151 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v17 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

chyz66
post Dec 25 2016, 06:31 PM

2,805 posts

Sorry if i asked a silly question here, but is there any "best time" to enter unit trust market?
T231H
post Dec 25 2016, 06:48 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(chyz66 @ Dec 25 2016, 06:31 PM)
Sorry if i asked a silly question here, but is there any "best time" to enter unit trust market?
this is what the CEO of Federation of Investment Managers Malaysia (FIMM) Encik Nazaruddin Othman said about this,
http://themalaysianreserve.com/new/story/n...trust-says-fimm
wodenus
post Dec 25 2016, 07:00 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Dec 25 2016, 06:48 PM)
this is what the CEO of Federation of Investment Managers Malaysia (FIMM) Encik Nazaruddin Othman said about this,
PRS is a bit weird.. they only have one fund and you can't take it out until you retire, and they charge you every year? might as well put it in EPF, it is free.
Avangelice
post Dec 25 2016, 07:42 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Dec 25 2016, 06:48 PM)
QUOTE(wodenus @ Dec 25 2016, 07:00 PM)
PRS is a bit weird.. they only have one fund and you can't take it out until you retire, and they charge you every year? might as well put it in EPF, it is free.
agree. then again there's a tax relief of 3000 which already more or less covers the charge. what's the service charges for managing prs btw
Ramjade
post Dec 25 2016, 08:22 PM

24,347 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Dec 25 2016, 07:00 PM)
Only if you topup. If you don't topup, you don't kena charge. So just topup max RM3k/year until 2021. After 2022, no need to topup anymore.
wodenus
post Dec 25 2016, 08:59 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 25 2016, 08:22 PM)
Only if you topup. If you don't topup, you don't kena charge. So just topup max RM3k/year until 2021. After 2022, no need to topup anymore.
There's a management fee right?

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 25 2016, 07:42 PM)
agree. then again there's a tax relief of 3000 which already more or less covers the charge. what's the service charges for managing prs btw
If you make enough to actually be charged that amount that is smile.gif

QUOTE(chyz66 @ Dec 25 2016, 06:31 PM)
The best time is as soon as you can smile.gif

NOTE : Would you believe this post got reported? some people are just being weird now smile.gif
T231H
post Dec 25 2016, 09:05 PM

5,143 posts

investor that intend to get into Unit trust investment should be aware of all the charges and fees to be incurred during the investment period.

a simple read out about the charges are here...
http://www.moneysense.gov.sg/Understanding...rusts.aspx#What are the fees and charges? What is the Total Expense Ratio (TER)?

for more indepth info about the fees and charges should be available in the master prospectus.

those that are concerns and felt that this is not justified...don't get into Unit trust investment.

contestchris
post Dec 25 2016, 09:20 PM

5,550 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Dec 25 2016, 09:05 PM)
investor that intend to get into Unit trust investment should be aware of all the charges and fees to be incurred during the investment period.

a simple read out about the charges are here...
http://www.moneysense.gov.sg/Understanding...rusts.aspx#What are the fees and charges? What is the Total Expense Ratio (TER)?

for more indepth info about the fees and charges should be available in the master prospectus.

those that are concerns and felt that this is not justified...don't get into Unit trust investment.
Eh the TER isn't of concern to you. If a fund makes 15% annualized it already takes into account the TER/MER, management fees, trustee fees etc. Only if a fund is poor performing, look at the MER. For Malaysia, most funds have a MER of around 1.5-2.1% (cheaper for local, expensive for regional/global).

Effectively the only direct charges are the sales charge (initial fees) and occasionally switching fee. No other direct fees apply.
Ramjade
post Dec 25 2016, 09:26 PM

24,347 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Dec 25 2016, 08:59 PM)
There's a management fee right?
From what I know, you don't buy anything, you won't kena charge.
T231H
post Dec 25 2016, 09:59 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Dec 25 2016, 09:20 PM)
Eh the TER isn't of concern to you. If a fund makes 15% annualized it already takes into account the TER/MER, management fees, trustee fees etc. Only if a fund is poor performing, look at the MER. For Malaysia, most funds have a MER of around 1.5-2.1% (cheaper for local, expensive for regional/global).

Effectively the only direct charges are the sales charge (initial fees) and occasionally switching fee. No other direct fees apply.
hmm.gif no a concern?
the annual management fees (typically two to three percent) reduce your returns. The mgmt. fees are fixed no matter how the fund performs – even if the fund had a negative return, the manager still gets paid. Over time, compound interest can aid you. But your annual fund management fees can compound against you as well.

rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by T231H: Dec 25 2016, 09:59 PM
wodenus
post Dec 25 2016, 10:08 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 25 2016, 09:26 PM)
From what I know, you don't buy anything, you won't kena charge.
Doesn't it kind of defeat the purpose, to open an account and not buy anything? you'll still be charged the Rm10 account opening fee smile.gif

This post has been edited by wodenus: Dec 25 2016, 10:08 PM
xuzen
post Dec 25 2016, 10:10 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 24 2016, 10:49 PM)
cash management fund. he is preparing his ammo
Don't sai lang all....

Leave some bullets for bargain hunting. You will just never know!
contestchris
post Dec 25 2016, 10:12 PM

5,550 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Dec 25 2016, 09:59 PM)
hmm.gif no a concern?
the annual management fees (typically two to three percent) reduce your returns. The mgmt. fees are fixed no matter how the fund performs – even if the fund had a negative return, the manager still gets paid. Over time, compound interest can aid you. But your annual fund management fees can compound against you as well.

rolleyes.gif
But that 2-3% is already priced into the NAV and performance of the fund. Besides, think of it this way: CIMB Global Titans fund takes up an additional 0.45% of the Management Expense Ratio than the norm (just an example!), but due to that additional management resources the fund contributes an extra 4% gains.
xuzen
post Dec 25 2016, 10:14 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Dec 25 2016, 02:23 AM)
Are you able to address my other question? Namely, in the event of a global recession, is it wise to make use of the switch function, and switch out from equity-based funds to balanced/bond/money_market funds? Because I see that in recession equity based funds can easily lose 33%-50% of their value. Or is it the norm that even in a recession we should not touch (switch or sell) our unit trust funds?
Don't make wild allegation, show us which unit trust fund that loss 33 to 50% value during recession....

Xuzen
contestchris
post Dec 25 2016, 10:17 PM

5,550 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Dec 25 2016, 10:14 PM)
Don't make wild allegation, show us which unit trust fund that loss 33 to 50% value during recession....

Xuzen
Look at this: https://i-access.affinhwangam.com/fund-price

Find Affin Hwang Select Asia Ex Japan Opportunity Fund. Then look at performance from end 2007 to end 2008. From RM0.7782 to RM0.3127 (with RM0.05 div). This is just one example.
T231H
post Dec 25 2016, 10:25 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Dec 25 2016, 10:12 PM)
But that 2-3% is already priced into the NAV and performance of the fund. Besides, think of it this way: CIMB Global Titans fund takes up an additional 0.45% of the Management Expense Ratio than the norm (just an example!), but due to that additional management resources the fund contributes an extra 4% gains.
that is the thing..."if" there is no mgmt. fees....the gain would be more biggrin.gif
that is true in BAD or good times.....unit trust company makes money but the investor contribute the capital and bear all the investment risk.

Investment Guide: Beware Of These Investment Costs And Charges
http://litefm.com.my/Mobile/Features/Lifes...nvestment-Costs

This post has been edited by T231H: Dec 25 2016, 10:39 PM
nexona88
post Dec 25 2016, 10:28 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,447 posts

Walao u guys.. Today also very active in FSM rclxm9.gif
Its xmas lor..
Just chill & relaxing..

xuzen
post Dec 25 2016, 10:41 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Dec 25 2016, 10:17 PM)
Look at this: https://i-access.affinhwangam.com/fund-price

Find Affin Hwang Select Asia Ex Japan Opportunity Fund. Then look at performance from end 2007 to end 2008. From RM0.7782 to RM0.3127 (with RM0.05 div). This is just one example.
OK OK...

But this UTF, you hardly hear us hear at LYF - FSM thread mention wan.... that is why I don't recall in my memory got UTF drop so drastically.

But then to be fair, this did not suffer such a drop in the next ten years. It only happen once in 2008 to 2009. This is during the infamous Asian Financial crisis. It was a black swan event.

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Dec 25 2016, 10:43 PM
contestchris
post Dec 25 2016, 10:46 PM

5,550 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Dec 25 2016, 10:41 PM)
OK OK...

But this UTF, you hardly hear us hear at LYF - FSM thread mention wan.... that is why I don't recall in my memory got UTF drop so drastically.

But then to be fair, this did not suffer such a drop in the next ten years. It only happen once in 2008 to 2009. This is during the infamous Asian Financial crisis. It was a black swan event.

Xuzen
Ok Xuzen, I understand.

Anyway guys, what is the most recommended US equity fund around here? Is it the RHB US Focus Equity Fund, or is there something better?

This post has been edited by contestchris: Dec 25 2016, 10:53 PM
contestchris
post Dec 25 2016, 10:52 PM

5,550 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 24 2016, 10:49 PM)
cash management fund. he is preparing his ammo
May I understand this? What is the purpose of CMF and what is "ammo"?

(PS: I assume it is to have liquid cash to swoop in and buy stocks or funds when the market crashes?)

151 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0165sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:11 PM