airflow inside? He's on Ryzen 1600 + 1060.
edmund_yung
post Jan 21 2021, 02:43 PM

1,198 posts

QUOTE(iZuDeeN @ Jan 20 2021, 12:07 PM)
I can't even do -5 sigghhh
Could it be your chip already use low voltage at stock, and perform the same as others who are doing -25?
edmund_yung
post Jan 26 2021, 06:41 PM

1,198 posts

QUOTE(yimingwuzere @ Jan 25 2021, 07:24 PM)
Intel better not screw this one up again with value Core i5s.
Oh yeah, looking forward for a hassle free ITX build with new i5 or i7 non-K with those new B-series motherboard which hopefully doesn't have huge heatsink near the IO shield so my cooler can fit. Nay, not going to switch cooler.

Since this is AMD thread... 5600X stock is still a joke.
edmund_yung
post Feb 21 2021, 08:47 AM

1,198 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Feb 20 2021, 10:05 PM)
AMD is finally acknowledging the USB drop out issues on x570/b550 - https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comments/lnmet...ith_500_series/

Better late than never I guess.
I guess it's a good thing that I'm still using slower X470 motherboard.
edmund_yung
post Feb 28 2021, 09:58 AM

1,198 posts

QUOTE(Jedi @ Feb 27 2021, 08:56 PM)
Still talking about stability after 2 weeks nv enter here. Lol
I enjoyed reading these post pushing their system to the edge, otherwise it'll be quite boring. So keep them coming in please.

There's nothing much to talk about on a stable system, just use it for work and play that's it. A 3600 + B450 + 3200 CL16 will be very stable but it's so boring haha.
edmund_yung
post Mar 3 2021, 11:58 AM

1,198 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Mar 3 2021, 10:34 AM)
but an itx with a heatsink slightly bigger then a thumb is not a good news laugh.gif
Waiting for the day mobo maker design their cooling by taking advantage of the flowing air from top down cooler such as Noctua NH-C14S, Thermalright AXP90, because there is a niche market like you who uses sandwich case, but doesn't use AIO.
edmund_yung
post Mar 3 2021, 12:44 PM

1,198 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Mar 3 2021, 12:32 PM)
At the moment, most ITX board take advantage of it already as they carve fins on the side of the heatsoakers which are facing the cpu.
Most of the B550 and Z490 ITX board has their own active cooling... really hate that huge block at the IO.
edmund_yung
post Mar 4 2021, 04:51 PM

1,198 posts

QUOTE(John Chaser @ Mar 4 2021, 03:48 PM)
SAM support for 3000 series

I'm going "hmmm..." on x570 aorus master and Ryzen 3950x.
Then the last gen X470/B450 board are quite amazing, can support Zen 1 1600 to Zen 3 5950X, Resizable-bar for Ryzen 3000 and 5000.

In theory...
edmund_yung
post Mar 5 2021, 10:03 AM

1,198 posts

QUOTE(cawan @ Mar 4 2021, 11:35 PM)
Asking, was mobo b550 overkill for low-mid gaming setup?

Or enough with b450? How about Long term or future proof for this board?
Then there's the limit of using more than one PCIE SSD. Look into the restriction of the specific board and decide if you need more PCIE storage in the very near future.
edmund_yung
post Mar 13 2021, 10:23 AM

1,198 posts

QUOTE(Ebony & Ivory @ Mar 13 2021, 01:19 AM)
After reading all these posts about the idle voltage,  just checked my 3700x with ryzen master, it is around 0.2 - 0.5v during idle. hmm.gif

[attachmentid=10809572]
watch yours while seeing my 2700X idle at 1.4v LOL I gave up long ago trying to get Intel level sort of low power idle with this chip.
edmund_yung
post Mar 13 2021, 02:53 PM

1,198 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Mar 13 2021, 01:20 PM)
Altho they are the kind who dont give a damn eventho their cpu is idling at 60C... as long as their pc works then it's fine.
That's me. A simple scrolling of forum thread will spike the CPU temp to 55C, and the temp fluctuate 45-57C without doing anything. That's also because I let the 120mm fan spin at 800rpm below 60C. As long as I can use it and don't need to clean the filter that often, I don't care about idle temp anymore.

11 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 >Top

0.2162sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 08:50 AM