Chubby Hamsters V4, Fun little furballs

TScrazymouse_yyh
post Mar 14 2007, 08:44 AM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

Besides Prestige, Harry Hamster also not bad... I mix 3 brands to help feed my rodents.... ahaah.... my mixture consist of 2kg Harry Hamster, 2 packets of Prestige, 1 packet bird seeds, 400g brown rice, 200g dog kibble, 4kg of habitrail, 1kg of rolled oats....
anizarina
post Mar 14 2007, 09:41 AM

184 posts

yeah..what is mealworm?izit a real worm?can any1 suggest me any other food that i can give to my little robos...everyday, i just give them the hamster food. last nite, i just give them some apple but only small cube.anyone..please help..sorry , i am new on this things.
arraille
post Mar 14 2007, 09:48 AM

...muahahahaha... juz wait till u meet my Mastahhh...
1,187 posts

QUOTE(dazzle @ Mar 13 2007, 06:27 PM)
20 pcs per meal for each hamster for dinner only.
20 pcs is quite a lot actually except for nursing female, coz they need a lot of protein and fat in order to maintain enough milk supply for the pups... as for my hammies, 6 pcs for each of them daily... i think that's ok coz they run on wheels a lot... i mean A LOT... and if they maintain running like that, 10 pcs of mealworm daily also still ok i guess...

logic what... the more energy u use, the more 'energetic' food u need... and mealworm not only supply fat but a lot of protein too... fat will supply energy & protein is for muscle building block (and can be turned to energy also when the supply from fat & carbo is finished) ... so as long is ur hamster keep on the active life style, nothing to worry lah... flex.gif

Added on March 14, 2007, 9:53 am
QUOTE(joanalooidog @ Mar 14 2007, 08:39 AM)
I wonder wat is he doing, hahaha................
it's a HER actually... biggrin.gif ... she's yawning lah... what else... i've been waiting untill my hand lenguh-lenguh juz to get this pose... sweating somemore... sweat.gif

Added on March 14, 2007, 10:19 am
QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Mar 13 2007, 07:16 PM)
Hahah... yah.... mealworms are fatty.... fattening just like sun flower seeds... If eat too much maybe can get heart attack hahahah....
actually mealworms supply more protein than fat... besides supply the energy, protein is also important in building muscle block and developing immune system...
and this is what i found in the internet to back my statement...

Mealworm Nutritional Info: Fat 27.2%, Protein 49.6%, Carbohydrates 6.9 grams/100, Calories 471 calories/100 grams
more about mealworms in...

mealworm facts

This post has been edited by arraille: Mar 14 2007, 10:22 AM
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Mar 14 2007, 10:22 AM

12,047 posts

27% is a high fat content.... this is why we say fatty.... if it is only 10% then ok. So it is a lot of fat. Hamsters are small animals and their bodies cannot take so much fat.
arraille
post Mar 14 2007, 10:26 AM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Mar 14 2007, 10:22 AM)
27% is a high fat content.... this is why we say fatty.... if it is only 10% then ok. So it is a lot of fat. Hamsters are small animals and their bodies cannot take so much fat.
if the hamster is actively running on wheels through out the night until early morning... doesn't the 27% is still ok...? juz curious... hmm.gif
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Mar 14 2007, 10:37 AM

12,047 posts

A cricket has Cricket has 21.3% protein, 6.0% fat, 3.2% fiber and 70% water content. Lower in fat and healthier.

A mealworm has 20.3% protein, 12.7% fat, 1.7% fiber and 62% water.... also mealworms are low in calcium, high phosphorus & fat, hard chitin shell.

This is why mealworms should not be fed too often or too many. Crickets are safer and they are easier to gutload also.

http://www.beautifuldragons.503xtreme.com/Nutrition.html
arraille
post Mar 14 2007, 10:40 AM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Mar 14 2007, 10:37 AM)
A cricket has Cricket has 21.3% protein, 6.0% fat, 3.2% fiber and 70% water content. Lower in fat and healthier.

A mealworm has 20.3% protein, 12.7% fat, 1.7% fiber and 62% water.... also mealworms are low in calcium, high phosphorus & fat, hard chitin shell.

This is why mealworms should not be fed too often or too many. Crickets are safer and they are easier to gutload also.

http://www.beautifuldragons.503xtreme.com/Nutrition.html
i see... how u normally feed ur hamsters with cricket...? juz let the cricket free in the tank or disabled the cricket first...? hmm.gif
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Mar 14 2007, 10:42 AM

12,047 posts

If you feed a few a day is ok... but 20? My advice was for those 20 mealworms at 1 go.... to me it is like fried chicken and steam chicken... which is healthier? Of course steam chicken rite? So you would be eating more steam chicken than fried chicken also mah.

Also, those facts I found is for reptiles and it is very important for us to not feed too many mealworms to reptiles since mealworms is damn high in phosphorus and has the hard exoskeleton. Even my glider only eats crickets, which I have seen very good improvement in her size already.

My hamsters are also eating crickets instead of mealworms now....

Added on March 14, 2007, 10:47 amI just drop a few crickets into the cage or tank.... my Syrians straight away catch. My WW also... some of my campbells like me to feed them by hand. My rats chase crickets like crazy.... of course cricket lifespan shorter la but it is worth it to give something good to the hamsters.

This post has been edited by crazymouse_yyh: Mar 14 2007, 10:47 AM
arraille
post Mar 14 2007, 10:59 AM

1,187 posts

thanks for the infos... will try after this... my last mealworms stock juz finished last nite... maybe on the way home this evening will get the crickets... how they sell it...? if mealworms, 1 small cup is rm1... cricket...? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by arraille: Mar 14 2007, 11:00 AM
anizarina
post Mar 14 2007, 11:33 AM

184 posts

what is mealworm??izit the worm that we can found at the pet shop that we usually give to the bird??izit the same worm?
arraille
post Mar 14 2007, 11:48 AM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(anizarina @ Mar 14 2007, 11:33 AM)
what is mealworm??izit the worm that we can found at the pet shop that we usually give to the bird??izit the same worm?
for further details, please go to the websites that i suggested juz now (typed in red "mealworm facts")... tq...

This post has been edited by arraille: Mar 14 2007, 11:49 AM
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Mar 14 2007, 12:21 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(arraille @ Mar 14 2007, 10:59 AM)
thanks for the infos... will try after this... my last mealworms stock juz finished last nite... maybe on the way home this evening will get the crickets... how they sell it...? if mealworms, 1 small cup is rm1... cricket...? hmm.gif
Crickets... 30 is RM1... but you no need feed so many also. 3 crickets a day is enough.

QUOTE(anizarina @ Mar 14 2007, 11:33 AM)
Yah... people sell it for bird and fish...
arraille
post Mar 14 2007, 12:31 PM

1,187 posts

what to feed to remaining cricket... to keep them alive (surely i'll buy a few so that i don't have to buy everyday)...
BlueHeng
post Mar 14 2007, 01:32 PM

1,604 posts

QUOTE(arraille @ Mar 14 2007, 12:31 PM)
what to feed to remaining cricket... to keep them alive (surely i'll buy a few so that i don't have to buy everyday)...
My mealworms kept for 1 week plus still okay.
arraille
post Mar 14 2007, 01:49 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(BlueHeng @ Mar 14 2007, 01:32 PM)
My mealworms kept for 1 week plus still okay.
what about crickets...? what to feed them to keep them alive for a week...?
anizarina
post Mar 14 2007, 02:29 PM

184 posts

huhu..nnti wanna try to fed my robos with mealworm
dien
post Mar 14 2007, 03:40 PM

:: Newbie ::
3,254 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Mar 14 2007, 11:42 AM)
I just drop a few crickets into the cage or tank.... my Syrians straight away catch. My WW also... some of my campbells like me to feed them by hand. My rats chase crickets like crazy.... of course cricket lifespan shorter la but it is worth it to give something good to the hamsters.
same as me.. just drop the criket into the tank.. later my hamsters will kejar them.. huhu.. tongue.gif
kembara
post Mar 14 2007, 03:47 PM

dinobots, maximize!!
1,668 posts

my hammies seems dont like cricket la..
last time i bought rm1..
only one or two hammy want to eat...the others buat x tau
at last the cricket end in my gerbils stomach
dien
post Mar 14 2007, 03:55 PM

:: Newbie ::
3,254 posts

question..
for those have asthma, can they have a hamster as pet??
my friend want to rear a hamster, but he has asthma.. (alergic of rabbit and cat..)

if he can keep hamster, what kind hamster that really suit for him??
the_catacombs
post Mar 14 2007, 03:56 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

can feed cockroach arr??... my house got many...

btw, these days i often see cicak go into my hamster cage and kacau them leh... will it be harmful to my hamster??... or will my hamster harm the cicak??...

127 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.0265sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:43 PM