159 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Bottom

Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.26, is this the end of DSLR era?

DS_Legacy
post Dec 5 2017, 10:06 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

Shot a wedding with wkwong91 sifu and here's one of the shot during the dinner.

user posted imageLouis and Yuki by My Story Production, on Flickr
EXkurogane
post Dec 5 2017, 10:31 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(Loseeker @ Nov 24 2017, 06:57 PM)
Hey Bro, thank you very much answering my questions!  thumbup.gif Learned much from you. I really appreciate the fact that you're good yet you're humble and willing to share. It is good to have you in this Nikon thread.  thumbup.gif

And your Nikon D800 + 24-70 f2.8 is a killer combo for wedding....make my heart so itchy to want to jump to full frame from apsc.  rclxub.gif But than, I want to upgrade my skill first before I upgrade my gear.  nod.gif
Go for it. If you are on a budget, a D750 is still one heck of a camera. Many people I know bought this model.
I'm jumping from D5200 straight to D850 even though im only doing (toy/miniature) photography for a hobby. God knows when i will actually receive it. I ordered on 15th Oct with a deposit. No news yet, heard that there's a long waiting list worldwide. cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

My issue is with the 24-70. The older 2.8G has corner sharpness issues wide open. the newer 2.8E is expensive.
I'll probably stick to primes like i've always did but without being able to zoom, they are not so flexible for event/conventions and concerts.

DS_Legacy
post Dec 5 2017, 10:42 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(EXkurogane @ Dec 5 2017, 10:31 PM)
Go for it. If you are on a budget, a D750 is still one heck of a camera. Many people I know bought this model.
I'm jumping from D5200 straight to D850 even though im only doing (toy/miniature) photography for a hobby. God knows when i will actually receive it. I ordered on 15th Oct with a deposit. No news yet, heard that there's a long waiting list worldwide.  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif

My issue is with the 24-70. The older 2.8G has corner sharpness issues wide open. the newer 2.8E is expensive.
I'll probably stick to primes like i've always did but without being able to zoom, they are not so flexible for event/conventions and concerts.
Wah what a hell of a jump there. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

The sharpness issue is not so significant I suppose. Should be a lot better than any of the lenses you have in the past. Still very sharp. laugh.gif

Anyway, please post the drills when the D850 is with you. Sure very nice to have. rclxm9.gif
EXkurogane
post Dec 5 2017, 11:09 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(DS_Legacy @ Dec 5 2017, 10:42 PM)
Wah what a hell of a jump there.  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

The sharpness issue is not so significant I suppose. Should be a lot better than any of the lenses you have in the past. Still very sharp. laugh.gif

Anyway, please post the drills when the D850 is with you. Sure very nice to have.  rclxm9.gif
Sure haha
I've been wanting to explore landscape and specifically astrophotography, so full frame was the natural path to take. I could do zero interest CC installment with Maybank so why not, i thought. The problem now is ultra wides for FX is expensive. I was thinking of getting Irix f2.4 15mm. Manual only, but i heard lots of good things about it. If i go prime lens and AF, im thinking of Nikon f1.8G 20mm. And then there's Nikon f4 16-35, f2.8 14-24 (no way i can afford this at the moment), or Tokina f2.8 16-28. The Tokina is the cheapest, but once again, corner sharpness is just bad at f2.8. I've read like 5 reviews of each lens i listed.

My ultimate goal is to combine scale figurine photography with astro and landscape. Nikon D850's automated focus stacking feature (with the condition lens has AF) would be of big help. Currently I build dioramas and shoot them under controlled conditions, similar to a studio setup.

DS_Legacy
post Dec 5 2017, 11:21 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(EXkurogane @ Dec 5 2017, 11:09 PM)
Sure haha
I've been wanting to explore landscape and specifically astrophotography, so full frame was the natural path to take. I could do zero interest CC installment with Maybank so why not, i thought. The problem now is ultra wides for FX is expensive. I was thinking of getting Irix f2.4 15mm. Manual only, but i heard lots of good things about it. If i go prime lens and AF, im thinking of Nikon f1.8G 20mm. And then there's Nikon f4 16-35, f2.8 14-24 (no way i can afford this at the moment), or Tokina f2.8 16-28. The Tokina is the cheapest, but once again, corner sharpness is just bad at f2.8. I've read like 5 reviews of each lens i listed.

My ultimate goal is to combine scale figurine photography with astro and landscape. Nikon D850's automated focus stacking feature (with the condition lens has AF) would be of big help. Currently I build dioramas and shoot them under controlled conditions, similar to a studio setup.

I like the 3rd and the 4th photos. The details are so meticulous. thumbup.gif

If you are looking to explore astrophotography, 16-35mm F4 is not that bad. It is a versatile and affordable UWA lens compare to the 14-24 F2.8. Do you read about Laowa 12mm F/2.8? I saw some really nice astro photos taken with that lens too. icon_idea.gif
EXkurogane
post Dec 5 2017, 11:31 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(DS_Legacy @ Dec 5 2017, 11:21 PM)
I like the 3rd and the 4th photos. The details are so meticulous.  thumbup.gif

If you are looking to explore astrophotography, 16-35mm F4 is not that bad. It is a versatile and affordable UWA lens compare to the 14-24 F2.8. Do you read about Laowa 12mm F/2.8? I saw some really nice astro photos taken with that lens too.  icon_idea.gif

Yeah, the 12mm zero D something by Laowa. If not mistaken it could also tilt shift if used on crop sensors

I've been seeing some preowned 16-35 on some listings online for anywhere between RM2800-3400. If I had gone for glass that do not accept screw in filters im in for another expensive nightmare. Those 150mm square filter systems and their holders cost as much as a lens itself. That's also one factor to consider. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by EXkurogane: Dec 5 2017, 11:32 PM
wkwong91
post Dec 6 2017, 12:15 AM

NeneBubu
1,171 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Nov 30 2017, 09:14 PM)
Bojio! Should turn on car lights, the effect will be more dramatic!
I noticed these kind of shots will benefit from editing in some long exposure light trails so that they won't look too plain  rclxms.gif

When is the next car shoot? lol wkwong91 please prepare this:  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
[/spoiler]
Ok la next time jio you. Got chance I ask my friend bring his WRX. laugh.gif

QUOTE(DS_Legacy @ Dec 5 2017, 10:06 PM)

Konon la ayam is sifu. doh.gif

QUOTE(EXkurogane @ Dec 5 2017, 11:31 PM)

Yeah, the 12mm zero D something by Laowa. If not mistaken it could also tilt shift if used on crop sensors

I've been seeing some preowned 16-35 on some listings online for anywhere between RM2800-3400. If I had gone for glass that do not accept screw in filters im in for another expensive nightmare. Those 150mm square filter systems and their holders cost as much as a lens itself. That's also one factor to consider.  sweat.gif
Bro, you can get a 16-35 for RM3k and the condition like new. If RM3.4k, the price is quite high. biggrin.gif

gerald7
post Dec 6 2017, 07:32 AM

r a n d o m l y
2,453 posts

Sure haha

wahh... anything wif saber i laiks!!! LOL I love the setup of each scene. how long did you take to do it? diyd everything ?
gerald7
post Dec 6 2017, 07:34 AM

r a n d o m l y
2,453 posts

QUOTE(DS_Legacy @ Dec 5 2017, 10:06 PM)

I got some opinions, dont terasa k... too sharp.. too vivd for me. Maybe the couple needs to be slightly lit more. when they look at each other, I would go closer, more intimate. If wider, I would ask them look into lens.

I would add another light or two.

its just personal preference

This post has been edited by gerald7: Dec 6 2017, 07:38 AM
EXkurogane
post Dec 6 2017, 08:04 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(wkwong91 @ Dec 6 2017, 12:15 AM)
Ok la next time jio you. Got chance I ask my friend bring his WRX.  laugh.gif
Konon la ayam is sifu.  doh.gif
Bro, you can get a 16-35 for RM3k and the condition like new. If RM3.4k, the price is quite high.  biggrin.gif
Thanks for the heads up
Used 50mm primes are like pasar malam stuff but used ultra wides are not easy to find unless we are talking about older D prime lenses. My friend tested his f2D 35mm on a display unit D850 and the focusing was erratic and hunting all over the place. According to Nikon staff it's probably software issue and need to be sent to service center. I don't want to go through the trouble so I'm avoiding most D prime lenses.

QUOTE(gerald7 @ Dec 6 2017, 07:32 AM)
wahh... anything wif saber i laiks!!! LOL I love the setup of each scene. how long did you take to do it? diyd everything ?
Thanks biggrin.gif
The ones i showed are mostly self made. My sets can take anywhere from as little as 2 to 3 days to several weeks depending on complexity. That saber bus stop one i took like 2 weeks to build. Some of my sets include pre-made parts I import from Taobao so it depends. Case by case basis where i judge myself whether it's cost effective or not. Sometimes buying a ready made part and repainting is cheaper than making on your own from scratch.

wkwong91
post Dec 6 2017, 10:20 AM

NeneBubu
1,171 posts

QUOTE(EXkurogane @ Dec 6 2017, 08:04 AM)
Thanks for the heads up
Used 50mm primes are like pasar malam stuff but used ultra wides are not easy to find unless we are talking about older D prime lenses. My friend tested his f2D 35mm on a display unit D850 and the focusing was erratic and hunting all over the place. According to Nikon staff it's probably software issue and need to be sent to service center. I don't want  to go through the trouble so I'm avoiding most D prime lenses.
Yup. Agreed. Maybe you can look from KLDSLR too. Sometime they might have used unit wide lenses.

Btw, your photos are awesome! thumbup.gif
gerald7
post Dec 6 2017, 11:45 AM

r a n d o m l y
2,453 posts

QUOTE(EXkurogane @ Dec 6 2017, 08:04 AM)
Thanks biggrin.gif
The ones i showed are mostly self made. My sets can take anywhere from as little as 2 to 3 days to several weeks depending on complexity. That saber bus stop one i took like 2 weeks to build. Some of my sets include pre-made parts I import from Taobao so it depends. Case by case basis where i judge myself whether it's cost effective or not. Sometimes buying a ready made part and repainting is cheaper than making on your own from scratch.
nice, well done !
DS_Legacy
post Dec 6 2017, 12:54 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(gerald7 @ Dec 6 2017, 07:34 AM)
I got some opinions, dont terasa k...  too sharp.. too vivd for me. Maybe the couple needs to be slightly lit more. when they look at each other, I would go closer, more intimate. If wider, I would ask them look into lens.

I would add another light or two.
its just personal preference
Thanks for the input sifu notworthy.gif

Will take note on those biggrin.gif
goldfries
post Dec 6 2017, 01:44 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(gerald7 @ Dec 6 2017, 11:45 AM)
nice, well done !
He almost every month got something nice coming out punya. biggrin.gif

gerald7
post Dec 6 2017, 03:05 PM

r a n d o m l y
2,453 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Dec 6 2017, 01:44 PM)
He almost every month got something nice coming out punya. biggrin.gif
ayam impressed

I love the documentation he does on the BTS. tats what i call a traditional artist. I know friends whom would PS everything in...

This post has been edited by gerald7: Dec 6 2017, 03:11 PM
EXkurogane
post Dec 6 2017, 04:19 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(gerald7 @ Dec 6 2017, 03:05 PM)
ayam impressed

I love the documentation he does on the BTS. tats what i call a traditional artist. I know friends whom would PS everything in...
Yes, sometimes I write and publish my own tutorials, behind the scenes stuff for people to learn from. Just to share a bit of knowledge to the society and community. I've also published tutorials on composition and studio lighting techniques before (from a figure/miniature perspective) though the concepts are similar to portraits in general. Just downsized for scale models.

I'm quite anti-photoshop when it comes to artificially adding objects or effects and swapping backdrops, but i will so do it conservatively if really necessary. Still open to that option. Most of my photos are only processed in lightroom.

I have been doing this for 4 years but not very active on lowyat in general, which is why u didn't see my post here in the past.

This post has been edited by EXkurogane: Dec 6 2017, 04:28 PM
goldfries
post Dec 6 2017, 05:01 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(EXkurogane @ Dec 6 2017, 04:19 PM)
I have been doing this for 4 years but not very active on lowyat in general, which  is why u didn't see my post here in the past.
Because you only post in hobbies section mah.

[PF] T.J.
post Dec 7 2017, 11:13 AM

24,193 posts

Sure haha

Awesome photos man  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
I love the first shot very much.. clearly a lot of effort has been put into setting up the scene  thumbup.gif Keep up the good work!

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Dec 7 2017, 11:14 AM
SUSiFake322
post Dec 10 2017, 11:14 AM

30 posts

Yo Nikon-ian.

I'm looking into getting a speedlite.

Any recommendation between SB700 vs SB910?
wkwong91
post Dec 10 2017, 01:10 PM

NeneBubu
1,171 posts

QUOTE(iFake322 @ Dec 10 2017, 11:14 AM)
Yo Nikon-ian.

I'm looking into getting a speedlite.

Any recommendation between SB700 vs SB910?
Definitely SB910! flex.gif

159 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Top

0.0227sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 12:15 AM