Maybank eGIA-i 3.45% p.a., Rojak of SA + FD + MMF

Ramjade
post May 26 2017, 11:31 PM

24,382 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ May 26 2017, 11:21 PM)
Or RHB Bonus Savers
No not RHB Bonus Savers.
Reason:
1) Interest too low at 2.65%
2) Ned to deposit RM500/month for 12 full months without withdrawing to lock in 2.65%
drbone
post May 26 2017, 11:53 PM

1,757 posts

So no more 3.45%??
Ramjade
post May 26 2017, 11:58 PM

24,382 posts

QUOTE(drbone @ May 26 2017, 11:53 PM)
So no more 3.45%??
Still got until 15/6/2017. Come 16/6/2017, interest will be reduced to 3%. Come 1/8/2017, there's no more flexibility with eGIA-i. It's essentially an islamic FD without PIDM.
apathen
post May 27 2017, 03:11 AM

322 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 26 2017, 11:58 PM)
Still got until 15/6/2017. Come 16/6/2017, interest will be reduced to 3%. Come 1/8/2017, there's no more flexibility with eGIA-i. It's essentially an islamic FD without PIDM.
Similar like normal fd and no pidm, why do maybank think this egia-i still worth to exist? We should protest by pull out from egia-i in mass come 16 June .
screwedpeep
post May 27 2017, 04:49 AM

908 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 26 2017, 10:37 PM)
Fro eGia-i replacement
1) FSM CMF
2) OCBC 360 (deposit RM500/month + pay 3 bills using OCBC and get 2.9%pa)
3) UOB eAccount (only good for RM20k above as RM20k above give you 3.08%pa and UOB give free IBFT)
Can also consider bank islam. I forgot the product name but someone did mention it here few days ago.

Edit: it's wafiyah investment account. Post 761 https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=84876700

This post has been edited by screwedpeep: May 27 2017, 04:54 AM
Ramjade
post May 27 2017, 07:41 AM

24,382 posts

QUOTE(apathen @ May 27 2017, 03:11 AM)
Similar like normal fd and no pidm, why do maybank think this egia-i still worth to exist? We should protest by pull out from egia-i in mass come 16 June .
I already planning to do that.

QUOTE(screwedpeep @ May 27 2017, 04:49 AM)
Can also consider bank islam. I forgot the product name but someone did mention it here few days ago.

Edit: it's wafiyah investment account. Post 761 https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=84876700
From what I read, it is not flexible.

Dividend Magic
post May 27 2017, 08:33 AM

376 posts

QUOTE(apathen @ May 27 2017, 03:11 AM)
Yea there's really no point. I don't see why they wana take the effort to revise it. FD is much more attractive. Even 1 month FD is better.
SUSDavid83
post May 27 2017, 08:36 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(Dividend Magic @ May 27 2017, 08:33 AM)
Yea there's really no point. I don't see why they wana take the effort to revise it. FD is much more attractive. Even 1 month FD is better.
Normally this kind of promo is to jack up this cash for CET1 requirement.
Once met, they'll roll back to board rates.
Easiest way to banks for cash calls instead of rights issue and etc.

This post has been edited by David83: May 27 2017, 08:37 AM
screwedpeep
post May 27 2017, 08:55 AM

908 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 27 2017, 07:41 AM)
From what I read, it is not flexible.
Clause no.8 in TnC did mention pro rated prematured uplift http://www.bankislam.com.my/home/assets/up...h_ENG-FINAL.pdf
Dividend Magic
post May 27 2017, 08:59 AM

376 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ May 27 2017, 08:36 AM)
Normally this kind of promo is to jack up this cash for CET1  requirement.
But its not a promo. It's a downgrade of.. Everything! I only foresee mass withdrawal of cash from GIA-i customers on 16 June
cybpsych
post May 27 2017, 09:11 AM

---------------------
65,324 posts

QUOTE(Dividend Magic @ May 27 2017, 08:59 AM)
But its not a promo. It's a downgrade of.. Everything! I only foresee mass withdrawal of cash from GIA-i customers on 16 June
i would still put for 1mth or 2mth tenure placement, due to convenience specifically.

this revision just killed the flexibility on withdrawal vmad.gif

rate still good at 3.00% indicate rate, for small-ish amount below RM10k. even mbb's conventional efd rate is not that high either.

i'm lazy to jump to other banks with traditional FD promo.

This post has been edited by cybpsych: May 27 2017, 09:13 AM
kart
post May 27 2017, 09:15 AM

1,603 posts

QUOTE(Dividend Magic @ May 27 2017, 08:33 AM)
Which 1 month FD do you refer to? confused.gif The rate of Maybank 1-month eFD is 2.95%.
Dividend Magic
post May 27 2017, 09:17 AM

376 posts

QUOTE(kart @ May 27 2017, 09:15 AM)
Which 1 month FD do you refer to?  confused.gif The rate of Maybank 1-month eFD is 2.95%.
Yea better in the sense that 0.5% for PIDM protection.

I'm looking at premier/priority banking soon to see if they have better alternatives to this GIA-i. Any recommendations?
SUSDavid83
post May 27 2017, 09:54 AM

52,874 posts

Downgrade means they don't want cash anymore. That's why they downgrade.
You still can't grasp the purpose of having such promo at the first place.
drbone
post May 27 2017, 10:01 AM

1,757 posts

Such a waste they aren't having this feature anymore. Loved the flexibility .
Dividend Magic
post May 27 2017, 10:01 AM

376 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ May 27 2017, 09:54 AM)
Well sorry for my lack of knowledge and thanks for the clarification then. notworthy.gif
Ramjade
post May 27 2017, 10:16 AM

24,382 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ May 27 2017, 08:36 AM)
Normally this kind of promo is to jack up this cash for CET1  requirement.
It's not promo. If it's promo, why would they keep decreasing interest rate from 4%+ last time?

Good will see how maybank handle this. Mass withdrawal is not good for bank.

QUOTE(Dividend Magic @ May 27 2017, 09:17 AM)
Yea better in the sense that 0.5% for PIDM protection.

I'm looking at premier/priority banking soon to see if they have better alternatives to this GIA-i. Any recommendations?
Got. There's one particular stuff from maybank which cost min RM50k. Not very liquid. Almost same like CMF.

BTW, now all bank priority banking need to keep min RM300k-RM350k with them. No more RM200-250k.
Thank you to our RM. sad.gif

QUOTE(David83 @ May 27 2017, 09:54 AM)
I think either they are not making money or making a loss. Hence they pull the flexibility feature away. too many people abuse the system.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: May 27 2017, 10:28 AM
SUSDavid83
post May 27 2017, 10:26 AM

52,874 posts

Let's not argue further on the cash call which deviates from the main topic.

tifosi
post May 27 2017, 12:04 PM

Friend is someone to share last Cookie with!
5,156 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ May 27 2017, 09:11 AM)
i would still put for 1mth or 2mth tenure placement, due to convenience specifically.

this revision just killed the flexibility on withdrawal  vmad.gif

rate still good at 3.00% indicate rate, for small-ish amount below RM10k. even mbb's conventional efd rate is not that high either.

i'm lazy to jump to other banks with traditional FD promo.
Thanks to some selfish people who uplift and deposit daily/every few days which probably cause MBB to pull the plug on this.

Saw this coming for quite some time. Now it's everyone's lost
SUSDavid83
post May 27 2017, 12:17 PM

52,874 posts

PARK YOUR EMERGENCY FUNDS UNDER MONEY MARKET FUNDS

For individuals that wish to enjoy a higher interest rate while preserving their emergency funds’ liquidity, they may consider investing in money market funds on our platform. Money market funds are funds that invests in Malaysian Ringgit deposits with financial institutions in Malaysia, and are characterized as a low-risk and highly liquid “parking facility” for funds. We have compiled a list of money market funds for investors to consider, along with the respective settlement dates.

URL: https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...-May-2017--8400

88 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Top

0.0177sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 01:14 PM