9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Official Honda Civic 10th Gen Owner/Fans Club V4, Awarded Car of the Year everywhere!

TSisr25
post Dec 7 2016, 04:53 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Dec 7 2016, 04:35 PM)
i don't have the experience but so far all the people i know that involved in claiming accident insurance always sent back to SC. be it honda,perodua,mercs,vw,etc.
They might have been using their panel insurance. Just some example if using Berjaya Sompo / Etiqa insurance. In Johor, not a single Honda SC is listed as one of their panel workshop:

http://www.berjayasompo.com.my/upload/file...an2016johor.pdf
http://www.etiqa.com.my/English/Insurance/...ages/Johor.aspx

So there you go smile.gif
TSisr25
post Dec 7 2016, 06:55 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(hao5501 @ Dec 7 2016, 06:39 PM)
erm... just refer Honda page

HIP collaborates with
MSIG Insurance (Malaysia) Bhd,
Tokio Marine Insurans (Malaysia) Berhad,
Berjaya Sompo Insurance Berhad,
Uni Asia General Insurance Bhd and
Etiqa Takaful Insurance Bhd.

hahaha... my view is SC will pass your car to one of this insurance company and fwd to their appointed workshop for major accident.

anywhere... the main point is this sentence for HIP
"Honda-endorsed repairs & genuine parts used only
Restoration and repairs are taken care of by a panel of workshops endorsed by Honda.
These panel workshops comply with Honda's quality standards, and only genuine parts are used.'

What I mean is that if you go for normal insurance, even tokio marine, they would not normally go to Honda SC. But if you take HIP, then yes, Honda SC is covered.

I dunno about KL, but my SC has their own workshop
TSisr25
post Dec 9 2016, 08:00 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(v88 @ Dec 9 2016, 12:22 AM)
Why 1.5tc/tcp rear view mirror is different from 1.8? Anyone know?
Auto dimming rear view mirrors
TSisr25
post Dec 10 2016, 10:55 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(ck.chunkeat @ Dec 10 2016, 10:44 AM)
So recently I found out that turning off econ mode actually reduces the issue where the car will jerk slightly when accelerating slowly from stop during traffic jam (it usually happens at speed around 5km/h).

So far havent face the jerk motion when i turn off econ mode.
Another question which i want to confirm: It should be ok to switch from D <> S when driving right? Since it should be just electronically changing the way the CVT chooses the gear ratio.
While moving you can safely change:
D <-> S, D -> N <- R

You need to be at a complete stop before changing:
D <- N -> R <-> P

Saw a test on Mythbusters though - a speeding car changing automatic gears from D to R and D to P. The car protects itself by shutting off completely. Don't dare to experiment it on my own car though biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by isr25: Dec 10 2016, 11:03 AM
TSisr25
post Dec 10 2016, 11:28 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(v88 @ Dec 10 2016, 11:19 AM)
S is semi manual right? D also can use paddle shift..
S is like Sports Mode. It revs higher, shifts are optimised for "racing", keeps transmission in lower gear longer for better performance and if you use the paddle shifts, it will hold your selected gear longer than in D.
TSisr25
post Dec 10 2016, 01:48 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Dec 10 2016, 01:42 PM)
N to D nid to be complete stop? really? lol, then habis my car.. i always let the car glide then pakai safety belt before change to D while moving and drive, when parking on slope
Well... It's more like a best practise, and it affects our car's torque converter (more wear). It's not really destroying the transmission itself.
TSisr25
post Dec 12 2016, 11:45 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Dec 12 2016, 07:56 AM)
First 2 years foc. The third year have annual fees. Forgot the amount.
RM360/year for Cobra Connex
RM299/year for Katsana

Cobra Connex has extra insurance (PDF Link) and emergency despatch team / 24 hours monitoring. They don't track 24 hours a day on your car location, only if there is an intrusion attempt / driving without the ADR / alarm alert etc.

Katsana doesn't have those insurance / emergency despatch team. But what it does have is 24 hours tracking of your car location kept in their servers - so you can see where your car has been / how fast it was driven etc - this might be an issue for those with privacy concerns.
TSisr25
post Dec 12 2016, 12:57 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(guilt79 @ Dec 12 2016, 12:41 PM)
Nolah bro.

RM360 is only track the car location.

I paid RM480 which got insurance. RM5k if car stolen and recovered within 72 hours

RM10,000 for more than 72 hours. I heard for Honda, you get 20% discount on next purchase if cobra can't find it.

Also, I'm curious that Civic awarded car of the year everywhere.. where???  laugh.gif
Nah... For Honda installed Cobra Connex (aptly named Honda Connex), it's specially priced at RM360/year - including the insurance. Can see the PDF link above for the source.

If Connex cannot find the car within 72hours, it's RM10K cash + RM15K subsidy on new Honda car. This is on top of your normal car insurance.

Civic Car of the Year Award(s)
TSisr25
post Dec 12 2016, 01:05 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(Omniscience @ Dec 12 2016, 01:01 PM)
It's good to have 24 hours tracking of the car but can't let my wife know it  biggrin.gif

Can PM Katsana seller details to me ? Would contact him directly to understand more. Tq bro
Dunno man. Can try to contact them directly from their website: https://www.katsana.com/contact

Also found out through Google: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3103503
TSisr25
post Dec 12 2016, 01:09 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(Omniscience @ Dec 12 2016, 01:06 PM)
Can I know if we started the engine and walk away with the keyless remote ? Will the engine stop automatically? Thanks sifu
Yes and No.

If you turn on via remote start, it will run for 10min, and automatically shut off - go read page 1. Don't be malas! tongue.gif

If you leave the car running after pushing the Start button, it will continue to run until the fuel is empty... Just turn off your car! Don't be malas! tongue.gif

This post has been edited by isr25: Dec 12 2016, 01:10 PM
TSisr25
post Dec 12 2016, 08:11 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(dD_se7en @ Dec 12 2016, 01:57 PM)
What petrol you all pump? The detail on fp don't have conclusion.
TLDR version:
If you care for the environment & catalytic converter : fill RON97 only (or from Oct 2018, RON95)
If you want to save money: RON95 is ok
Personally, I fill in Shell V-Power 97 or V-Power Racing.

Longer explanation:
The 2016 Honda Civic runs on RON92 minimum. So RON95 is fine. However, the car is EURO 4 compliant (engine and exhaust system) so it's good to the environment. Malaysia RON95 fuel is EURO 2M only - thus filling the car up with EURO 2M will clog/poison the car's catalytic converter in a few years - necessitating a replacement, or what Malaysians normally do is just cut it off (REALLY bad for the environment, shame on you who do this). Only RON97 fuel and above is EURO 4 compliant. RON95 will only be EURO 4 compliant in October 2018.

QUOTE(Xmatrix @ Dec 12 2016, 08:00 PM)
Well.. I thought the price is all the same regardless any colour.. Somemore he said only WOP add-on rm400.. Other colour no need to add cash..
Normal. Even Honda website says additional RM300 for WOP. Some dealers eat this additional cost, others pass it on to buyers. RM300 is better than Mazda's Soul Red colour which is an additional RM500 iinm.

QUOTE(hoss @ Dec 12 2016, 07:08 PM)
Dear sifu, Can anyone please enlighten me on which headlights is easier to maintain or better to take care? LED / the non LED?

Dilemma on these 2 variants.
LED - lasts longer, costlier to replace, vice versa for halogen.

This post has been edited by isr25: Dec 12 2016, 08:18 PM
TSisr25
post Dec 12 2016, 10:34 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Dec 12 2016, 03:07 PM)
Your wife need ur emails address n password to log in to katsana.

So u r safe for ur privacy 😛
Updated Post #3: Security system & RON95 VS RON97 https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=82673420 Do let me know if I got the features wrong...

QUOTE(bb68 @ Dec 12 2016, 10:22 PM)
about tinting,
most apply 70% for Front

Need advise for side and back.
30? 40? 50?
will 30 too dark?
Up to 70% VLT for the front window
Up to 50% VLT for the front side windows
Up to 30% VLT for the rear side windows
Up to 30% VLT for the rear window
TSisr25
post Dec 13 2016, 12:19 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(guilt79 @ Dec 12 2016, 11:55 PM)
hmm.gif  hmm.gif  hmm.gif

I got a Cobra for Mazda 3 and transfer to my civic. I was also thought the package is this (M3) until the technician forward me "new price structure"

The highest is M6, which enjoyed insurance. Updated 15th May 2016
Yeah... For Honda, Cobra has a special package for them.

Mazda normal package PDF Price List
Honda special package PDF Price List
Mercedes Super Expensive Package PDF Price List

Basically Honda users are getting the benefits of M6, at the price of M3. Pity Mercedes users though...
TSisr25
post Dec 13 2016, 09:30 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(jucl @ Dec 13 2016, 01:06 AM)
What if someone tempered the system after car is stealed and they cannot detect it anymore?  Will they refuse to cover?
Covered - if the car is trackable at least once during the event. If the thieves used a GPS / GSM jammer from the start until the car is shipped, it won't be covered. It's just an extra security precaution. It's not meant to be the 100% guaranteed won't get stolen security measure - the insurance is also meant to be an extra add on to your current insurance.
TSisr25
post Dec 13 2016, 10:57 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(jucl @ Dec 13 2016, 10:40 AM)
Does that mean that no matter they will also compensate?  as long as the car is stolen n they are not able to track the location.
Not covered: Car stolen, cannot be tracked at all from the beginning. Or if you are not contactable at all when they call you up to confirm, and the car could not be tracked anymore when they get the confirmation.
Covered: Car stolen, can be tracked initially, but suddenly cannot track anymore

Go read the #3 post on first page to understand more, read Page 5 on this PDF, or go to their website to learn more.

In any case, your car insurance should cover if it's stolen.

This post has been edited by isr25: Dec 13 2016, 10:58 AM
TSisr25
post Dec 14 2016, 07:04 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(hao5501 @ Dec 14 2016, 06:54 PM)
insurance recovery for car lost is based on car's market rate... not how much you loan from bank...
kindly read your insurance policy.. some even need to pay installment to bank after insurance pay..
you are lucky only loan 80%... depreciation of car value much faster than your repayment to bank
Actually, if you subscribe to the Honda Insurance Package, you will get 100% of the insured amount in the 1st 5 years of your car ownership.

But let's not get into what if the car is stolen discussion, and more like how to secure the car from being stolen in the first place (security system, additional security measures etc) tongue.gif
TSisr25
post Dec 14 2016, 11:26 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(zkhin @ Dec 14 2016, 08:09 PM)
dont really understand your question. If car stolen 2nd year also i got compensation enough to cover bank loan and have extra spare cash left?
Guessing that they took a 9 year loan. You would just reach parity in 2 years...

QUOTE(Effaw995 @ Dec 14 2016, 09:54 PM)
2 months ago, I have a discussion with staff LHDN. He said, if you buy a car with higher downpayment, if they tracked you, you're in trouble. You will going a whole process of detailing your salary and everything.

Then I asked if someone with low salary, buying a car with higher downpayment using his/her parents KWSP (let say RM40k), what happen if LHDN find out? He told, LHDN will asking the details of payment. If it's a transaction from KWSP account, then it's safe.

10% downpayment is must. But I have seen Honda SA which provided full loan for new Civic. 10% downpayment is must. Higher downpayment, less monthly installment. LHDN are attracted..hehe.
Only a problem if you lied on your tax assessment - under declared your income, over declared your tax relief etc

This post has been edited by isr25: Dec 14 2016, 11:27 PM
TSisr25
post Dec 16 2016, 06:28 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Dec 16 2016, 06:14 AM)
lets say if i decide to service outside after 5 years, what is the recommended engine oil for civic?

any guide on this? or any suitable oil?
Listed on page 1 FAQ. 0w-20. 0w-30, 5w-30, 10w-30 are all supported, but Honda recommends using 0w-20 for fuel economy.
TSisr25
post Dec 16 2016, 07:56 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Dec 16 2016, 06:39 AM)
thanks bro.. any brand is ok right? as long as meet the viscosity spec.. any brand that u will recommend?
Can ask at the LYN Engine Oil thread on this https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3310512. Telling you the truth... I never serviced outside before. I always went back to my dealership even when the warranty has ended.
TSisr25
post Dec 16 2016, 06:24 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(Effaw995 @ Dec 16 2016, 06:02 PM)
Guys, it is normal when folding door mirrors, the left side is quicker than right side?
Normal one side faster than the other.

QUOTE(yeewensmc @ Dec 16 2016, 06:13 PM)
Hi Guys,

Anyone install pedal lock ?

I'll be installing this 1st thing after i got my car.

Any comment ?

Video link fixed. Quite a few members put on the pedal lock such as locktech. Just don't install the optional ignition cut off as well. You can't use remote start with it, and some people face niggling issues too.

This post has been edited by isr25: Dec 16 2016, 06:24 PM

9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.1037sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 12:18 AM