Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Bump TopicReply to this topicRSS feed Start new topic Start Poll

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> Mountain Biking V33, less yappin' more brappin'

thurtin
post Jul 19 2017, 11:55 AM
Getting Started
Group: Junior Member

QUOTE(croomaniac @ Jul 19 2017, 11:30 AM)
I'm no expert on bb standards but from what I know sram gxp bb will not fit shimano hollowtech ii cranks. Shimano cranks use 24mm diameter spindles for both sides. Gxp is for 24mm and 22mm sram cranks. I think you can use adapters to fit but it's quite leceh. You can get the shimano press fit bb that fits your frame. Don't think they are that expensive.

When it comes to component cross compatibility, the two things that really make the difference is the shifter and rd. Sram and shimano use different shifting ratios. When they don't match, you can usually tell it's not working as smoothly or as intended. For crank, cassette and chain, I think probably ok but depends on how you are used to the sram or shimano "feel" so it may be a big deal in the end.

I've use shimano xt cassette with sram x01 shifter for a bit after my X1 cassette died. While the shop told me it's compatible, I could tell it wasn't how I felt "normal" shifting would be with sram. After I changed to a gx cassette, I was much happier. Lol.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
aquilaTE
post Jul 19 2017, 12:15 PM
Getting Started

QUOTE(MjMax15 @ Jul 18 2017, 04:48 PM)
ya. i hate more cycling in city/road because of smoke/dust
sometimes i have to breathe with mouth (well...pancit recovery after few miles lol) so thats...quite dangerous

in trail no problem
nature around us, just a bit dust should be okay
if raining season, for me must use eyewear
Ic ok. Yeah, no choice when there are motor vehicles around. I tot off getting those fabric type respirator but someone mentioned that it may hinder one's breathing which is bad.

Anyway, thx very much for your experience.