USD/MYR v5

Ramjade
post Dec 7 2016, 08:39 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 7 2016, 07:53 PM)
very curious of how those people actually make money out of constant conversion of hard cash through money exchangers.

Do they know by converting two times, part of their money goes into the money exchangers?
If RM depreciate some more? They already earned automatically. Many hope that RM will depreciate some more (their thinking) so that they can benefit from more RM.
Ramjade
post Dec 9 2016, 10:46 AM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(mujinkun @ Dec 9 2016, 10:41 AM)
I saw the tittle become USD/ MYR 5...dem...
It's v5
Ramjade
post Dec 9 2016, 12:17 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Dec 9 2016, 12:09 PM)
I dun think official inflation rate will exceed 3% next yr
You believed official inflation rate? hmm.gif For inflation in malaysia, best to look at your average nasi lemak index. cry.gif mad.gif bangwall.gif
Ramjade
post Dec 13 2016, 09:34 AM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Dec 13 2016, 09:23 AM)
The ruling is the exporter must bring back the export proceeds into the country, ie repatriate back to a licenced Msian onshore bank, within three months after the transaction. Hence, the exporter can wait and wait till the RM strengthens before TT'ing out from the overseas acct where the fund is parked.

Or,... the exporter may give a 6-month credit term to the overseas customer, then the overseas customer pays in 6 months time into the overseas bank acct., and the 6-month 'bringing-back period' will be for another 6-months from thereon. All in,.. one year to bring back and convert into the RM,....
What if I as an exporter decided to have offshore account in SG/UK/HK and ask my clients to bank in the money into those account. That way, I don't need to convert my earnings into RM right? Just a thought hmm.gif
Ramjade
post Dec 13 2016, 10:22 AM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Dec 13 2016, 10:14 AM)
This was what happening prior before the new rules.

But if company continue to do this after the new rules set, then it clearly break rules.
Not something company want to do to disobey what BNM or authority has ordered.
BNM does not have control over offshore account. One can simply tell their clients/customer to bank in 100% into offshore account and return back 25% to Malaysia. I can't see how this ruling can force exporters to comply especially when BNM does not have control over offshore accounts unless they track all exports and invoke a fine on the exporters who don't comply.
Ramjade
post Dec 14 2016, 12:33 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Dec 14 2016, 10:38 AM)
from what i see in the last few days...

.. the exporters saga has indeed curbed the offshore volatility.
.. bnm continuously intervening to hold at 4.4x.
.. net buying or selling $, we won't know until next fx reserves report or they say something.

it will take bigger movements in the $ to know for sure.

fri morning after fed move will probably reveal something.

still, in the longer term, we are back to the same thing - what will help the RM appr sustainably?
Problem in the US. We just need some major problem in the US. Trump doing some stupid things, US debts being questioned again.
Ramjade
post Dec 14 2016, 02:13 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Dec 14 2016, 01:45 PM)
really, i do not think u know what u r saying.

if usa gets another major crisis like subprime 2007, all countries will suffer.
the small poorly managed ones incl msia will hurt even more.
u do not want that to happen.
Actually not really. Because of 2007-8 incident, US went on QE. QE causes money to flow out of US into Asia Pacific with Malaysia being one of the destination where money from US comes in.
Ramjade
post Dec 14 2016, 06:55 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Dec 14 2016, 04:03 PM)
The next US financial crisis and response will be unlike 2008.

Believe the kangkong land has yet to experience the aftershock of US tapered QE.
Money already flow out already. RM already drop. I believed Malaysia is already experiencing aftershock of US tapered QE
Ramjade
post Dec 20 2016, 08:41 AM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 19 2016, 11:06 PM)
gold really bleeding atm and our rate is way to low for fd returns. I think they should start pushing up the rates soon. them as in BNM
Cannot hike rate also or lots of people will default. Some people borrow personal loan to go for monthly spa/shopping spree/yearly holiday.
Ramjade
post Dec 20 2016, 12:28 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 20 2016, 12:25 PM)
so you are saying it's better to start buying gold in myr terms now?
Gold price is quite low. Buying gold from banks not worth due to the spread. Unless you got big cash then UOB is the best.
Ramjade
post Dec 22 2016, 02:18 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Dec 22 2016, 01:35 PM)
True to that. But we cant be converting all our money into foreign currencies. There is always a gut feeling / worry that the will appreciate a lot after we changed all into foreign currencies. So we have to keep in balance what we plan to do with our cash.
If it say RM suddenly appreciate, I will convert more.
Ramjade
post Dec 27 2016, 05:36 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Dec 27 2016, 05:21 PM)
Frankly,... with the current condition of this country, what sort of increase in interest rate will attract investors back here ?? I don't think 25 bps will be enough,..
No hike in interest rate. Why? All of SEA are in a race of currency to the bottom (there's a currency war right now where SEA countries are trying to bring down their currency). BNM cannot just go against the flow.
Ramjade
post Dec 30 2016, 09:05 AM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Dec 30 2016, 08:55 AM)
Compare with Indonesia, Thailand and similar countries. You just want to feel good then go ahead.
If compare with the above already lose out doh.gif
Ramjade
post Dec 30 2016, 12:19 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 30 2016, 12:11 PM)
question to all the vets here. I am investing all my money through unit trust which is all in Ringgit malaysia.

so lets say I convert my money to Singapore dollars at the money exchange. which is what some of you are doing. converting out. what do you do with the hard cash anyways? or I'm getting wrong message reading this thread? when you say convert out how do you all do it?
Buy SG stocks, buy US stocks (use interactive broker to buy)
Ramjade
post Dec 31 2016, 10:30 AM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 30 2016, 01:49 PM)
thank you. looks like none of this is for me as it's either you lose or either you win unless you move alot of cash. being in kuching is a handicap where we need to charter a flight just to go to Singapore
You can go on overseas holiday but can't take an economy flight down to Singapore? shocking.gif doh.gif

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Dec 30 2016, 12:55 PM)
4. buy foreign equities with foreign brokers.
.. harder to open account now with say Interactive Brokers, Ameritrade.
.. money to be TT'ed subject to same new BNm rule of RM1mil.
Care to share why IB is hard to open now?

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Dec 31 2016, 10:32 AM
Ramjade
post Jan 2 2017, 09:29 AM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Jan 2 2017, 09:07 AM)
Does it mean you can direct TT to other countries in USD terms, just that they will convert your MYR to USD on the go while TT?

For cases like parties who only accept certain global currencies like USD EUR GBP
Yes. But you change at bank rate which is bad for you (expensive). Combine that with TT charge. Banks made double earning from you.
Ramjade
post Jan 2 2017, 01:58 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Jan 2 2017, 10:16 AM)
And also known that bank conversion rate are not as attractive as money changer rate, unless there are banks who allow foreign currencies cash deposit tongue.gif

Just trying to understand this and any other charges that I should aware of smile.gif
Only SG DBS MCA allows that. All Malaysian banks must convert RM > to whichever currency you want.

If you want to send money overseas, can try money changer like merchant trade. I asked them before:
(i) can send money overseas? - Can
(ii) what's the rate? - The rates displayed on our board.
Ramjade
post Jan 3 2017, 08:29 AM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Jan 2 2017, 11:08 PM)
Bro here is an expert too,... guys, if you read back my posts here, you will see I have earlier mentioned many times to open a DBS MCA Acct, BECAUSE THIS ACCOUNT ALLOWS YOU TO BANK IN FOREIGN CURRENCIES OVER THE COUNTER.

I can see the light has finally dawned on why this is very impt. ...

Bro,.. I know of moneychangers who are able to do TT, but the countries are limited. Theycan do only to countries like Bangladesh, India, Myanmmar and one or two other countries. But NOT to Singapore, Australia, Canada,....
Merchant trade let you do (transfer to Singapore). You can test water by trying SGD100 and see.
Ramjade
post Jan 3 2017, 08:54 AM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Jan 3 2017, 08:44 AM)
Expensive rates, bro,.... see for yourself,...

SG and AUS started strongly this morning :-

1) SG's economy GREW strongly in Q4,...

2) AUS Indices starts strongly this morning,....

Edited grammar errors.
Really merchant trade is expensive? It's one of Malaysia's largest moneychanger. Their rates are on display at eforex.com.my

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jan 3 2017, 08:54 AM
Ramjade
post Jan 3 2017, 09:05 AM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Jan 2 2017, 11:08 PM)
Bro here is an expert too,... guys, if you read back my posts here, you will see I have earlier mentioned many times to open a DBS MCA Acct, BECAUSE THIS ACCOUNT ALLOWS YOU TO BANK IN FOREIGN CURRENCIES OVER THE COUNTER.

I can see the light has finally dawned on why this is very impt. ...

Bro,.. I know of moneychangers who are able to do TT, but the countries are limited. Theycan do only to countries like Bangladesh, India, Myanmmar and one or two other countries. But NOT to Singapore, Australia, Canada,....
Which money changer do you always go to?

15 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1409sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 06:51 PM