11 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Life Sciences CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS!, medical student chat+info center

hypermax
post Feb 19 2009, 03:02 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(MBBS siang @ Feb 19 2009, 12:39 PM)
Don't know yet.Result not yet out.Any suggestion?Cheaper tuition fees and Better quality.
There are many cheap and good medical schools around, but depends whether you have the result to enter or not:
1. UM, UKM, and USM
2. NUS
3. National Taiwan University (not sure whether they accept STPM or not)
hypermax
post Feb 19 2009, 07:43 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Feb 19 2009, 08:11 AM)
being complete honest here, i wonder, based on the level of english used in this forum, and the mistakes so frequently committed in simple postings, how one can get a 'high band 5' in muet?............ blink.gif
Trust me, MUET is the easiest English language test at Uni level. Any Tom, D1ck, and Harry can acquire band 5.

BTW, since when lu jadi england teacher? rolleyes.gif dun tell me lu kena retrenched? brows.gif

QUOTE(usesoap @ Feb 19 2009, 04:45 PM)
i went to mmmc, i didnt do ielts..
got band 4 muet..
hehehehe
feea bit expensive lah
300k for total 5 years..
imu cheaper i think..
or can go for aimst.
dont go indonesia or russia..
because u r not using english there..
will hv prob when start working..
preferably do twining where u can get experience from both side..
Wrong, IMU is about 20K more expensive than MMMC.

This post has been edited by hypermax: Feb 19 2009, 07:48 PM
hypermax
post Feb 19 2009, 09:27 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Feb 19 2009, 08:05 PM)
one doesn't have to be an english teacher to be good in the language.......

i have been tested before for migration purposes (not ielts)......and have been certified 'native speaker' of the language.......
Seriously, why are you being so judgmental? Does correcting people or bashing others gives you the sense of superiority? hmm.gif

This is, a thread meant for medical students after all, not a thread for you to correct people's grammar and judge the eligibility of one to enter medical course. Therefore, your previous posts are considered as off-topic no?

Mind you, i never said you are good in English, i just said you are acting like an English teacher going around and correcting people. Pls bear in mind that one doesn't have to be good at something to be a teacher in Malaysia. rolleyes.gif So pls dun flatter yourself sweat.gif

This post has been edited by hypermax: Feb 19 2009, 09:33 PM
hypermax
post Feb 20 2009, 01:01 AM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Feb 19 2009, 11:03 PM)
don't blow a fuse........it was a response to the muet high band 5 result.........you don't like the comments, just ignore them, they are not meant for you anyway........ rolleyes.gif
Nah, my fuse is still intact. biggrin.gif I was merely making an observation. Doesn't matter whether it was for me or not, but just a friendly reminder, you have deviated from the main purpose of this thread far too many times.

If this is not called judgmental, what is it then? Enlighten me pls. rolleyes.gif
hypermax
post Feb 20 2009, 01:09 AM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(seiken @ Feb 20 2009, 01:03 AM)
I think being proficient in English is important. Can you imagine what will the public think when they hear a doctor who struggles in English conversation?

Standards of English among the UM medical undergraduates is getting worse. I guess this is part of the change...English proficiency was definitely much better back then...
Many of the doctors in gov hospital, especially Malays, can't converse in English during ward round (not being racist, but this is the fact). I wonder how they managed to pass their exams, especially bed side.
hypermax
post Feb 20 2009, 02:46 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(CyberSetan @ Feb 20 2009, 04:15 AM)
Its indeed "tak mahu", not that they cant converse in English.

This trend of speaking English all the time in the hospital (esp. in gov. hospital) is rather annoying... really...
at least from the view points of supporting staff members in the hospital (Nurses, MLTs, P.As, admin, etc), of which I have had experienced working with some of them in the past.

They feel that there is this "air of arrogance" or "holier than thou" attitude from the doctors who constantly speak in English even though they can converse in Malay with them.

More over, the trend of doctors "not-mixing" with other staff members of the hospital especially with the supporting staffs adds up to this situation.

Use English when it is appropriate and not as a mean to Show-Off to other people, it doesn't impress them but rather annoys them.
(they talk behind your back you know - even though they smile in front of you)
Fikir fikirkan lah~
In my opinion, speaking English is mandatory during ward round, as housemen need to record the findings and the treatment plan by the specialists in English, which is the preferred language when it comes to case writing. However based on my observation, some specialists can't (not unwilling to) converse in English. Therefore, they opt to converse in BM. The same goes for teaching students by these specialists.

I once heard from my professor that Malay students in UM have the option of answering their bedside exam in Malay. Not sure whether true or not. Can anyone clarify this?
hypermax
post Feb 21 2009, 03:00 PM

2,524 posts

How come nowadays many are still aiming for medicine even though the MMA had stated there will be surplus of doctors in the years to come? What's the logic behind it?
hypermax
post Feb 21 2009, 06:40 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Feb 21 2009, 05:01 PM)
Legally speaking, if one is an Australian/New Zealand/U.S./U.K./other citizen (ie holding the passport of their adoptive nation), and one has renounced their Singaporean citizenship, Singapore's NS laws do not apply to them, even if they were formerly a Singaporean citizen.

By international convention, arresting a ex-Singaporean holding another citizenship is like arresting a Malaysian national just because he is of the right age for NS. It is different however, if you only have a PR of another country.

PR's by definition only give you the right of abode. It does not confer diplomatic protection and  rights by the PR issuing state.

Whoops, I've gone off-topic again eh? happy.gif;;
Yes, off topic, pls refrain from doing it, dun tell me you need confirmation to that. doh.gif Perhaps you should start a thread on PR issues. brows.gif
hypermax
post Feb 26 2009, 12:08 AM

2,524 posts

In fact, entry into medicine is only easy in Msia and some other 3rd world countries.
hypermax
post Mar 4 2009, 09:49 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Mar 3 2009, 06:07 PM)
the study attributes 60% of the variation to the difference in the required entrance qualifications of different med schools.......

if these variations are as such in uk, where there is a relatively small band in terms of the required entrance qualifications, imagine what the variation will be like in msia, where the entrance qualifications varies VERY widely, and stretching down to admitting very poor quality students.......

i shudder to imagine.......
Accept the facts dude, there's nothing you can do about it. In addition, you have been complaining about the same issue over and over again. Like a broken radio tongue.gif rclxub.gif
hypermax
post Mar 4 2009, 11:07 PM

2,524 posts

Well, since your boring comments have kinda destroyed the original spirit of this thread. Therefore, as a responsible LYN member, i need to stop you from doing that.

=P

This post has been edited by hypermax: Mar 4 2009, 11:08 PM
hypermax
post Mar 4 2009, 11:11 PM

2,524 posts

Well, i am willing to if he somehow agrees to give me his number. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by hypermax: Mar 4 2009, 11:12 PM
hypermax
post Mar 4 2009, 11:27 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Mar 4 2009, 11:18 PM)
i didn't post the article......someone did, i read it and i commented on it....as within my right of free speech in responce.....full stop......you are free to comment on the article too......but you choose to get personal as usual........
Hmm, first of all, the article has nothing to do with Msia, yet you wanna relate it to msia for reasons unknown.

Secondly, you have been stressing the same point over and over again, and i dun see how such comments can benefit the community.

Well, nothing personal, just pointing out some of the mistakes that you have done, for the greater good of the community. smile.gif

PS You too have gotten personal with many people in the past, just that you did it in the name of "commenting as a whole" or "just stating the truth".

This post has been edited by hypermax: Mar 4 2009, 11:28 PM
hypermax
post Mar 4 2009, 11:39 PM

2,524 posts

That particular report is comparing quality of different UK med schools, so how does it help those misan docs who are thinking of taking MRCP?
hypermax
post Mar 5 2009, 01:26 AM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Mar 4 2009, 11:55 PM)
medical students are supposed to be very clever people, those of you here who may be contemplating presenting for the mrcp, go figure individually how the findings of this study may impact on each of you individually when you consider doing the mrcp.......if you consider it of no impact, just ignore it......
I am not saying that the article isn't useful. What i dun get is why you relate it to the admission standard in Msia. I dun see any relation at all. Care to point out doctor?

Added on March 5, 2009, 1:42 am
QUOTE(Cristiano-Ronaldo-7 @ Mar 5 2009, 12:47 AM)
well, it has come to a conclusion that it DOES vary differently. you guys argue all the time, non stop.

now wanna add some life into this medical thread. first up, how do you guys memorize parasitology. its getting quite weirdy with names.

and second up, KAPLAN books wont be any use for students not heading to America am i right?
Read it a few times, dun try to memorize by heart. Eventually it will be at your finger tips. smile.gif

This post has been edited by hypermax: Mar 5 2009, 01:42 AM
hypermax
post Mar 5 2009, 08:44 AM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Mar 5 2009, 07:30 AM)
Nothing to do with Malaysia? BTW, Malaysian student means a student coming from Malaysia, hence has to do with Malaysia. And do you need a new reading glasses again? Don't you not see people here talking about UK medical school? If yes, then that article is VERY relevant to those thinking of doing medicine there.

And secondly, I am certain the article is new and will benefit those thinking of UK. As a scientist yourself, you should know that this article is attempting to do it in a more scientific way through proper conducted studies. A well done study, I would say. There aren't many around that I know of. But then may be Malaysian trained scientist like yourself looks at tea leaf for information instead, I wouldn't know.

Added on March 5, 2009, 7:33 am

It is a GREAT help for those contemplating doing basic medicine degree in UK universities and undecided on which uni to choose.  You do know that there are  more to medicine than MRCP, right?
Perhaps you are the one who needs reading glasses eh? I never said the article is irrelevant, just that i dun get its relation to ADMISSION STANDARD OF MSIAN MEDICAL SCHOOLS. Someone here is trying to use your article as an excuse to bash local med schools again for reasons unknown.

QUOTE(hypermax @ Mar 5 2009, 01:26 AM)
I am not saying that the article isn't useful. What i dun get is why you relate it to the admission standard in Msia. I dun see any relation at all. Care to point out doctor?

Added on March 5, 2009, 1:42 am
Read it a few times, dun try to memorize by heart. Eventually it will be at your finger tips. smile.gif
Try to read all the subsequent posts and grasp the general idea before posting. doh.gif

This post has been edited by hypermax: Mar 5 2009, 08:50 AM
hypermax
post Mar 5 2009, 09:13 AM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Mar 5 2009, 09:04 AM)
that's how scientific evidence works......for most people at least.....

but for some.......will not accept.......

based on this warped logic, we will now have to say studies done in say, europe that drug x is useful for hypertension does NOT apply to msian patients, as it was done on european patients.........

all this just to suit an argumentative attitude......
Again, two different issues. Explain how is an article on MRCP performance of different UK med grads related to admission standard of medical schools in Msia.

Just admit it, you are unhappy about Msian medical schools as a whole, thus attacking them whenever you have a chance. thumbup.gif

Message i am trying to get across, dun be so judgmental.

This post has been edited by hypermax: Mar 5 2009, 09:16 AM
hypermax
post Mar 5 2009, 09:19 AM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Mar 5 2009, 09:16 AM)
same principles.......but this is an exercise in futility.....let readers judge for themselves......
Yeah, you have already offended many with your harsh comments. blink.gif

Eh, no need to work arr doctor? Or you already in the office and "stealing bone" now?

Added on March 5, 2009, 9:24 amBTW, dun you know that certain drugs have less efficacy on Asian like Levonorgestrel??

Also, dosage of drugs used is different for Europeans and asians, since most Europeans have bigger built.

This post has been edited by hypermax: Mar 5 2009, 09:27 AM
hypermax
post Mar 5 2009, 08:33 PM

2,524 posts

Your skull is getting thicker eh mr pharmacist? Still angry over the issue of dispensing right eh?? Haha.

The article memang has nothing to do with Msia medical schools. It's about the variation of quality of UK med schools. So technically, it has nothing to do with Malaysia (the country). I did not say it doesn't have nothing to do with Msian medical students, who might be entering the UK med schools.

Also, i was pointing out to limeuu that this article has nothing to do with the admission standard of med schools in msia, with the hope that he will stop picking on Msian med schools rolleyes.gif I did not say you shouldn't post that article here. doh.gif

Try to do a burr hole on your skull dude, since it is so damn thick.

Added on March 5, 2009, 9:27 pm
QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Mar 5 2009, 12:06 PM)
First you said this article has NOTHING to do with Malaysia, meaning it is "not useful".  When it was pointed out to you that Malaysian student in UK comes from Malaysia and not some place like Indonesia or Kathmandu, you changed your tune saying this article is now not entirely useless. Good that you see the logic now.

Then you have to spoil it by saying this thread is not about medical school in UK. May be you should re-read the title of this thread with new reading glasses. It says...

"CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS!, medical student chat+info center (Life Sciences)"

The keyword here is "ALL" meaning it is not confined to Malaysian medical school or Malaysian medical student in Malaysia. BTW, you do realize there are medical students in other countries beside Malaysia, don't you?
Since when did i say that?? Dun put words into my mouth. U really need a visual aid.

This post has been edited by hypermax: Mar 5 2009, 09:29 PM
hypermax
post Mar 5 2009, 11:46 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Mar 5 2009, 11:32 PM)
ALL medical Student = Malaysia medical student in Malaysia shocking.gif

I guess for some people, the world revolve around Malaysia. Perhaps the sun revolve around the earth  laugh.gif
Yeah, unlike someone here, who's a malaysian but now thinks that he's a british just because he's studying there. Also, the same fella claimed that all lives in msia are cheap just because pharmacists can't get sole dispensing right. drool.gif (I wonder whether his parents are in Msia or not biggrin.gif )

I guess for some, money is better than blood relationship.

This post has been edited by hypermax: Mar 5 2009, 11:54 PM

11 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0503sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:10 PM