127 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Bottom

Chubby Hamsters V4, Fun little furballs

arraille
post Mar 15 2007, 09:34 AM

...muahahahaha... juz wait till u meet my Mastahhh...
1,187 posts

QUOTE(coldfusionpower @ Mar 15 2007, 04:36 AM)
this is my DIY cage. it is still under constuction. only the penthouse and 3rd floor have floor for the bedding. didn't have time to make another two. so since it's a DIY and with my lousy Kemahiran Hidup skills, it's not perfect, it doesn't look good but good enough to keep the WW inside. and running in the wheel all morning ( 1am till now). i can hear the wheel spin ..

not bad... not bad... very creative... rclxms.gif but i think to avoid u from sweeping the floor everyday, u better make the bedding tray edge higher a bit loh... like 4-5 inches...? juz my 2 cent... biggrin.gif

kembara
post Mar 15 2007, 11:45 AM

dinobots, maximize!!
1,668 posts

QUOTE(coldfusionpower @ Mar 15 2007, 05:36 AM)
hahaha .. true true ..my niece wanna spend alot for the hamster playthings. so i just let her la. never want to listen to uncle ..

btw, this is my first time with WW. i did breed Syrian 7 years ago. but it seem i already forgot a lot of things about hamsters. old alreadyy .. wahkakaka...

this is my DIY cage. it is still under constuction. only the penthouse and 3rd floor have floor for the bedding. didn't have time to make another two. so since it's a DIY and with my lousy Kemahiran Hidup skills, it's not perfect, it doesn't look good but good enough to keep the WW inside. and running in the wheel all morning ( 1am till now). i can hear the wheel spin ..

bravo bravo.. rclxms.gif
but keeping in cage will make the place messy with beddings..and smelly also..thats why me orefer tank..
i use to make those kind of cage from BRC jaring..also using kemahiran hidup skill in the past..but not to keep hamster..for other animals like ayam serama,guniea pig and also quails..

btw yasterday i poisoned one new friend that come to my room..
at last decide to buy my hammies hahahaha laugh.gif
arraille
post Mar 15 2007, 11:54 AM

1,187 posts

yesterday i bought crickets for rm1... out of 4 hamsters only Bibi ate them (after i 'disabled' the crickets), she ate 1 and a half, Bobo & Jiji didn't like them and Jojo didn't eat also but he killed the crickets for fun... doh.gif waste my seringgit only... i think if today also don't eat, better switch to mealworms again... sweat.gif
kembara
post Mar 15 2007, 12:17 PM

dinobots, maximize!!
1,668 posts

QUOTE(arraille @ Mar 15 2007, 12:54 PM)
yesterday i bought crickets for rm1... out of 4 hamsters only Bibi ate them (after i 'disabled' the crickets), she ate 1 and a half, Bobo & Jiji didn't like them and Jojo didn't eat also but he killed the crickets for fun...  doh.gif  waste my seringgit only... i think if today also don't eat, better switch to mealworms again... sweat.gif
thats why i only buy once...then no more cricket..
my hammies dont want to eat...
the protein mainly they get from cats kibble..mealworms also not main diet for my hammies..bcoz when buy cepat sangat licin so must go to petshop again to buy hehe..
coldfusionpower
post Mar 15 2007, 12:30 PM

My Cat Like To Shoot Noobs
3,158 posts

Update: my ww just escape twice today. 1st at 5am. saw him at the kitchen eating sumthing at the floor. catch it and put back in the cage. now, when i got-up, then the ww is gone again ! damn. cannot find it la. just got the ww 2 days ! and now he MIA ! cry.gif

maybe, i will buy some lexan or persplex plate to cover most of the cage surface. it sure cannot escape ! but those things are expensive .. doh.gif

QUOTE(Rena_blue @ Mar 15 2007, 06:01 AM)
lousy skill ?
no , man!!
build me 1 also ~ i want!!
is practical , cost saving~
juz , i dunno how to make it ~~
arrsshh!!!!
pay u labour cost la , k ??
hehe!!

woahh. why the repeated post ? tongue.gif .. sure sure.. but let me finished mine first ok.

QUOTE(kurikuraX @ Mar 15 2007, 08:42 AM)
yah...its a nice cage u know! look like apartment! thumbup.gif

i also planning to build one of that kind too...but it is my after graduation project biggrin.gif

u put the cage inside ur house or outside? Now i got the idea how to build the frame...u buit the frame 1st rite? btw, where is the door?
yeah. thats the main idea. to make it like an apartment. then put drift wood, small window wood at the side to make it look like and old wooden challet or villa. wooden roof, and some plastic leaves, hahaha. sure look great !

QUOTE(dien @ Mar 15 2007, 09:14 AM)
thank you for your advice rena_blue..  smile.gif
nice and creative cages..  smile.gif
then, you can teach me how to build them..

but.. is it the wired mesh safe for hamsters??
i mean if they bite the wired cage??
yeah. i will post link to the build-up process pictures. about the wired mesh, i'm not sure.

QUOTE(joanalooidog @ Mar 15 2007, 09:25 AM)
walao, this is nice man, neat, spacious..........cool.
But how do u cater for the bedding? they will kick them out rite??
it has an 1" edge. my floor is very clean ! rclxm9.gif . but just arraille said better make it higher... thanks for the advice !

QUOTE(arraille @ Mar 15 2007, 10:34 AM)
not bad... not bad... very creative... rclxms.gif  but i think to avoid u from sweeping the floor everyday, u better make the bedding tray edge higher a bit loh... like 4-5 inches...? juz my 2 cent...  biggrin.gif
thanks ! i will try to make it this week.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Mar 15 2007, 01:33 PM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

QUOTE(coldfusionpower @ Mar 15 2007, 04:36 AM)
hahaha .. true true ..my niece wanna spend alot for the hamster playthings. so i just let her la. never want to listen to uncle ..

btw, this is my first time with WW. i did breed Syrian 7 years ago. but it seem i already forgot a lot of things about hamsters. old alreadyy .. wahkakaka...

Wah... good handy work also.... but the wire mesh availabel in our local hardware shops are galvanised wire... and I was about to DIY a rat cage when I came upon many websites saying that galvanised wire can be toxic.... the best if coated wire mesh which I do not think we can find here.... Well, hope not much chewing is done lah.

Also, the floor pan is a bit too low.... bedding sure kick out later unless your hamster doesn't dig. Overall, this kind of cage has good ventilation lah.

Added on March 15, 2007, 1:42 pm
QUOTE(Syrian @ Mar 14 2007, 06:48 PM)
wanna ask ar .. my syrian is golden in colour but the inside of the fur (the 1st half of it growing frm the skin) is greyish in colour.  Does that mean that she is a silver het grey?? Or is there such thing as golden het grey? tongue.gif  And then the other syrian is wholly white in colour and has two brown patches at the eyes.  What is that colour then ?

P/s: i couldn't take any pictures at all coz they're moving pretty fast.  No chance to snap any still pictures.
Did you look at the old hamster thread? A pic of a Het silver grey is on the 1st page.
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/348425

I do not think there is a golden het grey. Silver grey looks silvery... a light grey. Het grey would look slightly creamy in colour.

If it is golden and the fur under coat is something else, it could be some other colour. Is your hamster a black eyed hamster?

This post has been edited by crazymouse_yyh: Mar 15 2007, 01:42 PM
Syrian
post Mar 15 2007, 01:46 PM

2,761 posts

Dazzle, wud is the tank that you're using to house ur hamsters?? I saw the pictures in the first post and it looks very superb to me tongue.gif.
coldfusionpower
post Mar 15 2007, 02:48 PM

My Cat Like To Shoot Noobs
3,158 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Mar 15 2007, 02:33 PM)
Wah... good handy work also.... but the wire mesh availabel in our local hardware shops are galvanised wire... and I was about to DIY a rat cage when I came upon many websites saying that galvanised wire can be toxic.... the best if coated wire mesh which I do not think we can find here.... Well, hope not much chewing is done lah.

Also, the floor pan is a bit too low.... bedding sure kick out later unless your hamster doesn't dig. Overall, this kind of cage has good ventilation lah.

yeah. tot about it also. coated ? hmmm. better buy the finished ready-stock cage lar .. my money flow like the niagra fall woo . buy that, buy this .. and the cage is actually dangerous for the ww. arghh .. icon_question.gif

arraille
post Mar 15 2007, 02:55 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(coldfusionpower @ Mar 15 2007, 02:48 PM)
yeah. tot about it also. coated ? hmmm. better buy the finished ready-stock cage lar .. my money flow like the niagra fall woo . buy that, buy this .. and the cage is actually dangerous for the ww. arghh .. icon_question.gif
in my opinion... plastic tank (not habitrail one, but plastic fish tank) is the most practical one... easy to clean, odour controlled, no spilt bedding, no wire bitting & no insect ingress-egress... hassle free... brows.gif

p/s: for my syrians, i put wood block for them to gnaw...

This post has been edited by arraille: Mar 15 2007, 05:55 PM
kimmie
post Mar 15 2007, 05:07 PM

KIM IMPOSSIBLE
1,532 posts

arraille where u got ur syrian from?
arraille
post Mar 15 2007, 05:16 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(kimmie @ Mar 15 2007, 05:07 PM)
arraille where u got ur syrian from?
Jojo & Jiji from Petsmore Queenspark
Bobo & Bibi from Petsmore Carrefour Kepong
Syrian
post Mar 15 2007, 07:07 PM

2,761 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Mar 15 2007, 01:33 PM)

Added on March 15, 2007, 1:42 pm

Did you look at the old hamster thread? A pic of a Het silver grey is on the 1st page.
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/348425

I do not think there is a golden het grey. Silver grey looks silvery... a light grey. Het grey would look slightly creamy in colour.

If it is golden and the fur under coat is something else, it could be some other colour. Is your hamster a black eyed hamster?
She is long-haired. Eyes totally black in colour - shining black like cyrstal. Then her entire body is golden in colour and the inside of the fur is greyish (not silver) wor. Yay,, i saw the picture in the old thread and his colour is much much much darker than that. Golden brown and inside is normal grey colour. I wanted to snap some pictures of her but she kept moving around non-stop.
dien
post Mar 15 2007, 07:58 PM

:: Newbie ::
3,254 posts

QUOTE(coldfusionpower @ Mar 15 2007, 01:30 PM)
yeah. i will post link to the build-up process pictures.
i'm waiting for that.. huhu.. tongue.gif
btw, thank you..
dazzle
post Mar 15 2007, 08:10 PM

Peace Seeker's
799 posts

galvanized wire is not good for hamster cage, cause hamster will bite the galvanized wire netting. This will cause future brain damage and the galvanized is poison when been eaten.
Surf to hamster website frequently on the care a hamster.
So I hope your hamster never bite the cage.

Read this article:
http://www.birdsnways.com/wisdom/ww14eii.htm

This post has been edited by dazzle: Mar 15 2007, 08:16 PM
Syrian
post Mar 15 2007, 09:08 PM

2,761 posts

my HAMMIES ........................

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
dazzle
post Mar 15 2007, 09:11 PM

Peace Seeker's
799 posts

QUOTE(Syrian @ Mar 15 2007, 01:46 PM)
Dazzle, wud is the tank that you're using to house ur hamsters?? I saw the pictures in the first post and it looks very superb to me tongue.gif.
sorry on last reply .

I used Perspex to build my hamster Cage.

This is safer that the galvanized netting cage thumbup.gif .

Perspex is selling expensive at certain hardware shop.

But I get free 1.

Added on March 15, 2007, 9:13 pm
QUOTE(Syrian @ Mar 15 2007, 09:08 PM)
your Robos quit fair.

Mine colour is darker and quit big size.

This post has been edited by dazzle: Mar 15 2007, 09:13 PM
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Mar 15 2007, 09:41 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(Syrian @ Mar 15 2007, 09:08 PM)
Ah... your Syrian colour could be a golden hamster.... I had one long ago...... not het silver grey. Then the other could be a spotted Golden... I can't see the colour cleary on the head since can see more white heheheh....

Long haired Golden hamsters tend to be more grey than short haired Golden hamsters..... Well, this is what I have read here

http://www.geocities.com/dyno08/hamagouti.html

Added on March 15, 2007, 9:54 pmOr it could be an Umbrous Golden.... I'm not very sure but umbrous causes the fur to be either a shadow of dark grey or light grey....

Added on March 15, 2007, 10:25 pmhttp://www.geocities.com/dyno08/hamtypecolor.html

Good website for Syrian hamsters... can see almost all the colour varieties in it.

This post has been edited by crazymouse_yyh: Mar 15 2007, 10:25 PM
Reanne
post Mar 15 2007, 11:57 PM

Elite is only a tag. So don't PM me to delete ur post.
2,903 posts

POst a pic, maybe I can help ID the colour for you. smile.gif
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Mar 16 2007, 12:04 AM

12,047 posts

Syrian posted the pics already... you look up lah.
Reanne
post Mar 16 2007, 12:11 AM

Elite is only a tag. So don't PM me to delete ur post.
2,903 posts

Oh... The syrian in the middle picture right? That's a normal long haired syrian.

Golden syrians have slate blue under colouring

127 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Top

0.1695sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 10:17 PM