48 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Bottom

Blotter Spot Test Oil Analysis:VOA Helix HX7 5W30, 16,286 km blotter Shell Helix Ultra 5W40

e-lite
post Oct 23 2021, 08:35 PM

692 posts

QUOTE(speedy3210 @ Oct 23 2021, 05:34 PM)
Bro Zeng...... this is SHU 5w-40 API SN from Giant.

Done 12.6k kms. Used on Elantra 2.0 NA (G4GC). Pic shows 48hrs blot, sample taken hot.

Last service 05 Jan 2021, drained out 16 Oct 2021. Took 10mth to reach  12.6k km due to MCO. Piled up around 6-7k km during the 1st 3mth coz still can travel. MCO came in Mar 2021 and all were down to short distance drives to buy groceries. Then travel resumed from end-Aug till drain out date.

Appreciate your analysis.

Wow. You must really take care of your car well. There are so many goods here and your piston rings are still doing well

TSzeng
post Oct 24 2021, 09:05 AM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(speedy3210 @ Oct 23 2021, 05:34 PM)
Bro Zeng...... this is SHU 5w-40 API SN from Giant.

Done 12.6k kms. Used on Elantra 2.0 NA (G4GC). Pic shows 48hrs blot, sample taken hot.

Last service 05 Jan 2021, drained out 16 Oct 2021. Took 10mth to reach  12.6k km due to MCO. Piled up around 6-7k km during the 1st 3mth coz still can travel. MCO came in Mar 2021 and all were down to short distance drives to buy groceries. Then travel resumed from end-Aug till drain out date.

Appreciate your analysis.

Hi Bro,

As suggested by e-lite above, this Elantra 2.0L NA seems to be very well taken care of with a superb 12.6k kms clean blotter spot.

There is absence of greyed centre zone which is light coloured and transparent indicating very low levels of large-sized dirts or high density/heavy metal wear dirts at 12.6k kms usage.

There is also absence of emergent darkened aureole zone/perimeter in normal blotter, although the second picture with lighted background light has 'exposed' the hidden and emerging aureole zone/perimeter ring which is lightly darkened. This indicates agglomeration of combustion byproducts is very mild and light at 12.6k kms usage .

The Diffusion zone is light coloured and transparent indicating presence of very low levels of fine-sized contaminants and dirts indicating superb residual detergency and dispersancy oil properties.

The jagged zigzag edge at the outermost zone has emerged in shape but they are not really darkened , yet (unlike my 12k km blotters in general) indicating very low levels of oil oxidation and/or moisture content which I consider as harmless.
Besides it may indicate your engine may be quite free of varnish. No, I'm not refering to sludge.

Whilst it is hard to identify translucent halo outside the outermost zone, the second blotter with backlight has 'exposed' beyond doubt its presence, indicating presence of 'undesirable' fuel dilution phenomenon but remains harmless for now imo.

Overall, I believe this 12.6k SHU 5W40 is still in good working condition and is fit for continuing use for thousands of kms to come, more so in this well maintained Elantra 2.0L NA.

Just my 2 sen.

Edit: The undarkened emergent jagged zigzag edge at the outermost zone may indicate very preliminary and light levels of oil oxidation phenomenon meaning its residual anti-oxidant property is superb and intact imho.

This post has been edited by zeng: Oct 24 2021, 11:18 AM
speedy3210
post Oct 24 2021, 01:15 PM

518 posts

QUOTE(zeng @ Oct 24 2021, 09:05 AM)
Hi Bro,

As suggested by e-lite above, this Elantra 2.0L NA seems to be very well taken care of with a superb 12.6k kms clean blotter spot.

There is absence of greyed centre zone which is light coloured and transparent indicating very low levels of large-sized dirts or high density/heavy metal wear dirts at 12.6k kms usage.

There is also absence of emergent darkened aureole zone/perimeter in normal blotter, although the second picture with lighted background light has 'exposed' the hidden and emerging aureole zone/perimeter ring which is lightly darkened. This indicates agglomeration of combustion byproducts is very mild and light at 12.6k kms usage .

The Diffusion zone is light coloured and transparent indicating presence of  very low levels of fine-sized contaminants and dirts indicating  superb residual detergency and dispersancy oil properties.

The jagged zigzag edge at the outermost zone has emerged in shape but they are not really darkened , yet (unlike my 12k km blotters in general) indicating very low levels of oil oxidation and/or moisture content which I consider as harmless.
Besides it may indicate your engine may be quite free of varnish. No, I'm not refering to sludge.

Whilst it is hard to identify translucent halo outside the outermost zone, the second blotter with backlight has 'exposed'  beyond doubt its presence, indicating presence of 'undesirable' fuel dilution phenomenon but remains harmless for now imo.

Overall, I believe this 12.6k SHU 5W40 is still in good working condition and is fit for continuing use for thousands of kms to come, more so in this well maintained Elantra 2.0L NA.

Just my 2 sen.

Edit: The undarkened emergent jagged zigzag edge at the outermost zone may indicate very preliminary and light levels of oil oxidation phenomenon meaning its residual anti-oxidant property is superb and intact imho.
Thanks Zeng for the analysis. Can't continue to use that oil anymore coz already drained it out laugh.gif Sample was taken right after a 350km outstation drive.

I think this should clear doubts over the authenticity of SHU stocks sold/selling in Giant hypermarts. Which will also mean more people will compete to buy and less chance for us to get. laugh.gif
Thrust
post Nov 11 2021, 05:04 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(zeng @ Aug 31 2021, 10:52 AM)
Yes, it used to be very very difficult to find.
Give me sometime please, I will come back to you.
Hi Zeng. I think I've found the minimum spec for MB229.5 oil.

Daimler MB229.5
MB229.5 oils are Upper Mainline high SAPS¹ lubricants designed for use in high performance gasoline and light duty diesel engines without advanced aftertreatment systems such as Diesel Particulate Filters (DPFs).

MB229.5 oils are typically SAE 5W-40, 5W-30 or 0W-30 based on API Group III or a mix of API Group III and Group IV base oils.

The main physical and chemical requirements for MB229.5 are shown below:

Requirement Method Unit Limit
HTHS viscosity at 150°C CEC L-36-A-90 cP ≥ 3.5
Sulphated Ash ASTM D874 %wt > 1.0 and ≤ 1.6
Phosphorus ASTM D5185 %wt ≥ 0.05 and ≤ 0.11
Sulfur ASTM D5185 %wt ≤ 0.5
Evaporation loss (NOACK) at 250°C CEC L-40-93 % ≤ 10
Total Base Number ASTM D2896 mgKOH/g ≥ 10.0
Note 1: SAPS refers to Sulphated Ash, Phosphorus and Sulfur, the levels of which are often restricted in the latest performance specifications.

MB229.5 is usually coupled with a range of different combinations of other approvals depending on the viscosity grade of the lubricant. The most frequently seen approvals claimed in conjunction with MB229.5 being ACEA A3/B4, BMW Longlife-01, Volkswagen 50200/50500, Renault RN0710, Renault RN0700, Peugeot B71 2296 (5W-40 only) and Porsche A40 (5W-40 only).

For more information on Daimler MB229.5, contact your Lubrizol representative.

https://360.lubrizol.com/Specifications/Dai...ler-MB229,-d-,5
clockpulses
post Nov 14 2021, 04:11 PM

386 posts

Hi bro. Im back after 5 months plus from last spot blotter analysis. So this is spot blotter 10.5 months after my last service using Syntium 3000 5w30 fully synthetic. 136000km total mileage. Which means 6000km after last service and 3000km after your last analysis. Appreciate if you can do your amazing analysis. Thanks bro. Edit: this spot blotter was taken after a 270km non stop 4 hours trips a week ago. Got no time to write to you until today

With little light at the background:

This post has been edited by clockpulses: Nov 14 2021, 04:20 PM
TSzeng
post Nov 17 2021, 11:55 AM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(clockpulses @ Nov 14 2021, 04:11 PM)

Hi bro. Im back after 5 months plus from last spot blotter analysis. So this is spot blotter 10.5 months after my last service using Syntium 3000 5w30 fully synthetic. 136000km total mileage. Which means 6000km after last service and 3000km after your last analysis. Appreciate if you can do your amazing analysis. Thanks bro. Edit: this spot blotter was taken after a 270km non stop 4 hours trips a week ago.  Got no time to write to you until today

With  little light at the background:

Hi Bro, sorry for the slow reply and thousand apologies.

This is a superb 6000 km blotter spot with total absence of 'structures' demarcating the various zones of this 10.5 month used oil which is a good news.

The Centre Zone is generally clean, light coloured , transparent and not greyed or (slightly) darkened indicating very low levels or absence of heavy or large size insolubles/combustion contaminants within the sample.

There is also obvious absence of greyed/ slightly darkened aureole zone/perimeter ring indicating absence of agglomeration of insolubles/dirts probably due to very low levels of contaminants within the 10.5 month used oil sample.

Diffusion Zone is generally very clean, light coloured and transparent indicating very low levels of fine-size or light-weight contaminats/insolubles.

The above observations would likely give you a UOA (if you care to pay for one) of very very low ppm levels of metal wear element counts and insolubles content.

Darkened jagged zig-zag external edge is absent from the blotter indicating very very negligible oxidation level of this used oil or absence of moisture content.

At the outermost zone in the blotter sample with back-light 'exposes' the presence translucent halo indicating fuel dilution phenomenon. This fuel dilution phenomenon is sort of 'undetectable' from blotter spot test without back-light.

Hence, a blotter spot test does have its limitations or inadequacies just like any other methodologies of used oil analysis, among others.

Overall, I would consider this 10.5 months old/6000 km blotter spot as clean and good to go on for further use.

Besides, the used oil sample/engine mechanical condition combo is in top shape although I'm actually a little bit surprise to having seen/found fuel dilution phenomenon in this blotter immediately after a 270 km/4 hour drive.

Not sure whether a fuel dilution phenomenon in this Campro engine could be improved upon with engine (ECU) 'tuning' and/or application of injector nozzle cleaning fuel additives leading to improved fuel economy?

This post has been edited by zeng: Nov 17 2021, 12:07 PM
clockpulses
post Nov 17 2021, 01:58 PM

386 posts

QUOTE(zeng @ Nov 17 2021, 11:55 AM)
Thanks bro for your detail analysis. I am actually surprised about the engine oil conditiion. Is this also means my 136k km engine is in top shape? I kinda tortured this car in this 6+ years.

Btw i have changed the oil to Proton 5w30 fully because of the fuel dillution marks worrying me. And like i mentioned before, this car been in idle for hours. Could it be because of that? Do you know the symptoms of dirty fuel injector? And any recommendation for fuel additives for Campro again?
TSzeng
post Nov 17 2021, 09:24 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(clockpulses @ Nov 17 2021, 01:58 PM)
Thanks bro for your detail analysis. I am actually surprised about the engine oil conditiion. Is this also means my 136k km engine is in top shape? I kinda tortured this car in this 6+ years.

Btw i have changed the oil to Proton 5w30 fully because of the fuel dillution marks worrying me. And like i mentioned before, this car been in idle for hours. Could it be because of that? Do you know the symptoms of dirty fuel injector? And any recommendation for fuel additives for Campro again?
Sorry, I am not aware this car has been subjected to 'long' idling hours which would definitely contribute to fuel dilution problem.

Having said that, presence of a typical level of fuel in engine oils would have been 'evaporated off' during a long 270 km/ 4 hour drive, if you know what I mean.

In this context, the idling hours and your driving style may have promoted excessively high level of fuel dilution to begin with well before this long 270 km/ 4 hour travel? If so, you should probably 'control' the idling hour duration of this engine to mitigate this fuel dilution phenomenon.

Hence your injectors cleanliness may be ok and free... rendering the use of socalled fuel injector additives treatment unnecessary imho.

Meanwhile for similar controlled price of RON 95/97 across all fuel/oil companies in this highly interventionist economy of ours, you may want to consider switching to BHP petrol fuel for its claimed (which I believe so) higher fuel additive content of 800 ppm (of German Technology origin) compared to other brands of like 400-600 ppm (???) without expending money on dedicated addtive treatments.

Yes, your blotters suggest the mechanical condition of this Campro engine is in top shape if I may speculate.

This post has been edited by zeng: Nov 17 2021, 09:32 PM
TSzeng
post Nov 24 2021, 02:41 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(zeng @ Aug 19 2021, 09:43 AM)
Mobil 1 New Life 0W40 (Tesco) MB229.5
Oil Life : 11,080 km
8 months oil life .
ODO :325,093 km in
Car model: 2007 Toyota Avanza 1.3L
Engine: K3VE Multi Port Injection
Make up oil added : Nil, but dipstick level drops a little bit.
Added some 100 mL of graphited engine oil in Elf Molygraphite 15W50 at ODO 323k km 2 months ago.

48 hour blotters,

[attachmentid=10952286]
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=Atta...ost&id=10952286
[attachmentid=10952287]
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=Atta...ost&id=10952287

With additional 2300 ish km travelled, previous evaluation on 2 months ago more or less Still applies in current blotter spot test.

Centre zone is transparent not darkened, absence of darkened aureole zone/perimeter, diffusion zone is transparent, some moisture signs and very very light fuel dilution halo, as like before.

No indication of commencement of agglomeration of dirt particles.

Detergency and Dispersancy properties are still performing as it should.

Imho, this 11,080 km used oil is still fit for continuing service and hence, keep going ..............
Mobil 1 New Life 0W40 (Tesco) MB229.5
Oil Life : 15,229 km
11+ months oil life thus far .
ODO :329,242 km in
Car model: Toyota Avanza 1.3L
Engine: K3VE Multi Port Injection
Added some 100 mL of graphited engine oil in Elf Molygraphite 15W50 .
Make up oil added : Nil
Oil level seems to drop by about 300 mL.

96 hour blotters ,

Comments to follow, folks .....

Update:
There is absence of very darkened and opaque centre zone of 8-10 mm.

However the centre zone is not light coloured and truly transparent indicating quite a high levels of heavy high-density insolubels and contaminants in this 15,229 km blotter spot.

It is a saving grace that there is absence of darkened aureole zone/perimeter ring indicating absence of undesirable agglomeration/glue'ing of insolubes/contaminants. This means there isn't signs of dirty deposits getting stucked/glue'ed onto contacting internal metal surfaces.

The dispersion zone is generally darkened with rather extensive amounts/quantities of light density insoluble/combustion contaminants.

The darkened jagged external edge indicates quite a high level of oil oxidation/water moisture in this 15,229 km blotter.

There appears to be a possible translucent halo at the outermost zone indicating a certain fuel dilution phenomenon though it is not obvious. With back light, a translucent halo would be much more obvious.

Overall this rather darkened blotter spot doesn't look pleasant and raises the need to caution.

I wouldn't consider running this used oil beyond say, 17000 km and it is time to schedule next oil change at a convenient time.

This post has been edited by zeng: Dec 9 2021, 11:44 AM
shimiky
post Dec 9 2021, 01:18 AM

Greetings Bro Zeng

I've been reading for some time regarding your analysis and i find it very interesting.
I was hoping that you can help to analyse my car's blotter spot test too.

My car is toyota vios NCP93 year 2008, current car mileage is 241k.
done top overhaul recently in may 2020 due to excessive engine oil consumption.
currently for the blotter , im using Aisin FS Pao Ester 5W-40 , age of oil is 3 months, done 12k KM

your comment is highly appreciated.
Thank you
TSzeng
post Dec 9 2021, 12:44 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(shimiky @ Dec 9 2021, 01:18 AM)
Greetings Bro Zeng

I've been reading for some time regarding your analysis and i find it very interesting.

currently for the blotter , im using Aisin FS Pao Ester 5W-40 , age of oil is 3 months, done 12k KM

Thank you
Hi Bro,

There is a very light-coloured and transparent centre zone in this 12k kms Aisin FS Pao Ester 5W40 blotter spot indicating there is very minimal or absence of high-density heavy metallic insolubles or contaminants in the used oil.

There is no sign of imminent darkened aureole zone/perimeter ring indicating absence of agglomeration of combustion dirts and contaminants.

The diffusion zone is clean, light coloured and transparent indicating very low levels of light-density contaminants or soots despite its rather high mileage.

At the outermost edge unlike most other >10k kms blotter spots, this 12k kms blotter doesn't exhibit any darkened jagged zig-zag external edge, even slightly, indicating very low levels or absence of moisture content and/or oil oxidation phenomenon reflecting top class anti-oxidation/detergency/dispersancy capabilities of this used oil sample.

Translucent halo at the outermost zone is absent, indicating absence of fuel dilution phenomenon.

This 12k kms blotter is comparable in performance against the other 12k kms blotter spot, also of an Aisin Pao Ester which together fares so much more better than most if not all blotter spots as found in Post #1 of this thread.

Overall, imho this 12k used oil still has plenty of life to go on.............

Bro, do note that this Aisin Pao Ester oil is a mid-SaPS (Sulphated ash Phosphorous Sulphur) oil formulation which I consider as generally superior and better than a typical high SaPS oils as commonly found in the market.

Just my 2 sen. notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by zeng: Dec 9 2021, 12:48 PM
abubin
post Dec 10 2021, 03:06 PM

10,429 posts

QUOTE(shimiky @ Dec 9 2021, 01:18 AM)
Greetings Bro Zeng

Thank you
Since you already overhaul the engine, you should use 5w30 oil instead of 5w40. I mean, unless you have tested and found higher viscos oil is better. Else 5w30 will make the engine run smoother and less prone to sludge.
shimiky
post Dec 11 2021, 02:06 AM

QUOTE(zeng @ Dec 9 2021, 12:44 PM)
Hi Bro,

There is a very light-coloured and transparent centre zone in this 12k kms Aisin FS Pao Ester 5W40 blotter spot indicating there is very minimal or absence of high-density heavy metallic insolubles or contaminants in the used oil.

There is no sign of imminent darkened aureole zone/perimeter ring indicating absence of agglomeration of combustion dirts and contaminants.

The diffusion zone is clean, light coloured and transparent indicating very low levels of light-density contaminants or soots despite its rather high mileage.

At the outermost edge unlike most other >10k kms blotter spots, this 12k kms blotter doesn't exhibit any darkened jagged zig-zag external edge, even slightly, indicating very low levels or absence of moisture content and/or oil oxidation phenomenon reflecting top class anti-oxidation/detergency/dispersancy capabilities of this used oil sample.

Translucent halo at the outermost zone is absent, indicating absence of fuel dilution phenomenon.

This 12k kms blotter is comparable in performance against the other 12k kms blotter spot, also of an Aisin Pao Ester which together fares so much more better than most if not all blotter spots as found in Post #1 of this thread.

Overall, imho this 12k used oil still has plenty of life to go on.............

Bro, do note that this Aisin Pao Ester oil is a mid-SaPS (Sulphated ash Phosphorous Sulphur) oil formulation  which I  consider as generally superior and better than a typical high SaPS oils as commonly found in the market.

Thanks for the detailed analysis
much appreciated

thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

I'm using 5W40 all these while because of small leaks in the engine, causing it to "makan" engine oil, as expected in 1NZ-FE engine after 150k

http://mywikimotors.com/toyota-1nz/

However, since the leak is minimal now after overhaul, Will consider 5W30 for next oil change
thanks for the advice too abubin
Gin87 P
post Dec 21 2021, 02:37 PM

Probation
28 posts

QUOTE(Gin87 @ Apr 28 2021, 08:02 PM)
bro zeng

Hilux Revo 2.4G Auto 2019
Fuel: Diesel Euro 5
Odo: 30,606km
Oil: Helix Protect 0W-30 API SN Plus, ACEA A3/B4
Oil age: 4,810km

Driving condition: 50% tarmac 50% off-road, mostly continuous 6-8 hours journey
Off-road condition: Hilly, muddy, dusty, occasional water crossing (depends on weather)

The oil sample was taken hot right after 6 hours journey, 2 hours tarmac 4 hours off-road

[attachmentid=10862983]
[attachmentid=10862984]
[attachmentid=10862985]
[attachmentid=10862986]
[attachmentid=10862987]
[attachmentid=10862988]
Hi bro zeng, 10k km update

Odo: 35,877km
Oil age: 10,081km

Engine still feel & sound smooth as before, fuel economy still the same.

20 minutes

24 hours

48 hours

72 hours
Gin87 P
post Dec 21 2021, 02:48 PM

Probation
28 posts

QUOTE(Gin87 @ Dec 21 2021, 02:37 PM)

20 minutes

24 hours

48 hours

72 hours
The oil condition

Is it advisable to continue service bro?
TSzeng
post Dec 22 2021, 07:27 AM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(Gin87 @ Dec 21 2021, 02:37 PM)

20 minutes

24 hours

48 hours

72 hours
Hi Bro,

From your earlier post in April this year, the oil in use is a Shell Helix Protect 0W30 SN+ A3B4

There is absence of darkened or grayed centre zone indicating very low levels of high-density or heavy contaminants like metalic wear.

Aureole zone/perimeter ring is not about to darken/gray yet and there isn't any agglomeration of contaminants/soot of concern which is good news.

Detergency and Dispersancy properties of this used oil seems to be in top shape.

Diffusion zone is very bright 'white' and transparent indicating this 10,081 km diesel blotter has very low levels of light-density carbon soots and combustion contaminants.

There is absence of darkened jagged zig-zag external edge indicating no severe phenomena of water moisture and oil oxidation.

Translucent halo at outermost zone is absent indicating absence of fuel dilution problem in this diesel DI engine.

The blotter indicates a very clean engine internal conditions which is normal in a 36k kms Odo engine.

Overall, I'm of the opinion this Shell Helx Protect 0W30 SN+ A3B4 used oil sample at 10,081 km is holding up very well and it still has plenty of residual life left for further use and continuing service, if you're comfortable with it and mindful of 'loss' of warranty rights probably (Pl clarify with conservative SC).

Note:
50% tarmac and 50% off-road usage is considered as severe according to 'passenger' car manufacturers. However a Hilux is designed/meant for such use.
At 10k kms usage, this blotter spot test indicates no issue.

This post has been edited by zeng: Dec 22 2021, 07:43 AM
Gin87 P
post Dec 23 2021, 09:49 PM

Probation
28 posts

🙏 thanks bro zeng. I've been servicing the car myself since after 2nd service at toyota, so warranty is out of the picture, hahah. It seems that the oil look 'cleaner' at 10k km compare to 5k km, I guess the oil 'cleaned-off' the residue from previous different spec'd oil.
90Boyz
post Dec 27 2021, 12:47 PM

UTMB !!
3,730 posts

Honda City GM2 year 2009
Current Odo : 152,896KM
Date: 24/12/2021
Blotter time : 8:00am (picture after 72hrs)
oil age : 5,873km
Engine oil used : Shell Helix HX8 X Fully Synthetic 5W30 SN

This post has been edited by 90Boyz: Dec 27 2021, 12:51 PM
TSzeng
post Dec 28 2021, 12:32 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(90Boyz @ Dec 27 2021, 12:47 PM)
Honda City GM2 year 2009
Current Odo : 152,896KM
Date: 24/12/2021
Blotter time : 8:00am (picture after 72hrs)
oil age : 5,873km
Engine oil used : Shell Helix HX8 X Fully Synthetic 5W30 SN
Hi Bro,
Thanks for the upload.

The Centre Zone (of about 8-10 mm diameter on physical sample) is clean, light coloured and transparent indicating minimal or absence of high-density and heavier dirt/contaminants, in particular metallic wear particles.

No sign of emerging darkened aureole zone/ perimeter ring indicating minimal or absence of commencement of agglomeration of insolubles/contaminants.

The diffusion zone is clean, light coloured and transparent representing minimal or absence of light-density contaminants/dirt and soots etc.

There is absence of jagged zig-zag annulus at the outermost edge indicating absence of or insignificant oil oxidation and/or moisture content phenomena within this 5873 km blotter spot indicating anti-oxidation property of HX8 X is still intact.

Absence of translucent halo at the outermost zone seems to indicate absence of fuel dilution problem in this 2009 City.

As always, no indication of coolant contamination within oil sample.

Imho, this HX8 X at 5873 km usage is still in top shape with plenty of residual oil life to extend for further use.

Don't play play with the superb performance of this 'super' high spec'ed HX8 X 5W30 often available at low and cheap price of RM100'ish from supermarkets like Giant from time to time.

Just my 2 sen.

Edit: I'm assuming HX8 X 5W30 from Shell Malaysia and HX8 (without X) 5W30 are both having one and the same oil formulations. CMIIMW.

This post has been edited by zeng: Dec 28 2021, 01:45 PM
90Boyz
post Dec 28 2021, 02:08 PM

UTMB !!
3,730 posts

QUOTE(zeng @ Dec 28 2021, 12:32 PM)
Hi Bro,
Thanks for the upload.

The Centre Zone (of about 8-10 mm diameter on physical sample) is clean, light coloured and transparent indicating minimal or absence of high-density and heavier dirt/contaminants, in particular metallic wear particles.

No sign of emerging darkened aureole zone/ perimeter ring indicating minimal or absence of commencement of agglomeration of insolubles/contaminants.

The diffusion zone is clean, light  coloured and transparent representing minimal or absence of light-density contaminants/dirt and soots etc.

There is absence of jagged zig-zag annulus at the outermost edge indicating absence of or  insignificant oil oxidation and/or moisture content phenomena within this 5873 km blotter spot indicating anti-oxidation property of HX8 X is still intact.

Absence of translucent halo at the outermost zone seems to indicate absence of fuel dilution problem in this 2009 City.

As always, no indication of coolant contamination within oil sample.

Imho, this HX8 X at 5873 km usage is still in top shape with plenty of residual oil life to extend for further use.

Don't play play with the superb performance of  this 'super' high spec'ed HX8 X 5W30 often available at low and cheap price of RM100'ish from supermarkets like Giant from time to time.

Just my 2 sen.

Edit: I'm assuming HX8 X 5W30 from Shell Malaysia and HX8 (without X) 5W30 are both having one and the same oil formulations. CMIIMW.
thanks bro zeng on detail explanations , this hx8x i have mixed with liqui moly ceratec hoping can enhance riding performance

48 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Top

0.0364sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:55 PM