10 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v17 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

Ramjade
post Dec 23 2016, 12:39 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 23 2016, 11:31 AM)
also can everyone stop talking about the service charge. it's getting a tad annoying when people keep talking about it while forgetting you are paying for the people who help do the paper work, the platform fees and such. if we all don't pay service charges or annual fees that what's the use of working as a fund manager?
Sorry I don't agree. Service charge is an important part. If service charge not important, how come some people want to do ninja credit trick? A little bit adds up over time. whistling.gif It may not seems like much now but try compounding it over 10 years and you see what I am talking about.

I already prove why service charge/platform fees is important (in FSM SG thread)

If service charge not important, be my guest and buy from banks/agents. After all what's 3% saving right? whistling.gif biggrin.gif
Ramjade
post Dec 25 2016, 05:55 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Dec 25 2016, 12:18 PM)
Really? Even bonds and money market funds? Surely at least they lose less, no?
The recent trump massacre shows that even bond are not spared.
Ramjade
post Dec 25 2016, 08:22 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Dec 25 2016, 07:00 PM)
PRS is a bit weird.. they only have one fund and you can't take it out until you retire, and they charge you every year? might as well put it in EPF, it is free.
Only if you topup. If you don't topup, you don't kena charge. So just topup max RM3k/year until 2021. After 2022, no need to topup anymore.
Ramjade
post Dec 25 2016, 09:26 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Dec 25 2016, 08:59 PM)
There's a management fee right?
From what I know, you don't buy anything, you won't kena charge.
Ramjade
post Dec 26 2016, 09:28 AM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Dec 25 2016, 10:08 PM)
Doesn't it kind of defeat the purpose, to open an account and not buy anything? you'll still be charged the Rm10 account opening fee smile.gif
Well people buy to get income tax relief. I am sure after the income tax relief is over, no one will buy. Will just be sitting there collecting cobwebs. There might be people who still buy (they save on service charge)

QUOTE(contestchris @ Dec 26 2016, 02:18 AM)
Guys, how liquid are Malaysian unit trust funds? Say I sell it on a Monday evening (after office hours), by when can I get my funds into my bank account?
All funds transaction are cut off at 3PM. Anything more than that, it will be next day 3PM (which means you get the NAV of that day if you sell before 3PM). If performed on a Friday after 3PM, your transaction is only carried out on Monday 3PM. If Monday is a public holiday, then Tuesday 3PM. (For FSM)

When will I get my money? (For FSM, don't know about other platform)
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/faq/H...my-money-8278#4

For me, because I use FSM, my money will usually come back to me within 4 days (depending on the fund house). It will appear in my bank account before the day is over (before 5pm)

Regarding your question US based funds,
Manulife Investment U.S. Equity Fund
RHB US Focus Equity Fund

If you use FSM Chart Center, you will find that 3 years returns + 3 years volatility, Manulife Investment U.S. Equity Fund beats RHB US Focus Equity Fund

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Dec 26 2016, 09:29 AM
Ramjade
post Dec 26 2016, 09:37 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Dec 26 2016, 12:19 PM)
So you guys are saying that getting back your money in 4-7 days is considered "liquid"? I thought liquid meant almost instantly.

Also, to confirm my understanding, look at this scenario: At 1pm Monday you place a sell on your unit trust fund. That means, you sell transaction will be conducted using Monday's price right (which is usually only displayed on Tuesday/Wednesday)? So even if you get the money the next Monday, it still conducts the transaction using the Monday price correct?
You want instant liquidity go for ASX FP. Redeem 6 figure one shot also no problem. Money available on the spot. sweat.gif Even malaysia stock market also uses T+3 days to get back your money fully

QUOTE(contestchris @ Dec 26 2016, 03:37 PM)
How come FSM don't sell Advantage Brazil or Advantage BRIC funds? Even AIA funds they don't sell.
They have. Eastspring Global Emerging market.Invest in China, Russia, India, Brazil.

Ramjade
post Dec 27 2016, 08:57 AM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Dec 26 2016, 10:02 PM)
So usually Unit Trust is T+how many days? T+3 or more?

Eastspring Emerging Market invests in more diverse markets (includes Mexico, Hungary, Chile etc)... BRIC (Brazil, Russia, India, China) or Advantage Brazil invest in narrower markets.
Yeah. Well if you want those specific one, then you have no choice but to open a account with SG UT broker.

QUOTE(contestchris @ Dec 26 2016, 10:03 PM)
Atm I don't got an account with them. I see they got a bit more offering than CIMB Clicks, but CIMB Clicks already offer all that I want. Except for narrow focus BRIC or Brazil funds...both also don't have!
You don't need to have account. Just say la planning to open open account. Use their service for free. That's nothing mention at FSM MY that those email/live chat is exclusively for FSM user.

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 27 2016, 08:47 AM)
so know this is not the fault of the platforms but rather our government initiative to "protect" or something along that lines. hence why we have a quarter of the funds available to Singaporeans.

Actually I don't think so. It is half right. Malaysian are used to agents, Public Mutual so agent do everything. While in Singapore, they are taught to invest from young. We have to learn on ourself.

Another reason, Malaysia is not best buddies with US. So no foreign fund house want to set up house on Malaysia (this I think is the main reason).

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Dec 27 2016, 09:41 AM
Ramjade
post Dec 27 2016, 09:07 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Dec 27 2016, 08:29 PM)
Also guys, how come some funds have latest price at 27/12, some others have latest price at 23/12? So complicated man! I don't even know which day price I will be paying for my buys.

So assuming my transaction went through today, will I be paying for the price published today (for 23/12) or for the price of today itself (27/12) which may be published in 1 or 2 days time?
Keep in mind that as long as you buy/sell before 3PM that day, you will get the NAV of that day. Is so simple. Only for FSM. Don't know about Cimb clicks.
Ramjade
post Dec 27 2016, 11:37 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Dec 27 2016, 09:13 PM)
My question is more about, which NAV? The one published for the day, or the one published on the day? Two different things.
The NAV will be publish more or less 2 days later. You CANNOT know the NAV on the day unless you got insider info.
Ramjade
post Dec 28 2016, 12:28 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 27 2016, 11:42 PM)
humor me for awhile bro.

I think they gain nothing by delaying updating the price. in retrospect they would love to have live feed of their NAV but sadly the way unit trust works is the reason why we have forward pricing. correct me if I am wrong, the reason why we have a lag time is because they need to calculate the lost and returns of every investments they make every day and compute the total and divide it into how many units that the fund has.

hence the delay because of computation from investments across the globe?
Well from what I read, there was this incident where people know the price before it's announced. Hence they used it to their advantage to do trading (happen in overseas).

But I would prefer it if we can know the real NAV before buying.

Ramjade
post Dec 28 2016, 06:47 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Dec 28 2016, 05:48 PM)
Let me be notty and kacau ppl a bit

A while back many switched from AIF to ponzi2.0 due to AIF's slow returns. I noticed ponzi 2.0 lost 3% in the past 1 month and 1 year returns also lose to AIF and ponzi 1.0

[attachmentid=8322586]

apa macam? Anyone jumping ship?
But my Ponzi 2 have less loss than Ponzi 1 woh. whistling.gif During trump massacre, My ponzi 2 became positive while my ponzi 1 never become positive (blame it on the malaysian part bangwall.gif ).

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Dec 28 2016, 06:47 PM
Ramjade
post Dec 28 2016, 10:51 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Dec 28 2016, 10:30 PM)
Seriously? that's better than their current promos.. I think that's gold member price already, or maybe even the gold members only get 1% off.
Don't know for those who attend only or everyone.
Ramjade
post Dec 30 2016, 09:10 AM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Dec 29 2016, 10:25 PM)
CMF is what? Why it benefit good?
CMF is a place where you can park your money for short term and earn 3.2x%pa. I use eGIA-i to park my money as it earned 3.55%. Extra 0.3%pa over CMF.
Ramjade
post Dec 30 2016, 06:41 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Dec 30 2016, 06:27 PM)
But they are essentially the same (no SC) and invest the same way smile.gif

The only difference is the 0.25% management charge laugh.gif
How do they charge the 0.25% already calculated into the NAV or need to pay separately?
Ramjade
post Dec 31 2016, 08:42 AM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(Hanford @ Dec 30 2016, 06:41 PM)
so buy PM UT or fundsupermart UT ?

which better ?
I never buy funds from Public/agent due to high service charge. WHy buy PM funds when other funds which invest in same sector ourperform PM? brows.gif

QUOTE(jayzshadower @ Dec 31 2016, 12:08 AM)
Is fixed income fund better than FD? I saw someone on v16 mentioned that. If so, why? Anyone can explain to me?  blink.gif
Usually yes. If you buy those good bond funds. Affin Hwang Select Bond fund/RHB Islamic Bond fund. Difference is your FD is you won't lose your money and you can get about 4%pa. Enough or not, that one depends on you. For FI, it have huge connection with interest rate of the US and eg Trump massacre where even "safe bonds" were not spared.

QUOTE(contestchris @ Dec 31 2016, 01:23 AM)
Correct me if I am wrong but dividends for variable price funds seems just like pure BS, no? Cause if there was a RM0.02 dividend, it's a norm for the NAV/unit price to drop by that exact same amount. Of course that is balancedby reinvesting the dividends in more units, such that the total NAV before and after dividends is basically the same.

At least this was my observation after studying the variable price ASN 3 fund.
Not necessary. Dividends add units to your total units. If the fund don't perform, then it's a different story. If it perform, then long term wise, it's good. Although this was debated with xuzen last time with TA Global Tech dividends.

For me, I feel (not conclude/say) is important as with my previous experience with ASG, if not for the dividends, I might be still making a loss. When I bought it dropped 15%. Had to hold for 3 years to get nett return of 3% pa.

QUOTE(contestchris @ Dec 31 2016, 01:35 AM)
To be fair the management fee is already included in the NAV. The sales/agent charge, that's another matter.

The only real dividends that matter are from fixed price funds like some of the Amanah Saham funds. There, a 6% dividend represents your actual returns for the year.

Public Bank is not the only one - Amanah Saham does the same for their variable priced funds. They make a huge announcement about it. When in true fact most such Amanah Saham funds have got a negative return for the year.

Which is why I stay away from those fund houses. They treat you like you're a dumb person.
For amanah saham, only fund worth looking into is their fixed price fund. Others suck. But I think affin hwang select bond fund might be better choice for those people cannot "tahan" see their value of investment drop.
Ramjade
post Dec 31 2016, 07:43 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(jayzshadower @ Dec 31 2016, 06:48 PM)
Is this apply to RHB Cash management Fund 2 only ? Other fixed income fund cannot? Like Affin Hwang Select Bond.
Yes. Only for RHB Cash management Fund 2
Ramjade
post Jan 1 2017, 09:48 AM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Dec 31 2016, 10:57 PM)
Ini orang hor... simply simply tok kok wan....

TA Global Technology Fund mana ada bagi distribution or dividend wan?

Whatever gain is purely, 100% capital appreciation. My kind of unit trust fund  wub.gif  thumbsup.gif

Xuzen
We were arguing about TA Global Tech unit split. Didn't you remember?
Ramjade
post Jan 2 2017, 01:21 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(filage @ Jan 2 2017, 01:12 PM)
Guys, if say one wants to join FSM, it is best to research and decide all the funds you want before hand, and subscribe it at one go when you open the account to take advantage of the 1% promo charge? Also, is this 1% only available for few days after you open the account?
Depends. Most people here are not pro on lump sum one shot. However if the market drop a lot + open new account, it's very good time for lump sum. rclxms.gif But how lucky are you? biggrin.gif hmm.gif
Ramjade
post Jan 2 2017, 02:36 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jan 2 2017, 02:31 PM)
Specially for those a little thick in the skull:

Dividend from stocks are specifically from profits. Anything else are called capital repayment.

Dsitribution don't give a Jack Sh1t, it can come from profit / surplus or from pool of capital. Hence it is called distribution and not dividend.

Can some bean counter verify this? Hint hint to auntie dasecretwub.gif
So if say Stock A declare dividend, will the price of the stock also drop? Is it like in UT?
Ramjade
post Jan 2 2017, 09:45 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Jan 2 2017, 09:29 PM)
So ETF are bought from Bursa? That so? Since they are "exchange traded"? Or in Malaysia's case, is it a whole different exchange?
Malaysian ETFs are useless and not worth. He is taking about US S&P500. Bought using Interactive broker. Am I right wongmunkeong?

10 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1522sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 08:22 AM