Travel South Korea V6, Seoul & Everything Korean

ckweng
post Apr 5 2018, 11:52 AM

Craft beers for life!
1,615 posts

QUOTE(Manz2912 @ Apr 2 2018, 04:48 PM)
Just come back from Seoul yesterday, booked from Klook.
From KT olleh, very smooth and the MiFi last longer..

You can create new account using this link: https://www.klook.com/invite/Z6O9B?c=MYR

https://www.klook.com/activity/253-wifi-dev...th-korea-seoul/

rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
Hi, did you pay the deposit required when collecting the device with credit card? I saw a person's review that mentioned that he had to pay in cash. I recall that I could use credit card for deposit in my previous experience booking through KT Olleh's website directly.
Manz2912
post Apr 5 2018, 12:14 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(ckweng @ Apr 5 2018, 11:52 AM)
Hi, did you pay the deposit required when collecting the device with credit card? I saw a person's review that mentioned that he had to pay in cash. I recall that I could use credit card for deposit in my previous experience booking through KT Olleh's website directly.
Yes I do, they just want to secure it only. but no any charge for the card.
ckweng
post Apr 5 2018, 12:58 PM

Craft beers for life!
1,615 posts

QUOTE(Manz2912 @ Apr 5 2018, 12:14 PM)
Yes I do, they just want to secure it only. but no any charge for the card.
Thanks for the clarification! Just realised that the Klook deal's description also mentioned:

"From 1 Jan 2018, local operator has stopped accepting cash deposits. You will need to have a credit card under your name, with more than 3 months validity, to pay the deposit"

Another question: Is data quota unlimited and not throttled?

By the way, do we need to make full payment for the wifi rental on Klook first? Sorry, i'm not too familiar with this platform.

This post has been edited by ckweng: Apr 5 2018, 01:06 PM
Manz2912
post Apr 5 2018, 03:36 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(ckweng @ Apr 5 2018, 12:58 PM)
Thanks for the clarification! Just realised that the Klook deal's description also mentioned:

"From 1 Jan 2018, local operator has stopped accepting cash deposits. You will need to have a credit card under your name, with more than 3 months validity, to pay the deposit"

Another question: Is data quota unlimited and not throttled?

By the way, do we need to make full payment for the wifi rental on Klook first? Sorry, i'm not too familiar with this platform.
No data limit. The speed was just good for me in 7 days.

Full payment with Klook. But if you change your mind you also can Free Cancellation - 48 Hrs Notice.
The refund button will show after you booked.

ckweng
post Apr 5 2018, 03:51 PM

Craft beers for life!
1,615 posts

QUOTE(Manz2912 @ Apr 5 2018, 03:36 PM)
No data limit. The speed was just good for me in 7 days.

Full payment with Klook. But if you change your mind you also can Free Cancellation - 48 Hrs Notice.
The refund button will show after you booked.
Excellent. Truly appreciate your feedback on this. I think I will give Klook a try for this KT Olleh wifi deal. smile.gif
lpohyeen
post Apr 10 2018, 02:20 PM

hi... I am going to Korea end of this month. i would like to know what is the best way to spend money there? i.e change won from Malaysia, or bring RM and change to won in Korea or use credit card there?

sai86
post Apr 11 2018, 12:00 PM

StilL LearninG
4,934 posts

QUOTE(lpohyeen @ Apr 10 2018, 02:20 PM)
hi... I am going to Korea end of this month. i would like to know what is the best way to spend money there? i.e change won from Malaysia, or bring RM and change to won in Korea or use credit card there?
of course will be bring WON to there. you need to chg to USD then to WON at South korea. they do not accept MYR iinm (that's what i did previously).
Aside that, i also enable my CC for Car rental and some shopping when kenot tahan but kenot use cash tongue.gif
MR_alien
post Apr 12 2018, 11:44 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

KUL to SK today buy 1 free 1 from AA
avg 1k for 2 person 2 way
luminaryxi
post Apr 12 2018, 12:24 PM

584 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Apr 12 2018, 11:44 AM)
KUL to SK today buy 1 free 1 from AA
avg 1k for 2 person 2 way
whats the date ah, coz i find july 1, all also 1.5k for 2 pax. the price stated is after discount?
MR_alien
post Apr 12 2018, 12:48 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(luminaryxi @ Apr 12 2018, 12:24 PM)
whats the date ah, coz i find july 1, all also 1.5k for 2 pax. the price stated is after discount?
16th april to 30th june
myeong86
post Apr 19 2018, 05:06 PM

107 posts

Will be going there for a solo trip from 22-29/04/18.
The weather will be 12-18 degree. Hope it is not too cold.
Anyone going there same date as mine?
digitalz
post Apr 20 2018, 02:53 PM

The only thing we have to fear is fear itself.
2,030 posts

Hello there! I've a question to ask - Are the rates better from the ATM machines in Incheon compared to the money changers around? I've been advised to withdraw in Incheon instead of changing wads of cash before reaching there.

Also - flights have been cheap! RM1k return on MAS is cheap!
Joseph Hahn
post Apr 20 2018, 03:13 PM

kpop k
6,410 posts

QUOTE(Axelredan @ Apr 4 2018, 05:33 AM)
Cheapest way to travel there?
Cheapest place to stay in seoul? (For the sake of sleeping/backpacking)
Air Asia X. As cheap as 660 now. Cheap place, hostel obviously. Can get about as cheap as RM40 per night.

facktura
post Apr 20 2018, 05:28 PM

1,566 posts

QUOTE(digitalz @ Apr 20 2018, 02:53 PM)
Hello there! I've a question to ask - Are the rates better from the ATM machines in Incheon compared to the money changers around? I've been advised to withdraw in Incheon instead of changing wads of cash before reaching there.

Also - flights have been cheap! RM1k return on MAS is cheap!
MAS 1k return on which month?
digitalz
post Apr 20 2018, 05:45 PM

2,030 posts

QUOTE(facktura @ Apr 20 2018, 10:28 AM)
MAS 1k return on which month?
I bought for June. Now I think its about 1.2k. Still not bad I guess.
facktura
post Apr 20 2018, 05:48 PM

1,566 posts

QUOTE(digitalz @ Apr 20 2018, 05:45 PM)
I bought for June. Now I think its about 1.2k. Still not bad I guess.
June is summer. Good luck facing heatwave in South Korea during that time. but its nice to lepak2 at beaches. rclxms.gif
digitalz
post Apr 20 2018, 05:56 PM

2,030 posts

QUOTE(facktura @ Apr 20 2018, 10:48 AM)
June is summer. Good luck facing heatwave in South Korea during that time. but its nice to lepak2 at beaches.  rclxms.gif
Haha. June is still quite alright actually compared to July/August. For a person that meets a gets rain/gloomy weathers a lot, the sun is a nice change.
scorgio
post Apr 22 2018, 05:32 PM

4,694 posts

QUOTE(digitalz @ Apr 20 2018, 02:53 PM)
I used to withdraw thru Citibank ATMs (widely available), using Maybank debit card, there's a RM10.60 charges, but rates would be better than money changer in KL.
Advisable if you're withdrawing 700k-1mil.
Other than that, bring USD to exchange at Myeongdong also better rates.
aspartame
post Apr 23 2018, 09:26 AM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(scorgio @ Apr 22 2018, 05:32 PM)
I used to withdraw thru Citibank ATMs (widely available), using Maybank debit card, there's a RM10.60 charges, but rates would be better than money changer in KL.
Are you sure about this? The better rate could be due to fluctuations in favour as you withdraw through ATM presumably 1 or 2 days later? Some of the money changers - their spreads are competitive..like maybe 1.2% for Won? Can't imagine banks giving better rates cos if u send money though TT, they give expensive rates like 1 to 1.5% above money changers.
digitalz
post Apr 23 2018, 04:11 PM

2,030 posts

QUOTE(scorgio @ Apr 22 2018, 10:32 AM)
That's what I heard from my friend as well. He flies to Korea quite often and he found out about this when he had a last minute flight to Korea. By the way, MBB card charges RM12. But he just told me that after that time, he never changed again lol. That's why I am checking in with the forumers. haha.

This post has been edited by digitalz: Apr 23 2018, 04:48 PM

118 Pages « < 56 57 58 59 60 > » Top

0.0297sec    0.84    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 05:39 AM