296 Pages « < 177 178 179 180 181 > » Bottom

Credit Cards Recommendation for Credit Cards V4, Please post according to Format stated

Thebestscammer
post Jan 17 2020, 10:27 AM

225 posts

1. Annual Income: RM34K

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Prefer no annual fee but also open to others that are low fee

3. Card required for: Best CC for online shopping and general eating spendings

4. Existing credit cards (if any): none

5. Interested in CC from: any

6. Others: Trying to focus on cash back or airmiles but i want star alliance airmiles tho. cash back if its 1-3% would be nice. anything lower than 1% just forget it.
ngaisteve1
post Jan 19 2020, 06:29 PM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

Looking for credit card which gives good cash rebate for utility like TNB since my Amex no more rebate already for TNB sweat.gif ranting.gif

This post has been edited by ngaisteve1: Jan 19 2020, 06:32 PM
rockmaniac85
post Jan 19 2020, 10:31 PM

453 posts

. Annual Income: RM48k

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Prefer free or got waiver (citibank got 3 years free. can I just cancel after the 3 years?)

3. Card required for: Tesco, Tng Ewallet, shopee, and I want buy rm2k++ computer and rm1k mobile phone.

5. Interested in CC from: Citibank seems got good sign up bonus with rm288 tng. Other than that im open, since im quite new. Im quite good in managing expenses I guess

6. Others: im married and with one small kid. Most of my monthly go to rent and utilities + online shopping in shopee and tesco.
Harfan
post Jan 22 2020, 11:42 AM

207 posts

1. Annual Income: RM50K

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Not necessarily but al least need fee waived during first year.

3. Card required for: Overseas Transactions, Lounge Access, Reward Points (for airmiles claim or voucher claim)

4. Existing credit cards (if any): Maybank 2 Card Gold, PB Quantum (applied, pending confirmation)

5. Interested in CC from: Any bank

6. Others: I will be traveling to Europe in May for work purposes. Travel duration is around 26 days. I'm planning on using CC for most of my transactions (transportation, meals, groceries) there as I will be able to claim afterwards. So, I'm looking for a CC which gives a great points for overseas spending and basically, the best CC to take advantage of the opportunity. Thank you!
laymank
post Jan 22 2020, 01:13 PM

4,217 posts

QUOTE(prescott2006 @ Jan 14 2020, 04:24 PM)
1. Annual Income: More than 100k

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Cincai

3. Card required for: Monthly subscription for internet services such as iCloud, YouTube Premium

4. Existing credit cards (if any):

6. Others:
PBB VS Signature + Quantum Mastercard

QUOTE(Thebestscammer @ Jan 17 2020, 10:27 AM)
1. Annual Income: RM34K

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Prefer no annual fee but also open to others that are low fee

3. Card required for: Best CC for online shopping and general eating spendings

6. Others: Trying to focus on cash back or airmiles but i want star alliance airmiles tho. cash back if its 1-3% would be nice. anything lower than 1% just forget it.
PBB Quantum Mastercard

QUOTE(rockmaniac85 @ Jan 19 2020, 10:31 PM)
. Annual Income: RM48k

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Prefer free or got waiver (citibank got 3 years free. can I just cancel after the 3 years?)

3. Card required for: Tesco, Tng Ewallet, shopee, and I want buy rm2k++ computer and rm1k mobile phone.

5. Interested in CC from: Citibank seems got good sign up bonus with rm288 tng. Other than that im open, since im quite new. Im quite good in managing expenses I guess

6. Others: im married and with one small kid. Most of my monthly go to rent and utilities + online shopping in shopee and tesco.
PBB Quantum Mastercard
Ambank True (check out Ambank card promo now with RM500 cashback)

Since you said you are good in managing expenses, then add on BigPay card to work with,
- SCB Cashback Mastercard
- SCB Just One Platinum

Gaza
post Jan 23 2020, 05:09 PM

474 posts

Hi pls advise - i have tried to apply for a few credit card every 3-4 months over the past 2 years but failed. Have applied for Maybank, RHB, UOB, HSBC, Citi, Aeon Credit. Sales agent said maybe commitment too high. Have 1 housing loan own name, and 1 more joint housing loan (but serviced in full by joint loan applicant) and 1 ASB loan. I checked CTOS my credit score is 692/850. I currently have a HL credit card which i pay in full every month - the limit is RM5k and applied to increase it before but not successful. Monthly spend around RM3k-5k so quite leceh sometimes midway through the month i have to settle my unbilled outstanding first then only can continue using the card. I also have a maybank supplementary card but i dont use unless for emergencies.

1. Annual Income: RM120k (basic) or RM180k (including bonuses)

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Preferable but not necessary

3. Card required for: RM2-3k online (grab, foodpanda, shopee/lazada, netflix), RM1.5k bills (utilities, unifi, insurance), RM1k retail & f&b

4. Existing credit cards (if any): HL (main), Maybank (supplementary)

5. Interested in CC from: Any

6. Others:
laymank
post Jan 24 2020, 07:57 AM

4,217 posts

QUOTE(Gaza @ Jan 23 2020, 05:09 PM)
Hi pls advise - i have tried to apply for a few credit card every 3-4 months over the past 2 years but failed. Have applied for Maybank, RHB, UOB, HSBC, Citi, Aeon Credit. Sales agent said maybe commitment too high. Have 1 housing loan own name, and 1 more joint housing loan (but serviced in full by joint loan applicant) and 1 ASB loan. I checked CTOS my credit score is 692/850. I currently have a HL credit card which i pay in full every month - the limit is RM5k and applied to increase it before but not successful. Monthly spend around RM3k-5k so quite leceh sometimes midway through the month i have to settle my unbilled outstanding first then only can continue using the card. I also have a maybank supplementary card but i dont use unless for emergencies.

1. Annual Income: RM120k (basic) or RM180k (including bonuses)

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Preferable but not necessary

3. Card required for: RM2-3k online (grab, foodpanda, shopee/lazada, netflix), RM1.5k bills (utilities, unifi, insurance), RM1k retail & f&b

4. Existing credit cards (if any): HL (main), Maybank (supplementary)

5. Interested in CC from: Any

6. Others:
It does sound like you have high commitment amounts due to loan.
Why don't you apply credit card from the bank you have loan with? If that still fails, try to pledge FD with an equivalent amount to the credit limit you need.
sg999
post Jan 24 2020, 12:57 PM

1,027 posts

Hi, pls advised payment for MPSJ. cukai taksiran.
AMEX seem no 5% rebate for this category.

chesterst
post Jan 25 2020, 01:21 PM

212 posts

1. Annual Income: 300k

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Not necessary

3. Card required for: Mostly purchase of flight tickets + hotel stays

4. Existing credit cards (if any): MBB Maybankard 2 Premier and AMEX Platinum Metal Charge Card

5. Interested in CC from: Any including from Premier / Priority Banking

6. Others: Looking for card with excellent points to frequent fliers miles redemption ratio. Not keen on CIMB Enrich as it restricts only to one frequent flier currency. Prefer those that can convert to Enrich / Krisflyer / Asiamiles mainly. If can convert to others is bonus.

Harvelicious
post Jan 26 2020, 12:43 PM

41 posts

Been away from Malaysia for 8 years. Recently returned and got a job

Annual Income: 55k - 60k

Free LT membership fee: preferably but if benefits provided can outweigh the membership fee I am willing to pay for it.

Card usage: petrol, utilities, dining, foreign travel (job sometimes has me flying to other countries )

Existing credit card:

all US based credit card (chase CSR, freedom, freedom unlimited, discover X 2, HSBC credit card, amex gold charge card, Charles Schwab amex platinum)

Malaysia: NIL

Others: I left the country very young without even opening a bank account so I would have to start from scratch. I recently opened a bank account and would like to open a general credit card since I don't want to keep using my US cards. Listed above are wait I aim to use the cards for.

Thanks for any info provided.
cr7jyej
post Jan 26 2020, 11:16 PM

233 posts

1. Annual Income: 36k

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: preferably or can be waived. Otherwise don't mind if below 150.

3. Card required for: Petrol, Groceries, E-wallet top-up ( TnG, Boost, Grab, BigPay, etc), Online (utility bills, online shopping etc), Cash back

4. Existing credit cards (if any): Nil.

5. Interested in CC from: Open to any but preferably from CIMB or HLB. Currently interested in HLB Wise Card, looks good on paper, any comments/review on this card?

6. Others: 1st cc. will be getting a car in a few months
charlesj
post Jan 29 2020, 10:44 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(Harvelicious @ Jan 26 2020, 12:43 PM)
Been away from Malaysia for 8 years. Recently returned and got a job

Annual Income: 55k - 60k

Free LT membership fee: preferably but if benefits provided can outweigh the membership fee I am willing to pay for it.

Card usage: petrol, utilities, dining, foreign travel (job sometimes has me flying to other countries )

Existing credit card:

all US based credit card (chase CSR, freedom, freedom unlimited, discover X 2, HSBC credit card, amex gold charge card, Charles Schwab amex platinum)

Malaysia: NIL

Others: I left the country very young without even opening a bank account so I would have to start from scratch. I recently opened a bank account and would like to open a general credit card since I don't want to keep using my US cards. Listed above are wait I aim to use the cards for.

Thanks for any info provided.
Since no one is replying, I will try to give a few suggestions.
I believe you are relatively expert based on your US CC you owned.
The most important thing is to get your first Msia CC.
Here are a few suggestions:

1. Apply from your salary bank, usually easiest to get.
2. Pledge FD to get CC.
3. If you bring home sufficient fund from US, try looking into priority banking, usually easier to get priority CC.
4. If you have US HSBC account, you may utilize their international relationship.
5. Try convert US Amex Gold to Msia Amex.

juiceaddicted
post Jan 30 2020, 10:51 AM

81 posts

Looks for reccomendation

1. Annual Income: RM36K

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Depends

3. Card required for: Cashback (Most of my spending on Petrol & TNG ewallet and some dining and online shopping)
Average monthly spending about 1500MYR

4. Existing credit cards (if any): Citibank Clear Card

5. Interested in CC from: Any bank provide goof offer.

Any agent provide any good offer or free gift can also pm me or whatapps me for faster response @ 016-63one22 nine8

This post has been edited by juiceaddicted: Jan 30 2020, 11:08 AM
Harvelicious
post Jan 30 2020, 09:36 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(charlesj @ Jan 29 2020, 10:44 PM)
Since no one is replying, I will try to give a few suggestions.
I believe you are relatively expert based on your US CC you owned.
The most important thing is to get your first Msia CC.
Here are a few suggestions:

1. Apply from your salary bank, usually easiest to get.
2. Pledge FD to get CC.
3. If you bring home sufficient fund from US, try looking into priority banking, usually easier to get priority CC.
4. If you have US HSBC account, you may utilize their international relationship.
5. Try convert US Amex Gold to Msia Amex.
Thanks for your reply and if you have any good recommendation please let me know.

I am trying to get HSBC to give me a CC (HSBC visa signature & HSBC Premier World MasterCard) but I will see if I'm approved. I haven't been working long enough to provide EPF and pay slip. I have a relationship manager for HSBC but again I tried applying and hopefully they'll approve me. It's hard to keep swiping my US card or paying cash...

I will keep my US funds out of the country due to superior customer service and friendly user interface provided by Schwab. A good chunk of the money is also invested so better if I don't cash out. I cannot rave enough about Schwab sadly they close down their SG branch or else I wouldn't be in this dilemma.

As for Amex Malaysia and amex US are two different entities so I'm basically nothing to them in Malaysia but a valued customer in US. I will be concealing the AMEX soon since it has an AF and I can't downgrade it to a no AF card (I believe).

I am looking for a replacement for my CSR which is the perfect card IMO if possible. CSR main highlight for me was 3x points for travel and dining and the priority pass membership despite having a $450 AF. The $450 includes $300 Uber credit which makes the AF $150. My job requires a good amount of travel so I get to use the lounge at least 6 times a year. I also get to claim the Uber fares so I'm essentially paid to use the card. If anyone knows of a Malaysian credit card providing similar benefit I am all ears.

Currently I see a bunch of premium credit card but it requires at least 10k a month pay which is not what I make. I could only find the two HSBC card above that somewhat fulfills my criteria and I am somewhat qualified for it but it only provide lounge access in SG,MYS, HK

Sorry for the long reply.
QuekZai
post Jan 31 2020, 12:02 AM

34 posts

1. Annual Income: RM100k+

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Preferably no

3. Card required for: Petrol, Great Eastern Insurance, Utilities

4. Existing credit cards (if any): SCB JOP, Citi Cashback Platinum

5. Interested in CC from: Not sure

6. Others: Exploring a better card for my usage
hong823
post Jan 31 2020, 11:24 AM

100 posts

QUOTE(Harvelicious @ Jan 30 2020, 09:36 PM)
Thanks for your reply and if you have any good recommendation please let me know.

I am trying to get HSBC to give me a CC (HSBC visa signature & HSBC Premier World MasterCard) but I will see if I'm approved. I haven't been working long enough to provide EPF and pay slip. I have a relationship manager for HSBC but again I tried applying and hopefully they'll approve me. It's hard to keep swiping my US card or paying cash...

I will keep my US funds out of the country due to superior customer service and friendly user interface provided by Schwab. A good chunk of the money is also invested so better if I don't cash out. I cannot rave enough about Schwab sadly they close down their SG branch or else I wouldn't be in this dilemma.

As for Amex Malaysia and amex US are two different entities so I'm basically nothing to them in Malaysia but a valued customer in US. I will be concealing the AMEX soon since it has an AF and I can't downgrade it to a no AF card (I believe).

I am looking for a replacement for my CSR which is the perfect card IMO if possible. CSR main highlight for me was 3x points for travel and dining and the priority pass membership despite having a $450 AF. The $450 includes $300 Uber credit which makes the AF $150. My job requires a good amount of travel so I get to use the lounge at least 6 times a year. I also get to claim the Uber fares so I'm essentially paid to use the card. If anyone knows of a Malaysian credit card providing similar benefit I am all ears.

Currently I see a bunch of premium credit card but it requires at least 10k a month pay which is not what I make. I could only find the two HSBC card above that somewhat fulfills my criteria and I am somewhat qualified for it but it only provide lounge access in SG,MYS, HK

Sorry for the long reply.
Considering you're new to Malaysia's bank and with your level of income, maybe try considering:
- Maybank Gold 2 Card (Their Amex has 5% cashback, cap rm50 monthly) - Malaysia has very poor acceptance of Amex sadly, around 10-15% i would say. Need to try luck.
- Public Bank Quantum (Master has 5% cash back for online, cap rm30 monthly. Visa has 5% for contactless transactions, cap rm30 monthly)
- Maybank FC Barcelona Visa Signature (2% cashback for all, cap rm50 monthly. May and Aug has 10% cashback, cap rm100 monthly).

Undoubtedly CSR in the US has some good points category without monthly/annual cap, hardly there is any Malaysia's credit card that matches it. In Malaysia, premium credit card is reserved for high-income earners, unlike the US where it's credit score based mostly. It took me working 1year+ in Malaysia to get a normal credit card (Maybank Gold 2, Public Bank Quantum) while in the US I can get CSR with 4 months of working.

Try to work for a few months and gather 3 month's payslip, as banks tend to request for either that or EPF statement to verify your income.

Hope this helps.

This post has been edited by hong823: Jan 31 2020, 11:26 AM
jingiman
post Jan 31 2020, 03:36 PM

Open for discussion in order to optimize benefits from ccards

1. Annual Income: RM50~60k (Self Employed and the income going to increase year by year)

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Prioritize free

3. Card required for: Petrol, Insurance, eWallet Top Up

4. Existing credit cards (if any): MBB 2 Cards (Usually only use Amex for the cashback, used to Pay Telekom Bills and Telco), HSBC Amanah (monthly RM2000+ used for insurance and petrol, plan to cancel after they tweaked the benefits), HSBC Signature Visa (going to cancel), SCJOP (monthly RM2500+ used for utilities and insurances), Citi Clear Master and Citi Simplicity Visa (may cancel one and keep another as i have the highest credit limit with Citi), HLEssential (mainly insurances with monthly RM5k++)

5. Interested in CC from: Now aiming PBB Quantum (30 capped cash back), MBB Ikhwan Petronas (Petrol usage with 50 capped), MBB FC Barcelona and Alliance Business Master (2500 capped monthly with 1.25% rebate)

Basically, all these ccards are used when i worked in West Malaysia big construction company when i have annual salary of RM60~70k. After i have started by own business, it seemed all my application rejected except for SCJOP which was approved with min. credit limit. I have combined usage of all these credit cards with bigpay and so far so good. It just that few cards benefits tweaked and i foolishly cancelled HLB Fortune which i believed is the best cash back for high spenders. Please advice or give suggestion on how to get those new cards for my own business benefits. I did know we can pledge FD, but that will be my last resort.

Just for reference, i have some ploans (RM1500 monthly) and a car loan (RM800). As for ccards payment, i clear all monthly, only some months i delayed.

This post has been edited by jingiman: Jan 31 2020, 03:38 PM
Harvelicious
post Jan 31 2020, 07:09 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(hong823 @ Jan 31 2020, 11:24 AM)
Considering you're new to Malaysia's bank and with your level of income, maybe try considering:
- Maybank Gold 2 Card (Their Amex has 5% cashback, cap rm50 monthly) - Malaysia has very poor acceptance of Amex sadly, around 10-15% i would say. Need to try luck.
- Public Bank Quantum (Master has 5% cash back for online, cap rm30 monthly. Visa has 5% for contactless transactions, cap rm30 monthly)
- Maybank FC Barcelona Visa Signature (2% cashback for all, cap rm50 monthly. May and Aug has 10% cashback, cap rm100 monthly).

Undoubtedly CSR in the US has some good points category without monthly/annual cap, hardly there is any Malaysia's credit card that matches it. In Malaysia, premium credit card is reserved for high-income earners, unlike the US where it's credit score based mostly. It took me working 1year+ in Malaysia to get a normal credit card (Maybank Gold 2, Public Bank Quantum) while in the US I can get CSR with 4 months of working.

Try to work for a few months and gather 3 month's payslip, as banks tend to request for either that or EPF statement to verify your income.

Hope this helps.
Yeah I realize that Malaysia has a really weird concept about credit card. You work hard to get a job then in order to get a credit card. Even if you get the credit card you can't fully utilize it (i.e. minimal income 3k but Max benefit will req 2k spending). Either that or there's a cap on each cash back category.

I am glad someone understands my pain applying for credit card in Malaysia. It is easier for me getting my first card in US than my first card here even though I am an actual Malaysian citizen.

I will look into Public Bank Quantum for grocery (contactless payment) and online shopping. I agree that amex isn't really a thing here in Malaysia so no point in getting it. As for the Barcelona card seems like a good daily driver but sadly I'm a real Madrid fan... Maybe in a couple weeks I'll get over it

Thanks for your recommendations and reply.
Invince_Z
post Jan 31 2020, 09:08 PM

!M4 !3eY0nC! 1337!!!!
2,747 posts

i failed getting maybank cc again. T_T i need their epp advantage.
valerie.wen
post Feb 1 2020, 04:25 PM

267 posts

Looking for recommendation

1. Annual Income: RM100K

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Prefer lifetime waiver, but open to options.

3. Card required for: Expecting to spend on digital advertising, range from RM12k to RM30k in a year.

4. Existing credit cards (if any): Citibank Cash Back Platinum, Maybank 2 Platinum Cards, UOB One Card Platinum (will be discarding soon)

5. Interested in CC from: Prefer Maybank or Hong Leong Bank as I have bank accounts there, but open to opens based on benefits. Hope to get free flights.

296 Pages « < 177 178 179 180 181 > » Top

0.0175sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 02:15 PM