126 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Bottom

Model Kits Gundam & Mecha Modelling Thread V39

SUSadvocado
post Aug 23 2017, 10:26 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(:3mushy:3 @ Aug 23 2017, 10:23 PM)
Like I said, OK.

Looks like I have been doing the wrong thing for the past 15 years although the cement-reinforced joints turned absolutely the way I wanted them to.

Cement =/ corrosive acid.

But then again you're the Master.
OK whatever works for you.

I retract my words regarding using cement to reinforce joints then.

I apologize for my mistake.

Sorry.
chinti
post Aug 23 2017, 10:27 PM

Tarak Drama, Kita Bikin Drama
1,653 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Aug 23 2017, 10:18 PM)
did you paint the joints? if you did, maybe it added thickness to the joints so they are more sturdy.
nop, not enough time to learn painting. i just started gunpla 3 days

how do i get rid of white stress mark completely? i tried sadding d but still a bit there, dun dare to sand too much coz might thin the parts instead sad.gif

This post has been edited by chinti: Aug 23 2017, 10:36 PM
SUSnasrulafiq93
post Aug 24 2017, 12:06 AM

625 posts

Fukken advobodo invading gundam thread now smh
TSnazrul90
post Aug 24 2017, 01:19 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Aug 23 2017, 09:38 AM)
ok noted thanks.

guys im back with question, i just finish sanding n building the skirt part last night and the ball joints there r really loose. one touch and it might fall off, wats the best way to tighten it? i read some ppl use mr cement some use super glue but from my understanding, mr cement melt the plastic to hold it together wit another parts so super glue is a better choice if i wan to tighten it n still able to move it around?
Ball joint made from what? If polycaps ball joint you cant fix it except use something like paper.

If ball joint made from PS and ABS plastic, then you need to add more layer on it. Paint the joint part to fix loose problem sometimes work but I suggest to use putty as layer on ball joint. Sand it if too thick.

Do not use hobby cement, it is not add layer on plastic but instead melting it. I use putty on ball neck joint for my HG Unicorn before. It works better than layer of paint.

This post has been edited by nazrul90: Aug 24 2017, 01:21 AM
TheEvilMan
post Aug 24 2017, 03:54 AM

囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧
675 posts

QUOTE(skinny-dipper @ Aug 23 2017, 06:44 PM)
Save rm 100-200 consider very good already
I mean for the gunpla the price ain't much different, but they're still cheaper compare to here
:3mushy:3
post Aug 24 2017, 05:56 AM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(nazrul90 @ Aug 24 2017, 01:19 AM)
Do not use hobby cement, it is not add layer on plastic but instead melting it. I use putty on ball neck joint for my HG Unicorn before. It works better than layer of paint.
Plastic cement can be used, but it is not a first choice because there are much easier ways. The 'melting' process does not dissolve the plastic piece like thinner dissolving paint, otherwise people will not use it to remove seam lines.

QUOTE(TheEvilMan @ Aug 24 2017, 03:54 AM)
I mean for the gunpla the price ain't much different, but they're still cheaper compare to here
I have never bought big boxes in Japan before, after seeing the sad condition of my friend's kit (MG Hi-Nu HWS Clear doh.gif) after touching down at KLIA laugh.gif
It's just not worth it and sometimes AA (and generally all airlines) can be very very strict about those and you end up paying extra baggages plus your kit isn't sufficiently protected doh.gif

Putting up the promo for the warehouse sales.

TheEvilMan
post Aug 24 2017, 09:26 AM

囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧
675 posts

Done displaying my unicorn, haven't out up the hg and bust yet laugh.gif

This post has been edited by TheEvilMan: Aug 24 2017, 11:29 PM

chinti
post Aug 24 2017, 11:15 AM

1,653 posts

QUOTE(nazrul90 @ Aug 24 2017, 01:19 AM)
Ball joint made from what? If polycaps ball joint you cant fix it except use something like paper.

If ball joint made from PS and ABS plastic, then you need to add more layer on it. Paint the joint part to fix loose problem sometimes work but I suggest to use putty as layer on ball joint. Sand it if too thick.

RG is made from abs?

ah shit last night sand too much when trying to remove the nub mark, ended up some details lost and the nub mark still there n wont go away cry.gif
TSnazrul90
post Aug 24 2017, 12:48 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(:3mushy:3 @ Aug 24 2017, 05:56 AM)
Plastic cement can be used, but it is not a first choice because there are much easier ways. The 'melting' process does not dissolve the plastic piece like thinner dissolving paint, otherwise people will not use it to remove seam lines.
Different situation. Seam line removal is bond the plastic together by melting it.
Doesnt work well for tightening joint which we try to add another extra layer on it.

Heck the normal super glue work best than hobby cement.

QUOTE(chinti @ Aug 24 2017, 11:15 AM)
ah shit last night sand too much when trying to remove the nub mark, ended up some details lost and the nub mark still there n wont go away  cry.gif
Use hobby knife to trim it first and then sand the part gently.
chinti
post Aug 24 2017, 01:57 PM

1,653 posts

QUOTE(nazrul90 @ Aug 24 2017, 12:48 PM)
Different situation. Seam line removal is bond the plastic together by melting it.
Doesnt work well for tightening joint which we try to add another extra layer on it.

i did, i dunno y tht particular nub mark cannot b remove...anyway, i bought super glue for the joint d.
post Aug 24 2017, 01:58 PM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(nazrul90 @ Aug 24 2017, 12:48 PM)

It works on the same principle, the cement creates hardened layer when it dries. It's not the popular and first choice but it can be done.
TSnazrul90
post Aug 24 2017, 06:48 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(:3mushy:3 @ Aug 24 2017, 01:58 PM)
It works on the same principle, the cement creates hardened layer when it dries. It's not the popular and first choice but it can be done.
Did it myself. It is become not so hard layer and probably will use more cement than needed to get the thick layer.

Also the extra thin type cement cant use to fix loose joint at all. It will evaporate like water when it dries.

This post has been edited by nazrul90: Aug 24 2017, 06:49 PM
post Aug 24 2017, 07:32 PM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(nazrul90 @ Aug 24 2017, 06:48 PM)
Did it myself. It is become not so hard layer and probably will use more cement than needed to get the thick layer.

Also the extra thin type cement cant use to fix loose joint at all. It will evaporate like water when it dries.
The extra thin cement is basically the same as other plastic cement, it refers to the thin brush applicator actually.
SUSadvocado
post Aug 24 2017, 10:19 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(nazrul90 @ Aug 24 2017, 06:48 PM)

u use cement it will melt the surface of the joint to form a thicker layer, by doing so you reduce the integrity of the joint. sure you can put more cement to melt more plastic to add thickness but the joints will become even more brittle.

on ball joint it's even harder to control the flow.

adding putty is the troublesome way to fix it you end up have to sand it down.

adding super glue is a quick fix but you risk over pouring and gluing the joint permanent.

paint will make the joint look ugly.

future floor care is the best as it dries quick, leaves a transparent coat, easy to loosen even if it sticks, and can be easily removed with alcohol wipes, only downside is it leaves a gloss finish, which can be top coated with flat. however you probably wouldn't want to use this method.
bonez_xy
post Aug 24 2017, 11:32 PM

523 posts

Can we order pbandai kit from pbandai singapore? Did they do delivery to malaysia?
post Aug 25 2017, 07:22 AM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(bonez_xy @ Aug 24 2017, 11:32 PM)
Can we order pbandai kit from pbandai singapore? Did they do delivery to malaysia?
No idea, I sent enquiry to them a few days ago but still haven't got an answer.
nick2011
post Aug 25 2017, 11:18 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(TheEvilMan @ Aug 24 2017, 09:26 AM)
Done displaying my unicorn, haven't out up the hg and bust yet laugh.gif
Nice display u have there
SUSadvocado
post Aug 25 2017, 12:18 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Aug 24 2017, 11:15 AM)
RG is made from abs?

ah shit last night sand too much when trying to remove the nub mark, ended up some details lost and the nub mark still there n wont go away  cry.gif
you can recarve or deepen the details lost if you know how they look like. with a hobby knife.
chinti
post Aug 25 2017, 12:22 PM

1,653 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Aug 25 2017, 12:18 PM)
you can recarve or deepen the details lost if you know how they look like. with a hobby knife.
the 1 lost is the detail tht pop out >< meaning i flatten it, i guess i will just make it as battle damage
SUSadvocado
post Aug 25 2017, 12:39 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Aug 25 2017, 12:22 PM)
the 1 lost is the detail tht pop out >< meaning i flatten it, i guess i will just make it as battle damage
putty, recarve & sand, if you know how.

126 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Top

0.0289sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 02:58 AM