QUOTE(DTorons @ Oct 7 2017, 04:24 PM)
Well there's still many subscribers Thanks to monopoly
astro byond V13
Oct 7 2017, 06:26 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
48,439 posts Joined: Sep 2014 From: REality |
Oct 8 2017, 06:28 PM
1,510 posts Joined: Oct 2016 From: Celcom Internet 4G × Malaysia |
Astro Go v8.1.68 now can download to go with good resolution. I choose high resolution & the picture is good & no more extreme pixelated screen.
Too bad, cannot download content from Animax On Demand, E! Zone & Aniplus new simulcast title like Restaurant to Another World, Aho-Girl etc. And, Aniplus new Right After Japan on-demand content is not censor. For Astro Go exclusive channel. Only Aniplus & DW is NOT delay by Astro. But, we know that if the channel is available on TV. Maybe, astro might delay Aniplus & DW for 5 minute like other normal HD channel(e.g: ONE HD, AXN HD & FOX HD). |
Oct 8 2017, 07:10 PM
669 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
QUOTE(joshhd @ Apr 30 2017, 04:08 PM) Many years ago, it is compulsory to subscribe HD service if you upgrade your STB to B.yond box. But after that, it is optional although they will still recommend you to subscribe HD in the excuse of better viewing experience. Astro CS quoted RM 65 installation when I inquired about upgrading from old decoder to byond last week with HD subscription. Requires 12 months lock in. Promotions of upgrading Astro boxes are always changing. Last time it is used to be free upgrade from legacy boxes to Byond boxes. Now the installation fee is chargeable of either RM50 if subscribe HD, or RM150 if did not subscribe HD. Since legacy boxes has discontinued, any new Astro subscribers will get Byond box right away, so that they can enjoy HD channels. I found that installers were offering RM35 for new customers with 120 days free premium channel preview and ten bucks fee rebate every month for a year. I might as well terminate and sign up as a new customer..... looks like Astro doesn't value loyal customers. New customers get a better deal This post has been edited by gilabola: Oct 8 2017, 07:18 PM |
Oct 8 2017, 07:56 PM
561 posts Joined: May 2010 From: alor setar, kedah, malaysia |
QUOTE(Anime in HD @ Oct 8 2017, 06:28 PM) Astro Go v8.1.68 now can download to go with good resolution. I choose high resolution & the picture is good & no more extreme pixelated screen. Is it blood blockade battlefront? This one so good, I watched season one before.Too bad, cannot download content from Animax On Demand, E! Zone & Aniplus new simulcast title like Restaurant to Another World, Aho-Girl etc. And, Aniplus new Right After Japan on-demand content is not censor. For Astro Go exclusive channel. Only Aniplus & DW is NOT delay by Astro. But, we know that if the channel is available on TV. Maybe, astro might delay Aniplus & DW for 5 minute like other normal HD channel(e.g: ONE HD, AXN HD & FOX HD). |
Oct 8 2017, 09:16 PM
6,103 posts Joined: Apr 2009 From: Marang, Terengganu |
Oct 8 2017, 09:35 PM
561 posts Joined: May 2010 From: alor setar, kedah, malaysia |
Oct 8 2017, 09:38 PM
Oct 8 2017, 10:23 PM
QUOTE(sky3742 @ Oct 8 2017, 09:35 PM) But I didn't saw this anime in astro go. Pikotaro maybe will not be made available in OD since the show is less than 5 minute. Hmm... maybe few days later to release? [another aniplus series pikataro lullaby also not in the astro go list.] Take astro more than a week to add into OD platform... Should make one tab for OD series. The list is too long.. Go Shop 3 for what? Malay SD Shopping channel? I thought Go Shop 3 HD will be for Indian home shopping channel... This post has been edited by Anime in HD: Oct 8 2017, 10:29 PM |
Oct 8 2017, 11:37 PM
Oct 9 2017, 08:12 AM
Oct 9 2017, 08:14 AM
QUOTE(gilabola @ Oct 8 2017, 07:10 PM) Astro CS quoted RM 65 installation when I inquired about upgrading from old decoder to byond last week with HD subscription. Requires 12 months lock in. Damn..I found that installers were offering RM35 for new customers with 120 days free premium channel preview and ten bucks fee rebate every month for a year. I might as well terminate and sign up as a new customer..... looks like Astro doesn't value loyal customers. New customers get a better deal New subscribers get better deal... I got better idea.. Terminated astro & don't subscribe back.. |
Oct 9 2017, 01:47 PM
145 posts Joined: May 2011 |
QUOTE(gilabola @ Oct 8 2017, 07:10 PM) Astro CS quoted RM 65 installation when I inquired about upgrading from old decoder to byond last week with HD subscription. Requires 12 months lock in. You should've upgrade when it was free.I found that installers were offering RM35 for new customers with 120 days free premium channel preview and ten bucks fee rebate every month for a year. I might as well terminate and sign up as a new customer..... looks like Astro doesn't value loyal customers. New customers get a better deal |
Oct 9 2017, 01:51 PM
293 posts Joined: May 2016 |
QUOTE(Anime in HD @ Oct 8 2017, 10:23 PM) Pikotaro maybe will not be made available in OD since the show is less than 5 minute. Hmm... I guess Go Shop Channel 120 is the SD version of Go Shop HD Channel 118.Take astro more than a week to add into OD platform... Should make one tab for OD series. The list is too long.. Go Shop 3 for what? Malay SD Shopping channel? I thought Go Shop 3 HD will be for Indian home shopping channel... |
Oct 9 2017, 06:27 PM
QUOTE(Low Li Hao @ Oct 9 2017, 01:51 PM) What??Astro is doing what is this? I thought your management is commited to change all legacy box customer to byond HD stb to experince FREE HD channel like Go Shop HD, Go Shop 2 HD, Maya HD & Xi Yue HD. Hope can see MPEG2 to MPEG4 transition this year end. But, they are doing this? Why not force all legacy box customer to change to B.yond HD STB for FREE at no additional cost. Profits already more than million also cannot do that, huh? I'm compare all Disney, CN & Animax ads with YouTube 480p resolution. Guess who provide better picture? Yes. YouTube 480p ads is more better than Astro crappy MPEG2 compression. I watch CN & Animax ads in 480p & the result is much more better & almost look alike HD channel. If Astro change to MPEG4. We can see improve better picture & more vibrant. Don't know what to say anymore. Youtube 480p is much more better than Astro MPEG2 codec. Also, if that true like joshhd say about 5mbps bitrate for HD channel. Is that every second astro send 5mbps all the time. If 1 OD content for 22 minute cost about 1GB. So,........ 5×22=110 110 = 1.10GB? Is this true? If wrong..... I get 1GB data to download OD content using mobile data. The result is 1 Aniplus OD content is cost 1GB. Vary from 4~5mbps video bitrate for every second. This post has been edited by Anime in HD: Oct 9 2017, 06:37 PM |
Oct 9 2017, 06:43 PM
3,957 posts Joined: Nov 2016 |
Oct 9 2017, 06:45 PM
3,957 posts Joined: Nov 2016 |
Oct 9 2017, 08:17 PM
Oct 9 2017, 09:30 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
7,792 posts Joined: Dec 2014 From: Malaysia |
QUOTE(Anime in HD @ Oct 9 2017, 06:27 PM) What?? What makes you think that Astro is somewhat, rushing all customers to upgrade to B.yond boxes? Astro is doing what is this? I thought your management is commited to change all legacy box customer to byond HD stb to experince FREE HD channel like Go Shop HD, Go Shop 2 HD, Maya HD & Xi Yue HD. Hope can see MPEG2 to MPEG4 transition this year end. But, they are doing this? Why not force all legacy box customer to change to B.yond HD STB for FREE at no additional cost. Profits already more than million also cannot do that, huh? I'm compare all Disney, CN & Animax ads with YouTube 480p resolution. Guess who provide better picture? Yes. YouTube 480p ads is more better than Astro crappy MPEG2 compression. I watch CN & Animax ads in 480p & the result is much more better & almost look alike HD channel. If Astro change to MPEG4. We can see improve better picture & more vibrant. Don't know what to say anymore. Youtube 480p is much more better than Astro MPEG2 codec. Also, if that true like joshhd say about 5mbps bitrate for HD channel. Is that every second astro send 5mbps all the time. If 1 OD content for 22 minute cost about 1GB. So,........ 5×22=110 110 = 1.10GB? Is this true? If wrong..... I get 1GB data to download OD content using mobile data. The result is 1 Aniplus OD content is cost 1GB. Vary from 4~5mbps video bitrate for every second. There are many customers out there where their legacy STBs still works fine. For them, there's no solid reason to upgrade, except the fact that the STB is newer design, UI is nicer, it supports HD and other services, which not every customers are interested in. Plus, adding a 12 months contract is not something that every customer likes. QUOTE Profits already more than million also cannot do that, huh? Astro will always find ways to earn more and more money. Who doesn't want to earn more money? Even if you monopolised a market and you are already a billionaire, they are still being greedy and still want to earn more money. Astro won't likely to do something for free to customer unless it is beneficial to them. They can earn more money by imposing installation fee of course. Astro would be like "You think B.yond box are free? We'll charge you for that. At least let customers who still using legacy boxes to continue using it, until it spoils for whatever reason we don't care, then we'll replace them with B.yond box. Otherwise, many customers will bising, think that "using B.yond box" equivalent to add more more money in the subscription fee because of the HD service. There's no reason to wonder "why this why that" for Astro, cuz the answer is all about money. You do business for what? Of course earn money lor. Well, Astro PVR box does have 500GB hard disk built-in, where you can record 100 hours HD content or 290 hours SD content. Video bitrate for MPEG 4 video codec are usually variable, meaning it keeps on fluctuating, and it is not constantly same bitrate all the time. Average is 5Mbps, but depending on the scene, it can go around 6-7Mbps or even spike over 10Mbps especially in fast moving scenes, or even as low as 1-2Mbps if the scene does not move much. This is pretty much the nature of variable bitrate video. Besides video bitrate, don't forget the audio as well. Astro uses HE-AAC 64kbps for Stereo track while AC3 (Dolby) 384kbps for Dolby Digital 5.1 surround sound track for HD channel, while MP2 192kbps for MPEG2 SD channel. And yet, some channels even have multiple audio tracks, which add up even more bandwidth used. |
Oct 9 2017, 09:58 PM
QUOTE(joshhd @ Oct 9 2017, 09:30 PM) What makes you think that Astro is somewhat, rushing all customers to upgrade to B.yond boxes? Looking at that.There are many customers out there where their legacy STBs still works fine. For them, there's no solid reason to upgrade, except the fact that the STB is newer design, UI is nicer, it supports HD and other services, which not every customers are interested in. Plus, adding a 12 months contract is not something that every customer likes. Astro will always find ways to earn more and more money. Who doesn't want to earn more money? Even if you monopolised a market and you are already a billionaire, they are still being greedy and still want to earn more money. Astro won't likely to do something for free to customer unless it is beneficial to them. They can earn more money by imposing installation fee of course. Astro would be like "You think B.yond box are free? We'll charge you for that. At least let customers who still using legacy boxes to continue using it, until it spoils for whatever reason we don't care, then we'll replace them with B.yond box. Otherwise, many customers will bising, think that "using B.yond box" equivalent to add more more money in the subscription fee because of the HD service. There's no reason to wonder "why this why that" for Astro, cuz the answer is all about money. You do business for what? Of course earn money lor. Well, Astro PVR box does have 500GB hard disk built-in, where you can record 100 hours HD content or 290 hours SD content. Video bitrate for MPEG 4 video codec are usually variable, meaning it keeps on fluctuating, and it is not constantly same bitrate all the time. Average is 5Mbps, but depending on the scene, it can go around 6-7Mbps or even spike over 10Mbps especially in fast moving scenes, or even as low as 1-2Mbps if the scene does not move much. This is pretty much the nature of variable bitrate video. Besides video bitrate, don't forget the audio as well. Astro uses HE-AAC 64kbps for Stereo track while AC3 (Dolby) 384kbps for Dolby Digital 5.1 surround sound track for HD channel, while MP2 192kbps for MPEG2 SD channel. And yet, some channels even have multiple audio tracks, which add up even more bandwidth used. Probaly 5-10 year to go MPEG4. I don't want to say much. But, all is about time. Maybe, they know how much is still using legacy box. And, they will change to fully MPEG4 for SD channel when percents of use to legecy box is about 1%. We already see news post that astro have about 80% customer is using byond box. When there is really small customer use it. I think they will migrate soon. But, not now. In the future(5-10 year from now).. |
Oct 9 2017, 10:50 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
7,792 posts Joined: Dec 2014 From: Malaysia |
QUOTE(Anime in HD @ Oct 9 2017, 09:58 PM) Looking at that. Maybe around the year of 2021, where Measat 3 satellite to be retired after 15 years of operation since 2006. Probaly 5-10 year to go MPEG4. I don't want to say much. But, all is about time. Maybe, they know how much is still using legacy box. And, they will change to fully MPEG4 for SD channel when percents of use to legecy box is about 1%. We already see news post that astro have about 80% customer is using byond box. When there is really small customer use it. I think they will migrate soon. But, not now. In the future(5-10 year from now).. They might somewhat "refresh" the channels as Astro migrate its SD channels to Measat 3b (very likely). Not sure, just saying. I mean, we as customers sure will experience a little bit of disruption while watching Astro during migration process from Measat 3 to 3b, especially dealing with transponder frequencies. Will see how... But it depends on the fuel level of the satellite also. If the fuel still sufficient to extend, then it can be extended more than its expected operation lifetime period, like for example extend around 4 years also possible (just like Indonesian satellite Telkom 1 while waiting for new satellite to replace it). |
| Change to: | 0.0425sec
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:20 AM |