Life Sciences CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS!, medical student chat+info center

hypermax
post Sep 5 2008, 12:33 AM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(wgy589 @ Sep 4 2008, 07:58 PM)
bond after undergrad studies
That means it's better for NUS to take in undergrads instead of postgrads right? since the fresh grads will spend more time in the health care system
hypermax
post Sep 8 2008, 11:33 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(wgy589 @ Sep 5 2008, 06:51 AM)
wat do u mean? they can apply for postgrad training after HO wat
Yes, i know that. That's why i said it's better for NUS to take in foreigners during undergrad years instead of postgrad years. They will tend to understand the health care system better that way.
Limmeu said that NUS has to protect their citizens as they are the ones who are more likely to practice in Singapore.
hypermax
post Sep 9 2008, 05:43 PM

2,524 posts

At least in Singapore, the pay in gov hospital is much better. Also, post grad training in Singapore is much better than malaysia, with entry based on meritocracy instead of ethnicity.
hypermax
post Sep 9 2008, 07:31 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(wgy589 @ Sep 9 2008, 06:04 PM)
the bond for foreign medical students in NUS is 6 years instead of 5 yrs. Honestly it doesn't really matter cos u can take up postgrad during this time.

I'm not sure abt Malaysia system, but i heard u can only take up postgrad after 5 yrs, with non malays having to wait longer. by the time u get a postgrad, u counterparts in spore r already qualified as consultants. i think this is a very impt consideration to be taken .
For malaysian system, one can take up postgrad (local programme) after 4 years in service (2 years HO + 2 years MO). Of course, one can always opt for overseas postgrad training (US, UK, Aus, NZ) without adhering to such rules as well as the discriminatory policies.

This post has been edited by hypermax: Sep 9 2008, 07:31 PM
hypermax
post Sep 12 2008, 01:04 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(wgy589 @ Sep 9 2008, 07:50 PM)
Yup, it's really impt to explore other alternatives, eventhough it's not an easy pathway to take.
i've heard of some International medical graduates got into neurosurgery (the most competitive residensy) in US, but do take note most of them end in family medicine and internal medicine (being on the other extreme), and those are the ones with strong USMLE scores and US clinical experience. So u can imagine the kind of competition there.
I believe if one wants to specialise, he/she must have very good result to do so.
hypermax
post Oct 11 2008, 11:07 AM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Oct 7 2008, 10:10 PM)
i state my opinion, and it is an opinion shared by many countries......that fact that this country has a very messed up doctor training system does not distract from the correctness of that opinion....it just highlight how f***up we are..........

it can be changed if there is political will......there isn't......
I actually find it funny for a doctor of the older generation of UM graduates to use the word 'f***' in a forum which is meant for intelligent discussion. I guess now i know why UM dropped out from the top 200 Unis in the world. brows.gif

Anyway, are you suggesting that you have been one of the toppers throughout your secondary school years? Didn't even fumble once?

There's no doubt that medical students should be selected from a pool of toppers. However, given the lousy education system and the increasing number of incompetent teachers nowadays, it's really hard for the students to totally grasp the all subjects being taught in school well.

As long as a student do well in Pre-U, then he/she can be qualified to enter medical course. I believe pre-U result is the most important element in securing a seat in med schools.

This post has been edited by hypermax: Oct 11 2008, 11:21 AM
hypermax
post Oct 11 2008, 03:03 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(wgy589 @ Oct 11 2008, 02:18 PM)
i think it's best to ask some local medskols eg. Manipal, aimst... to know whether they accept ur foundation course. go personally to the medskols, talk to the boss there, and try to persuade them that u got the money to pay them. afterall, they r profit based.

if they do accept u, then u can skip another pre U course. save time and money, futhermore, local medicine is 5 years. so save more time. so there's no reason why u shld't quit.

but if really they dun accept u, only then u can start to consider whether to quit.
For MMMC, it's no longer that simple, as it has acquired contract with JPA. Therefore, JPA students will be given priority. Many students with A levels 3 As and SAM > 93 cannot enter. Dun believe me, just give MMMC a call or ask those who have applied for MMMC.

After a private med school is established, it tends to increase it's entry requirement in order to push the quality of its graduates, so that it can become more famous which translates into more cash flow.

As for AIMST, you need to take its own foundation course in order to do medicine. Once you have met the minimum requirement set by AIMST, you will be offered a place in Medicine. However, the waiting list is very long as many have successfully met the requirement. According to czrulez, AIMST's foundation in quite simple. You can actually give it a try if you can afford to wait.

This post has been edited by hypermax: Oct 11 2008, 03:14 PM
hypermax
post Oct 11 2008, 03:36 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(linkeong @ Oct 11 2008, 03:22 PM)
BTW if aimst tell you about waiting list, the person is trying to tell you to pay him some money to guarantee a place. It happens, I know a doctor here that can guarantee you a place in aimst but you need to pay him. If you are in taiping, you can ask around, you would definitely hear about this doctor
Bro, just a friendly reminder, be really careful when you say such things. Unless you have concrete proof, i would advise you from making such statement.

Added on October 11, 2008, 3:39 pm
QUOTE(linkeong @ Oct 11 2008, 03:16 PM)
FYi this year september intake MMMC my friend got in with B+ B+ B- in stpm. Dont believe what they said when you ask them things, even IMu said BBC hard to enter but I got friends entering with BBC. The thing is you apply then go for the interview, accept or not is later. The people you talk to when you ask about admissions are not the ones making decisions

JPA contract is crap, IMU also has JPA contract and they just allow the JPA students to come in without proper interview(interview 3 days before intake date, tell me it was serious?) and borderline results

About AIMST waiting list also, don't believe what they tell you, all the people I know that applied for aimst this year got an offer but because the offer came too late they already enrolled off somewhere.
Oh really, that's weird. I personally know some people who got really good grades in A level and SAM but got rejected. Your friend has cable ar? Mind to tell me your friend's name?

And last time when i applied for IMU-PMS (2004 1st intake), no one below SAM 93 and A level AAB has been accepted.

This post has been edited by hypermax: Oct 11 2008, 03:43 PM
hypermax
post Oct 12 2008, 01:26 AM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Oct 11 2008, 04:47 PM)
that may or may not be true.....but the mere fact such allegations can be made just goes to show how f**** up the whole med school selection process is.......

btw, expletives is not so much a reflection on the quality of education, nor calibre of a person, but a measure of the exasperation of a human being......

Added on October 11, 2008, 5:03 pm
never heard of it, but a google drew up their website....a few comments......

they list a few unheard of 'partner universities' in various places, but i can't find how these places are 'partnering' with the college....

diploma courses only offered.....

very low intake requirements.......eg for dip pharmacy, only 3 credits in spm, and only passes wanted in english!!!!!

i wouldn't have touched it with a 10 foot pole........
As you have said it yourself, it was, a mere allegation, without any concrete proof. So how does it show how "f***" up the med school selection process is?

Also, Expletive is not appropriate in a forum meant for intelligent discussion, and i guess you are well aware of that. You dun have to be vulgar just because things dun go your way. I believe attitude is one of the criteria for med school selection. Thus, it reflects that there's a failure in the selection of students in UM, thus the drop in quality.

Added on October 12, 2008, 1:32 am
QUOTE(diegoadriadona @ Oct 11 2008, 08:17 PM)
i was wondering..is it worth it if i do quit and go back and restart??the money and the time..Before this, i never thought really properly before going to russia and pursue my studies..heck..i even quit SAM just to do this..but right now i'm having 2nd thoughts already..Is it good to go back??or just sulk it up and finish it here..I'm not sure whether i can make it here..neither back home..But i just cannot cope with the education system here..I'm well aware if i leave russia now i'll never go overseas anymore..i might be fine with tat..Can anybody giv me some ideas?? Rite now my mind's confused..heck my university is still accepting new batch of ppl even it's 2weeks after the intake..what should i do now!!i just want to find an answer whether do i have the passion to do this
Well, from my personal experience, Russian and Ukrainian grads are being looked down and treated badly in gov hospitals. Most of the consultants think that these grads are not competent and safe. A consultant in Melaka GH even told the elective students off just because they are from Ukraine.

Although there are many reputable Unis in Russia, many forummers said that the strict marking scheme and the high standard is only applicable to Russian students, not foreign students, as these foreigners will not be practicing in Russia most of the time.

Therefore, if money and time are not the concerns for you, i would recommend you to enroll in established private med schools in Msia. However, the decision is still in your hand.

This post has been edited by hypermax: Oct 12 2008, 01:36 AM
hypermax
post Oct 12 2008, 10:39 AM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Oct 12 2008, 07:48 AM)
ever heard of such allegations in say, the uk?......

don't have to get personal, which tends to be the trait of some emotional forumers here........
Just because you haven't heard of it, doesn't mean that there's no such allegations. doh.gif

In reality, you are the one getting worked up here. Screwing Russian grads, belittling local med schools, using foul language, ridiculed others when you are being challenge. I dun see any trait of an experience doctor from UM from you.

And who's being more emo right now? Using word like "f***" up and all that.... rolleyes.gif

I dare say this: this thread is not peaceful because we have people like you. Most of the time we spent arguing with each other instead of exchanging useful information regarding exams and clinical knowledge. I dun see why you are so particular about where a doctor is from. As long as a doctor is capable, he/she will be a competent and safe doctor even if he/she is from the worst med school on earth.

Since you are an experience doctor, why not shed some light on some clinical skills or bedside knowledge which we need to focus on? All you have done is condemning here and there, without giving any useful advice. whistling.gif

I rest my case shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by hypermax: Oct 12 2008, 10:45 AM
hypermax
post Oct 12 2008, 12:37 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Oct 12 2008, 12:35 PM)
qed....
Yes, in deed.... biggrin.gif doh.gif
hypermax
post Oct 12 2008, 06:17 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(bhypp @ Oct 12 2008, 01:35 PM)
haiya hes from UM wat the BEST med skool in msia!  thumbup.gif  cant blame him if others seemed inferior to him  tongue.gif  tongue.gif

anyway how come u know hes a doctor?!?! u guys coursemates?? anyway i oso wanna kamcheng with him lar....later can write some good stuff on my CV!!!  flex.gif bruce.gif
He claimed so in either another thread or this thread not so long ago.

Yalar, i must admit all non-bumi doctors from UM are of a different level, but he's the most cocky one i have seen. tongue.gif (that's if he's really one) brows.gif

This post has been edited by hypermax: Oct 12 2008, 07:57 PM
hypermax
post Oct 18 2008, 08:09 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(bhypp @ Oct 17 2008, 01:48 PM)
well right and wrong...its recognized by the Msians n the Australian Medical Association but the Sg's MA has not recognized it yet coz monash malaysia hasnt produced any grads yet....the pioneer batch of students are still 1 year away from graduation, but i think Sg will recognize it when the grads are out.....its kinda weird if the Aussies recognize it but Sg doesnt.... shakehead.gif  shakehead.gif

anyway good for us....Sg grads working for us instead of the other way around!!!  flex.gif  flex.gif  flex.gif

btw wanna raise some issue here ah....what u guys think about the medical system here.....like the ministry of health said they are working on a public-funded insurance cover thing, like the Medicare / NHS system....but no news bout it till now....and i think we should hav that coz for average folks.....seeing a 'normal doctor' / GP is getting more n more costly.... unsure.gif  unsure.gif  unsure.gif
I think the degree has yet to be recgonised by the msian gov
hypermax
post Dec 9 2008, 09:16 PM

2,524 posts

Hi people, my friends are interested in working in Singapore. I was told by a forummer here that one can't work in Singapore unless he/she obtains a basic degree recognised by SMC. According to the same forummer, even if you hold a specialist degree like MRCP(UK) but have a unrecognised basic degree, you are not qualified to work in Singapore. However recently, i bumped into this page on the SMC web site which states the following:

Conditional Registration

Allows a foreign-trained doctor to work only in a designated healthcare establishment, under the supervision of a fully registered medical practitioner.

Eligibility requirements:

holds a basic# medical degree from a university/ medical school listed in the Schedule of the Medical Registration Act; or

has a postgraduate or exit specialist qualification recognised by the Specialists Accreditation Board; and

has been selected for employment in a Singapore hospital/ institution/ medical practice approved by the Medical Council; and

holds a certificate of experience as proof of satisfactory completion of housemanship; and

is currently in active clinical practice; and

has passed such national licensing examination as required in the country where the basic medical degree was conferred; and

has been certified to be in good standing by the overseas regulatory body or medical council equivalent.

Link

So does it mean that I can apply for conditional registration after obtaining MRCP even if my basic degree is not recognised?

Thanks in advance.

This post has been edited by hypermax: Dec 9 2008, 10:35 PM
hypermax
post Dec 9 2008, 10:49 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(zltan @ Dec 9 2008, 10:45 PM)
I'll say yes. You will be able to apply for conditional registration if your specialist degree is recognised and you fulfill all the other conditions.

You must, however work under supervision as stated in your quote. So, I'm not sure if you'll be able to go to private practice.
Once you are fully registered (after 2 years of supervision for foreigners), i think you are free to go private.

Therefore, to the forummer who told me the opposite (can't work there despite having recognised specialist degree), pls refrain from misleading people if you are not sure of your info, thanks. You know who you are. smile.gif

This post has been edited by hypermax: Dec 9 2008, 11:58 PM
hypermax
post Dec 18 2008, 03:35 PM

2,524 posts

You can try for PMC, it's relatively easier to enter. Also, facilities in Ireland are very very good.

As for MMMC, in the 21st batch (recent intake), only 8 self funded students. Therefore, it's harder.

BTW, be careful when asking such question in this thread. Some people here strongly disagree with people getting less than TER 95 entering medicine. If you are unlucky, you will most probably be bombarded.

This post has been edited by hypermax: Dec 18 2008, 03:46 PM
hypermax
post Dec 18 2008, 06:36 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Dec 18 2008, 06:32 PM)

agree........at least 90 lah........

we have gone through this many times already....... biggrin.gif
Yeap, and therefore i don't intend to start the debate again.
The age old question of passion vs academic performance.

This post has been edited by hypermax: Dec 18 2008, 06:37 PM
hypermax
post Dec 18 2008, 06:58 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(Visualize @ Dec 18 2008, 06:52 PM)
I see... Like I said, due to some circumstances, my internals got screwed badly. I guess I'll apply fer PMC / MMMC.

If there is other uni's other than these two, kindly name it. Thanks.

I have yet to see those 'bombs'.
I strongly advice you to apply for PMC. MMMC is very hard to enter as JPA has already book many of the seats. However, if your cable is long enough, then it's not a problem.
hypermax
post Dec 18 2008, 07:11 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(Visualize @ Dec 18 2008, 07:10 PM)
I see.. Looks like PMC is the only option left. And what do you mean by cable is long enough? hmm.gif
able to pull string (as in know people in the management or big share holder). This is rampant for private colleges.

Btw, try both. No harm trying.

This post has been edited by hypermax: Dec 18 2008, 07:17 PM
hypermax
post Jan 14 2009, 02:00 AM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jan 10 2009, 04:54 PM)
ptptn loans only for msians.......

usmle is only of relevance if you intend to go work in the us..........recognition to register to practise medicine in spore is based on you basic medical degree being recognised by the smc, having usmle step 3 will NOT enable you to work in spore.......
A recognized post grad degree enables one to work in Singapore via Conditional Registration. Therefore, USMLE, then post grad in the US is a good path.

BTW, AIMST is a good option, as its fee is rather affordable. In my opinion, it's not worth to enter IMU or MMMC as the school fees are ridiculously high for current intakes, RM330K++. Back in my time (5 years ago), only RM265K for MMMC and 268K for IMU.

This post has been edited by hypermax: Jan 14 2009, 02:31 AM

11 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0437sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 02:59 AM