Mountain Biking V33, less yappin' more brappin'

thurtin
post Aug 7 2017, 10:03 AM

277 posts

QUOTE(Likesh @ Aug 6 2017, 03:02 PM)
Hi, sry new here, wanna ask

I just want casual ride, so any foldable mountain bike can introduce? below 1K, i want rim around 26" folding bike, so convenience for me to keep and bring along.

thanks biggrin.gif
Welcome. From my limited experience with them, most entry-level foldies between RM500 to RM1500 are pretty similar. Some of them are basically the same bike with different branding only. You can consider popular brands like Java, XDS, Trinx, Mongoose, KHS, Raleigh, etc.

The simple advice is really just go find something new or 2nd hand that you like the most within your budget. Don't think 26" wheels is common at that price range though. Most are 20" with 21 speeds or 14 speeds only.
afie98120
post Aug 7 2017, 12:16 PM

275 posts

guys, can i switch my full sus frame to hard tail frame?
other than size what else should i look for..

if can i dont want to spend another penny to buy a new part blush.gif
Likesh
post Aug 7 2017, 01:56 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(freddy manson @ Aug 7 2017, 09:32 AM)
- http://www.asogo.com/catalog_category/88/Foldable-Bike/
but not much 26er. one of it is this, but i have no experience riding these:

QUOTE(thurtin @ Aug 7 2017, 10:03 AM)
Welcome. From my limited experience with them, most entry-level foldies between RM500 to RM1500 are pretty similar. Some of them are basically the same bike with different branding only. You can consider popular brands like Java, XDS, Trinx, Mongoose, KHS, Raleigh, etc.

The simple advice is really just go find something new or 2nd hand that you like the most within your budget. Don't think 26" wheels is common at that price range though. Most are 20" with 21 speeds or 14 speeds only.
Thanks for the suggestion and opinion biggrin.gif, they say if want fit the mountain bike to car, just remove the front wheel, so no need find foldable one.

i got saw one bike sell by fitness concept
http://www.fitnessconcept.com.my/products/...-26-grey-detail
thurtin
post Aug 7 2017, 02:15 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(afie98120 @ Aug 7 2017, 12:16 PM)
guys, can i switch my full sus frame to hard tail frame?
other than size what else should i look for..

if can i dont want to spend another penny to buy a new part  blush.gif
Yes, its possible to change from full sus to HT but you need to share more info on your current bike and the parts on it. What brand and model is your bike and how old is it? When you want to transfer parts over, here are few big things to consider:

Fork
Is your current fork tapered or non-tapered? Tapered fork only fits tapered headtube without adapters, and ditto for non-tapered forks.
Is your current fork travel is too much or too little for the new HT?

Wheels/hub
Is your current bike 26, 27.5 or 29? What wheel size is your new HT frame gonna be?
Is your current hub size 135mm QR or 142mm TA? Can it fit the new HT frame?

Bottom bracket / crank
What standard is your bb? Can your current bb re used on the new HT frame?
Can you reuse the crank if you need a new BB?

There are other costs usually involved as well, e.g. new brake or shifter cables if needed, rebleed of brakes if needed, service, labour charges, etc. Maybe you can bring your bike to the shop and ask them nicely what parts can be reused on the HT frame you are aiming for and roughly how much the total cost to transfer them will be.

mzack1104
post Aug 7 2017, 02:21 PM

256 posts

hi sifu here..

I plan to upgrade my old fork, the thing is Im looking for v-brake compatible fork. Price range lower than rm500. 80-100mm is fine.

Can anyone suggest? 2nd hand also will consider.

Try google it, but very difficult to find the v-brake compatible.

Thanks!
thurtin
post Aug 7 2017, 02:24 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(mzack1104 @ Aug 7 2017, 02:21 PM)
hi sifu here..

I plan to upgrade my old fork, the thing is Im looking for v-brake compatible fork. Price range lower than rm500. 80-100mm is fine.

Can anyone suggest? 2nd hand also will consider.

Try google it, but very difficult to find the v-brake compatible.

Thanks!
Try http://bicyclebuysell.com
mzack1104
post Aug 7 2017, 02:43 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(thurtin @ Aug 7 2017, 02:24 PM)
Thanks man!

Found 2 item already rclxms.gif ..

anyone in here have and want to let go?
afie98120
post Aug 7 2017, 03:15 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(thurtin @ Aug 7 2017, 02:15 PM)
Yes, its possible to change from full sus to HT but you need to share more info on your current bike and the parts on it. What brand and model is your bike and how old is it? When you want to transfer parts over, here are few big things to consider:

Fork
Is your current fork tapered or non-tapered? Tapered fork only fits tapered headtube without adapters, and ditto for non-tapered forks. 
Is your current fork travel is too much or too little for the new HT?

Wheels/hub
Is your current bike 26, 27.5 or 29? What wheel size is your new HT frame gonna be?
Is your current hub size 135mm QR or 142mm TA? Can it fit the new HT frame?

Bottom bracket / crank
What standard is your bb? Can your current bb re used on the new HT frame?
Can you reuse the crank if you need a new BB?

There are other costs usually involved as well, e.g. new brake or shifter cables if needed, rebleed of brakes if needed, service, labour charges, etc. Maybe you can bring your bike to the shop and ask them nicely what parts can be reused on the HT frame you are aiming for and roughly how much the total cost to transfer them will be.
brand: commencal
model: FSus meta 55 size S (used)
year: i have no idea sweat.gif
Wheels: 26", QR size? no bloody idea how to measure that sweat.gif
Fork: non tapered 130mm
BB: i dont know how to measure. maybe buy new/2nd, switching to single speed flex.gif moneyflies.gif moneyflies.gif

i duno yet want to keep the fs frame or just let it go n get a carbon HT
thurtin
post Aug 7 2017, 03:26 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(afie98120 @ Aug 7 2017, 03:15 PM)
model:  FSus meta 55 size S (used)
year: i have no idea  sweat.gif
Wheels: 26", QR size? no bloody idea how to measure that  sweat.gif
BB: i dont know how to measure. maybe buy new/2nd, switching to single speed  flex.gif  moneyflies.gif  moneyflies.gif

It's quite an old model according to Google. I think better to just sell off the bike complete and use the money to get a new HT. Less hassle because i don't you will be able to reuse a lot of the parts on a modern HT frame.
aquilaTE
post Aug 7 2017, 04:59 PM

481 posts

QUOTE(Tankhebeng2 @ Aug 7 2017, 04:15 PM)
Anybody know about this bike call BTwin Rockrider 100
Looks cheap and thinking of getting it
What wheel size it it running on?
aquilaTE
post Aug 8 2017, 10:36 AM

481 posts

QUOTE(Tankhebeng2 @ Aug 7 2017, 07:03 PM)
26 inch
Ic ok... coz while I was googling for it, the 100 series only comes in 24inches and it stated kids bike where else the lowest 26inches is the 340 model.
Zelmel
post Aug 9 2017, 09:33 PM

495 posts

QUOTE(afie98120 @ Aug 7 2017, 03:15 PM)
model:  FSus meta 55 size S (used)
year: i have no idea  sweat.gif
Wheels: 26", QR size? no bloody idea how to measure that  sweat.gif
BB: i dont know how to measure. maybe buy new/2nd, switching to single speed  flex.gif  moneyflies.gif  moneyflies.gif

UGPM
freddy manson
post Aug 13 2017, 06:29 AM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

QUOTE(Tankhebeng3 @ Aug 12 2017, 02:23 PM)
I saw some ppl selling Crolan brand mountain bike
Price is cheap and from pictures looks good. And is claimed to be aluminum frame which is lighter
Wondering anybody got experience with this brand
Any reviews
links to said "selling" thread/article/post?
thank you
Clueless07
post Aug 15 2017, 11:02 PM

1,372 posts

Hi there.
Anyone could advice where could I find Fox Helmet?
Use to be a shop in pyramid, though not there anymore.

Else. Any other good recommendation for about RM300?
MjMax15
post Aug 16 2017, 09:02 AM

Uncle Scrooge is back!
1,372 posts

POC also not bad
i like the design similar like fox
freddy manson
post Aug 16 2017, 07:53 PM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

QUOTE(Clueless07 @ Aug 15 2017, 11:02 PM)
Hi there.
Anyone could advice where could I find Fox Helmet?
Use to be a shop in pyramid, though not there anymore.

Else. Any other good recommendation for about RM300?
the Fox Flux MTB helmet?
- https://bicyclebuysell.com/item/411561/fox-flux-helmet

icon_rolleyes.gif

Clueless07
post Aug 17 2017, 05:00 AM

1,372 posts

Thanks for sharing bro
etigge
post Aug 17 2017, 09:07 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(freddy manson @ Aug 16 2017, 07:53 PM)
I bought the Fox Flux from a friend's shop and he usually charges me a small token profit apart from his cost price and at that time (3 years ago) it was 220 bucks. He's selling it at about 300 bucks. Then a few months later, they were selling at RM150 in BBS. Then there was a deluge of Fox's helmets in BBS and also sellers., all selling at half or three quarter of the original price. It was all replicas from China. Anyway Fox's helmets are quite heavy compared to others, maybe it is more protective. Also take good care of the plastic strap that is stuck to the foam, for mine, that plastic strip breaks first and I fabricate another piece using those plastic files. Still usable as spare as I have since changed to MET with kevlar straps. tongue.gif

So, be careful when you buy Fox's helmets. One thing I noticed is original ones uses those push/clip kind of straps for adjustments while replicas uses the rotating type of mechanism. This is the original,

Clueless07
post Aug 17 2017, 12:13 PM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Aug 17 2017, 09:07 AM)
I bought the Fox Flux from a friend's shop and he usually charges me a small token profit apart from his cost price and at that time (3 years ago) it was 220 bucks. He's selling it at about 300 bucks. Then a few months later, they were selling at RM150 in BBS. Then there was a deluge of Fox's helmets in BBS and also sellers., all selling at half or three quarter of the original price. It was all replicas from China. Anyway Fox's helmets are quite heavy compared to others, maybe it is more protective. Also take good care of the plastic strap that is stuck to the foam, for mine, that plastic strip breaks first and I fabricate another piece using those plastic files. Still usable as spare as I have since changed to MET with kevlar straps.  tongue.gif

So, be careful when you buy Fox's helmets. One thing I noticed is original ones uses those push/clip kind of straps for adjustments while replicas uses the rotating type of mechanism. This is the original,

Thanks, good advice and concern about replica.
sometime the helmet is also very old stock.

I got the same problem, the strap gave way, as i sort of bend it while storing. Anyway- it serve me a good 4 year- also time to get new one.
Any other good choice? i saw MET but it cost like MYR 700 or so.....
etigge
post Aug 17 2017, 05:33 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(Clueless07 @ Aug 17 2017, 12:13 PM)
Thanks, good advice and concern about replica.
sometime the helmet is also very old stock.

I got the same problem, the strap gave way, as i sort of bend it while storing. Anyway- it serve me a good 4 year- also time to get new one.
Any other good choice? i saw MET but it cost like MYR 700 or so.....
I got the MET Lupo for slightly over RM400. Light and good. After using the Fox Flux for a few years, the MET Lupo is like not wearing a helmet. So light compared to the former. The MET Parabellum is slightly more costly.

64 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Top

0.0222sec    0.77    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 11:08 AM