Travel South Korea V6, Seoul & Everything Korean
SSJBen
May 31 2017, 05:28 PM
QUOTE(tangJW1 @ May 23 2017, 06:57 PM) For food wise... singapore more expensive than seoul or seoul is more expensive? Lets say a meal in the CBD In addition to all the input everyone has given you; One more thing you have to take note is that many restaurants will serve you a portion according to how many people is on your table. So if you have 2 people, you cannot order a single person meal and the other person watch you eat. Similarly, there are also restaurants (usually kbbq) that will only allow a minimum of at least 2 patrons in order to eat. Many single-loners will not be entertained. I know so many people got this culture shock when they go to Korea and don't understand why this is a big deal.
SSJBen
Jun 2 2017, 02:10 AM
QUOTE(tangJW1 @ Jun 1 2017, 11:46 PM) Only kbbq doesnt allow single patrons right? Because i will be travelling alone Most doesn't, although technically you could say - I'm ordering for 2, but one of my friends ffk mid meal or something. But you better make sure you can finish the food of course. That said, recently there has been a few "forever-alone" kbbq restaurants that popped up in Seoul. Example - http://www.hankookilbo.com/v/81f9099620b54...bffb52a0c69cc45It's in Bucheon though.
musteng
Jun 2 2017, 11:17 AM

QUOTE(tangJW1 @ Jun 2 2017, 10:56 AM) Why they want to be like this? I ccant understand. They encourage us to spend time family/friend is it? Lol There is no right or wrong. Just different culture. Like some kiasu restaurant in Bolehland, you can't use debit/credit card to pay the bill if total amount not exceed RM50. You won't see this happend in other countries.
SSJBen
Jun 2 2017, 03:23 PM
QUOTE(tangJW1 @ Jun 2 2017, 10:56 AM) Why they want to be like this? I ccant understand. They encourage us to spend time family/friend is it? Lol Culture habit passed down from hundreds of years ago. No use questioning it now, it's never going to change. More youngsters these days are opposed to it, but at the same time when they go into their work life, they'll come back one full circle to simply accept the fact one must eat with friends/families. But economically speaking, it's cheaper for the restaurant to sell you 2 pax of meat vs 1 pax. So there's that, they end up earning more.
westley0214
Jun 6 2017, 09:42 AM
Hi, do you all normally get a Korean sim card with data plan when you are in Korea? I am thinking whether I really need that, since I read online, a lot of people commented that we can get free Wifi easily everywhere. If you do, what brand do you recommend? Mostly just need data, with call plan or without call plan also OK. My location will be Seoul and Jeju. Thanks
SSJBen
Jun 6 2017, 03:50 PM
QUOTE(westley0214 @ Jun 6 2017, 09:42 AM) Hi, do you all normally get a Korean sim card with data plan when you are in Korea? I am thinking whether I really need that, since I read online, a lot of people commented that we can get free Wifi easily everywhere. If you do, what brand do you recommend? Mostly just need data, with call plan or without call plan also OK. My location will be Seoul and Jeju. Thanks  Rent a wifi egg and call it a day. Don't need to bother with sim card. The price difference isn't even that big of a difference anyways, so I'm always bemused when people are fussy over this. Free wifi is available in many parts of Seoul, but not all areas. Jeju, only in the city you'll get free wifi coverage.
inachi
Jun 7 2017, 10:46 AM
QUOTE(westley0214 @ Jun 6 2017, 09:42 AM) Hi, do you all normally get a Korean sim card with data plan when you are in Korea? I am thinking whether I really need that, since I read online, a lot of people commented that we can get free Wifi easily everywhere. If you do, what brand do you recommend? Mostly just need data, with call plan or without call plan also OK. My location will be Seoul and Jeju. Thanks  its like malaysia la..wifi everywhere but u have to keep manually connect everytime, plus the speed can be an issue too. just rent a wifi egg from ktolleh..book it from their website and collect it from the airport.
westley0214
Jun 7 2017, 11:45 AM
QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jun 6 2017, 03:50 PM) Rent a wifi egg and call it a day. Don't need to bother with sim card. The price difference isn't even that big of a difference anyways, so I'm always bemused when people are fussy over this. Free wifi is available in many parts of Seoul, but not all areas. Jeju, only in the city you'll get free wifi coverage. QUOTE(inachi @ Jun 7 2017, 10:46 AM) its like malaysia la..wifi everywhere but u have to keep manually connect everytime, plus the speed can be an issue too. just rent a wifi egg from ktolleh..book it from their website and collect it from the airport. Thanks for the advice, really appreciate that. Gonna rent a wifi egg then.
djay16
Jun 13 2017, 12:46 AM

Any local Malaysian community forums or facebook groups in Seoul?
cappuccino vs latte
Jun 14 2017, 12:35 PM
Is credit card widely acceptable in Seoul? Otherwise need to exchange more cash..
yvonnesoo
Jun 14 2017, 02:57 PM
QUOTE(djay16 @ Jun 13 2017, 12:46 AM) Any local Malaysian community forums or facebook groups in Seoul? so far didn't see any. perhaps you can try KTO msia fb QUOTE(cappuccino vs latte @ Jun 14 2017, 12:35 PM) Is credit card widely acceptable in Seoul? Otherwise need to exchange more cash.. yes it's. at least better than msia. of cause those stalls or street food must be pay in cash
zstan
Jun 14 2017, 10:00 PM
Don't think those Dongdaemun and Namdaemun wholesale shops accept credit card..may be wrong..but otherwise any place with an aircondition installed is very likely to accept CC
jennaho
Jun 15 2017, 10:55 AM
QUOTE(djay16 @ Jun 13 2017, 12:46 AM) Any local Malaysian community forums or facebook groups in Seoul? QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Jun 14 2017, 02:57 PM) so far didn't see any. perhaps you can try KTO msia fb yes it's. at least better than msia. of cause those stalls or street food must be pay in cash Are you both living in KR?
yvonnesoo
Jun 15 2017, 11:36 AM
QUOTE(zstan @ Jun 14 2017, 10:00 PM) Don't think those Dongdaemun and Namdaemun wholesale shops accept credit card..may be wrong..but otherwise any place with an aircondition installed is very likely to accept CC yeah wholesale shop prefer cash although some may accept cc. some do charge cc processing fees QUOTE(jennaho @ Jun 15 2017, 10:55 AM) Are you both living in KR?  i'm not living in KR. just that travel to KR more often only
djay16
Jun 16 2017, 11:18 AM

QUOTE(jennaho @ Jun 15 2017, 10:55 AM) Are you both living in KR?  Yes i am
billsean
Jun 20 2017, 10:22 PM
I've been to Seoul and Busan before. Now, I plan to explore other parts such as the Gyeongju and Jeolla-do. Anyone been there before? When should I go the best? And, is it better for me to stay at Busan, then make a day trip there or spend like 3-4 days at each district to explore it to the most?
wyen
Jun 22 2017, 08:56 AM
QUOTE(billsean @ Jun 20 2017, 10:22 PM) Hi, I've been to Seoul and Busan before. Now, I plan to explore other parts such as the Gyeongju and Jeolla-do. Anyone been there before? When should I go the best? And, is it better for me to stay at Busan, then make a day trip there or spend like 3-4 days at each district to explore it to the most? If me i would love to explore jeonju for its food. Travelled to gyeonju before and it was not my preference but if u like those history stuff maybe it suits u
wyen
Jun 22 2017, 08:56 AM
Double post
This post has been edited by wyen: Jun 22 2017, 08:57 AM
billsean
Jun 22 2017, 09:51 PM
QUOTE(wyen @ Jun 22 2017, 08:56 AM) If me i would love to explore jeonju for its food. Travelled to gyeonju before and it was not my preference but if u like those history stuff maybe it suits u Yeah.. I kinda interested in the history stuff. Last time, I spend almost 4 hours at the Gyeongbokgung palace alone (even miss the other palaces. Will try to visit the other for this trip). I'm currently in love with the saeguks drama. haha.. I plan to fly to Seoul, then travel downwards to Jeonju then to Jeollanam-do area to visit Suncheon, Hyangyiram in Yeosu, Boseong Green Tea Fields and Damyang Bamboo Forest. Maybe will stay for 5 days in both Jeonju and Jeollanam-do. Then, will go to Gyeonju to explore the history. Maybe will spend 2 days here. Then will spend another 2 nights in Gangwando before going back to Seoul. I plan to go for the DMZ tour, that's why I want to fly to Seoul instead of Busan. How does it sounds?
inachi
Jun 23 2017, 12:20 PM
QUOTE(billsean @ Jun 22 2017, 09:51 PM) Yeah.. I kinda interested in the history stuff. Last time, I spend almost 4 hours at the Gyeongbokgung palace alone (even miss the other palaces. Will try to visit the other for this trip). I'm currently in love with the saeguks drama. haha.. I plan to fly to Seoul, then travel downwards to Jeonju then to Jeollanam-do area to visit Suncheon, Hyangyiram in Yeosu, Boseong Green Tea Fields and Damyang Bamboo Forest. Maybe will stay for 5 days in both Jeonju and Jeollanam-do. Then, will go to Gyeonju to explore the history. Maybe will spend 2 days here. Then will spend another 2 nights in Gangwando before going back to Seoul. I plan to go for the DMZ tour, that's why I want to fly to Seoul instead of Busan. How does it sounds? recently i watched this youtuber share about her trip to DMZ..its in cantonese though. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LXrI6fl7b_g