Mountain Biking V33, less yappin' more brappin'

ieR
post Jun 14 2017, 10:52 AM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

Hi, just started cycling about 2 weeks ago. Noob rider. Silent reader too. But experienced light builder.

About the light you all discussing. About those (I love diy light stuff)cree t6 smd(or u guys call it led) is rated 5v 5watt smd, depend on manufacturer, you can overdrive(overpower) it to 6/7watt(usually used for strobing) or some underdrive(underpower) to 4watt to reduce heat.

Their 5watt rate is around 400lm. Measured 10cm away from bare bulb (no reflector or lens).

What you see in the ground luminated from the light is not the measurement of the lumens. Depeending on the reflector/lens build for the t6, it affect how the light is concentrated or spread wide... Spread light always is softer than concentrated (those of you have zoomable Torchlight would understand) so lumens doesn't determine your illumination, reflector and lens plays a major factor too. That why branded like topeak, lynnze and cateye even at lower rated lumens seems brighter is due to the lens/reflector designs

The usb mini light someone posted few page back, the dual t6 is fired around 8watt(4 watt each) at 5v consuming 1.6A... yes, 5V 1.6A for several reasons, pumping 10watt will consume 2A from your power bank running for 15min will kill your powerbank circuit . If your power bank doesn't support 2A(or it's 1A PB) it might instantly turn off or work at lower wattage. I would say the is mini light fires about 700-800 actual lumens.

My personal advise, Get a good long life light that last min 3hrs, low power last 5hrs . Lumens is not really a big deal if you ride on well lit road, the light is for ppl to see you. And avoid dark roads at all times. You don't want to get robbed of your bike.

*edit: corretion on the bold words

This post has been edited by ieR: Jun 14 2017, 05:36 PM
ieR
post Jun 14 2017, 06:01 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

lightning69:
you are correct on needing wide spread light on night mountain trail due to lack of "street lamps" inside jungle/mountains. nice light and batt pack mod, btw, only use reputed and high discharge 18650, me and few friends Blow up several cheap batts (my friends into vaping mods) i think with that 4x t6 cree, it draws a lot of power

all: sadly those mtb spotlight also at the same time not road legal(luckily malaysia dont enforce this) a proper road light MUST HAVE light CUT OFF line. that why all the branded one are expensive because to be legalized in some country like German, France.

for joy riding at night, seriously ride only on well lit area, incase of anything bad happens, people "sees" you. and u get help faster.
ieR
post Jun 16 2017, 03:38 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Jun 14 2017, 07:23 PM)
wah... didn't know that. been reading various forums, no mentioning of said rule. how about UK and US? been reading mostly forums based in these two countries
I'm not trying to being nasty but quick Google can get you a lot of answer... But here you go for UK

http://www.bikeradar.com/road/gear/article...-to-know-48568/

From the above article, it did mentioned eBay deals and China knockoff not compliant with local laws.

USA is less strict as far as I recall. But EU (now UK is not part of EU) is very very very strict. Eg, in German, front blinking light is not allowed (u get fined as endangerment to road user) and rear red light have exception to blinking mode not more then 1cd/lumens (wtf)!
http://bicyclegermany.com/german_bicycle_laws.html

But malaysia no care one laaaaa... Wahahahaha

ieR
post Jun 17 2017, 10:46 AM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

You should do bulk order hehehe

Question, let say(eg) one can ride with 26t chain ring and 36t chainring (or 44t) with cassette cog that result with same gearing ratio, would riding at smaller or larger chainring is more comfortable?

I ride mostly on road (some light uphill and some hard uphill), plan to upgrade but not sure to get double chainring or single chainring setup. Need advise from experience user.

(Not sure if relevant, I can do 27-30kmh on my 14kg 29x2.1 bicycle)
ieR
post Jun 17 2017, 11:07 AM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

QUOTE(d@odao @ Jun 17 2017, 10:55 AM)
I m using 32T narrow wide with 10-42T cassette.
I m loving it. Uphill no issue just my stamina not so fit.
Where do you find 10-42t? I saw a lot 11-40t
ieR
post Jun 26 2017, 03:57 AM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

hi, another weird question for you guys, are mtb crank (size/length) diff with roadbike cranks?
ieR
post Jun 26 2017, 02:27 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

QUOTE(Brotherjoe @ Jun 26 2017, 01:25 PM)
Looks like no. Maybe it depends on the frame size.

Ultegra R8000
Crank Arm Length : 165, 170, 172.5, 175mm

Dura Ace
Crank Arm Length : 165, 167.5, 170, 172.5, 175, 177.5, 180mm

XTR
Crank Arm Length : 165 / 170 / 175 / 180

Deore XT
Crank Arm Length : 165, 170, 175, 180
oh im sorry, i dont mean the arm, i was asking about the axle/bb are they the same length? coz one fellow told me cant be swap coz rb axle is longer and slimmer... so it got me confused.

This post has been edited by ieR: Jun 26 2017, 02:28 PM
ieR
post Jun 27 2017, 07:59 AM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Jun 26 2017, 08:03 PM)
The width of the BB treads on the roadbike frame is usually 68mm while those of mountain bikes are 73mm. So, your friend is wrong, it is the other way round. The diameter of the spindle of the crank is 24mm (shimano hollowtech)  and they are the same both both road bikes and mountain bikes. I think the BB cups of both are the same so you can use XTR's in place of Ultegras. Only the spindle length of the cranks are different but then I am sure nobody wants to use 53/39T chainring on a mountain bike or a 36/26T on a roadbike either.

Also the chain ring mounting holes of the mountain bike and the road bike are different too, so you can't use mtb chain rings on road bike cranks and vice versa.

As for other brands, Campy is different and SRAMs are also different, there's a whole plethora of different lengths of spindle, especially  Cannondale's and Trek's 30mm diameter spindles and also a whole range of jargons they use to describe. Better to stick to one brand for groupsets.  biggrin.gif
ahh, thanks for the answer!, spindle is the keyword to search in google and i can continue my research... thanks a lot for the lead.

actually im not so sure if im asking in the right thread, apologies if i asked in wrong thread.
ieR
post Jul 23 2017, 01:13 AM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

hi all sifu again, i been using my 29er mtb on road often lately(mostly) and i was thinking to convert my front suspension fork to a rigid fork. i dont have much experience or knowledge but i was wondering from what i can observ, since suspension fork is so much taller due to the extra 100mm travel, will the rigid fork upset the handling since (i assume) its missing out 100mm travel? or danger like pedal hitting the floor due to much lower front?
ieR
post Jul 24 2017, 12:34 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

QUOTE(freddy manson @ Jul 24 2017, 09:58 AM)
i think the rigid fork should be slightly taller than the suspension one
the shop u buy hte fork should know this
the length of the rigid fork should be the length of locked (non travel) fork
Oh that's good to know. Actually I'm trying to order online. My lbs doesn't have much selection and price is a little steep. That's why I lack of exposure on it. Good to know the length is at lock position. I try msg the seller to ask for the length to confirm again. Thanks
ieR
post Nov 15 2017, 09:56 AM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

QUOTE(nandayo @ Oct 31 2017, 02:59 PM)
guys, other than durability, easier maintenance,weight and sound preference, does upgrading your hub/freehub have any other benefit?
I heard from friends and bikeshop staff it can make your wheels smoother and faster but I never found any article in the internet supporting that.
I changed to a good wheelset bout 3 month ago. What i experienced is....

It reduce rolling resistant on good bearing. (Faster down hill, watt saving during pedaling) I doubt how much increment in pedal speed as it rely in your leg ability. But definitely could ride further and longer.
Sealed bearing, good ones, become maintenance free!

Weight affect from weight(rim) that directly affect rolling weight (for road) and weight directly affect hill climb.

Hub weight has almost no influences in what so ever.

But very subjective and each individual ppl might misunderstand what ppl trying to convey as many ppl think loud hub is good, which not really correct also. (Mine isnt that loud)

0.0496sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 11:16 AM