131 Pages « < 104 105 106 107 108 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Notebook Recommendation Thread v.29

hsunl
post Oct 9 2017, 06:31 AM

146 posts

QUOTE(hassle_horf @ Oct 8 2017, 09:44 PM)
From what i see, you're looking for a light laptop. What about Surface? Abit pricey, but i am loving mine. either that or even the Acer Switch, HP Specter or ASUS Vivobook will be good.
Go to a shop and check out which one you like the most?
Thanks for ur recommendation. Surface ? I never thought of it before. Too expensive for me. It's good n famous but too expensive and its screen too small. Or maybe they have 15 inch lately but I never noticed. For sure very exp if any. Anyway thanks to u.

This post has been edited by hsunl: Oct 9 2017, 06:32 AM
Vintage
post Oct 9 2017, 01:33 PM

229 posts

Hi Laptop Sifus,

I am in need of a new laptop (currently using a Lenovo Y410P).

1. Preferred brand : Indifferent with brand but my past laptops were Lenovo, Dell, Toshiba and Compaq and I have no issues with any of them
2. Budget : Less than RM4,000
3. Usage : Gaming and video/photo editing. I do not need high end specs and as long as I can run games released from the past 2-3 years in medium settings, I am very content.
4. Screen Size : 15 inches and smaller are ideal resolution sizes

Another preference but not a deal breaker is it would be great if the laptop doesn't have a number pad. I prefer the qwerty keyboard to stretch to the width of the laptop.

My girlfriend also told me her colleague got a Dell Inspiron 15 7000 (i5 processor and 128gb ssd) for ~RM3,600. Wonder if it's a good deal?

Looking forward to y'all recommendations.
shirogawawa
post Oct 9 2017, 02:28 PM

Laptop enthusiast
2,383 posts

QUOTE(Vintage @ Oct 9 2017, 01:33 PM)
Hi Laptop Sifus,

I am in need of a new laptop (currently using a Lenovo Y410P).

1. Preferred brand : Indifferent with brand but my past laptops were Lenovo, Dell, Toshiba and Compaq and I have no issues with any of them
2. Budget : Less than RM4,000
3. Usage : Gaming and video/photo editing. I do not need high end specs and as long as I can run games released from the past 2-3 years in medium settings, I am very content.
4. Screen Size : 15 inches and smaller are ideal resolution sizes

Another preference but not a deal breaker is it would be great if the laptop doesn't have a number pad. I prefer the qwerty keyboard to stretch to the width of the laptop.

My girlfriend also told me her colleague got a Dell Inspiron 15 7000 (i5 processor and 128gb ssd) for ~RM3,600. Wonder if it's a good deal?

Looking forward to y'all recommendations.
7567-30414G-W10

i5-7300
4GB D4
1TB
NV GTX1050 4GB
15.6"FHD
W10

this ?
AcerMalaysia
post Oct 10 2017, 04:55 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(hsunl @ Oct 8 2017, 05:40 PM)
By the way why Malaysia Swift 3 15.6 inch only Intel hd graphics Card?
Hey hello, hsunl! The Acer Swift 3 with updated specs is launching soon! Please stay tuned to our Facebook page for updates. Thank you!

This post has been edited by AcerMalaysia: Oct 10 2017, 04:58 PM
syNzoR
post Oct 10 2017, 06:10 PM

369 posts

1. Preferred brand : None
2. Budget : Under RM 3k
3. Usage : Everyday office work, Video editing and Adobe cs
4. Screen Size : Over 14

2. Budget : Under RM 800-1.2k
3. Usage : Everyday office work
5. i3 processor
greychocobo
post Oct 11 2017, 01:47 PM

80 posts

Can someone shed some light for me to which laptop i should choose? Im currently deciding between:

(1) Brand new import set alienware 15 specs as below:
15" , i7 7700, 1060 6gb, 1tb hdd no ssd

or

(2) 3 months old alienware 15 specs:
15" , i5 7 series, 1060 6gb , 1tb hdd 120gb ssd, local set

i5 7 series and i7 7 series big difference in performance? price difference is around 700 cheaper for used set. which one should i get?

This post has been edited by greychocobo: Oct 11 2017, 01:49 PM
myway1985
post Oct 11 2017, 01:56 PM

12,089 posts

QUOTE(greychocobo @ Oct 11 2017, 01:47 PM)
Can someone shed some light for me to which laptop i should choose? Im currently deciding between:

(1) Brand new import set alienware 15 specs as below:
15" , i7 7700, 1060 6gb, 1tb hdd no ssd

or

(2) 3 months old alienware 15 specs:
15" , i5 7 series, 1060 6gb , 1tb hdd 120gb ssd, local set

i5 7 series and i7 7 series big difference in performance? price difference is around 700 cheaper for used set. which one should i get?
there is no brand new import set.. dun kena fool... n the local set i doubt.. coz dun hv tat confi.. how much ur budget

shirogawawa
post Oct 12 2017, 12:53 PM

Laptop enthusiast
2,383 posts

QUOTE(syNzoR @ Oct 10 2017, 06:10 PM)
2. Budget : Under RM 3k
3. Usage : Everyday office work, Video editing and Adobe cs

2. Budget : Under RM 800-1.2k
3. Usage : Everyday office work
5. i3 processor
too bad now aday even rm 1.2k cant get a i3 processor laptop ( new ), max those amd or duo core processor only
Artemon Bruno
post Oct 12 2017, 02:34 PM

From gaming experience, I assume certain budget only afford limited attributes point, and its up to me choose the spread of attributes point among the kiviat diagram of the laptop. So, I like to know if my laptop specification exist in reality, and what's the compromise (if any) for that (/those) priced suggestion(s).
In short:
-budgeted RM2,000 (and below)
-reliable laptop (not wear out too fast)
-capable of smooth multitasking (2 tasks or more).
In length:
Size: medium and above (comfort viewing)
OS: windowed (any average window surviving current tech performance standards)
Usage:
-Smooth 2 multitasking and above (eg. 1 browser/media player + MsOffice; or 2 MsOffice same time, etc)
-Smooth low end gaming (if Minecraft, Terraria, etc with lowest settings counted as low end)
-Sustain (heat concern, etc ) above average usage time (actually considered heavy usage time reaching 10 hours + during weekends)

Extra (if my specification satisfied too easily):
-intel based maybe?
-4GB RAM maybe? (optimal match to cpu abilities?)
-SSD storage maybe?
-priorities order maybe: lenovo>dell>asus>toshiba... ... (if my brand conception not wrong, slightly dislike acer)
*remaining specs like camera, resolution, styles, etc not so critical

@myway1985 myway1985 Thanks for the suggestion notworthy.gif . (I'm not a very techie guy) So mentioning Asus AMD A9 at the salesman (hopefully lucky to get a knowledgeable one) should be able to get me the right recommendations (affordable laptop that really can run smoothly), right blush.gif ? (among all those funny model alphanumerics choices rclxub.gif )

This post has been edited by Artemon Bruno: Oct 13 2017, 09:54 AM
myway1985
post Oct 12 2017, 06:01 PM

12,089 posts

QUOTE(Artemon Bruno @ Oct 12 2017, 02:34 PM)
From gaming experience, I assume certain budget only afford limited attributes point, and its up to me choose the spread of attributes point among the kiviat diagram of the laptop. So, I like to know if my laptop specification exist in reality, and what's the compromise (if any) for that (/those) priced suggestion(s).
In short:
-budgeted RM2,000 (and below)
-reliable laptop (not wear out too fast)
-capable of smooth multitasking (2 tasks or more).
In length:
Size: medium and above (comfort viewing)
OS: windowed (any average window surviving current tech performance standards)
Usage:
-Smooth 2 multitasking and above (eg. 1 browser/media player + MsOffice; or 2 MsOffice same time, etc)
-Smooth low end gaming (if Minecraft, Terraria, etc with lowest settings counted as low end)
-Sustain (heat concern, etc ) above average usage time (actually considered heavy usage time reaching 10 hours + during weekends)

Extra (if my specification satisfied too easily):
-intel based maybe?
-4GB RAM maybe? (optimal match to cpu abilities?)
-SSD storage maybe?
-priorities order maybe: lenovo>dell>asus>toshiba... ... (if my brand conception not wrong, slightly dislike acer)
*remaining specs like camera, resolution, styles, etc not so critical
low end better u get amd a9 asus... intel celeron cant fight amd a9
freddie
post Oct 13 2017, 02:29 AM

2,646 posts

Hi I am looking for a good piece of i5 laptop with 4gb ram + 1tb hdd + 14" FHD display.

another question... i will soon be relocate to taipei. is it cheaper to buy the laptop in taiwan or here in malaysia?

thanks.
myway1985
post Oct 13 2017, 08:06 AM

12,089 posts

QUOTE(freddie @ Oct 13 2017, 02:29 AM)
Hi I am looking for a good piece of i5 laptop with 4gb ram + 1tb hdd + 14" FHD display.

another question... i will soon be relocate to taipei. is it cheaper to buy the laptop in taiwan or here in malaysia?

thanks.
buy there...
nuvi
post Oct 13 2017, 08:21 AM

27,883 posts

QUOTE(freddie @ Oct 13 2017, 02:29 AM)

thanks.
For any warranty purpose better buy there since you going to relocate soon.
zero2038
post Oct 13 2017, 10:32 AM

15 posts

2. Budget : 2k-2.3k max
3. Usage : light multitask (multi tab browser, excel, paperwork, etc.)
4. Screen Size : 13'' - 14''
5. Prefer portable and light as always on the go
shirogawawa
post Oct 13 2017, 11:28 AM

Laptop enthusiast
2,383 posts

QUOTE(zero2038 @ Oct 13 2017, 10:32 AM)
2. Budget : 2k-2.3k max
3. Usage : light multitask (multi tab browser, excel, paperwork, etc.)
4. Screen Size : 13'' - 14''
5. Prefer portable and light as always on the go
lenovo 320s
SUSLumiaaa
post Oct 15 2017, 12:41 AM

172 posts

1. Preferred brand : any latest model
2. Budget : around rm 2.8k or RM3000
3. Usage : photo editing and video editing. Adobe premiere Pro and lightroom.
4. Screen Size : any, prefer full hd would be a plus, portability

No gaming just good processor and 8gb ram

This post has been edited by Lumiaaa: Oct 15 2017, 01:09 AM
mafioso
post Oct 15 2017, 10:35 PM

6,155 posts

1. Preferred brand : Dell/Alienware (but any reputable one is fine as well for its quality) No mac though as its a windows working environment nod.gif

2. Budget : 5k to 5.5k +/i (below 5.6k)

3. Usage : Programming, VR Rendering, Graphics Rendering, Graphic design, maybe minimal animation, etc

4. Screen Size : 15" at least (due to programming, VR rendering, etc)
DS_Legacy
post Oct 16 2017, 12:22 AM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(mafioso @ Oct 15 2017, 10:35 PM)
1. Preferred brand : Dell/Alienware (but any reputable one is fine as well for its quality) No mac though as its a windows working environment nod.gif

2. Budget : 5k to 5.5k +/i (below 5.6k)

3. Usage : Programming, VR Rendering, Graphics Rendering, Graphic design, maybe minimal animation, etc

4. Screen Size : 15" at least (due to programming, VR rendering, etc)
I'm not sure whether you can still get an alienware with your budget laugh.gif

Maybe previous version of XPS 15 may suit your need. But have to find lo biggrin.gif
mafioso
post Oct 16 2017, 12:28 AM

6,155 posts

QUOTE(DS_Legacy @ Oct 16 2017, 12:22 AM)
I'm not sure whether you can still get an alienware with your budget laugh.gif

Maybe previous version of XPS 15 may suit your need. But have to find lo biggrin.gif
i was surveying this

do you think its worth it?

seems to fit the purpose though

http://www.dell.com/my/p/inspiron-15-7577-...-15-7577-laptop
DS_Legacy
post Oct 16 2017, 12:47 AM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(mafioso @ Oct 16 2017, 12:28 AM)
i was surveying this

do you think its worth it?

seems to fit the purpose though

http://www.dell.com/my/p/inspiron-15-7577-...-15-7577-laptop
I think I can safely say this is one of the best mid range gaming laptops. But I do read about the fan noise issue. Macam behaving noisier than the other Max-Q laptops.

Maybe future dell updates would solve the issue.

Otherwise, this is a good choice for the purpose.

131 Pages « < 104 105 106 107 108 > » Top

0.0314sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 09:04 AM