Life Sciences CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS!, medical student chat+info center
bios
Mar 24 2007, 12:38 AM

QUOTE(smartymh @ Mar 7 2007, 02:47 PM) I'm from IMU, partnered to Dundee,UK and now working in UK. Woohoo, after all these long years as medical STUD-ent. I need to clarify something first of all. You don't need to be genius to be a medical doctor. All you need is a good results from A-level, STPM or equivalent to qualify into a medical school. Once you qualify, all you need is brain cells to memorize all (not all, but MOST) of the medical facts that you will learn. Once you pass and grad as a doctor, all you need if to be street-smart i.e. be empathic, work hard and have a good clinical skills. As a doctor, you learn from working experience. So stop showing off by talking medical (trash) terms or conversing in medico-latin words. I hate some smart-alecs from year 1 or 2 who talk trash about anatomy and physiology which they just learn from few hours of lecture and not knowing how to apply it on human beings called patients. Therefore, if you don't like medicine don't 'try' it. Medicine is boring if you don't have the interest. With re: to studying in IMU, I can say I have no regrets. IMU life is one of my best part of my life. Ppl you met in IMU are awesome, and believe me IMU is just great. dear smartymh agreed fully on what you have said
Glyyde
Mar 24 2007, 03:22 AM
smartymh? MH? hey dude, didn't know u r on this forum  hows life? where u working now? Life in IMU is great... missing it everyday man.... but then, life as a doctor even better... well, not everyone think so but I do... reason being this is what I want to do which is why I would agree with heart is much more important than brain.... Do not be a doctor if u actually duwan to be one.... life is not good as a doctor if that is the case.... life is however, awesome if u really want to be one
mynewuser
Mar 24 2007, 10:27 AM
Hi, My I know at your school, how many % of bumi study STPM now.
limeuu
Mar 24 2007, 11:50 AM
not many bumis in form 6..............last choice lah...........those better ones already got scholarship to overseas................then those cannot get scholarships, go to matriculasi, or mara, then left those who will go to stpm........
Mar 24 2007, 03:04 PM
QUOTE(noorep @ Mar 4 2007, 11:51 AM) hi all medical students... pls help me to choose a suitable course... my father force me to apply any course that related to medical... i want to know what is the most medical course related to physic... only i know is radiography... are there any than radiography..?? i like physic subject very much... my father didn't give permission to take engineering because nowadays engineering is very hard to get job... pls help me.. and, is it dentistry easier than medical?? Engineering hard to get job? I dont think so, people nowadays always need engineer anywhere! If you want a medical course related to physics, I suggest you go Biomedical Engineering. It applied Bio and Mechanical knowledge to work in hospital or even industry. It is still a new and developing course that spreading to many countries now. As Malaysia now planning to advance Biotechnology in the future, here are the coming after opportunities.
pangping1510
Mar 25 2007, 02:52 PM
UNSW Med Student reporting in.
Great Uni offering the Best Med program i can say.
Email me for more details ONLY if you are interested in UNSW.
pangping1510athotmaildotcom
mini_me
Mar 30 2007, 07:53 AM

Yr 2 med student from Unimas (its in Kuching, btw!) Am i the only student from gov-u in LYN?
Peek-a-boo in my life: Its 7.52am and Im studying for my Prof 1 (now taking a break la). I do not wake up early, only sleep REALLY early.. Get my point?
hyperx
Mar 31 2007, 04:50 PM
QUOTE(mini_me @ Mar 30 2007, 07:53 AM) Yr 2 med student from Unimas (its in Kuching, btw!) Am i the only student from gov-u in LYN? Peek-a-boo in my life: Its 7.52am and Im studying for my Prof 1 (now taking a break la). I do not wake up early, only sleep REALLY early.. Get my point? hey, i've a friend from UNIMAS too. A girl who is doing her 2nd year (your batch right?) and another one is a guy doing 1st year Nop, you're not the only med student from gov-u in LYN  I'm from UM edited: your book, dont sell it lar, give it to your junior This post has been edited by hyperx: Mar 31 2007, 04:51 PM
mini_me
Mar 31 2007, 09:29 PM

QUOTE(hyperx @ Mar 31 2007, 04:50 PM) hey, i've a friend from UNIMAS too. A girl who is doing her 2nd year (your batch right?) and another one is a guy doing 1st year Nop, you're not the only med student from gov-u in LYN  I'm from UM edited: your book, dont sell it lar, give it to your junior  Oh really? Maybe i know her too!! Haha... Our batch little people ny.. Small community, get along easily... Aiseh, need to sell off to fund my other books  ... Afterall, jus trying my luck in LYN.. Who knows? maybe got ppl need this little baby ler?? Oh, a group of UM students came here to do Bakti Siswa (if not mistaken).. Were u one of them? And wanna ask, do u think Kamal's book cheaper or UM bookstore? Anyway, nice to meet u....
hyperx
Mar 31 2007, 09:34 PM
QUOTE(mini_me @ Mar 31 2007, 09:29 PM) Oh really? Maybe i know her too!! Haha... Our batch little people ny.. Small community, get along easily... Aiseh, need to sell off to fund my other books  ... Afterall, jus trying my luck in LYN.. Who knows? maybe got ppl need this little baby ler?? Oh, a group of UM students came here to do Bakti Siswa (if not mistaken).. Were u one of them? And wanna ask, do u think Kamal's book cheaper or UM bookstore? Anyway, nice to meet u....  that people doing bakti siswa is my seniors.. they all in phase 2B during that time Kamal's book is slightly cheaper compare to UM's pekan buku, but if u stays near to pj, i think its better if u get the books from pekan buku.. the price differ is not much, really
joylay83
Apr 3 2007, 09:39 PM
hi.. imu year 4 reporting. full course in msia.  mini_me, vk med book store in imu is the cheapest, because they bring in the book that imu students use in bulk. but their selection is very very limited. next is kamal, then UH bookstore. oni go UH when the book can't be found in VK or Kamal. noorep, don't do medical in your case lar. chances are you are going to waste your time and your dad's money. like the others say, no one will make it through if there is no interest. if your dad thinks that medical docs make a lot of money, he has gotten his facts wrong. and nope, dentistry and veterinary are harder then medicine.
klifex
Apr 5 2007, 04:52 AM
hyper...your senior is here... ..hahaha...
This post has been edited by klifex: Apr 5 2007, 05:12 AM
zamanjaafar
Apr 5 2007, 07:15 AM
hi, everyone! off to long case xm this morn
joylay83
Apr 5 2007, 01:06 PM
QUOTE(klifex @ Apr 5 2007, 04:52 AM) hyper...your senior is here... ..hahaha... haha... which uni? alumni?  QUOTE(zamanjaafar @ Apr 5 2007, 07:15 AM) hi, everyone! off to long case xm this morn should have finished by now.  hope u did well.. which uni?
smartymh
Apr 5 2007, 06:09 PM
Yo glyde, long time no hear dude.
I'm back here again after long break from LYN. Hoho.
Glad there r medics community in LYN. Do u guys play more games than studying?? hehe
Cristiano-Ronaldo-7
Apr 5 2007, 07:29 PM
wah really cant wait to me a meical student. currently doing a levels pre med in taylors. cant wait to join this thread hopefully in august or september next year. but yeah. give us some good insights!
hyperx
Apr 5 2007, 11:04 PM
QUOTE(klifex @ Apr 5 2007, 04:52 AM) hyper...your senior is here... ..hahaha... OMG my senior still student or working edi?  Added on April 6, 2007, 2:16 ameh, i'm just wondering, how deep is you guys in russia learn biochemistry? coz i heard from my friend's sis many years ago, she need to memorized a lot of things including some small2 chemical reactions like those in steroids hormone synthesis This post has been edited by hyperx: Apr 6 2007, 02:16 AM
klifex
Apr 8 2007, 04:53 AM
dun worry hyperx...there's no orientation here ...haha..no need to sweat that much. well, there's indeed a medical community here. so, need later we can open a new room for online medical consultation
feynman
Apr 8 2007, 06:17 AM
Johns Hopkins school of medicine.
TSlegstrong
Apr 11 2007, 02:24 AM
News flash- Melaka manipal latest batch is filled with scholars. only 40 private students out of 120. That's bad isn't it? That;s because Kasturba MC got filled up by private students that didnt make it the last batch.
It's great that so many ppl are interested in medicine. But somehow, i feel that it's becoming a business opportunity for some. I guess with the increasing amount of scholars , the harder it will become for others to enter the uni that you want. Seriously, i don't think there's any of you would like go all the way to egypt , indonesia etc , if you have the chance.
feynman- i hope you're joking
BTW- i have some used med books for sale indian editopn. It's cheaper here though. Anyone intrested? Anat, physio and biochem books. I also have tonnes of unused and super new USMLE based books on the same subject...thanks to my worried parents.
This post has been edited by legstrong: Apr 11 2007, 02:26 AM