12 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 >Bottom

Proton Suprima S V3, Slow Turbo.. Baru V3..

TDUEnthusiast
post Jun 11 2019, 03:22 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(acid_head @ Jun 11 2019, 02:52 PM)
And also take rattling sound into consideration.  My car have rattling sound everywhere until i have given up.
Can solve, but requires time and patience. I went till the point of breaking the air vent knobs so that they can be made to sit tightly and yet move smoothly, alongside all sort of stuff to solve design issues.
TDUEnthusiast
post Jun 17 2019, 07:48 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(Nafirii @ Jun 17 2019, 07:38 PM)
Same, my ears hurt every time i brake laugh.gif

What lamps are you using? Mine is so dim can hardly see the ground at night
Take a picture of your cut off, might be bulb installation problem
TDUEnthusiast
post Oct 7 2019, 09:32 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(kadonara @ Sep 14 2019, 10:10 PM)
Guys..
can we adjust the high beam height? mine seems a bit low
Can. There is an adjustment screw for the high beams. Don't adjust it too high. You need it just slightly higher than the low beams so that you can enjoy the benefits of high beam @ main beam lights.

QUOTE(zyphron @ Sep 26 2019, 02:59 AM)
hi. need some insight for below link. currently considering to purchase a secondhand suprima as an upgrade over my Myvi 2010.
any concerns I should be wary of? what's the maintenance cost will be like?

https://www.carlist.my/used-cars/6192888
Very expensive to maintain if you care about the car. If you don't care about the car, it still will bite you in the arse and pocket, but harder.

QUOTE(static_365 @ Oct 5 2019, 09:32 AM)
Good news guy !

So i decided to send my car to another SC, and found is only because Balancing .. so now after do Balancing .. my car no longer vibrate on 120 already .. after this Balancing or alignment will send to SC, outside shop do like shit .. So relief is not a driveshaft issue. ..
Next time just keep quiet and claim la tongue.gif

QUOTE(chilskater @ Oct 5 2019, 10:57 AM)
Is this car a good 2nd hand buy? Gearbox sedap? Thinking of getting 2nd car after Honda City..
Gearbox not sedap at low speed, better if the CVT damper has been replaced under the recall programme which is ending very soon. Requires rather frequent end user adaptation to remain smooth and an oil change for the gearbox preferably every 30,000km or earlier to keep it in good shape.

2nd hand might not be a good buy unless it has a solid record due to sub par parts quality.

This post has been edited by TDUEnthusiast: Oct 7 2019, 09:34 PM
TDUEnthusiast
post Oct 28 2019, 12:32 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(Mr Gray @ Oct 28 2019, 11:27 AM)
Hi everyone,

Just asking for opinions. Sorry if the questions are noob

My suprima is already 6 years old, got it in year 2013.

Sent it for full check-up at Aiman Motors, one of the authorised dealers for proton. The engine is getting louder, rattling dashboard and the suspension feels a little hard now.

They say I need to replace those things

1. Engine mounting set
2. Lower arm both sides
3. Front absorber
4. Module sensor

They say, it would take up to three weeks for them to get the spare parts from proton.

My question is, would it be faster and cheaper to do it at COSE? I don't really like COSE because normally there are just too many people there and it would take a long time for COSE to service my car.

I have had good experience servicing my car at Aiman Motors, so was just thinking to ask them to order the parts and send my car again in three weeks.
COSE should be much faster, but it depends on stock availability as well. Cost wise might actually be lower than authorised, but maybe not by much.

Since your car doesn't have warranty already, it may make more sense to get the parts replaced at reputable workshops such as Zordaq Motorsport. They sell genuine proton parts and the labour cost is much cheaper. They may even be better than doing it at COSE assome of COSE's foremen/technicians don't really check their job quality.

You just need to make an appointment with them.

1. Engine mounting set - get the entire set replaced. total cost is within 5xx if I'm not mistaken at Zordaq, all genuine parts. Apparently replacing the top two only without the bottom two will reduce their lifespan.

2. Lower arm both sides - What is the vehicle's mileage now?

3. Front absorber - Get all four changed at the same time. Just buy original proton absorbers for suprima as their price is almost the same as the ones sold by spare part shops. Zordaq also sell genuine absorbers.

4. Module sensor - What is this for? Parking sensors?

This post has been edited by TDUEnthusiast: Oct 28 2019, 12:32 PM
TDUEnthusiast
post Oct 28 2019, 01:36 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(Mr Gray @ Oct 28 2019, 01:18 PM)
Mileage now about 130k. Front sensor, back sensor, reversed camera all not working anymore.

Btw I see all your comments promoting zordaq. Sorry, but is that your shop or you work there?
Nope, but they do a lot of protons, so they're a safer bet if you want to have your proton car serviced or repaired. I just happen to say it more frequently cause I don't know any other shops besides some others that I go to for minor jobs.
TDUEnthusiast
post Oct 28 2019, 01:47 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(Mr Gray @ Oct 28 2019, 01:38 PM)
All right. Will try to go there. Thanks for the recommendation. smile.gif
If you want alternatives:

1. Zhapalang motorsport -> Did my absorbers here/some suspension parts, Kayaba OE part for Suprima/Preve. Feels the same, but I would have gone for Proton originals as the difference is about RM100 only. Labour charge is a reasonable RM30 per piece, and they have proper equipment for disassembly. Didn't go to Zordaq or other shops that do lots of Proton as they were full, and avoided one that had cheap absorbers but wanted rm40 per side. The two workers working for Zenden are really nice.

2. EA Autoworks -> Did my engine/transmission mounts here. They carry ProVision mountings for Suprima/Preve which are not as soft as originals, but last much longer. RM5xx too. If you want to get your engine/CVT oil changed, can do it here too, but do NOT bring your own oils. Anything else don't bother unless you are planning to change to parts that they sell, such as absorbers.

P/S: Get your absorber mounts, bearings, and bump stops replaced too at the same time. Originals are really cheap, and at 130k km it's about time too. Make sure it's genuine part, if you don't know where to get, go to Proton parts Centre glenmarie

This post has been edited by TDUEnthusiast: Oct 28 2019, 01:51 PM
TDUEnthusiast
post Dec 4 2019, 08:27 AM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(The Red Giant Warrior @ Dec 4 2019, 01:39 AM)
So how fast is stock Suprima? Always heard that this model is one of the best Proton model in term of performance so I'm wondering how fast: 

1. 0-100 km/h without using paddle shift
2. 0-100 km/h using paddle shift
3. Top speed
The best is x70 now, though it isn't really proton's..

3. Top speed - 210 to 240 depending on vehicle and conditions. Mine barely climbs after 210, though i have never had the chance to really max it out without having to brake.
TDUEnthusiast
post Dec 5 2019, 03:05 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(The Red Giant Warrior @ Dec 4 2019, 09:36 AM)
X70 is different story  biggrin.gif
210 to 240? Seriously?  shocking.gif That's a outstanding figure for 1.6 Campro engine

So how fast is your car from 170 to reach 200 mark?
Never paid attention to this. Just know that with MBO from EA Autoworks it's pretty fast.

I believe some have recorded a 7.6sec or 8sec time before for 0 to 100, but it isn't good for the gearbox
TDUEnthusiast
post Dec 23 2019, 09:39 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Dec 23 2019, 02:00 AM)
So back to my issue of engine jerking when accelerating on not flat roads..

So far done
-spark plugs and coils
- CVT Oil change + filter at SC
- Dampener recall
- Service turbo + TB cleaning+ CVT adaptation
-change timing belt+waterpump, clean and service valve body, cvt flush and refill for the 2nd time within 5k km
-full set engine mounting

When they drain the cvt fluid no shrapnels or anything that may suggest the CVT is kong... Hmm

Already spend 6k++ on these yet still not settle the problem...
Replace the brake switch. Make sure its length is adjusted properly as well
TDUEnthusiast
post Dec 23 2019, 09:58 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Dec 23 2019, 09:52 PM)
Brake switch got anything to do with the jerking?
The car's computer reads the brake signal to decide on whether to engage, disengage, or engage the clutch partially. If the switch is gone which is possible due to the lousy quality, it can have poor contact causing erratic signal output to the computers.

Other than this, could be the brake pedal is not pressing against the switch sufficiently over rough roads when it is not depressed, thus causing a brake/no brake signal to be produced randomly especially when the road is bumpy. This is why the switch has to be adjusted correctly. Enough to stay closed, yet not so deep that it fails to produce brake signal quickly when the pedal is depressed.

It's only between 20 to 30 RM, original. Buy from PPC as it should have the latest stock.

This post has been edited by TDUEnthusiast: Dec 23 2019, 10:01 PM
TDUEnthusiast
post Feb 29 2020, 06:40 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(muss90 @ Feb 7 2020, 03:05 PM)
anyone facing problem boot cannot release? try both using remote and switch also cannot
Do you hear some noise from the boot when you operate the switch/remote? If yes the motor is either weak, or the link between the motor and boot latch release is broken. If not it might be something else. Bring to a trusted service centre and get them to help diagnose, or if you have some car troubleshooting skills, start looking from the interior fuse box if there's no sound coming from the motor in the boot.

QUOTE(heavensea @ Feb 26 2020, 03:44 AM)
Lama tak visit thread ini...
Hi guys, anyone having issue of "one side of headlamp" keen spoiled (bakar) non stop?

Any permanent solution for this problem?
I personally never experienced this. Some say additional grounding will help, some blame it on bulb quality/replacement process, i.e. bulb was contaminated during installation. In any case get a branded H7 bulb replacement, or just go to somewhere like EA Autoworks and get them to recommend a better alternative

QUOTE(mitutoyo @ Feb 26 2020, 07:39 AM)
Good morning all sifu.

I just got a second hand ss, the issue is the h.break light n esp light come n go! after reading some sifu post all having the same problem,just like to know how to setter the problem. Tq

The car also having L.side light bulb burn, gear stick black plastic damaged, driver seat at the back support hve sound! rocker cover start to leak........................
Almost all the problem all sifu have my car having! bangwall.gif  biggrin.gif
1. Might be related to the brake switch. It's just RM2x from Proton Parts Centre or any Proton's SC. Don't buy it from anywhere else if you're looking for this part. If not get the car scanned by Proton or by a trusted workshop to see what's the issue.

2. Possible solutions are branded bulb replacements, additional grounding, changing headlamp bulb socket, etc.

3. Buy a new replacement for the gear lever.

4. Not much you can do about the original seat as most owners will suffer from this. A car upholstery shop may be able to help by stuffing additional materials inside the seat, but ask them first.

5. Rocker cover seal replacement will cost between Rm100 to RM120 at a proton SC including original parts and sealant. All campro engines have this issue, and many will start exhibiting this problem as early as 60,000km
TDUEnthusiast
post Mar 6 2020, 09:37 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(heavensea @ Mar 4 2020, 02:10 PM)
Where did you done for the tuning?
EA Autoworks. They're the only one who offer MBO for proton CFE models
TDUEnthusiast
post Mar 6 2020, 09:53 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(heavensea @ Mar 6 2020, 09:43 PM)
Forgot to mention.. it's RM6xx now I think. If you don't actually want to keep your car for too long, maybe find someone whose car you can try first before deciding. I haven't seen any negative reviews yet though
TDUEnthusiast
post Apr 22 2020, 08:53 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(The Red Giant Warrior @ Apr 22 2020, 05:46 PM)
Ok noted

So I have listed parts / things that need to be changed / serviced based from Owner's comments here.
1. Replace Oil Cooler Hose (OCH)
2. Replace engine and transmission mounting
3. Throttle body, turbo, intercooler service / cleaning
4. Install Oil Catch Tank
5. Replace CVT Damper
6. Software updates / remap (ECU, TCU, HU firmware)

Do I missed anything else?
1., 5., and 6. should be done at official/authorised service centres

The rest can be done elsewhere, preferably by people who have been dealing a lot with the specific task like servicing the turbo. Search facebook for people like Zainuddin Jasman, Tam turbo, etc in the cfe/cvt group.

For the oil catch tank, you've got a choice of buying one online for a much cheaper price and either installing it yourself (which is really easy to follow), or getting someone to install it for you (and buying if you don't want the hassle of sourcing for the part)

Side note:
And sorry, but if someone is running a business or are related to the person, there's no need to act like they don't know them. I find their labour cost to be over the higher side compared to other more popular shops, so unless distance is a problem, look for those people mentioned via facebook

This post has been edited by TDUEnthusiast: Apr 22 2020, 08:59 PM
TDUEnthusiast
post Jun 24 2020, 03:54 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Jun 24 2020, 01:27 PM)
hey bro, did you proceed with your purchase? I'm handing down my new jazz hybrid over to my sis and now i'm in the midst of planning to get the suprima cause it's cheap. If you have gotten yours how much it cost you and what year?

PS:
I'm looking into improvements like:
1) iridium plugs
2) open pod
3) oil catch tank - most likely will install it by myself
4) racing seats

anyone else has any comments on improvement?
Original plugs are already Iridium, need to change every 50k to 60k km

Other things no comment except for the oct, which is a good choice. Do MBOxCFE and some other preventive maintenance after collecting the vehicle like engine oil and gearbox oil change at a reputable shop. Do note that the gearbox oil change is very critical and requires a shop that knows what needs to be done, otherwise it can cause premature failure instead. Perhaps you can consider doing both at EA Autoworks since they are the ones that do the remap
TDUEnthusiast
post Jun 24 2020, 07:20 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Jun 24 2020, 06:34 PM)
Thanks bro! Yes those is a must do will most likely do a mojor service before adding any other stuff to the car..

The remap mentioned how much of a boost will it add?
I think up to 1.0 bar, or an increase from 138 BHP up to 150 BHP, 13x WHP, 205NM to a more linear 225NM, both depending on vehicle's health.

I'd set aside a budget of 2k to 3k to recondition the car. No offense, but many can't actually afford to maintain the car properly and therefore dispose it when they can't take it anymore or when it just gets to a really bad state. There are a few parts that would probably require a replacement soon:

1. Engine, Transmission and Cross member mounts - RM4xx to 5xx including labour, original protons
2. Front and Rear Dampers - RM5xx to 6xx including labour (They're usually good for 60k to 80k km for Proton). Maybe add the top mounts and bearing if needed
3. Rear Upper Arms/ "dog-bone" - check with shop about their condition and if there's a need to replace them. These two parts have a tendency to fail early. Expect it to reach over 7xx in total, or 5xx for the rear upper arms only including labour
4. Front lower arms -> Check with shop and get a quote
5. FEAD belt + tensioner -> 4xx including labour
6. Some others I can't think of right now. Perhaps check the last timing belt kit/waterpump change, fan motor's health, and the fan relays
7. Edit -> CVT Damper recall. Check with the service centre on whether it has been done or not

I guess you're probably gonna buy some aftermarket suspension parts at some point since you plan to put in some racing seats. Item 2 to 4 assumes that you're replacing with original Proton parts, which I would suggest doing at a reputable shop that does a lot of Protons (please refer to CFE/CVT group or Suprima owner's group).

There are a few in particular that are highly recommended when it comes to getting replacement proton original parts and labour like Zordaq Motorsport, Zainuddin Jasman (person) with shop, Tam Turbo Motorsports, Haruddin Hamid (person) with shop. I've only ever done some jobs at Zordaq Motorsport from the list and they're good as expected, just perhaps a bit disorganised. Feel free to buy the parts yourself and bring it to your trusted workshop if you have one

As for further improvements, I would suggest maybe getting some sound deadening done for reducing engine and road noise. I did mine at EA Autoworks and it makes driving the car a lot more comfortable, unless of course you're just into driving this car fast and for fun

This post has been edited by TDUEnthusiast: Jun 24 2020, 07:31 PM
TDUEnthusiast
post Aug 23 2020, 07:26 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(merinyu @ Aug 23 2020, 07:01 PM)
Just changed 2 front tyres to new ps4 RM400 each. Year 2020 but made in China. My old tyres were also ps4 but it only last me almost 4yrs. Very bad condition had to change caused the sides bunga koyak like kulit peel off. Distant driven these tyres about 36K km.

Did alignment and was told to change camber screws both front RM150. Jaw drop tak jadi change.
Go to another shop to get your alignment done. I always buy my PS4 and do my alignment at Kee Hin, Old Klang Road. No camber out-of-spec bullshit.

I don't think the previous shop did the alignment properly for you as mine lasted well over 50k km with regular alignment and rotation, perhaps the toe setting was too aggressive or they deliberately did it badly in case they asked you to add on some stuff and you didn't. I even kept two of the four tyres and sold it to someone for just 50 as they had about less than 10k km left to go

TDUEnthusiast
post Aug 28 2020, 07:08 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(heavensea @ Aug 27 2020, 08:08 AM)
Hi all, for engine oil Petronas 5W30 or 5W40 better?
5W30 is the recommended viscosity by Proton for the CFE camxpro, but the only option is the Syntium 800 I think. Syntium 3000, 5000, 7000 are only available in xW-40
TDUEnthusiast
post Aug 28 2020, 10:17 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(heavensea @ Aug 28 2020, 07:16 PM)
Syntium 3000 got 5w30
Shoppee selling for RM100, Proton sc selling RM180...
I see. I'd only buy it from the official Petronas store on shopee if I were you. I believe they made an account recently
TDUEnthusiast
post Sep 15 2020, 02:29 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Sep 8 2020, 03:47 AM)
Just an update regarding my car jerking2 behaviour. Followed the recommendation here in this thread to change brake switch sensor and also coil plug boot. No luck, still badly jerking as usual..
Can you describe your problem again and the scenario?

12 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 >Top

0.0229sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 07:38 AM