> Military Thread V23

SUSKLboy92
post Mar 8 2017, 04:54 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(TigerLion @ Mar 8 2017, 04:34 PM)
Conscription in any country is a bad idea, especially during peace time.
No scared lose citizenship, talking seditious stuff like that? brows.gif

QUOTE(lordy @ Mar 8 2017, 04:23 PM)
if i do have a chance, sure want my kiddos to go thru proper national service ala RSAF, not the main kayu Bolehland type
Yang tu nama je NS lah, brapa kali nak cakap doh.gif
Propaganda camp =/= military training

QUOTE(keown83 @ Mar 8 2017, 04:30 PM)
wth what is happening?

suddenly u guys seems dun know how to use quote well
And its bloody irritating bangwall.gif

I blame atreyuangel brows.gif epidemic start from him laugh.gif

This post has been edited by KLboy92: Mar 8 2017, 04:54 PM
SUSKLboy92
post Mar 8 2017, 04:55 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(TigerLion @ Mar 8 2017, 04:54 PM)
Many Singaporeans are against conscription.  biggrin.gif
Yeah sure
But say it out loud and Special Branch come visit laugh.gif
SUSKLboy92
post Mar 8 2017, 04:59 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(TigerLion @ Mar 8 2017, 04:56 PM)
It's not seditious to be against NS haha...
You kidding?! I don't think there's anything SG take more seriously man, except maybe COE laugh.gif

NATSUONAL POLISU! TOTAL DEFENSU! laugh.gif
waja2000
post Mar 8 2017, 05:24 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(TigerLion @ Mar 8 2017, 04:33 PM)
I don't agree with that view.

I still believe that the effect other navies have on MY is really minimal, excluding China.
Look at your surrounding, there are IN, TH, VN, SG and BN.
SG and BN can't really engage in any naval warfare because BN doesn't even have a proper Navy and SG can't get her assets out to open waters in time if your armed forces is smart.
VN can't fully dedicate its asset against MY because of threats from CN.
TH navy is not effective because MY shares a land border. The main fight will take place there and naval assets will not really be helpful.
IN has too big a coast, diluting her naval assets against MY.
In any case, its better to buy tons of sampan boats to insert guerrilla troops into IN than to buy 1 or 2 subs to frighten IN, because chances are their tactics will be the same.
if from you view seems Asean navies effect to each is minimal, than should asean country no need Submarine, means SG, IN, MY no need get submarine too, even Thailand also getting Submarine soon by this year. i believe Myanmar also setup Submarine force.
all asean country start submarine getting too. Submarine just give country navies "relieved". just like SG getting Submarine bcos "worry on" navies threat.
just like Asean country getting MBT too.
i understand your point money better spend on "sampan boats",
i agree, but also need spend on other navy ship too, cos navy ship need different type ship for there own role..
and MY navy can't enter to IN water too.

atreyuangel
post Mar 8 2017, 05:46 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(haji_george @ Mar 8 2017, 04:51 PM)
ok I take it as no

my question is
you can speak/understand malay language or not
kemain lagi bapak eh

QUOTE(KLboy92 @ Mar 8 2017, 04:54 PM)
No scared lose citizenship, talking seditious stuff like that? brows.gif
Yang tu nama je NS lah, brapa kali nak cakap doh.gif
Propaganda camp =/= military training
And its bloody irritating bangwall.gif

I blame atreyuangel brows.gif epidemic start from him laugh.gif
oih, aku pulak

QUOTE(TigerLion @ Mar 8 2017, 05:40 PM)
Lol. Last time got news about the submarines being unable to dive.

I wonder how are they now.
the sub is able to dive,
during the tropical sea test there is a problem with the cooling and filteration system due to the fact that MY sea is much more hotter then the atlantic
It does not met the minimum safety requirement thus it is not advisable to dive (see the real word here) but still able to continue to sail

it's all part of test under the supervision of DCNS, when the trial is over the problem rectify and the subs operate normally
what you have been reading is the shallow version coming from political motivated sites/journal/comment/statement

thus making the one who read and believe on it as shallow as them as well.

This post has been edited by atreyuangel: Mar 8 2017, 05:47 PM
atreyuangel
post Mar 8 2017, 05:55 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(TigerLion @ Mar 8 2017, 05:50 PM)
Means they still can't dive lah, since they do not meet the minimum safety requirements.
doh.gif

the problem was rectify and it resume normal operation after the parts were replace to accommodate tropical waters

there are several times after the repair KD Rahman were seen diving to maximum depth with VIP on board even with some politician figures
but the vocal politician on the "cannot dive issue" were now where to be found even after invitation to dive extended to them.

actually, it is good for external forces to believe the subs cannot dive, we can have readiness advantage

yeah the sub cannot dive, haprak punya barang, tu ada kat Melaka on shore as museum.. please believe me
keown83
post Mar 8 2017, 05:58 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(TigerLion @ Mar 8 2017, 05:30 PM)
True.

So your subs repaired already?
what repair? Care to elaborate more?
atreyuangel
post Mar 8 2017, 06:00 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(TigerLion @ Mar 8 2017, 05:56 PM)
Don't mean to be rude. Just stating facts, hope you don't mind.

Like the bad points of SG's military, I'm also willing to be honest about it. It helps to facilitate better discussions.
lol
I was actually trying to be funny dude.
sorry if it's irked you in a way

that's right, after the problem rectify the sub is as good as before.
only the perception of the public is damage thanks to political motive

waja2000
post Mar 8 2017, 06:01 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(TigerLion @ Mar 8 2017, 05:30 PM)
True.

So your subs repaired already?
last year start in process service/repair and upgrade after 7 year using.
pcboss00
post Mar 8 2017, 06:07 PM

177 posts

KD TAR currently under refit for 18 month since january (2016) rite?

This post has been edited by pcboss00: Mar 8 2017, 06:09 PM
atreyuangel
post Mar 8 2017, 06:13 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(TigerLion @ Mar 8 2017, 06:06 PM)
Anyways, do you know how much is the salary of the average soldier in Malaysia?
there are the old scheme, newer is higher that this, but still enough for reference

Officer

NCO and Lower

This post has been edited by atreyuangel: Mar 8 2017, 06:14 PM
atreyuangel
post Mar 8 2017, 06:19 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(TigerLion @ Mar 8 2017, 06:15 PM)
The NCOs got other allowances?

The salary quite low.  sad.gif
that is the basic
acam2812
post Mar 8 2017, 06:23 PM

50 posts

Mar 9 2017, 01:41 PM
This post has been deleted by MKLMS because: Let's not feed the trolls, 'tis a silly thing to do.

Fat & Fluffy
post Mar 8 2017, 06:26 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(TigerLion @ Mar 8 2017, 06:53 PM)
I can get into Air Force because my clearance is high.
my fren, 1st gen wanna sign on as ME after ns also rejected... lelz

QUOTE(TigerLion @ Mar 8 2017, 08:15 PM)

freshie grad sign on as 2nd lt higher pay than jen icon_idea.gif
Fat & Fluffy
post Mar 8 2017, 06:40 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(TigerLion @ Mar 8 2017, 08:29 PM)
Your friend got clearance issue?

In SAF, if you can get very good grades and perform well during BMT and OCS, you can be promoted to Captain right after your graduation.
dunno.. they dont give reason... poor guy.. ground crew also no chance... now doing research doh.gif

usually for regulars that sign on before ns but yet not so smart to get a scholarship.. even scholars gotta finish their studies before attaining that rank.. but they only get the rank not jobscope.. they still need to go through the usual route... more pay n respect ler

my batch mate was given a scholarship.. from guards, got his ranger tab then went overseas on scholarship... over there they sent him to mccc, he got his captain rank there.. salute, study n train at the same time.. lelz
DDG_Ross
post Mar 8 2017, 06:43 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(TigerLion @ Mar 8 2017, 06:15 PM)
wait till you see other armies salary in the region biggrin.gif
msian basic salary is oni lower than brunei & sgpore in the region
thailand got comparable salary with msian but they take away 1/3 of their pay for "food & accomodation"

Fat & Fluffy
post Mar 8 2017, 06:49 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(TigerLion @ Mar 8 2017, 08:43 PM)
Usually 1st gen don't have ME scheme. It was just introduced quite recently only. Most older ME soldier were converted from the NCO track.

Due to manpower shortage, you don't really need to have good grades to get a sponsorship. They will pay for your uni plus give you SGD12K per annum as allowance. Also, they will give you a salary when you're serving your NS, instead of an allowance.
got ler.. 1st gen no prob.. especially for army.. but airforce a little more complicated..

lol.. am not talking bout the local school bursary... am talking bout safos/president scholarship... the future management
DDG_Ross
post Mar 8 2017, 06:54 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(TigerLion @ Mar 8 2017, 06:44 PM)
I heard your NCOs have some special investment scheme where the interest rate is 15% per annum?
ask atreyuangel
Fat & Fluffy
post Mar 8 2017, 07:02 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(TigerLion @ Mar 8 2017, 08:49 PM)
SAFOS usually normal people like us can't get one.  biggrin.gif
lol... who say cannot.. just need to study harder icon_idea.gif

did u join ncc while in school?
Fat & Fluffy
post Mar 8 2017, 07:05 PM