Just had some argument rgd dowry issues

deanunited07
post Nov 4 2016, 06:59 AM

191 posts

QUOTE(heavensea @ Nov 4 2016, 05:35 AM)
Apa itu bersanding?
Bagus isteri u, banyak malay pinjam loan tuk kahwin...
Bersanding:duduk atas bangku sama isteri macam raja dan ratu...nnti org datang kenduri boleh tengok...

Macam ini

Kalau ikut plan i dan isteri i,kmi cuma duduk atas pelamin ni utk sesi fotografi je...in the end,spend around 4 hour plus and 4 persalinan baju sebab nak ikut kehendak my grandma..letih siot..
heavensea
post Nov 4 2016, 07:17 AM

9,616 posts

QUOTE(deanunited07 @ Nov 4 2016, 06:59 AM)
Bersanding:duduk atas bangku sama isteri macam raja dan ratu...nnti org datang kenduri boleh tengok...

Macam ini

Kalau ikut plan i dan isteri i,kmi cuma duduk atas pelamin ni utk sesi fotografi je...in the end,spend around 4 hour plus and 4 persalinan baju sebab nak ikut kehendak my grandma..letih siot..
Sanding mahal ker?
deanunited07
post Nov 4 2016, 07:20 AM

191 posts

QUOTE(heavensea @ Nov 4 2016, 07:17 AM)
Sanding mahal ker?
Not really,mine only cost me around rm3000..clothing,pelamin,cameraman etc

Btw,like i said before,me and my wife dont want to follow custom/adat....bersanding is adat oledi...

Kawin is easy and simple in islam...adat make it complicated and expensive..

This post has been edited by deanunited07: Nov 4 2016, 07:21 AM
heavensea
post Nov 4 2016, 07:26 AM

9,616 posts

QUOTE(deanunited07 @ Nov 4 2016, 07:20 AM)
Not really,mine only cost me around rm3000..clothing,pelamin,cameraman etc

Btw,like i said before,me and my wife dont want to follow custom/adat....bersanding is adat oledi...

Kawin is easy and simple in islam...adat make it complicated and expensive..
Talking about expensive,
Chinese dowry, jamuan malam x2-, liquor for dinner, dj for dinner, honeymoon....
frostier
post Nov 4 2016, 07:32 AM

447 posts

Expectation from every parties.
What can be compromised and what cannot.

List it down and work it out from there
beeMay
post Nov 4 2016, 09:30 AM

Dr
647 posts

QUOTE(heavensea @ Nov 4 2016, 05:33 AM)
No offence, but what's the meaning of having such wedding if can't afford it? But i don't get why she own in laws money fot wedding la, bit weird.. mind to elaborate more?

If I can afford the best I can, I would give what I can but only in reasonable way. Everyone also has dream, I also want to use all my savings buy sport car ah.. I can but I won't because it's unrealistic. Same goes to wedding.
Mainly bcause of the hotel venue. She wanted the good hotel that wont "destroy" her reputation. They did look around, theres cheaper venues with good food, but she wanted that one because it is located in the city center, so when people hear the name, they would b like "woaah"
You know, she thought she could afford it, but turns out got more n more unexpected expenses so in the end she cant actually afford it, but its too late to realize, so she owes money
andrekua2
post Nov 4 2016, 09:37 AM

13,483 posts

Dowry is a must for Chinese. There is a few thing regarding dowry. The parents dont usually took it for themselves. They want to make wedding look good. Those gold necklace, bracelet etc cost quite a lot. Secondly some even want to brag being married to higher class. Ask 10-15K but they will return a portion.

Personally I think chinese wedding dinner is where couple should save. Nowadays I feel like they would just invite the whole class or something, even when you are not that close. Like someone I havent seen in 10 years also can get invited. I usually just ignore especially those mass invite via FB or Whatsapp. Just remember, as friends, you dont want them to lose a fortune over a wedding but you also have to watch your wallet. Best way, dont invite. Like my dad, sometimes he can get up to 10 invites in a month. If you really follow market rate (RM150/ person, RM300 for couples), he's looking at RM3k spending. So sometimes I think we should give less to give people a wake up call. For my very own wedding, my dad is the one inviting. I only invite my very close friend that hang out often for the past 3-5 years. Thats only 10 of them.

This post has been edited by andrekua2: Nov 4 2016, 09:37 AM

13 Pages « < 11 12 13Top

0.0139sec    1.04    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 11:53 PM