153 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v16 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

pisces88
post Oct 28 2016, 05:49 PM

3,969 posts

QUOTE(kazekage_09 @ Oct 28 2016, 05:03 PM)
Hi all, im very new in ut. Can suggest me good blog or website for ut dummies like me?

Such as how to choose a fund? Does annualised return is a good indicator? What other indicators? Can i use lippers or morningstar as a reference?

Coz when I look at certain fund, on paper the return is not that good but many utc promote that fund.
annualized not a good indicator ya. in certain year the fund may outperform, then slump. but annualized might make it look good on paper.

a good start will be to decide how many % you wanna go into equities (high risk), balanced, or bond funds. high risk high return. depends how old you are, and your risk appetite biggrin.gif

im curious, which fund are you talking about which was promoted by many UTC? smile.gif
Avangelice
post Oct 28 2016, 06:30 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Oct 28 2016, 05:43 PM)
KR4ZY meh? Ver 1 to 16?

I want the maggi mee ™ version! Cepat dimasak, sedan dimakan!

Xuzen
QUOTE(puchongite @ Oct 28 2016, 05:48 PM)
Yeah maggi mee version is :-

Ask dumb questions here and get scolding by the Sifus here.  devil.gif
believe me or not I gained experience in FSM from all those threads you guys made and from there I charted the ups and downs, mistakes and success, see who's school of thought in investing is the most logical and of course to see who's the troll amongst the big fish.

or subsequently to cut short the bullshit just copy paste xuzen or pinkspider portfolio kao kao not
xuzen
post Oct 28 2016, 06:50 PM

4,436 posts

Last night got nothing better to do so I did some quick calculation and found out that if one were to put in Malaysia ringgit one thousand in ASM2020 for ten years without adding nor withdrawing and let the dividend compounded, one would get six point nought six percent annualized return for the whole duration of ten years.
At the end of ten years the one thousand ringgit became MYR 1,801.01.

To give one a perspective, if one were to put in Malaysian ringgit one thousand into FSM LYN perennial favourite Malaysia centric UTF, that is, KGF, the annualized return is seventeen percent. At the end of ten years, that initial one thousand ringgit would have become MYR 4,806.83. This is almost a three fold increase in return.

Taking calculated risk pays off.

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Oct 28 2016, 06:50 PM
kazekage_09
post Oct 28 2016, 07:04 PM

511 posts

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Oct 28 2016, 05:49 PM)
annualized not a good indicator ya. in certain year the fund may outperform, then slump. but annualized might make it look good on paper.

a good start will be to decide how many % you wanna go into equities (high risk), balanced, or bond funds. high risk high return. depends how old you are, and your risk appetite  biggrin.gif

im curious, which fund are you talking about which was promoted by many UTC?  smile.gif
It like their hot selling fund. For eg public mutual will always promote small cap, cwa with dali and dali 2, rhb with smart treasure and smart balance. If i ask those phillip mutual agents they will promote kenanga and eastspring. Im a bit concern about shariah hence all the shariah funds

So you mean the right way is set a target and goal then only look for funds? Not just pick those funds with high annualised and invest in it?
Avangelice
post Oct 28 2016, 07:29 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(kazekage_09 @ Oct 28 2016, 07:04 PM)
It like their hot selling fund. For eg public mutual will always promote small cap, cwa with dali and dali 2, rhb with smart treasure and smart balance. If i ask those phillip mutual agents they will promote kenanga and eastspring. Im a bit concern about shariah hence all the shariah funds

So you mean the right way is set a target and goal then only look for funds? Not just pick those funds with high annualised and invest in it?
I would suggest not listening to agents where the first thing on their mind is to get commissions off you and not putting your portfolio first.

many members here have lost money because of this
Ramjade
post Oct 28 2016, 07:31 PM

24,367 posts

You can forget about public mutual. Not performing when compare to it's peers.

Rhb malaysian funds are ok I guess except that they are sort of lazy to build their own portfolio. Thry sort of copy paste each other. So if a smallcap scandal happen again like in August, expect history to repeat itself. Unless of course they learnt their lesson. Some of their international funds look very tempting. drool.gif

For kenanga, the only good fund is their flagship fund; Kenanga Growth Fund (KGF).Eastspring is good for their smallcap fund. But since KGF do invest in smallcap sectors, it might be overlap.

So you are looking for shariah approved funds or non shariah funds?

The right way, is ask yourself, how much can you lose the money. Can you lose 15% and shugged it off? After that, split into different country/regions. Yeah. Next, determine how much bond fund you want to hold (to make your holdings suffer less loses). Determine you want bond funds in malaysia or out of malaysia. Then, determine you want to auto debit small amouny every month into your fund of choice or wait for pocket of opportunities then lump sum in.

Next come the fun part. Which fund should you choose. Choose performing fund for past 3 years. That's just some of the criteria as past is not guaranteed of current and future performance (eg. KGF perform very well but because KLSE is bad, KGF cannot perform as good as last time. But the fund manager is good)
1) buy everything that's making money covering every part of the world.
2) stick with 5-7 funds only.

For me, I am not holding any bond fund and I don't auto debit monthly and I will hold only 6 funds + maybe 1 bond fund (future wise). I choose max 6 funds as that leaves me with more money to cover all 6 funds. My way is the sesat way so please don't follow me. I topup whenever something drop in price. Follow the xuzen way.

Everybody have their own way as long as you are comfortable with it. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Oct 28 2016, 07:37 PM
prince_mk
post Oct 28 2016, 07:48 PM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Oct 28 2016, 06:50 PM)
Last night got nothing better to do so I did some quick calculation and found out that if one were to put in Malaysia ringgit one thousand in ASM2020 for ten years without adding nor withdrawing and let the dividend compounded, one would get six point nought six percent annualized return for the whole duration of ten years.

To give one a perspective, if one were to put in Malaysian ringgit one thousand into FSM LYN perennial favourite Malaysia centric UTF, that is, KGF, the annualized return is seventeen percent. At the end of ten years, that initial one thousand ringgit would have become MYR 4,806.83. This is almost a three fold increase in return.

Xuzen
really kah boss?

then I got to cash out some from Asx and put in KGF. But I m heavy in KGF and EISC ard 50% of my portfolio.

so how ?
prince_mk
post Oct 28 2016, 07:50 PM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Oct 28 2016, 06:30 PM)
believe me or not I gained experience in FSM from all those threads you guys made and from there I charted the ups and downs, mistakes and success, see who's school of thought in investing  is the most logical and of course to see who's the troll amongst the big fish.

or subsequently to cut short the bullshit just copy paste xuzen or pinkspider portfolio kao kao not
alrdy bullish on their portfolio since few mths ago.

but don't bullish blindly 100%. make your judgement and decision wisely too. our hard earn money.
prince_mk
post Oct 28 2016, 07:52 PM

2,679 posts

called up FSM office today. was allowed to switch frm Affin Aiman PRS to Kenanga PRS but with penalty of RM25.
nexona88
post Oct 28 2016, 08:08 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,472 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Oct 28 2016, 06:50 PM)

Xuzen
Hmm interesting findings rclxms.gif
So basically we needs to move from ASW to KGF asap devil.gif
T231H
post Oct 28 2016, 08:23 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(kazekage_09 @ Oct 28 2016, 05:03 PM)
Hi all, im very new in ut. Can suggest me good blog or website for ut dummies like me?

Such as how to choose a fund? Does annualised return is a good indicator? What other indicators? Can i use lippers or morningstar as a reference?

Coz when I look at certain fund, on paper the return is not that good but many utc promote that fund.
Q: Can suggest me good blog or website for ut dummies like me?
A: try to read ALL the articles in this links...
"If you're a novice investor -- or you're looking to brush up on a specific investing concept -- this is the place to start. We've tailored this section to give you the investment foundation that you need. 
We believe it is important that you first acquire this knowledge, because only then would you be able to take charge of your own financial planning and be great at managing your financial wealth. 
Those of us here at Fundsupermart believe passionately that unit trusts are the best investment instruments to help achieve our long term financial goals. So here, we'll show you the basics of financial planning, tutor you on the finer points of unit trust investing, and help you make better investment decisions!  "
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/school/school.svdo

Q: Does annualised return is a good indicator? What other indicators? Can i use lippers or morningstar as a reference?
A: rclxms.gif follow as advise by pisces88
QUOTE(pisces88 @ Oct 28 2016, 05:49 PM)

a good start will be to decide how many % you wanna go into equities (high risk), balanced, or bond funds. high risk high return. depends how old you are, and your risk appetite  biggrin.gif
Different investments come with different levels of risks and investors need to understand and know the risks that they can stomach given the circumstances that they are in before making a decision on what to invest. We explain how Fundsupermart.com Risk Rating can help investors to identify which unit trusts suit their risk appetite.
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...-May-2015--5825

additional consideration ......
A popular topic which arises frequently when we talk to investors is the notion of a “best fund” or “best market”. Also, upon further probing, the meaning of “best” is usually simplified to some measure of historical performance over a particular period. Anecdotal evidence suggests a healthy correlation exists between funds which appear on the “top performing funds” list and funds which are selling well, an indication that investors tend to place a lot of emphasis on a product’s track record. Is such an investment approach akin to driving a car by looking in the rear-view mirror?
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...gust-2015--6172

This post has been edited by T231H: Oct 28 2016, 08:34 PM
tonytyk
post Oct 28 2016, 08:33 PM

1,962 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Oct 28 2016, 08:08 PM)
Hmm interesting findings rclxms.gif
So basically we needs to move from ASW to KGF asap devil.gif
Risk return trade off, higher risk higher return
xuzen
post Oct 28 2016, 08:39 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(prince_mk @ Oct 28 2016, 07:48 PM)
really kah boss?

then I got to cash out some from Asx and put in KGF. But I m heavy in KGF and EISC ard 50% of my portfolio.

so how ?
Let's look at this objectively.

You are already heavy in KGF and Kap-chai UTF, both that are Malaysia centric. ASX FP UTF is also Malaysian stock market centric. If that is the case, you are what the finance professional termed "Concentration risk". Too much of a good thing can also be bad.

You may want to consider diversifying away from Malaysia exposure.

Lately we have been talking about foreign exposed UTF in this thread. You will know which one to go for. No need for me to repeat.

Xuzen
prince_mk
post Oct 28 2016, 08:49 PM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Oct 28 2016, 08:39 PM)

You are already heavy in KGF and Kap-chai UTF, both that are Malaysia centric. ASX FP UTF is also Malaysian stock market centric. If that is the case, you are what the finance professional termed "Concentration risk". Too much of a good thing can also be bad.

Lately we have been talking about foreign exposed UTF in this thread. You will know which one to go for. No need for me to repeat.

Xuzen
time to go for Asia Ex Japan smile.gif as promoted in the FSM website. 40% upside by the end of 2018.

thanks Sifu Xuzen.
Avangelice
post Oct 28 2016, 08:49 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Oct 28 2016, 08:39 PM)

Xuzen
in short.

your ASx, kenanga and kapcap are over lapping funds essentially

diversify diversify diversify.
prince_mk
post Oct 28 2016, 08:54 PM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Oct 28 2016, 08:49 PM)
in short.

your ASx, kenanga and kapcap are over lapping funds essentially

diversify diversify diversify.
ok boss. time to diversify. lately I alrdy bought Titan alrdy. will do more balancing in b4 year end.

but sayang to sell my EISCF. tongue.gif

thanks again.

This post has been edited by prince_mk: Oct 28 2016, 08:55 PM
pisces88
post Oct 28 2016, 08:54 PM

3,969 posts

that is a No No. biggrin.gif i think there's many post advising what you should do already. icon_rolleyes.gif
Avangelice
post Oct 28 2016, 09:30 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(prince_mk @ Oct 28 2016, 08:54 PM)
ok boss. time to diversify. lately I alrdy bought Titan alrdy. will do more balancing in b4 year end.

but sayang to sell my EISCF. tongue.gif

thanks again.
just keep kap chai la bro. don't be like me. I see not good I go switch 6 months the road the fund NAV goes up. I kept shooting myself in the foot and this ain't the first.

first was ponzi 2.0
then it was Titanic

from there I learnt not to follow other people and keep rolling on ahead

keep it there and divert your investment somewhere else.
TSAIYH
post Oct 28 2016, 09:37 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Oct 28 2016, 09:30 PM)
just keep kap chai la bro. don't be like me. I see not good I go switch 6 months the road the fund NAV goes up. I kept shooting myself in the foot and this ain't the first.

first was ponzi 2.0
then it was Titanic

from there I learnt not to follow other people and keep rolling on ahead

keep it there and divert your investment somewhere else.
Planning to drop ponzi 2.0 this year end and restart it fresh next year into its PRS counterpart smile.gif
Avangelice
post Oct 28 2016, 09:39 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Oct 28 2016, 09:37 PM)
Planning to drop ponzi 2.0 this year end and restart it fresh next year into its PRS counterpart smile.gif
not a big fan of prs when I'm going to need that cash to buy myself a wife. my parents are already asking for one.

153 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Top

0.0269sec    0.80    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 02:56 PM