11 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Life Sciences CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS!, medical student chat+info center

hypermax
post Aug 15 2008, 12:34 AM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(blackrobin @ Aug 15 2008, 12:16 AM)
Hypermax, MGH is the teaching hospital for MMMC, how is it possible that the MOs and specialists "look down" on the students wo..?
Hmm, not really in Melaka GH.
As i have told you, many specialists nowdays like students from our college, especially in Melaka GH, as many times we could answer their questions while the HOs or MOs cannot answer.
There are people, like the ones we have in the forum here, think greatly of themselves. Therefore, they look down upon the others to make themselves look good.

Personal experience, UM grads look down on UKM grads, then UKM look down on USM, and the chain/circle continues. Those who look down upon the others are usually MOs who are narrow minded.
This phenomenon is less with the specialists.

Generally, selection criteria are less stringent than the IPTA (for non bumis only. Selection criteria for bumis in IPTA is very shakehead.gif ) You have applied for IPTA so you should know better.

However, that doesn't mean that IPTS are bad. In fact, quality of IPTA is getting worse. I was told that once you secure a place in the IPTA, you will make it out somehow.

Due to the defective education system in Msia, students cannot compete on equal ground.

So dun worry, as long as you know your stuff, no one dare to look down on you.

QUOTE(limeuu @ Aug 15 2008, 12:31 AM)
if any med students gets in ANY med school satisfying these criteria, i have NO issues.....i know lots in 3rd world schools, including russia......

if you are someone who got ter 85 and your rich parents bought a place for you in an ipts or russia, or whatever.......i will tell you bluntly, you should NOT have been allowed to........the worst i have seen personally was someone with 3,6,7 in spm sciences who went to india.......i kid you not.....but i am told it gets worse in russia.....

please respect people's privacy.......
So have you encounter any story of buying places in MMMC or IMU? Pls share.

Respect privacy? As i have stated before, i wouldn't have known some fact about someone if he/she hasn't posted that particular fact here.
hypermax
post Aug 15 2008, 12:43 AM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(sjr @ Aug 15 2008, 12:34 AM)
yes..it is. but the hospital does not belong to our college...
actually, only few specialists or MOs look down on us...
interestingly, most of them who look down on us are those graduated from UM...
Eh, not really lar. Dr Nicholas from OnG was very nice what. biggrin.gif

Only those nerdy looking fellas who got scolded by specialists because they cannot answer the questions whichwe can. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by hypermax: Aug 15 2008, 12:44 AM
hypermax
post Aug 15 2008, 12:46 AM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(blackrobin @ Aug 15 2008, 12:44 AM)
gosh, they must have been living in their own tiny world all this while..
I don't care where they graduate from, it's a no-no for me to look down on ppl..
.and they are called doctors..
Welcome to the real world. There are many jackasses out there. We have quite a few in the forum.

Therefore, be strong and no one will dare to lay a finger on you.
hypermax
post Aug 15 2008, 12:50 AM

2,524 posts

Haha, some more very knowledgeable.

Oh, btw, i know of a MO who studied in India looks down upon both IPTA/IPTS graduates in UH. biggrin.gif This is life.

Not making this up. I can point out the doctor if you come to UH with me.

This post has been edited by hypermax: Aug 15 2008, 12:50 AM
hypermax
post Aug 15 2008, 12:55 AM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Aug 15 2008, 12:51 AM)
cut off in imu fluctuates between ter91-95 (and equivalents) in recent batches.....if one has been following my posts, one will know i have been very critical of imu too.....the saving grace is that they apply strict standards in assessments, and dare to fail people.......which is dictated by the requirements of the pms..... that weeds out the low ter's and those who play the fool.........i am not aware of any other ipts with a tough assessment policy.......

finally, almost all students in ipts 'bought' their place......on merit grounds, there are so many people with stpm who would eminently qualify, but have no money/scholarship........

in that sense i am against private medical education....while still cognizant of the fact that they provided a vent for what is happening in ipta......
Hmm, but that doesn't mean that IPTS cannot produce good doctors.

If no IPTS, then where should those potential students who fail to secure a place in IPTA due to unfair policies go?

This post has been edited by hypermax: Aug 15 2008, 12:55 AM
hypermax
post Aug 15 2008, 01:05 AM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Aug 15 2008, 12:59 AM)
sigh.......do you understand my last paragraph or not??

and what i said about no issues if the principles are met??
Opps, didn't read properly. Getting sleepy. tongue.gif

Anyway, this is the current situation in Msia which is unlikely to change for a long time.

yawn.gif yawn.gif
Time for bed. Wasted too much time in front of the comp de. biggrin.gif
hypermax
post Aug 15 2008, 01:08 AM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(munsheng @ Aug 15 2008, 01:07 AM)
i just got back from supper..
anw,
yeah..the previous should be closed...
full of crap in the thread.. tongue.gif  tongue.gif

opps, sorry, of course we are here to post our opinions... tongue.gif  tongue.gif
yup..thats true...
Woi, time for bed lar. Got posting tomorrow man. biggrin.gif
hypermax
post Aug 15 2008, 01:09 AM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(blackrobin @ Aug 15 2008, 01:08 AM)
recent years, more and more jpa scholars are matriculated into MMMC, now they make up three quarter of the students, Presumably, they are brilliant students, thus, competitive students can be expected.
I wonder what our dean did to secure JPA scholars. hmm.gif
hypermax
post Aug 15 2008, 01:25 AM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(csrulez @ Aug 15 2008, 01:18 AM)
AIMST is going to be a new medical university to receive JPA scholars too. We currently have a few in the latest foundation batch already.

Besides that, i heard that AIMST is going to be one of the choices of uni for medicine in the upcoming IPTA application form for stpm and matriks leaver. Due to the lack of seats for med in IPTA. It seems that the PM is going to announce it soon on the upcoming official opening on this Sunday. Lol. We'll see.

Anyhow, i was trying to say that 3rd world med schools aren't that bad at all. We still produce good doctors. But probably might lack in the consistency like what limeuu has said i guess. O.o
Btw, i heard that most medical sits are reserved for the Indians. Is that true?
hypermax
post Aug 15 2008, 01:39 AM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(csrulez @ Aug 15 2008, 01:30 AM)
Since it's a university founded by MIC, i would say that it might be true. Probably cos of the pathetic number of indian students admitted for medicine in IPTA which is a result of the quota which tends to side the bumis. Kind of sad isn't it? Nyways it's setted up to support the non-bumis at first.

Not too sure about it tho cos it has just recently promoted to a IPTA-like uni but the management will still run on it's own. What i'm glad to hear is that at least this new medical uni has got it's recognition in M'sia, at last. After 3 batches have graduated.
Well, i dislike policy which favours a particular race only. There should be fair competition for all.

Anyway, AIMST is a good uni. 2 of your seniors are working in MGH.

Btw, how long did you wait for the place in MBBS?
hypermax
post Aug 16 2008, 12:28 AM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(csrulez @ Aug 16 2008, 12:21 AM)
Hey munsheng and hypermax.

Seriously you guys have seen my seniors? We only had a chance to catch a glimpse of them graduating when we first entered, sadly. Haha. I was wondering how are AIMST housemens doing there at MGH? I was told that our students kind of lacked in clinical exposure such as clinical procedures. Is it true so?

They are our pioneer batch who works really really hard to help us obtain the 3 years recognition by MMC. Thanks to them really. wink.gif
Dr Kong who is currently working in surgical ward.
Not sure about how good he is.

If you want learn more about clinical skills, then better stay in the wards longer. My professor from UM told us that he used to stay in the ward till midnight.

"To study medicine without books is like sailing an uncharted sea. To study medicine without seeing patients is like not going to the sea at all." smile.gif

This post has been edited by hypermax: Aug 16 2008, 12:29 AM
hypermax
post Aug 16 2008, 01:17 AM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(csrulez @ Aug 16 2008, 12:42 AM)
Yup, very true saying indeed. That was what i was told by the MMC guys during their accredition tour to our university. The problem is some hospitals such as the Alor Setar General Hospital's policy does not really allowed medical students to do their procedures compared to UM, UKM and USM who has their own hospitals. That professor jokingly asked us to suggest to our Uni to build our own hospitals as they have not been such application sent to MMC before. LOL. We have a dental hospital here though, not the medical hosp.
In MGH, we are allowed to do many procedures, even delivery. But need to establish good rapport with the houseman and nurses lar.
In IMU, each student must perform 5 deliveries before graduate.

This post has been edited by hypermax: Aug 16 2008, 01:18 AM
hypermax
post Aug 16 2008, 10:39 AM

2,524 posts

eh, it's Dr King arr?? haha. tongue.gif
Oh ya, doctor Kong is the lenglui doctor from our college. drool.gif brows.gif

Added on August 16, 2008, 10:46 am
QUOTE(crusnik02 @ Aug 16 2008, 01:32 AM)
Ur in UKM which puts u under zone A. Supposedly dalam bandar, so living expenses high, so ur JPA lagi banyak. Here in Kuantan..a zone B area, we are assumed to have lower living expenses hence less scholarship. We also have to travel ALOT to and fro to HTAA which costs us soo much money every month for fuel. We have a crappy cafe that by the time we actually do get back from our 8-5 at the ward, the foods all cleared out. This forces us to eat outside which is sooo expensive cause in Kuantan its just the same if we makan nasi goreng and teh ais and a large Mc Donalds meal! We get more than 2k less than what u get and the standard of living here in Kuantan is almost the  same as KL..

I think its unfair that we get about the same as students from other courses cause unlike med students they dont have to travel to HTAA and they have holidays totalling to almost half a year when they can leech of their parents.

Added on August 16, 2008, 1:37 am

5 Deliveries??? OMG Lucky you man!! We at UIA have to do 15 before grad and we have to compete with nursing student midwives (NSM) who have to do 30 deliveries and u can rest assure that they wont give up a case to u that easily...many occasions med students end up crying cause they stay up one whole night waiting for the patient to begin second stage of labour only for the NSMs to snatch it from the student just when the head is about to come out. Seriously...the labour room drama in UIA beats the bold and the beautiful any day...
Wow, that's alot man. So you guys will be experts in obstetrics by the time you graduate. notworthy.gif
Btw, hate the smell of labour room (urine+faeces+blood+amniotic fluid) sweat.gif

This post has been edited by hypermax: Aug 16 2008, 10:46 AM
hypermax
post Aug 16 2008, 12:02 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(linkeong @ Aug 16 2008, 11:42 AM)
FYI, another university has submitted the application to build its own hospital and its already in building progress.
which Uni arr??
hypermax
post Aug 17 2008, 11:52 AM

2,524 posts

My friend in Aberdeen also complaint of the same issue, little chance to do procedures. Therefore, he's doing his elective in India soon. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by hypermax: Aug 17 2008, 11:59 AM
hypermax
post Aug 19 2008, 07:28 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(munsheng @ Aug 18 2008, 07:39 PM)
mims is not so good in my opinion..
Yeah, class notes are the best. biggrin.gif
hypermax
post Aug 20 2008, 12:09 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(csrulez @ Aug 20 2008, 12:48 AM)
In my uni, my lect says the notes is already sufficient to get 50%. Rest of it, will depends on our own Directed Self Learning (DSL). Mim's de book he said we can refer to for immunology and microbes. But still think dat CMMRS is the better one. Lol.
Surprisingly, the notes given in my college for microb is even enough for USMLE. But of course, to get distinction, one must always read other textbooks. smile.gif

However, in Clinical Years, the power point presentations by the lecturers are grossly insufficient, even to pass. Therefore, we are always munching on Davidson and Bailey & Love. cry.gif

This post has been edited by hypermax: Aug 20 2008, 12:11 PM
hypermax
post Sep 2 2008, 11:31 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(csrulez @ Sep 1 2008, 05:09 PM)
One must take MMed for surgery if he/she is interested to become a surgeon? And i heard from a doctor that a MRCP paper will cost 8000 and normally what they do is that they usually will have already prepared 16000 for the exam. So that when they fail the paper, they could take up for the second time. Max 3 tries.True?

Btw i dun quite understand the specialisation and sub-specialisation thingy. Does that mean dat if one wants to be a neuro surgeon, pedatric surgeon, orthopaedic surgeon etc, he/she must first take up General Surgery den sub-specialise in orthopaedics etc? Same applies to Physicians, they must first take up Internal Medicine then sub-specialise in for example endocrinology, urology, otolaryngology etc?
No, now MRCP has unlimited tries. They just want your money. It's a good business.

Added on September 2, 2008, 11:34 pm
QUOTE(limeuu @ Sep 1 2008, 05:57 PM)
british system: generalist specialist first before sub-specialisation.....

american (and oz): directly into a sub-specialisation.....

there are pros and cons in both system.....

mmed is the only pathway left for msian surgical training......the mrcs (which replaced the old 'frcs in general') is not recognised by msia........and the subspeciality frcs requires recognised training jobs, which most msians grads do not/cannot have.......

spore is a good option for surgical training, but many cannot work there, degree not recognised........
It's very hard to secure a surgical training post in singapore for non-PR, even if the degree is recognized.

This post has been edited by hypermax: Sep 2 2008, 11:34 PM
hypermax
post Sep 3 2008, 09:53 AM

2,524 posts

That's what i have heard from my friend's dad working in Singapore as a doctor. Even if you are a PR, priority will be given to citizen first.
I think the same goes for medical intake for NUS. My friend's brother (munsheng to be exact), was able to secure a place in Melb U but failed to do so in NUS.

This post has been edited by hypermax: Sep 3 2008, 09:57 AM
hypermax
post Sep 4 2008, 07:16 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(blackrobin @ Sep 4 2008, 01:59 PM)
lol? my post has gone missing...

raining gold in foreign land.. raining stone in homeland...
"stone" is not all bad
Most of us would still love to serve in malaysia .. don't you?
Yeah, home sweet home. Too bad our country is screwed up to the core.

QUOTE(linkeong @ Sep 4 2008, 02:27 PM)
Singapore has too many brilliant students. You cant expect them to accommodate all into NUS. I know a few people who are wanting to work in Singapore after graduating from OZ unis and IMU-PMS. In fact NHG is always having their forum at IMU for PMS students to ask questions etc.
QUOTE(limeuu @ Sep 4 2008, 02:34 PM)
asean scholarship does not guarantee one any course after a levels.......

spore likes to do social engineering........they will tell very bright students they cannot do medicine, and instead channel then to other areas, eg, finance, etc.......(i was 'engineered' into dentistry, which i rejected)

studying in oz does not mean one will stay on there.......there are many examples of graduates after oz, going elsewhere to work, including spore.......

case example of one cannot be extrapolated to apply to the many.......
Social engineering?? Wow, that's like communist man. biggrin.gif sweat.gif
I know many UK grads from Msia want to work in OZ, but seldom heard of them wanting to work in Singapore. Personal preference. Also, many of my friends from OZ said lifestyle in OZ is more relax. smile.gif
I myself like living in Singapore, but not working there. working environment is too stressful. However, this is only my opinion.

QUOTE(wgy589 @ Sep 4 2008, 05:42 PM)
i think u r too biased with ur bro's case, but rmbr, he's just an individual case onli, there r many other bright students who never got into NUS medicine, and reason being academics only accounts for 50% of total admission score, the rest depends on interviews, essays, and portfolio.

http://medicine.nus.edu.sg/corporate/app-m...missionfaq.html

It's very common for a country to lose their talents, and there's y spore are always tryin their best to retain the doctors, 1 way being to offer them wif postgrad training, get me?

Added on September 4, 2008, 6:04 pm

PR is offered to most foreigners studying in NUS, but few males took it bcos they have to serve NS, but not if they take it after Uni,  And if they r doin medic/dental, they would have to serve 5/6 yrs bond, so definitely will try to understand the system lor, somemore majority of them will stay there for postgrad and practice.
I actually heard people saying that most medical seats are reserved for citizens. Just like what limmeu said, they want their citizens to become doctors, so chances of loosing doctors are less.
The 5/6 yrs bond you mentioned is for postgrad or undergrad?

This post has been edited by hypermax: Sep 4 2008, 07:22 PM

11 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0235sec    0.21    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 03:01 AM