USD/MYR v5

Ramjade
post Dec 13 2016, 09:34 AM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Dec 13 2016, 09:23 AM)
The ruling is the exporter must bring back the export proceeds into the country, ie repatriate back to a licenced Msian onshore bank, within three months after the transaction. Hence, the exporter can wait and wait till the RM strengthens before TT'ing out from the overseas acct where the fund is parked.

Or,... the exporter may give a 6-month credit term to the overseas customer, then the overseas customer pays in 6 months time into the overseas bank acct., and the 6-month 'bringing-back period' will be for another 6-months from thereon. All in,.. one year to bring back and convert into the RM,....
What if I as an exporter decided to have offshore account in SG/UK/HK and ask my clients to bank in the money into those account. That way, I don't need to convert my earnings into RM right? Just a thought hmm.gif
TSwil-i-am
post Dec 13 2016, 09:36 AM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 13 2016, 09:34 AM)
What if I as an exporter decided to have offshore account in SG/UK/HK and ask my clients to bank in the money into those account. That way, I don't need to convert my earnings into RM right? Just a thought  hmm.gif
Yes, u r rite
AVFAN
post Dec 13 2016, 09:40 AM

24,454 posts

The ruling is the exporter must bring back the export proceeds into the country, ie repatriate back to a licenced Msian onshore bank, within three months after the transaction. Hence, the exporter can wait and wait till the RM strengthens before TT'ing out from the overseas acct where the fund is parked.

Or,... the exporter may give a 6-month credit term to the overseas customer, then the overseas customer pays in 6 months time into the overseas bank acct., and the 6-month 'bringing-back period' will be for another 6-months from thereon. All in,.. one year to bring back and convert into the RM,....
bnm/fin min will surely like everyone to bring back in RM instantaneously.

probably thinking ways to "force" all big and and small monies back.

but biz people are usually clever and well prepared.

if they blindly comply 100% quick and risk high exposure, they are not very good biz people.
Hansel
post Dec 13 2016, 10:07 AM

9,353 posts

What if I as an exporter decided to have offshore account in SG/UK/HK and ask my clients to bank in the money into those account. That way, I don't need to convert my earnings into RM right? Just a thought  hmm.gif
QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Dec 13 2016, 09:36 AM)
Yes, u r rite
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Dec 13 2016, 09:40 AM)
bnm/fin min will surely like everyone to bring back in RM instantaneously.

probably thinking ways to "force" all big and and small monies back.

but biz people are usually clever and well prepared.

if they blindly comply 100% quick and risk high exposure, they are not very good biz people.
BNM should track the proceeds which are incurred during exports - then again, don't know whether they do this accurately or not ?? Chances are high they don't.

If wanting to force monies back,... the Indon govt is doing it now,... can see their model,... but if this happens, all ministers also 'kena',...

BUT : if exporters don't bring their money back, we also die,... if the RM can't appreciate.

So,..................which one do you guys want ????? I vote that the exporters bring back. Somebody will have to lose here, cause we are staying in Msia. WE hold the Msian Passport, and we are born in Msia.
cherroy
post Dec 13 2016, 10:14 AM

25,802 posts

This was what happening prior before the new rules.

But if company continue to do this after the new rules set, then it clearly break rules.
Not something company want to do to disobey what BNM or authority has ordered.

AVFAN
post Dec 13 2016, 10:16 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Dec 13 2016, 10:07 AM)
BNM should track the proceeds which are incurred during exports - then again, don't know whether they do this accurately or not ?? Chances are high they don't.

If wanting to force monies back,... the Indon govt is doing it now,... can see their model,... but if this happens, all ministers also 'kena',...

BUT : if exporters don't bring their money back, we also die,... if the RM can't appreciate.

So,..................which one do you guys want ????? I vote that the exporters bring back. Somebody will have to lose here, cause we are staying in Msia. WE hold the Msian Passport, and we are born in Msia.
it will be naive to think a couple of simple strokes like this new rule or that new practice will fix something like a grossly mismanaged economy and a poor currency.

will take a lot more than that, will take decades to undo all the damage, if at all.
TSwil-i-am
post Dec 13 2016, 10:17 AM

10,001 posts

While v discuss, MYR is slowly moving towards 4.40 mark
Ramjade
post Dec 13 2016, 10:22 AM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Dec 13 2016, 10:14 AM)
This was what happening prior before the new rules.

But if company continue to do this after the new rules set, then it clearly break rules.
Not something company want to do to disobey what BNM or authority has ordered.
BNM does not have control over offshore account. One can simply tell their clients/customer to bank in 100% into offshore account and return back 25% to Malaysia. I can't see how this ruling can force exporters to comply especially when BNM does not have control over offshore accounts unless they track all exports and invoke a fine on the exporters who don't comply.
AVFAN
post Dec 13 2016, 10:30 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 13 2016, 10:22 AM)
BNM does not have control over offshore account. One can simply tell their clients/customer to bank in 100% into offshore account and return back 25% to Malaysia. I can't see how this ruling can force exporters to comply especially when BNM does not have control over offshore accounts unless they track all exports and invoke a fine on the exporters who don't comply.
not so blatant la... that will amount to smuggling or illicit fund flows, big trouble if they wanna get u.

i m sure there r better ways to delay, minimize the effects.

successful exporters weren't born yesterday.

but here is not the right place for such discussions.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Dec 13 2016, 10:31 AM
cherroy
post Dec 13 2016, 10:32 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 13 2016, 10:22 AM)
BNM doesn't need to cross check with Offshore bank or need to track every single export.

You issued tax invoice on 13/12/2016, and the goods being delivered worth 10 mil to overseas clients, after 3 or 6 months later, where is the 7.5 mil sales proceed?
Fail to show/explain, break the rules.

TSwil-i-am
post Dec 13 2016, 10:36 AM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Dec 13 2016, 10:30 AM)
not so blatant la... that will amount to smuggling or illicit fund flows, big trouble if they wanna get u.

i m sure there r better ways to delay, minimize the effects.

successful exporters weren't born yesterday.

but here is not the right place for such discussions.
I was make to understand affected exporters via their association have started to engage with BNM to fine-tune d nitty-gritty(s)
Lets c whether BNM willing to budge or status quo

Hansel
post Dec 13 2016, 10:37 AM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Dec 13 2016, 10:32 AM)
BNM doesn't need to cross check with Offshore bank or need to track every single export.

You issued tax invoice on 13/12/2016, and the goods being delivered worth 10 mil to overseas clients, after 3 or 6 months later, where is the 7.5 mil sales proceed?
Fail to show/explain, break the rules.
Knowing our govt,... 3 or 6 months later,...everybody will forget abt it, people would have changed, documents missing, hard disk crashed,... smile.gif

Unless they happen to target one or two lar,... see who 'gets the lottery',... BNM also wants to have an easier life,....
cherroy
post Dec 13 2016, 11:10 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Dec 13 2016, 10:37 AM)
Knowing our govt,... 3 or 6 months later,...everybody will forget abt it, people would have changed, documents missing, hard disk crashed,...  smile.gif

Unless they happen to target one or two lar,... see who 'gets the lottery',... BNM also wants to have an easier life,....
Running an export company with millions of export revenue, you don't want to risk such thing.

Business just want to make business and profit, they won't want to break any rules that lead to complication to their businesses.

AVFAN
post Dec 13 2016, 12:41 PM

24,454 posts

Knowing our govt,... 3 or 6 months later,...everybody will forget abt it, people would have changed, documents missing, hard disk crashed,...  smile.gif

well, if bnm is that hardworking, we should all hope they don't just go after easy legit targets but also illicit big guns responsible for this:

illicit funds outflow - quite an achievement - world ranking consistently no. 5 for such a small economy. says a lot about how serious everyone here is about FX. who wants to "predict" what the nos. will be for 2014, 2015, 2016?

Malaysia has once again attained the unenviable “honour” of being in the top five countries which registered the highest average illicit financial flows over the decade.
According to the latest annual report by Washington-based Global Financial Integrity (GFI), Malaysia had lost an accumulated amount of US$418.542 billion (RM1.8 trillion) since 2004.
In 2013 alone, Malaysia lost a total of US$48.25 billion, according to the global financial watchdog.
The illegal capital outflows, said the report, stem from tax evasion, crime, corruption, and other illicit activities.
Malaysia has also remained stagnant in its position as among the top five countries for illegal capital flight.
After being ranked second worst in 2010, it “improved” to fourth place in 2011 and remains in fifth place since 2012.
For 2013, Malaysia is once again ranked behind China, Russia, Mexico and India.
Read more: https://www.malaysiakini.com/news/324458#ixzz4SgpEJnvd

Malaysia ranks No 5 in illicit outflows, GFI
Posted on 17 December 2014 - 05:38am
PETALING JAYA: Malaysia lost over US$48.93 billion (RM170.7 billion) in illicit outflows in 2012, making it a cumulative US$394.87 billion during the 10-year period from 2003 through 2012, according to the international anti-corruption group Global Financial Integrity's (GFI) latest report.
http://www.thesundaily.my/news/1269599

and something to read:

What rising oil means for interest rates
http://www.cnbc.com/2016/12/12/what-rising...rest-rates.html
How Trump's tax plan will hurt Malaysia
https://www.malaysiakini.com/news/365998
TRUMP’S TAX PLAN: THE HIT ON MALAYSIA
http://www.malaysia-chronicle.com/trumps-t...it-on-malaysia/

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Dec 13 2016, 01:31 PM
nexona88
post Dec 13 2016, 03:31 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,446 posts

Still floating around 4.40/4.41

Saw in newspaper today, minister rahman dahlan said, oil production is good for Malaysian economy..

But sad news is oil expected to be USD 65/bbl later when all the production cut is real..

So guys u know what will happen right.. Fuel price up, everything also follows bangwall.gif
spiderman17
post Dec 13 2016, 03:59 PM

309 posts

if that's the existing term, then ok. else, businesses won't go lengthening payment terms just for the sake of delaying fund return.
cash cycle is much much more important than forex rate. every single turn generate gross-margin-%

you still have an account, that needs to be audited annually and submitted to ssm as long as you're malaysia-registered business.

bnm don't need to check. the external auditors will have to verify the cash flow.
some local bank(s) have already taken the defensive measure of requiring invoice to be submitted as supporting document for returning fund exceeding xxx amount.
previously for amla purpose...now can use for this as well.
AVFAN
post Dec 13 2016, 04:13 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Dec 9 2016, 02:03 PM)
Saw in newspaper today, got few predictions for 2017 for myr/USD rate..
Nomura - 4.76
nomura... here's why:

Nomura expects ringgit to fall further in 2017 BY LIDIANA ROSLI - 13 DECEMBER 2016 @ 3:10 PM Facebook 0 Twitter Share 0 KUALA LUMPUR: Global financial services firm Nomura expects the ringgit to tread at RM4.52 against the dollar by the end of this year, and to fall further to RM4.76 by the end of 2017. In its equities and economic outlook briefing held here earlier today, Southeast Asia Economist, Euben Paracuelles and Southeast Asia Equity Strategist, Mixo Das, outlined the justifications for this. "First of all, we are expecting a rate hike of 25 basis points (bps) from the United States Federal Reserve (Fed) this month," said Paracuelles. "We are also expecting two more rate hikes in 2017 from the Fed. In response, we expect Bank Negara Malaysia (BNM) to cut interest rates, also twice next year," he added. On top of that, he stressed that Malaysia, alongside Singapore, have been marked "underperform" within Southeast Asia because of multiple compression on its respective economies. "This, of course, is a factor, but Malaysia also has to contend with ongoing political noise that has been (going on) for a while," said Paracuelles. "We are expecting a General Election perhaps in the second quarter of next year and if this is to take place, it will exacerbate ongoing uncertainties even more," he added. Nomura also expects Malaysia’s Gross Domestic Product (GDP) to grow at a rate of 3.7 per cent, well below BNM's projections of 4.2 per cent.
Read More : http://www.nst.com.my/news/2016/12/196483/...ll-further-2017

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Dec 13 2016, 03:31 PM)
Still floating around 4.40/4.41
Saw in newspaper today, minister rahman dahlan said, oil production is good for Malaysian economy..
But sad news is oil expected to be USD 65/bbl later when all the production cut is real..
So guys u know what will happen right.. Fuel price up, everything also follows bangwall.gif
when oil goes to 65, our petrol price may be rm3 per liter if unsubsidized.

good? i can't imagine what happens then.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Dec 13 2016, 04:16 PM
nexona88
post Dec 13 2016, 05:11 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,446 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Dec 13 2016, 04:13 PM)
nomura... here's why:
when oil goes to 65, our petrol price may be rm3 per liter if unsubsidized.

good? i can't imagine what happens then.
thanks for the nomura report link icon_rolleyes.gif

well the minister said good for Malaysia.. seems like Brunei also join & would cut production..
I think the 65 pricing won't be so soon.. maybe Q2.. so we can expect GE14 before that.. because if retail fuel rm3/L, many people would be very angry.. and it will have bad impact on ruling regime devil.gif

wonder if oil @ 65, what would be the USD/MYR rate be?? hmm.gif hmm.gif still 4.50?? or 4.00? worse @ 5.00? hmm.gif hmm.gif

This post has been edited by nexona88: Dec 13 2016, 05:12 PM
icemanfx
post Dec 13 2016, 05:20 PM

21,456 posts

Believe petronas is the single largest exporter, other major exporters are MNC having manufacturing here. Compulsory conversion to myr will interrupt these MNC tax planning, cost allocation and currency hedging; is detrimental to attracting fdi in the long term.

Despite lower cost in the kangkong land, there are reasons why MNC preferred to set up their regional hq on the little red dot down south.

With numbers of foreign property ownership in iskandar and Kv, it will be interesting when these exodus.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Dec 13 2016, 05:37 PM
nexona88
post Dec 13 2016, 06:09 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,446 posts

BNM closing @ 4.4390

vs

XE closing @ 4.43411

seems like not much gap like previously smile.gif

157 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top