151 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v17 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

wodenus
post Dec 31 2016, 03:00 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Dec 31 2016, 01:45 PM)
Because you are not comparing the same timeline. For comparison, you need to start from same timeline. Even if you use FSM chart, if will start from same timeline.
But it is the same timeline. it's just that the start of scenario 2, is the middle of scenario 1. Ok for convenience, just remove the "middle" from scenario 2. Now we have the same timeline.

It's comparable because while they don't start at the same time, they end at the same time (which is the time when you retire or whatever.)
fense
post Dec 31 2016, 03:06 PM

Struggle to be RICH
948 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Dec 31 2016, 01:45 PM)
Because you are not comparing the same timeline. For comparison, you need to start from same timeline. Even if you use FSM chart, if will start from same timeline.
I think your calculation is wrong
10k with 100% gain = 10k+ (10kX100%)= 20k
10k with 6 percent gain =10k + (10kx6%)=10600

The ever best performance over time I ever seen for less than 5 years is ~30% after minus management fee and others.

The scenario above will never had that profit, no matter u swift or not.

For me, If a Fund lose More than 20%, no sign of gain in 6mths, I will rather sell it. If market analysis got chance of gain, I will top up to balance the lose.

This post has been edited by fense: Dec 31 2016, 03:11 PM
contestchris
post Dec 31 2016, 03:10 PM

5,558 posts

Guys, anyone know the difference between mixed asset and balanced fund? Is it the same thing that different companies use different names for? Or are they two different things?
wongmunkeong
post Dec 31 2016, 04:20 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(fense @ Dec 31 2016, 03:06 PM)
I think your calculation is wrong
10k with 100% gain = 10k+ (10kX100%)= 20k
10k with 6 percent gain =10k + (10kx6%)=10600

The ever best performance over time I ever seen for less than 5 years is ~30% after minus management fee and others.

The scenario above will never had that profit, no matter u swift or not.

For me, If a Fund lose More than 20%, no sign of gain in 6mths, I will rather sell it. If market analysis got chance of gain, I will top up to balance the lose.
bro - KimYee is stating to use same timeline
ie 10K fell to 5K, then "recover" 6% shd be 5K+6%

ask U simple flow logic:
1. 100K fund value held at 1/1/2008

2. loss 50% due to credit crisis thus value held at 31/12/2008 is $50K

3. went up 50% due to "recovery" 1/4/2009 is... back to $100K as per (1.) or $75K?

the crux of the issue is AFTER (2.) - if switch to another fund, other fund's return is calculated from 31/12/2008
thus (3.) should also be based from 31/12/2008 onwards, right?

paper loss is loss. if U disagree with that reality is ok, my mum does that too
just look into futures and other vehicles - they calculate your account at daily close smile.gif

thus which reality is more prudent?
shiok sendiri reality or more painful reality? i choose the latter, at least i know my real (or closer to) net worth at anytime of liquidation

if still cant comprehend - just imagine U bought a car $100K last year. If U sell it now, it's $70K
but hor, U didn't dispose it ma, thus in your books, value still $100K - paper loss only heheh
---

BTW - there are funds doing >60% NET returns (yes yes after minusing all costs) between end 2008 to end 2009/2010.
just saying

and if U saying in absolute terms, not CAGR.. U should check out ESI Small Cap fund from 2005-ish till now - "hundreds of %" laugh.gif

---
i think Kim Yee (and i) are just highlighting prudent ways to calculate, compare, etc.
He is also a stock & if i'm not mistaken, options (stocks / futures) investor & trader too. Thus, very "grounded" calculations.

Just a thought - no absolute right/wrong, just that some ways of viewing/thinking may be more optimistic than prudent. notworthy.gif
Avangelice
post Dec 31 2016, 04:42 PM

5,272 posts

hey everyone. let us end the year on a light note! plus it's a weekend and the markets are closed until next week so let us all take a chill pill.

go spend time with your love ones or celebrate with your friends.

come 7th January (seminar) let us focus on building our portfolios. Cheers and Happy New Year to all.
jayzshadower
post Dec 31 2016, 06:48 PM

151 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Dec 31 2016, 04:44 AM)
To use your Cash Management Fund to buy unit trusts, you need to ensure that there are sufficient holdings in the Cash Management Fund.
Simply select the Cash Management Fund as the payment method during the buy process.
The investment amount payable will be deducted from your Cash Management Fund immediately and it will be reflected in your View Holding webpage.
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/faq/0...nt-Methods-2409

Q: What can I do with my Cash Management Fund?

A: There are 6 main types of Cash Management Fund transactions:

1) Buy into the Cash Management Fund
2) Sell your Cash Management Fund holdings
3) Buy Unit Trusts using your Cash Management Fund holdings
4) Park proceeds from a sell order into the Cash Management Fund
5) Switch your Cash Management Fund holdings into UT; this is similar to placing a unit trust buy order using your Cash Management Fund holdings
6) Switch UT into the Cash Management Fund; this is similar to parking the proceeds of a unit trust sell order into the Cash Management Fund

You may buy or sell the Cash Management Fund at any time. The minimum initial and subsequent investment amount is RM500 and RM100 respectively. There is no lock-in period. The minimum redemption amount required is RM 100, should you wish to place a partial sell order.
You may buy a unit trust via the Cash Management Fund with ease, as long as there is sufficient holdings in your Cash Management Fund. You may simply specify the ‘Cash Management Fund’ as the payment method during the buy process. The invested amount will be deducted from your Cash Management Fund holdings, and it will be used to buy a unit trust immediately as long as the buy order is placed before 3pm on a business day.
When you sell a unit trust, you may also specify the ‘Cash Management Fund’ as the redemption method. The sales proceeds will be used to invest in the Cash Management Fund, without incurring any sales charge.
You may place an inter-switch order to switch your Cash Management Fund to another unit trust without any lag time. The sales proceeds of your Cash Management Fund sell order, after deducting the prevailing FSM sales charge, will be used to buy into the fund which you have chosen to switch-buy, without any lag time. This transaction is equivalent to placing a buy order using the Cash Management Fund.
You may also place an inter-switch order to switch your unit trust into the Cash Management Fund. The entire sales proceeds of your unit trust sale will be used to buy into the Cash Management Fund, upon receiving the sales proceeds of the fund you have chosen to switch-sell, on the settlement date. There are no sales charges in doing so. This transaction is equivalent to placing a sell order and selecting the Cash Management Fund as a redemption method.
Do take note that an intra-switch is not allowed for cash management fund. Please refer to the correspondent fund prospectus for more information.

https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/faq/0...t-Fund-2-9718#3
Is this apply to RHB Cash management Fund 2 only ? Other fixed income fund cannot? Like Affin Hwang Select Bond.
wodenus
post Dec 31 2016, 07:43 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Dec 31 2016, 04:20 PM)
bro - KimYee is stating to use same timeline
ie 10K fell to 5K, then "recover" 6% shd be 5K+6%

ask U simple flow logic:
1. 100K fund value held at 1/1/2008

2. loss 50% due to credit crisis thus value held at 31/12/2008 is $50K

3. went up 50% due to "recovery" 1/4/2009 is... back to $100K as per (1.) or $75K?

the crux of the issue is AFTER (2.) - if switch to another fund, other fund's return is calculated from 31/12/2008
thus (3.) should also be based from 31/12/2008 onwards, right?

paper loss is loss. if U disagree with that reality is ok, my mum does that too
just look into futures and other vehicles - they calculate your account at daily close smile.gif

thus which reality is more prudent?
shiok sendiri reality or more painful reality? i choose the latter, at least i know my real (or closer to) net worth at anytime of liquidation

if still cant comprehend - just imagine U bought a car $100K last year. If U sell it now, it's $70K
but hor, U didn't dispose it ma, thus in your books, value still $100K - paper loss only heheh
---

BTW - there are funds doing >60% NET returns (yes yes after minusing all costs) between end 2008 to end 2009/2010.
just saying

and if U saying in absolute terms, not CAGR.. U should check out ESI Small Cap fund from 2005-ish till now - "hundreds of %"  laugh.gif

---
i think Kim Yee (and i) are just highlighting prudent ways to calculate, compare, etc.
He is also a stock & if i'm not mistaken, options (stocks / futures) investor & trader too. Thus, very "grounded" calculations.

Just a thought - no absolute right/wrong, just that some ways of viewing/thinking may be more optimistic than prudent.  notworthy.gif
So tell me, why do you invest if you are just going to lose money? if you don't think you are going to make money in the future, why do you invest? don't people invest because they think they will make money in the future? they invest because they are optimistic. Otherwise no point right? because you may be losing money for months before you make any.

there are funds doing >60% NET returns (yes yes after minusing all costs) between end 2008 to end 2009/2010.
just saying

Hindsight is 50/50.. if you have a crystal ball and you know which funds will make money in the crisis, then you can switch. But if you don't?

You want to know the reality? the reality is that no one knows what will happen in the future. People invest because they are optimistic, otherwise there would be no point. People switch because they think they know what will happen in the future. But if they are being realistic all they will know for sure is that they are going to realize that loss.

Your mum (and I) think that way because we have been through many recessions, enough to know that the markets always go up.

and if U saying in absolute terms, not CAGR.. U should check out ESI Small Cap fund from 2005-ish till now - "hundreds of %"

Anything wrong with that? say 100% to be conservative. 2005-2016 is 11 years.

100/11 = 9.09% a year, that is not a bad return smile.gif and I'm being conservative, it's probably more than 100 smile.gif and that is if you don't switch smile.gif

If you put 16K into Eastspring Small Cap in 2005 and just left it there.. it would be worth over 70K by now smile.gif

That is a 437% return in 11 years, an average return of 43.7% a year.

This post has been edited by wodenus: Dec 31 2016, 08:01 PM
Ramjade
post Dec 31 2016, 07:43 PM

24,374 posts

QUOTE(jayzshadower @ Dec 31 2016, 06:48 PM)
Is this apply to RHB Cash management Fund 2 only ? Other fixed income fund cannot? Like Affin Hwang Select Bond.
Yes. Only for RHB Cash management Fund 2
nexona88
post Dec 31 2016, 08:59 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,488 posts

wah today also very active posting here..

just chill & enjoy valuable time with family laugh.gif
[Ancient]-XinG-
post Dec 31 2016, 09:37 PM

20k VIP club
5,752 posts

Happy New Years guys!!
wongmunkeong
post Dec 31 2016, 09:54 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Dec 31 2016, 07:43 PM)
So tell me, why do you invest if you are just going to lose money? if you don't think you are going to make money in the future, why do you invest? don't people invest because they think they will make money in the future? they invest because they are optimistic. Otherwise no point right? because you may be losing money for months before you make any.
Hindsight is 50/50.. if you have a crystal ball and you know which funds will make money in the crisis, then you can switch. But if you don't?

You want to know the reality? the reality is that no one knows what will happen in the future. People invest because they are optimistic, otherwise there would be no point. People switch because they think they know what will happen in the future. But if they are being realistic all they will know for sure is that they are going to realize that loss.

Your mum (and I) think that way because we have been through many recessions, enough to know that the markets always go up.
Anything wrong with that? say 100% to be conservative. 2005-2016 is 11 years.

100/11 = 9.09% a year, that is not a bad return smile.gif and I'm being conservative, it's probably more than 100 smile.gif and that is if you don't switch smile.gif

If you put 16K into Eastspring Small Cap in 2005 and just left it there.. it would be worth over 70K by now smile.gif

That is a 437% return in 11 years, an average return of 43.7% a year.
1. U obviously missed the point on the clarity of "recovered 6%".
Not discussing which is better - whether to switch or not. Heck, i held EIS SmallCap from then till now leh BUT for other funds which weren't performing against their benchmark & similar funds - switched out.

Just stating a fact / pointing out - when "recovered 6%" depends on from which point in time and should be clear, especially when comparing to switching out/other opportunity costs.

2. Hindsight is perfect yes.
And yes - i did make such trade (yup - short term calculative probability) on PM's property & REITs fund + others.

Thus, i'm again just stating a fact - that 30% may not be high - it depends on the time / situation.
eg - Last quarter of 2015 or early this year - if one were to have bought ultra-knocked down energy stocks/funds like CVX, XOM, Manulife Global Resources, they'd also be hitting >30% within a year or more now. And yes, i did buy such too - again, based on severely knocked-down price vs value.
BTW - i missed out on EWZ or Brazil ETF, proves my balls aint crystal too heheh laugh.gif

Also, that post was to intro CAGR, not simple % without time value.

3. Being realistic
Yup = there is nothing wrong with "it's just paper loss"
However, if I speak with my bankers or even an accountant, they'll value my net worth as at current net liquidation. Thus, that's the standard i choose to follow.

IMHO - being realistic and optimistic doesn't necessarily mean one must fall in love / marry a fund / investment forever & ever.
One does have to track & manage one's portfolio by weeding out garbage and trying out other mix.
Like U yourself said - no working crystal balls right? If one's initial picks have some real donkey - won't it make sense to change them for others? Must fit one's portfolio lar the changes.

Just a thought.

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Dec 31 2016, 10:20 PM
spiderman17
post Dec 31 2016, 09:59 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Dec 30 2016, 06:37 PM)
"not too good" English
VS
"not too good" maths / Excel
kua hehhe

English: $10K dropped to $5K and recovers 6%

Which maths fits English:
$10K +6%
VS
dropped to $5K + 6%

for clarity, perhaps:
[attachmentid=8333515]
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1BYt...dit?usp=sharing
Excellent clarity!

QUOTE(wodenus @ Dec 31 2016, 12:17 PM)
If you start with 10k, and end with 10.6k, how can that be a 112% profit? smile.gif
Where did that 10.6k come from??

QUOTE(wodenus @ Dec 31 2016, 12:18 PM)
Exactly.. some people are already calling it 112℅ profit smile.gif with very, very few exceptions paper loss is not real loss, otherwise no one would bother to invest at all.. with diversification and time.. there is almost zero chance of losing money long-term smile.gif

But if you keep switching.. you have 100% chance of losing money. People invest because they can make money long term.. if you look at the long term charts.. you will see that pretty much every fund makes money in ten years' time.

Diversification and time. That always works.
Paper loss is as real as it gets.
Perhaps you are so lucky to have yet to encounter one.

xuzen
post Dec 31 2016, 10:57 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade)
Usually yes. If you buy those good bond funds. Affin Hwang Select Bond fund/RHB Islamic Bond fund. Difference is your FD is you won't lose your money and you can get about 4%pa. Enough or not, that one depends on you. For FI, it have huge connection with interest rate of the US and eg Trump massacre where even "safe bonds" were not spared.
Not necessary. Dividends add units to your total units. If the fund don't perform, then it's a different story. If it perform, then long term wise, it's good. Although this was debated with xuzen last time with TA Global Tech dividends.
Ini orang hor... simply simply tok kok wan....

TA Global Technology Fund mana ada bagi distribution or dividend wan?

Whatever gain is purely, 100% capital appreciation. My kind of unit trust fund wub.gif thumbsup.gif

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Dec 31 2016, 10:58 PM
xuzen
post Dec 31 2016, 11:03 PM

4,436 posts

Calling _azam, he works for a Unit Trust Management Company (UTMC) as a junior fund manager / analyst / trainee (or perhaps maybe as a toilet cleaner).

Friend, is it normal for unit trust fund NAV to mark to market? I mean, even if the underlying asset is not sold, but the fund manager will still use the day last done price to calculate NAV right? Not using the cost of purchase right?

I remember the unit trust industry uses the Mark to Market concept, that is, in other word, the will take into account paper loss when preparing the daily NAV.

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Dec 31 2016, 11:07 PM
Kaka23
post Dec 31 2016, 11:14 PM

8,259 posts

Happy New Year everyone... Happy investing!
kd88
post Dec 31 2016, 11:36 PM

148 posts

No new year promotion this year?
wodenus
post Dec 31 2016, 11:50 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Dec 31 2016, 10:57 PM)
Ini orang hor... simply simply tok kok wan....

TA Global Technology Fund mana ada bagi distribution or dividend wan?

Whatever gain is purely, 100% capital appreciation. My kind of unit trust fund  wub.gif   :thumbsup:

Xuzen
A lot of the people here are just kind of weird.. it's like they are lying all the time. It's like they make their own realities and then talk about them.

And yes, no heart attacks from sudden drops.

This post has been edited by wodenus: Dec 31 2016, 11:52 PM
Vanguard 2015
post Jan 1 2017, 12:15 AM

3,541 posts

Happy New Year everyone!

kimyee73 and wongmunkeong aka Sifu Wong, remember the saying, 'playing piano to a cow?'. Don't go there. It is a waste of time. 😀

BTW, can someone please teach me how to tag another forumer? Thank you in advance.

P/S : Edited to tag forumer

This post has been edited by Vanguard 2015: Jan 1 2017, 12:42 AM
TSAIYH
post Jan 1 2017, 12:20 AM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Jan 1 2017, 12:15 AM)
Happy New Year everyone!

KimYee73 and Sifu Wong, remember the saying, 'playing piano to a cow?'. Don't go there. It is a waste of time. 😀

BTW, can someone please teach me how to tag another forumer? Thank you in advance.
Happy new year

Enter like the format below

Open square bracket with @ with forummer name with close square bracket

forummer name
MUM
post Jan 1 2017, 12:36 AM

14,920 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Jan 1 2017, 12:20 AM)
Happy new year

Enter like the format below