Blotter Spot Test Oil Analysis:VOA Helix HX7 5W30, 16,286 km blotter Shell Helix Ultra 5W40
TSzeng
Dec 21 2017, 12:13 AM
QUOTE(unitron @ Dec 20 2017, 02:14 PM) All image is >72 hoursĀ Lighting and camera not so good, but below is how it looks from further away. Above single blot from a different engine, with what i can only assume is newer oil, not sure the mileage or oil used. Bottom two blot from the same engine as previously. 72 hr 11k+ BlotterUnitron, I am of the opinion that this 11k+ Blotter shows absence of centre zone (of about 6-8 mm diameter) ...... and this is good news that oil detergency and dispersancy is still in tip top capacity without extensive agglomeration of oxidative/combustion products etc. There is very mild 'greyish' patch indicating 'low' levels of oxidative/combustion products and insolubles. I believe this used oil is still serviceable and would recommend taking another blotter spot in 1500-2000 km, if you haven't replaced the oil. JMHO. This post has been edited by zeng: Dec 21 2017, 12:17 AM
unitron
Dec 21 2017, 11:25 AM
QUOTE(zeng @ Dec 21 2017, 12:13 AM) Unitron, I am of the opinion that this 11k+ Blotter shows absence of centre zone (of about 6-8 mm diameter) ...... and this is good news that oil detergency and dispersancy is still in tip top capacity without extensive agglomeration of oxidative/combustion products etc. There is very mild 'greyish' patch indicating 'low' levels of oxidative/combustion products and insolubles. I believe this used oil is still serviceable and would recommend taking another blotter spot in 1500-2000 km, if you haven't replaced the oil. JMHO. Thanks sifu @zeng Too bad i didn't wanna risk it too long since already >1 year since last oil change, I changed the oil already. Trying out Castrol Magnatec Stop-Start fully syn 5W-30
TSzeng
Dec 22 2017, 04:07 PM
QUOTE(unitron @ Dec 21 2017, 11:25 AM) Thanks sifu @zengĀ Too bad i didn't wanna risk it too long since already >1 year since last oil change, I changed the oil already. Trying out Castrol Magnatec Stop-Start fully syn 5W-30
This spec of Magnatec Stop-Start fullsyn 5W30 of SN A3B4 is stronger than the previous Liqui Moly Special Tec AA 5W-30, in a way. I believe it can easily deliver longer OCI than 11k+ km in this K20A of yours. This post has been edited by zeng: Dec 22 2017, 04:09 PM
6UE5T
Dec 22 2017, 05:54 PM
QUOTE(zeng @ Dec 22 2017, 04:07 PM)
This spec of Magnatec Stop-Start fullsyn 5W30 of SN A3B4 is stronger than the previous Liqui Moly Special Tec AA 5W-30, in a way. I believe it can easily deliver longer OCI than 11k+ km in this K20A of yours. What is the TBN value? Longer OCI usually is also dependent on TBN value. For example oils that claim can last for longer mileage (>15k km, some even >20k km) usually have TBN value >10 or even >11, such as Amsoil or Mobil 1. CMIIW though.
TSzeng
Dec 22 2017, 06:32 PM
QUOTE(6UE5T @ Dec 22 2017, 05:54 PM) What is the TBN value? Longer OCI usually is also dependent on TBN value. For example oils that claim can last for longer mileage (>15k km, some even >20k km) usually have TBN value >10 or even >11, such as Amsoil or Mobil 1. CMIIW though. Agree with your statement above generally. The A3B4 has a minimum TBN of 10. Whereas a SN GF5 has TBN from 7.x to 9.x generally , though strong additive package SN GF5 may have TBN of 10 and above. Without TBN values from their respective spec sheets, I would speculate Magnatec Stop-Start 5W30 A3B4 most likely has higher TBN with its stronger additive package. Hence my belief Castrol can last longer, IDK.
TSzeng
Jan 6 2018, 11:02 PM
Total Quartz 7000 Energy 10W40 SL A3B4 blend in Toyota K3VE 1.3L Multi Port Injection, 13478 km , 48 hr blotter ......
.... and going.. This post has been edited by zeng: Jan 6 2018, 11:03 PM
alphaz
Jan 14 2018, 11:13 AM
Aisin Fully Synthetic 5w30 Engine: Hyundai G4GB Oil sample taken after being used for 7400 km. Picture is 12 hours after.
Is it good for another 2500 km? I'm planning to change oil at 10k km.
TSzeng
Jan 14 2018, 11:41 PM
QUOTE(alphaz @ Jan 14 2018, 11:13 AM) Aisin Fully Synthetic 5w30 Engine: Hyundai G4GB Oil sample taken after being used for 7400 km. Picture is 12 hours after.
Is it good for another 2500 km? I'm planning to change oil at 10k km. Hi alphaz, I don't see the presence of (dark coloured) centre zone (of about 8 mm diameter), which is good news as it indicates dispersancy of this Aisin 5W30 SN oil at 7400 km in Hyundai G4GB is still robust and not failing. The grey coloured contaminants/by products is being spread out well indicating oil is performing. There is also no signs of fuel dilution problem in this Hyundai engine. I would speculate your intended 10,000 km OCI should not be a problem, IMHO. This post has been edited by zeng: Jan 14 2018, 11:44 PM
alphaz
Jan 16 2018, 02:22 PM
QUOTE(zeng @ Jan 14 2018, 11:41 PM) Hi alphaz, I don't see the presence of (dark coloured) centre zone (of about 8 mm diameter), which is good news as it indicates dispersancy of this Aisin 5W30 SN oil at 7400 km in Hyundai G4GB is still robust and not failing. The grey coloured contaminants/by products is being spread out well indicating oil is performing. There is also no signs of fuel dilution problem in this Hyundai engine. I would speculate your intended 10,000 km OCI should not be a problem, IMHO. Thanks for the analysis, here's the picture taken after 48 hrs: Attached thumbnail(s)
TSzeng
Jan 17 2018, 02:26 PM
QUOTE(alphaz @ Jan 16 2018, 02:22 PM) Thanks for the analysis, here's the picture taken after 48 hrs: https://forum.lowyat.net/uploads/attach-31/...-1516083762.jpgThis 48 hr Blotter confirms the absence of clear opaque centre zone, which is good news to you. Carry on using this oil sample , if you so wish. This post has been edited by zeng: Jan 17 2018, 02:27 PM
TSzeng
Jan 31 2018, 11:54 PM
QUOTE(zeng @ Jan 6 2018, 11:02 PM) Total Quartz 7000 Energy 10W40 SL A3B4 blend in Toyota K3VE 1.3L Multi Port Injection, 13478 km , 48 hr blotter ......
.... and going.. 15000 km in Avanza K3VE, 24 hr blotter
alphaz
Feb 1 2018, 10:37 AM
Does your Avanza keep its fuel consumption rate?
TSzeng
Feb 2 2018, 07:50 PM
It's about 12.5 km/ Litre RON 95.
rcracer
Feb 11 2018, 10:58 AM
Adding something new Mazda 6, diesel 2.2 , 10500 km , shell helix ultra fully synthetic Taken engine cold , overnight , approx 40 minutes drying
TSzeng
Feb 11 2018, 08:45 PM
Mind asking Mazda 6 diesel owner manual oil type recommendation ? Asking for ACEA A3B4 ? Helix Ultra is 5W40 ? Btw, will wait for a 48 hr blotter spot to see how it's center zone develops ...... meanwhile this diesel engine doesn't appear very sooty, so I suppose it's age is quite new and low in mileage ?
This post has been edited by zeng: Feb 11 2018, 08:47 PM
boxer07
Mar 1 2018, 12:38 PM
Mileage 10200km, Honda 0w-20 Is it good to go? This post has been edited by boxer07: Mar 1 2018, 12:40 PM Attached thumbnail(s)
rcracer
Mar 1 2018, 05:46 PM
QUOTE(zeng @ Feb 11 2018, 08:45 PM) Mind asking Mazda 6 diesel owner manual oil type recommendation ? Asking for ACEA A3B4 ? Helix Ultra is 5W40 ? Btw, will wait for a 48 hr blotter spot to see how it's center zone develops ...... meanwhile this diesel engine doesn't appear very sooty, so I suppose it's age is quite new and low in mileage ? Should be Acea c3 Need to just helix ultra ECT 10 w-30
TSzeng
Mar 1 2018, 09:34 PM
QUOTE(rcracer @ Mar 1 2018, 05:46 PM) Should be Acea c3 Need to just helix ultra ECT 10 w-30 Is it 
? ...which is VW approved Long Life oil, or this 
? ...which is NOT VW approved. Btw you have 48 hrs or current blotter spot for clearer image on center zone for evaluation ?
TSzeng
Mar 1 2018, 09:44 PM
QUOTE(boxer07 @ Mar 1 2018, 12:38 PM) Mileage 10200km, Honda 0w-20 Is it good to go?  Boxer07 ,I couldn't see any (clear,sharp and opaque) center zone, indicating there isn't much contaminants and oil dispersancy property is in tip top condition, hence this oil is good to go on beyond 10200 km OCI . You may take another blotter spot test after 1500-2000 km from now, I suppose. Note:May I ask, what engine model is this ? This post has been edited by zeng: Mar 1 2018, 09:46 PM
boxer07
Mar 1 2018, 10:28 PM
QUOTE(zeng @ Mar 1 2018, 09:44 PM) Boxer07 ,I couldn't see any (clear,sharp and opaque) center zone, indicating there isn't much contaminants and oil dispersancy property is in tip top condition, hence this oil is good to go on beyond 10200 km OCI . You may take another blotter spot test after 1500-2000 km from now, I suppose. Note:May I ask, what engine model is this ? Honda City 2014. GM6. Non hybrid version wont go too far to 1500km as i still need to maintain the vehicle warranty . so will go change engine oil tomorrow at SC. This post has been edited by boxer07: Mar 2 2018, 10:52 AM