Life Sciences CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS!, medical student chat+info center
Jan 15 2009, 09:35 PM
1,578 posts Joined: Aug 2007 From: Johor-Singapore |
Yay! Got a chance in IMU but if only I got the money...lol.
Jan 15 2009, 10:21 PM
2,524 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Beneath the starry night |
Well, i guess the best option for you now is to settle for AIMST, which is cheap and fully recognized here.
Jan 15 2009, 10:59 PM
12,291 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
he needs to go back to spore to work lah........he is singaporean.....
Jan 16 2009, 08:43 AM
Ya... maybe I could collect money in Singaporean and try eating my grandma food rather than eating out. My brother did the same thing but NSmen pay is only $500.
Is dentistry in IMU that high? I don't mind seeing crooked tooth and bad breath for the rest of my life.. |
Jan 16 2009, 02:06 PM
QUOTE(limeuu @ Jan 15 2009, 10:59 PM) Try to grasp the situation here. He has no money to study abroad and was born in the wrong country for admission to IPTAs, what other alternatives he has besides the previously mentioned "obtaining a recognized post grad" pathway? |
Jan 16 2009, 04:36 PM
759 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
QUOTE(hypermax @ Jan 16 2009, 02:06 PM) Try to grasp the situation here. He has no money to study abroad and was born in the wrong country for admission to IPTAs, what other alternatives he has besides the previously mentioned "obtaining a recognized post grad" pathway? nolar, he has been talking abt IMU, UM, UKM, so i dun think he is planning to work here. |
Jan 16 2009, 07:03 PM
QUOTE(wgy589 @ Jan 16 2009, 04:36 PM) So far this is what i understand from TS's posts:IMU: Its PMS option is too expensive for TS. UM and UKM: TS can't enter as he was born in the wrong country. Tell me what other choices he has besides the above mentioned "post-grad" path? Bear in mind that with a recognized post grad qualification, he can work in Singapore via conditional registration. This post has been edited by hypermax: Jan 16 2009, 07:06 PM |
Jan 16 2009, 07:44 PM
QUOTE(hypermax @ Jan 16 2009, 07:03 PM) So far this is what i understand from TS's posts: then it's really a matter of his priority. to work in spore, or become a doctor is more impt. but i guess he wants to work in spore more, since he mentioned IMU dental after u suggested the post grad pathway to him.IMU: Its PMS option is too expensive for TS. UM and UKM: TS can't enter as he was born in the wrong country. Tell me what other choices he has besides the above mentioned "post-grad" path? Bear in mind that with a recognized post grad qualification, he can work in Singapore via conditional registration. Added on January 16, 2009, 8:01 pmbtw, wat books in internal medicine would ur recommend for a beginner to clincals? talleys? macleod? oxford handbook? Davidsons? Kumar? medicine at a glance? ...... This post has been edited by wgy589: Jan 16 2009, 08:01 PM |
Jan 16 2009, 11:53 PM
QUOTE(wgy589 @ Jan 16 2009, 07:44 PM) then it's really a matter of his priority. to work in spore, or become a doctor is more impt. but i guess he wants to work in spore more, since he mentioned IMU dental after u suggested the post grad pathway to him. I am using macleod, but Talley is actually a better book. Added on January 16, 2009, 8:01 pmbtw, wat books in internal medicine would ur recommend for a beginner to clincals? talleys? macleod? oxford handbook? Davidsons? Kumar? medicine at a glance? ...... Use Davidsons for theory, many vivid diagrams and pictures which aid you in memorizing as well as understanding. Kumar focuses too much on pathophysiology and less on management. Just my 2 cents. You should read according to your Uni's recommended list. |
Jan 17 2009, 12:31 AM
2,527 posts Joined: Feb 2007 From: Im a Medical Officer in /K. I'm here to lepak. |
what kumar book? that 'Pathological Basis of Diseases' book is it?
Thats a good book, if you can handle the ridiculously deep content. It doubles as a door stop, if you wish. You can seriously injure a person with it. by the way, for clinical examination books: MacLeod's and Hutchinson's are the two books that I used. I think somehow, Indian med colleges use similar books throughout the country. I dont know about other countries though. |
Jan 17 2009, 12:59 AM
QUOTE(CyberSetan @ Jan 17 2009, 12:31 AM) what kumar book? that 'Pathological Basis of Diseases' book is it? Kumar and Clark clinical medicine, not the pathological basis.Thats a good book, if you can handle the ridiculously deep content. It doubles as a door stop, if you wish. You can seriously injure a person with it. by the way, for clinical examination books: MacLeod's and Hutchinson's are the two books that I used. I think somehow, Indian med colleges use similar books throughout the country. I dont know about other countries though. Hutchinson in my opinion is too long winded. Not really suitable especially for short case examination. |
Jan 17 2009, 08:17 AM
QUOTE(hypermax @ Jan 16 2009, 11:53 PM) I am using macleod, but Talley is actually a better book. ya, i also heard talley is better, but it's too wordy compared to macleod, mabbe i'll try out at the library 1st b4 deciding on which to use. thx Use Davidsons for theory, many vivid diagrams and pictures which aid you in memorizing as well as understanding. Kumar focuses too much on pathophysiology and less on management. Just my 2 cents. You should read according to your Uni's recommended list. Added on January 17, 2009, 8:24 am QUOTE(CyberSetan @ Jan 17 2009, 12:31 AM) what kumar book? that 'Pathological Basis of Diseases' book is it? 'Pathological Basis of Diseases" is more commonly called robbins i guess (papa robbins in my medskol). but i think robbins basic pathology (called as mama robbins) is quite adequate already.Thats a good book, if you can handle the ridiculously deep content. It doubles as a door stop, if you wish. You can seriously injure a person with it. by the way, for clinical examination books: MacLeod's and Hutchinson's are the two books that I used. I think somehow, Indian med colleges use similar books throughout the country. I dont know about other countries though. This post has been edited by wgy589: Jan 17 2009, 08:24 AM |
Jan 17 2009, 10:21 AM
582 posts Joined: Dec 2008 From: everywhere |
QUOTE(limeuu @ Aug 15 2008, 12:58 AM) i think we should let the manipal thread die, so i am transferring this info on the best practice principles for medical school student selection here..... thats true...(final selection should be done based on applitude, attitude, interest, compassion and other attributes.) this will definitely ensure the student selected are really fit to enter the med school!!!!!!(Selection of medical students should firstly be based on academic merit.Money should NOT be a factor in the selection process. The practice of buying places is bad).....be fair to the qualified student but not give priority to the rich but who are not fit to it!!!(3rd world schools suffer from selection and training (mostly assessment) issues, resulting in inconsistent quality of students and graduates.)this is another fact inconsistent in student selection really make this profession terrible....some stupid fellow even worse than a nurse and paramedic...actually a well trained doctor should be confident,skillful and calm...but what i have observe just opposite on it especially in public rural hospital or clinic...just a small wound cnt also manage it well..untill the villages dissapointed on them...i was the victim....."Doctor" holy title but use it on stupid incompetent fellow really hell!!!!!!!these all are due to the idiot selection system!!!!=============== 1. Selection of medical students should firstly be based on academic merit. There are more than adequate number of potential candidates with interest and passion in the profession from a group of top 5% students in any cohort. (in msia, that is 10,000+ students) 2. From this group, final selection should be done based on applitude, attitude, interest, compassion and other attributes. 3. money should NOT be a factor in the selection process. The practice of buying places is bad. 4. developed countries are consistent in their selection and training process, based on 1, 2 and 3. and thus has the best record of consistent, quality med education.... 5. ipta/ipts and many (not all) 3rd world schools suffer from selection and training (mostly assessment) issues, resulting in inconsistent quality of students and graduates. 6. Exceptions occur, but cannot be used as justification for allowing poorly qualified students to 'try' medical education. . This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Jan 17 2009, 10:47 AM |
Jan 17 2009, 10:59 AM
2,527 posts Joined: Feb 2007 From: Im a Medical Officer in /K. I'm here to lepak. |
I'm rather curious.
Does anyone else uses K.D Tripathi's Essentials of Medical Pharmacology and S.Das Concise textbook of surgery in their skools? |
Jan 17 2009, 11:57 AM
QUOTE(wgy589 @ Jan 16 2009, 07:44 PM) then it's really a matter of his priority. to work in spore, or become a doctor is more impt. but i guess he wants to work in spore more, since he mentioned IMU dental after u suggested the post grad pathway to him. Actually I put becoming doctor as priority despite wanted to be able to live close by with my family in Singapore. Anyway, I don't have high hopes on my STPM so I just waiting to finish up NS and maybe think about other thing first.Added on January 16, 2009, 8:01 pmbtw, wat books in internal medicine would ur recommend for a beginner to clincals? talleys? macleod? oxford handbook? Davidsons? Kumar? medicine at a glance? ...... |
Jan 17 2009, 12:37 PM
QUOTE(CyberSetan @ Jan 17 2009, 10:59 AM) I'm rather curious. noDoes anyone else uses K.D Tripathi's Essentials of Medical Pharmacology and S.Das Concise textbook of surgery in their skools? btw just for reference, here are the books used in NUS http://www.medicus.tk/ This post has been edited by wgy589: Jan 17 2009, 12:43 PM |
Jan 17 2009, 03:36 PM
QUOTE(CyberSetan @ Jan 17 2009, 10:59 AM) I'm rather curious. I think only Indian schools using those books. To be honest, those are the only good indian books.Does anyone else uses K.D Tripathi's Essentials of Medical Pharmacology and S.Das Concise textbook of surgery in their skools? This post has been edited by hypermax: Jan 20 2009, 06:37 PM |
Jan 20 2009, 06:38 PM
I have been wondering for some time:
With so many medical schools in Msia, will there eventually be a Licensing exam for all medical graduates? |
Jan 20 2009, 06:51 PM
12,291 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
like what they do to lawyers......the clp..........
local grads no need to sit........foreign grades all must sit unless admitted to recognised bars elsewhere......... worst case scenario.......but unlikely to happen..........politically suicide....... |
Jan 20 2009, 06:54 PM
QUOTE(limeuu @ Jan 20 2009, 06:51 PM) like what they do to lawyers......the clp.......... The problem now is not with influx of foreign grads, but newly built IPTS local grads no need to sit........foreign grades all must sit unless admitted to recognised bars elsewhere......... worst case scenario.......but unlikely to happen..........politically suicide....... |
| Change to: | 0.0277sec
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 02:49 AM |